Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 73 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

73 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

73 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

99%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
60
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 68 total reviews
99%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 68 total reviews
1-20 of 68 reviews
Finally, no splatter in the microwave
11/28/2010

Customer review by STLengineer

4.0 stars 11/28/2010 by STLengineer
by STLengineer

I looked for this type of product because I couldn't heat soup in the microwave at work without splatter. Whether I used a ceramic bowl or a plastic bowl, the soup would always splatter before it got hot enough to enjoy. Placing paper of any sort on top of the bowl usually resulted in getting soggy paper in the soup. Even cutting a hole for steam didn't work. I was almost ready to give up on bringing in soup and reheating it when I found this Pyrex product. Having a glass container makes this a nice bowl for eating, for heating in the microwave, for cleaning up, durability, and even for storage directly in the refrigerator of any leftovers. This both saves time (fewer bowls and serving dishes) and results in nicer bowls to use for eating the food. When heating this in the microwave, you open the vent, a piece of plastic that snaps in. The seals are silicon rubber, considerably tougher than the usual plastic and better able to take heat. When you use this in the microwave, the vent really is large enough to release steam and small enough that I have not seen any spatter during normal usage. Just make sure that you open the vent before heating. The food turns out better when prepared this way because it doesn't get dried out in the microwave the way it would with an open dish. The only negative is that the bowl itself heats up in the microwave. Expect to use a potholder when you remove your heated food from the microwave. Potholders are quite effective. When you remove your food, you can just take off the lid and the glass bowl serves as either a bowl for eating or as a serving dish. Also neat is that two of the 4 cup bowls fit in most microwave ovens, so you can reheat dinner in two dishes at once. For cleanup, I just close the vent and put the lid on, taking the dirty dish home without worrying about the mess inside. I fill the glass bowl with water and let is oak for a few minutes. It scrubs out easily and then I put the bowl and lid directly in the dishwasher, with the lid going in the top rack of the dishwasher. Everything works neatly. Now I can bring soups with pull top cans to work and have soup available whenever I would like, and I can use the containers for food storage, reheating, and serving of leftovers at home. I'm an engineer who likes to both cook and eat. I recognize good engineering design, even in fairly simple devices. This is an excellent product, and I have not seen any products that are real competitors to this. One more moneysaving hint. Once you find that you like this, the bigger packages (more containers) are better for saving money. The 4 cup container is good for heating an entire 19 ounce can of soup. If you have a can of this for lunch, use the 4 cup container as two of the 2 cup containers would be needed otherwise. I'm now satisfied for lunch with one 19 ounce can of soup, which is about 250 to 400 calories, depending on the type of soup. It's fewer calories than I would consume otherwise, I can store a bunch of cans without refrigeration, and it's now only $1.25 to $1.50 per can of soup, much less than the $5.50 average that I pay at our company cafeteria. Yup, this was an excellent purchase.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
STLengineer
Saint Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pyrex for Lunch! Pyrex for Dinner!
8/1/2011

Customer review by Mamma0810

4.0 stars 8/1/2011 by Mamma0810
by Mamma0810

This Pyrex set is everything it says it is. I have used it for a few weeks now and the one plus I love is the fact that you can heat food up in the microwave with the lid on (vent open on lid of course) and my microwave stays clean. It is very nice. I have to say that I do not the liners inside the lids unless I am going out and bringing food with me. They really do not leak. In my house I use them for storage and heating up food and the liners are not necessary for that purpose. I used the liners the first week I got the set and it is annoying to have to take them out and clean them. Also I can see them staining if I used them inside the lids all the time; Especially when heating up tomato based foods in the microwave. I just keep the liners in a Ziplock bag in the back of my kitchen cabinet where I store the rest of the Pyrex set. When I bring lunch/dinner with me that could leak...I just put the liner in the lid and they don't leak. If you have used the large Pyrex bowls/plates for heating foods up and/or baking and you like it...you will like this set because this smaller version is just the same. I love the idea of not using all plastic anymore and that was another reason why I purchased this set.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mamma0810
Huntington, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/21/2010

Customer review by cyberdan

4.0 stars 8/21/2010 by cyberdan
by cyberdan

the product would be better with handles

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cyberdan
orlando fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I don't know how I lived without these!
8/10/2011

Customer review by NancyJoShopsTooMuch

5.0 stars 8/10/2011 by NancyJoShopsTooMuch
by NancyJoShopsTooMuch

I haven't been microwaving in plastics for some time, now. It has always been my intention to recycle all those plastic storage containers and just use glass. I bought these and I use them on a daily basis. The lids have an airtight seal for storage and I love the steam valve on top for microwaving.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NancyJoShopsTooMuch
Cumming, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Alternative to Plastic
11/24/2010

