Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.4out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 | 19 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
Sort by: 
1-13 of 13 reviews
1-13 of 13 reviews
Excellent For Hyper Kids???
3/24/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this along with the Ponyo DVD for a hyper active 6 year old. Somehow these movies keep his attention and he watches them over and over again. So, check these out if you have a younger child interested in anime, but don't want them exposed to the violence and PG-13/R ratings that come along with most anime. Great for kiddies!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not What You Remember
3/20/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
I bought this dvd for my girlfriend as a gift. She had grown up watching this movie dozens of times as a child. But you should be warned, if you're buying this for someone who was a fan of the original, the movie has been changed. The movie has been completely re-voiced by different voice actors and even the script was changed. For example: In the original version the older sister's name was pronounced "Satsuki". In this new version they pronounce it "Satski". And the little black creatures that were once called "dust bunnies" are now referred to as "soot gremlins". Needless to say, my girlfriend was bitterly disappointed that they had messed with her childhood memories. That said, its still an enjoyable movie for anyone who has never seen it before, but be warned that it is different than it used to be!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
LOVE THIS MOVIE!!!!
9/13/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My number one movie when i was younger took forever to fine it at a good price.A must buy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
THIS MOVIE HAS BROUGHT 22 YEARS OF ENJOYMENT!
12/16/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I first purchased this movie 22 years ago when my first grandchild was about to be born. I believe I saw it advertised on T.V., I watched on my own and was so impressed. Hayao Miyazaki is a famous Japanese writer and director, over the yeas I've collected many of his animated movies. The movie introduces children of all ages to a classic tale and culture from another country, it is so magical and touching, sad and happy! I've shared this movie with many, and of course my grand children we all LOVE IT SO MUCH!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best purchase ever!
4/21/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this movie my kids love Toronto they were excited when the package arrived best movie ever
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great classic movie for kids
3/22/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a great classic movie for kids of all ages. My two girls, ages 3 and 5, both adore this movie. It is fun and full of fantasy, with some great famous voices attached for the English voice over. Makes a great, fun family movie night!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My Neighbor Totoro
12/24/2015
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I like the movie. But the voices was not the same as the older one. Even some of the sound was not the same.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
NOT FOR CHILDREN !!!!!!
3/14/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Even though this is a cartoon it has inappropriate content for children in the U.S. It maybe suitable for Japan because they bathe together. A father and 2 daughters bathing together nude; NOT for my grand daughter!!!! I thankfully was watching it with her when I saw this scene not far into the movie. I couldn't stop it fast enough; needless to say, we did not watch it entirely. I cannot believe movie stars attach their names to such garbage. I returned it the following day. I wouldn't even give this movie a one star.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (120)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love Totoro
9/29/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this because I love this movie. It was as great as I thought. The only thing I would mention is that if you are particular about your DVD covers it may not come 100% perfect since it's being mailed out. Otherwise a wonderful easy quick buy!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Anime!
6/22/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought it as my daughter's 25th Birthday gift! She loved it when she was a little girl! She wore out the VHS tape! She couldn't wait to play it for her kids!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Classic
3/8/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a great movie for all ages. Watched it when I was a child glad to have it on DVD
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very nice movie...
5/8/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is one of the very nice movies I have seen in many years. I recommend to everybody.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great
12/31/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Beautiful movie
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643931, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-