Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 64 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

64 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

64 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
26
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
8
1-20 of 59 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews
Sturdy, handsome desk.
8/1/2010

Customer review by BestWebShopper

5.0 stars 8/1/2010 by BestWebShopper
by BestWebShopper

I did the free "Site to Store" shipping on this desk. The box was in perfect condition, I know better than what I would have received delivered to my home. This desk is very sturdy and very attractive. It took my non-handy husband about 2.5-3 hours to put it together. All the pieces fit together and all the parts were included in the box. What I like a lot about the desk is the legs have "feet" -- which gives the desk more appeal. The price was perfect and free shipping, makes me very happy. Everyone who has been to our home has raved about how nice the desk is. Great value! Very happy I picked this desk!

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BestWebShopper
Pickerington, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wonderful writing desk
3/24/2010

Customer review by Toad78

5.0 stars 3/24/2010 by Toad78
by Toad78

I have other Sauder products, so I figured this desk would also be of great quality. It is! The desk is large and sturdy - as well as being a lovely piece of furniture. I was able to put it together by myself, and i'm a average sized female with a limited tool box. The directions are a little vague in places, which for me, meant having to make a couple of adjustments - but nothing too bad. I was able to put it together in one evening and am elated with the results. It was missing a couple of screws, but I contacted Sauder, which has one of the best customer service departments I have ever dealt with, and they promptly sent out the pieces i needed free of charge. I'm a calligrapher, and this desk more than met my needs. All the little nooks provided me great places to put my parchments, pens, nibs, inks, and sealing waxes. It truly is a wonderful item!

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Toad78
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Solid Unit - Long Time To Assemble
3/13/2011

Customer review by vibetek3

4.0 stars 3/13/2011 by vibetek3
by vibetek3

This unit seems to be very sturdy. I glue all the joints as well as use the cam locks so I know it will hold together. There is one fit up problem with a facial board and the upper desk drawer. I removed the board and everything looks ok. The instructions say to put the cover of the drawer on a certain way and it may just be a touch too tall, It took me about 5.5 hours to put it together. I am usually adept at putting these things together so I expect the normal person to take a little longer. Make sure you have some help putting the desktop together. It is not required but is a big help working on both sides (top and bottom) at the same time. There were a few extra parts left in the package. That is really unusual but a welcome site if you have ever put something like this together before. Sometimes you are short a few parts. Good luck!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vibetek3
Watkins Glen, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Broken top
8/16/2011

Customer review by CountryGirl56

2.0 stars 8/16/2011 by CountryGirl56
by CountryGirl56

I thought this desk, as far as style was exactly what I wanted. I had read the reviews and should have paid more attention to them. The first piece out of the box, which was the top, was broken. It had a very large triangular piece broken in the middle, it was unable to be fixed even if we had wanted to try. We sat it aside and decided to put as much together as we could. The company says not to take it back to Walmart, to order any problem piece from them. The upside to that is, I was able to get online then and order, we did receive it timely, within 3 days and that piece is fine. The desk was very heavy, it weighs around 120 lbs. and in a million pieces. The screws, etc. were all thrown into one bag, I sorted and sorted and put each piece into a piece of styrofoam to help speed, putting it together, while my husband made heads or tails of the instructions. It took us 3 hours to put it together not counting attaching the top, since we still haven't done that yet. We were quite disappointed to see that the whole desk is made of particle board, I had hoped that at least parts of it were real wood. If I had to buy again, I would not purchase this one.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CountryGirl56
Robinson IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Beautiful desk-Great Value!
5/12/2012

Customer review by MissKathyMc

5.0 stars 5/12/2012 by MissKathyMc
by MissKathyMc

I waited several weeks for this desk to be back "in stock" and it was certainly worth the wait! It is a beautiful piece of furniture and no one would ever guess you paid so little. It had all the features we were looking for and I put a beautiful a black & white circle Taylor accent chair with it that is also available on walmart.com. The assembly was quite detailed and time consuming. It took both myself and my husband to put it together but we took our time to be certain we did it correctly. The desk is such a great addition to our home!