Customer review by c2computer

4.0 stars 11/24/2010 by c2computer
by c2computer

Good product, seals very well, cleans easily, BPA free. I would have given it 5 stars but the vents for the lids are almost impossible to open (just not enough to grab) so we just pop them off from the inside or take off lid and place it on top while in microwave.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
c2computer
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
hard to use
4/1/2011

Customer review by natrad

3.0 stars 4/1/2011 by natrad
by natrad

the product is hard to use - the lids are very tight and it's a pain to open and close

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
natrad
Irvine, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Excellent set of containers.
12/22/2011

Customer review by Cooky57

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by Cooky57
by Cooky57

Great set of containers. Tight fitting lids. The first set we bought was so good that we purchased a second set. Very handy for lunch pails, etc.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cooky57
Harford, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great food storage
2/8/2013

Customer review by CatFab8

5.0 stars 2/8/2013 by CatFab8
by CatFab8

My co-worker told me I needed to start using glass to reheat my food so I bought this product. It is so amazing. I love it. Especially the top having the hold so the steam can come out of the lid.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CatFab8
Stanton, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just what I wanted
2/6/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/6/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

These bowl's and lid's are just what I wanted wish you had one larger.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Superior, Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great set
2/6/2013

Customer review by jhbdce

5.0 stars 2/6/2013 by jhbdce
by jhbdce

This set is just what I wanted. The vent for the microwave is great. No more cling wrap. Putting the lids on the first time was a little challenging but after they were washed in the dish washer they were fine. Using glass for storage is so much better than plastic.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jhbdce
ukiah ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
2/10/2011

Customer review by seashellpam

5.0 stars 2/10/2011 by seashellpam
by seashellpam

Much nicer than plastic. Able to cook and serve in the same dish & looks very presentable at the table. Lids are top quality and seal great. Will definitely buy more of these.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
seashellpam
Longs, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/18/2013

Customer review by Valvett

5.0 stars 10/18/2013 by Valvett
by Valvett

I bought this set as a Tupperware set because of the glass containers and the microwaveable lids. The glass does not stain as does plastic, which is a plus and the lids are not cheap. Very satisfied with the set.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Valvett
Downey, Calif.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Storage for foods
10/31/2012

Customer review by NightHawck

5.0 stars 10/31/2012 by NightHawck
by NightHawck

I had these before and had to get more. Seals in foods and no smell in the fridge. Glass Pyrxx cleans in a snap. I am looking at getting the ovals for cakes too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NightHawck
North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good deal
12/4/2010

Customer review by smartypantsNB

5.0 stars 12/4/2010 by smartypantsNB
by smartypantsNB

With all my concerns about heating in plastic, combined with my advancing age inability to remember what is in any opaque container, I found this wonderful set to be the answer I was looking for, at a very reasonable price. Lids fit so well that I can carry them for lunch (though in a zip-loc bag if the material is very liquidy, just in case), and re-heat right in them rather than have to transfer to another vessel. Ended up buying more for my niece who is just establishing her own household.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smartypantsNB
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for storage and microwave.
8/5/2010

Customer review by Lordley

5.0 stars 8/5/2010 by Lordley
by Lordley

Mostly, my experience with these Pyrex containers is very favorable. I have stored food and later microwaved in the same container. I think highly of this product however, there are two negative comments I have... The venting holes (for microwaving) are difficult to open and the glass gets extremely hot or cold depending on where it's been (microwave or refrigerator).

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lordley
Toms River, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT product and price :) Thanks!
11/18/2011

Customer review by Shopper320

5.0 stars 11/18/2011 by Shopper320
by Shopper320

Overall, great shipping, very well packaged together, wonderful price, and website! Thanks!

Shopper320
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great
5/10/2012

Customer review by luvgray

5.0 stars 5/10/2012 by luvgray
by luvgray

The storage containers are great. They are leak proof & they keep food longer.

luvgray
95812
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
I love the Pyrexware set I recently purchased
12/31/2011

Customer review by birdwoman

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by birdwoman
by birdwoman

I love the Pyrexware set I recently purchased. It takaes up little room in my cabinets because you can stack the containers. The glass doesn't stain like plastic and you can easily see what's inside, something that yhou can't do with plastic. I hope to have my Pyrexware for many years.

birdwoman
08848
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great for storage without leaking
12/6/2011

Customer review by Maeusi

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by Maeusi
by Maeusi

We have replaced all of our plastic containers, because I did not like the smell the plastic was holding, plus it is easy to just heat things in them and not worry about the poison of the plastic...

Maeusi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent!
1/25/2012

Customer review by carlito

5.0 stars 1/25/2012 by carlito
by carlito

I love these! I got them for an excellent price. They're absolutely leak proof. Buy them plain and simple.

carlito
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 68 total reviews
1-20 of 68 reviews