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MissKathyMc
Cullman, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Nice Desk
7/9/2011

Customer review by SpottedLeopard

5.0 stars 7/9/2011 by SpottedLeopard
by SpottedLeopard

This desk came packaged extremely well. All corners were protected with heavy cardboard. The shipping service delivered right to my house with a scheduled delivery date so I was home. Product was easy to put together, must read the directions,not just look at the pictures. It took me about 1 1/2 hours to complete. Very satisfied and my son really likes it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SpottedLeopard
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Looks Good
2/15/2010

Customer review by HappyGirlz

4.0 stars 2/15/2010 by HappyGirlz
by HappyGirlz

It comes in a million pieces and not all of them fit together correctly. I actually had to use my table saw on one of the pieces to make it fit. It looks great once it is all together. Some of the connecting, locking mechanisms are not what I would have used had the holes not been pre-drilled. It took 3 college educated, tool savvy women 3 hours to put this together.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyGirlz
Forest City, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love the desk, but..
10/24/2010

Customer review by doxielove

4.0 stars 10/24/2010 by doxielove
by doxielove

I love the desk. It looks very nice and is true to the picture. It took me a few hours to put together, but I expected it to since there are drawers and whatnot. The problem I had was there was a HUGE crack on the desk top. I didn't notice the crack until I was ready to connect the piece and had pulled it out of the box. This was after I had half of the desk built. I ended up filling in the crack with a black marker since it was trouble for me to put together in the first place (I was working by myself). Lucily, the hutch cover the crack and after I completed everything it isn't noticable. Although, if the hutch hadn't covered the crack I would have been forced to return it since the piece actually was bent from the crack. The hutch helped stablized the crack and kept the top flat. Other than that, I love the desk. The pieces fit together and it looks nice. Just check the desk top first! Oh, make sure you have someone to help you carry the package. I ended up taking some pieces out of the box in my car in order to lighten the load enough to push the package from my car into house.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
doxielove
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Happy Purchase
3/4/2010

Customer review by CKIowa

5.0 stars 3/4/2010 by CKIowa
by CKIowa

I ordered the desk after reviewing SEVERAL similar desks. For the price and for quality, this is top notch. Assembly is required and of course, like anything you have to put together, it takes time. The amount of time was one evening - mainly my husband and I helped some. We are very pleased with the quality.

Was this review helpful? (9) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CKIowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Beautiful Desk...Horrible to Put Together!!
1/23/2014

Customer review by LRS85

5.0 stars 1/23/2014 by LRS85
by LRS85

I absolutely love the way this desk looks. It is small enough that I was able to put it in the corner of my kitchen for daily use of bills, notes, envelopes, etc. Only complaint is that it took forever to put together! There were a ridiculous amount of pieces and screws. The diagrams helped but there was no way I could do it alone so my husband had to help. By the time it was finished he said he would have rather spent more just to get an intricate desk like this already put together from a furniture store...

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LRS85
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Professional looking and affordable
12/9/2013

Customer review by Dal335a

4.0 stars 12/9/2013 by Dal335a
by Dal335a

I was looking for a desk for my office. This desk was visually appealing to me and had several compartments to help with organization. The cord access holes in the back are great! However, the one in the back of the top drawer did not have a cover to go around the hole. The whole assembly was quite time consuming. All the screws were basically in one large plastic bag. This requires the time to go through and organize/mark all screws before beginning installation. Overall the instructions were fairly clear and I did not need to go online to view any of the video references to put the desk together. HOWEVER, towards the end of the installation, there were things marked wrong in the instructions. Certain steps noted screw parts needed that didn't exist. So basically I had to skip the step and continue on until I figured out which screws were needed for the wrongly marked step. For some, they may have a difficult time figuring this out. A little frustrating. Would I buy a Sauder product again?? Only if I can't find something else compatible for an affordable price. Otherwise, it's not worth the frustration and extra time to figure things out. [at the same time I purchased a desk chair from Staples and the instructions were VERY EASY. I appreciated that the Staples brand had the screws for each step in a separate plastic baggie. No need to keep track of screw parts. Just open the next bag for the next step. Too bad Sauder doesn't provide a similar convenience!]

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dal335a
West Orange, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
disappointed
11/18/2010

Customer review by queenofdanail

1.0 stars 11/18/2010 by queenofdanail
by queenofdanail

I spent alot of time looking for a desk that would serve as a small reception desk for my home salon. I was so dissappointed. It took over two weeks to come in and when it did the top of the desk had a huge crack running from one side to the other. I read all the reviews on this desk and most were positive. I felt pretty good about my purchase. What a let down as well as a big aggrivation to return it to the store. NOT going to order another one!

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
queenofdanail
Dudley, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Nice Desk, Good Price!
1/30/2012

Customer review by mamasuds

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by mamasuds
by mamasuds

I love this desk! The big bottom drawer is a file-drawer, which is fabulous. I did need to insert my own dowels to keep the folders from slipping off the front and back of the provided glides, but I didn't check the hardware pack, so there might be something in there for that. The hutch section is nice, the cord holes and spaces are great. The action is good on all the drawers. The desk is very strong and sturdy, and it really looks nice put together. The back is unfinished, so it needs to go against a wall or other furniture. The slideout (keyboard/laptop tray) is a little weak, but holds either of those light items well. The lift-out feature of the tray is nice especially for a laptop. It took my husband and I 2 hours to put it together, and we are pretty handy people. It was not difficult at all, just time-consuming. There were a couple of steps in the construction that would have been nearly impossible with one person, so recruit a friend!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mamasuds
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Terrific desk, especially for the price!
9/27/2011

Customer review by DawsonMama

5.0 stars 9/27/2011 by DawsonMama
by DawsonMama

This a a great addition to our living room. We used to have piles of papers on the kitchen table which drove us crazy. We invested in this nicely sized desk as a place to store paper's and a laptop computer. My husband has made it his workspace! Assembly was not simple and took my husband about 3 hours, but it was well worth it and we are very pleased. We had looked at secretary desks for $600-$1000 so this fit the bill for value and appearance (for those who have comments that they were surprised it is particle board: it's a $200 desk - you can't expect oak!).

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DawsonMama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Disappointment
6/14/2011

Customer review by jennlovesadeal

1.0 stars 6/14/2011 by jennlovesadeal
by jennlovesadeal

Beautiful desk, but we waited for weeks for it to arrive - and when it did, the tabletop of the desk was broken. (perhaps too many stops and truck changes?) Returned to store and will purchase elsewhere - can't afford to wait any longer.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jennlovesadeal
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sturdy Desk, yet hard to put together.
9/14/2010

Customer review by Mom2Bee47

4.0 stars 9/14/2010 by Mom2Bee47
by Mom2Bee47

We purchased this desk so my husband would have a proper place to do his school work. Now that the item is put together it looks great and is very sturdy. However, it did take us 4 hours to put the desk together and the instructions could have been a little more forth coming with information. Over all I would recommend this item, but would be prepared to spend a good amount of time putting it together.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mom2Bee47
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for the price
5/3/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/3/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

For the price it's nice. I'm female and put it together all by myself in a few hrs. Was easy to assemble after I separated everything out. Needed plenty of work space. Only problem I ran in to was adjusting drawer slides so that the drawers closed properly. It was a great addition to my family room.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Overall, Very Disappointing
7/18/2011

Customer review by Brenlucky7

2.0 stars 7/18/2011 by Brenlucky7
by Brenlucky7

WOW, my husband is an engineer and has constructed many a home improvement project, but this desk took him SIX hours to complete! I didn't even want to know all of the details why, I just think it is ridiculous to waste an entire Sunday on a desk that only looks marginally professional. I was really shocked that it appeared to be a piece of furniture that should have been finished in an hour.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brenlucky7
ABQ, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
desk top has huge crack
11/9/2013

Customer review by debbie17

1.0 stars 11/9/2013 by debbie17
by debbie17

have not even begun to put together and already one piece, the desktop has huge crack in it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
debbie17
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
two desks in one
12/6/2011

Customer review by drhi

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by drhi
by drhi

writing surface and laptop storage and work area............great desk for the price

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drhi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews