Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 183 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

183 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

183 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
142
4 stars
33
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 167 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 167 total reviews
1-20 of 167 reviews
Good for even stair cases.
9/12/2012

Customer review by aidansmommy2008

4.0 stars 9/12/2012 by aidansmommy2008
by aidansmommy2008

This gate is good for stair cases that are even but if you have any kind of differences with the top and bottom of your wall or the top and bottom of your banister this is probably not going to work without adding some wood to it. We bought this gate for the bottom of our steps to prevent our 11 month old from getting up the stairs and it works like a charm after a little fanigling. I had to add a peice of wood to both sides in order to get the gate to line up properly. My banister was a little pushed out on the top because of pressure gates that I tried to use before with my son and on the bottom of my steps by the wall there is some carpet that comes up so this was pretty tricky but we did get it installed and it works like a charm. It is much better than climbing over those pressure gates all the time. The latch works well, just make sure when your installing this gate that its installed evenly otherwise its not going to close correctly.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aidansmommy2008
Philadephia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect
11/30/2011

Customer review by Mom1635

5.0 stars 11/30/2011 by Mom1635
by Mom1635

As soon as I saw this gate at my children's daycare center I knew it was exactly what I needed. My house is the upper level of a duplex and the staircase is open to the interior of the house. I bought another gate elsewhere, but it had a bottom rail that was very dangerous at the top of a staircase. This swings completely open & doesn't make the opening narrower, which comes in handy while carrying an infant carseat and a diaper bag while helping a three year old up & down the stairs. I like that this is wood with NO plastic parts. My staircase is over 48" wide & this gate works perfectly. The only thing about this gate I would change is to figure out a way to lock it in place. There are brackets that slide into holders you screw to the wall & I accidentally knocked it out on the way up once. But if you're careful I don't see it being a problem. This is a great gate & I plan on getting more for other areas of my house to keep my little ones contained in the main family room area.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mom1635
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great gate!
4/15/2013

Customer review by CarmelsMom

5.0 stars 4/15/2013 by CarmelsMom
by CarmelsMom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ordered this gate to replace a pressure mounted gate that had gotten damaged and subsequently, did not retain the 16 month old grandson. Eeek! This gate screws into the wall, and has what I call a 3 step process to open. I like that the gate slides into upper and lower brackets, requires releasing a latch, sliding the gate back and swinging it open. Plus it looks nice. My only complaint is that due to the half-wall adjacent to our stairs, the gate was too tall and had to be returned. I measured but the 32" refers to the height of the gate itself, but not the installation. The brackets extend about 1" each above and below the actual gate height, and this extension isn't mentioned in the features. This gate had to be returned, and I ordered an identical but shorter version of the same gate. It is working well. The return to the store was easy and simple. I didn't want to pay a big price for a gate that is only used when the grandchildren visit; this gate was ideal except for the fit.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CarmelsMom
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good baby gates for stairs
6/15/2011

Customer review by MommyVet1

5.0 stars 6/15/2011 by MommyVet1
by MommyVet1

I just moved into a 2 story house and have two VERY active little boys (2 1/2 and 13 months). We installed these gates at the top and bottom of the stairs first thing and have been very pleased with them. My oldest has fallen down stairs before (not hurt, but Mommy was very scared!) and these gates are very secure, thus allowing me to sleep at night! They shake them and try to climb on them but so far my (extremely tall and gifted climber) boys haven't scaled them or caused any damage to them. They are pretty easy for my husband and I to use, also. I did alot of research before going with these, and have been very pleased with them -- I was willing to pay more to keep my kiddos safe, but was also VERY pleased with the price on these!

Was this review helpful? (60) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommyVet1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for stairs
2/1/2016

Customer review by Panel

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by Panel
by Panel

We bought two of these gates one for the top and bottom of our stairs. They are definitely tall, sturdy, and very practical to use. This gate keeps my 1 1/2 year old and 3 1/2 year old safe. My 3 1/2 year is trying to figure out how to open it but hasn't succeeded yet, that's something we are definitely not going to show him anytime soon!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Panel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exaxtly what I was looking for
1/16/2016

Customer review by Chandra

5.0 stars 1/16/2016 by Chandra
by Chandra

I bought this for the top of the stairs where there is not a lot of room. It is so nice that the gate slides down to half its size and then swings open. Worked just like I had hoped it would.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chandra
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A nice gate, works well
7/21/2010

Customer review by Marimaru

4.0 stars 7/21/2010 by Marimaru
by Marimaru

I'm not sure I realized I was purchasing the extra tall gate when I got it, but the height is actually pretty nice. I have to have a hand free to open it, but I don't have to bend down to get to it if I'm holding the baby, or a bunch of other things, as it's right about at my hip level. My cats are trapped on one side of the gate or the other when it's closed, but I see that more as a defect of my cats than the gate. The installation was easy, although I did have to remove a piece of my baseboard trip to do it. That doesn't bother me since I didn't like the trim anyway, so it would eventually have been removed (new house, lots to do). I bought 2 and haven't installed the 2nd one, because we need to fashion something on my iron banister to be able to connect it. I've seen kits for this on the internet, but my husband decided just to get the parts and do it himself, which should be fine. That one is at the top of stairs. The other gate we just have to the doorway in our living room and it works very well there. The latch takes a few times to get used to, but now it's no big deal either. I haven't used it yet, but I very much like the feature where you can slide the gate out of the hinges if you want to put it away for a while, instead of having it in your way, or needing to remove it entirely.

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marimaru
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
excellent gate
6/30/2012

Customer review by mosterdog

5.0 stars 6/30/2012 by mosterdog
by mosterdog

after reviewing ALL gates available and observing my neighbors expensive gates, i decided on this one. It swings in both directions and easily slides fully open. No bar at bottom to step over. No small opening to fit thru. Slides up for easily removal if company is over. when open it sits flush against wall out of the way. Easy VERY secure latch for opening and closing. I use these to keep dogs confined to kitchen and laundry room when at work. It is extra tall and escape proof! LOVE these gates. Most inexpensive as well. Sturdy and secure. easy installation.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mosterdog
northridge,caiif
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
excellent gate
9/24/2010

Customer review by newpapasmile

5.0 stars 9/24/2010 by newpapasmile
by newpapasmile

This gate installs very easily and is a simple straight forward design. It is sturdy and attractive. We bought a Summer extra tall/wide metal gate and it was absolutely horrible trying to install it and it was almost twice as much as this one.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
newpapasmile
virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Strong top of stair door
11/22/2010

Customer review by Roxanne503

5.0 stars 11/22/2010 by Roxanne503
by Roxanne503

This product was relatively simple to install and very easy to use. Since I don't have a child in the home full time, it is removed often and replaced easily.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roxanne503
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Love it!
4/23/2012

Customer review by MomtoElizabeth

5.0 stars 4/23/2012 by MomtoElizabeth
by MomtoElizabeth

When we moved into our home, this gate was installed at the top of the stairs- which was perfect because we had a 2 year old at the time. We loved it so much that we bought 2 for our family vacation home for top & bottom of stairs so kids wouldn't fall down and dogs wouldn't come up! I am now buying another for the bottom of stairs at our home because we now have a 1 year old who gravitates to the stairs constantly. Easy to open and close with 1 hand while holding a child or laundry in the other! I taught my now 4 1/2 year old how to open and close it when she wants to go up and down. It seems very safe and sturdy, we have had one for 2 1/2 years (& it looks like it had been there for a year or 2 before we moved in). It was easy to install too. You will love it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomtoElizabeth
DeKalb, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Poor Quality Not Worth The Money
12/30/2015

Customer review by ProReviewer2013

1.0 stars 12/30/2015 by ProReviewer2013
by ProReviewer2013

Despite using screw anchors, this gate will not stay attached to stairwells. Wood is cheap and poor construction. Save your money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProReviewer2013
Would recommend to a friend? No
GREAT GATE!
10/19/2010

Customer review by Sammie123

5.0 stars 10/19/2010 by Sammie123
by Sammie123

This gate is awesome! yes, it is hard to open with one hand, but isnt that the point? that just means its IMPOSSIBLE for your kids to open!!! and it is! i have had a few adults say "are you sure its not adult proof?" ....overall i love it!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sammie123
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good but not very strong.
12/19/2013

Customer review by Meagie

3.0 stars 12/19/2013 by Meagie
by Meagie

I love this gate mainly because of the wall mounts. It will break easily. I have had 2 break and now am buying a 3rd. My husband fell over it the first time, second time my daughter broke a bar out of it, and could walk through it. Mountings are good and its easy to open. Just wish it was metal because the wood isn't very strong. I have had this for 3 years now. I have a 12 year old, 3 years old, and a 1 year old.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Meagie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works when all others have failed
3/4/2012

Customer review by Karmah60

5.0 stars 3/4/2012 by Karmah60
by Karmah60

I have a very spirited 2 yr old that has figured out how to yank pressure gates free, or climb over them, no matter how tight we thought we had it secured. We went through 3 or 4 brands of that type before we installed this one. It's too tall for him to figure out the handle, he cannot climb it, and no matter how much he shakes it, it does not come free. He was frustrated immediately and I like not having to chase him up the stairs every 5 seconds! It's affordable enough to have more than 1, too. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Karmah60
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wish this gate wasn't so hard to find in stores!
3/4/2011

Customer review by 18Badgers

5.0 stars 3/4/2011 by 18Badgers
by 18Badgers

I really like this gate, and I needed it on short notice (baby suddenly discovered and mastered the art of crawling overnight). Unfortunately, I could only find it online so I had to wait awhile for shipping. It's easy to install; easy to operate--even one handed, yet still sturdy and secure. I have a 4-year old who can operate it sometimes, while at other times he can't muster the hand strength to squeeze the mechanism open. The only bad thing I have to say is that I was shocked to take the gate out of the package without any finish on the wood--no stain or varnish! I am a hobbyist woodworker, so this turns out to be good for me--I can make it an exact match to our home's woodwork. However, I was still shocked and disappointed to find the unfinished product. (While my description says I've only owned this for 2-7 weeks, I used to own one just like it for 2 years and also loved it.)

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
18Badgers
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great family gate
11/13/2010

Customer review by Bubbly2007

5.0 stars 11/13/2010 by Bubbly2007
by Bubbly2007
Walmart associate

I searched for a gate forever. Finally found this one and the price was right for what I was needing. Love this gate. Only thing is is if you are needing to put it in to drywall I suggest getting toggle bolts to put it in or it will tear holes in the wall. (Specially if you have a two. Year old) I have dogs too that this gate holds in. Gate is easy to remove if needing the whole doorway and brackets won't get in your way.Its place at top of my stair and is best gate for a great price! U won't regret it

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bubbly2007
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Best baby gate out there
3/15/2014

Customer review by ranawi

5.0 stars 3/15/2014 by ranawi
by ranawi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This gate is great. Aside from the fact it's a bit fiddley to install and to open and close/ it is great for these three reasons: 1- it can be taken completely off so when you're not using it the doorway doesn't have to be blocked by a gate and this literally takes seconds to do and one handed- you do however need to use two hands to put it back in the wall latches as the bits that fit in move about freely. 2- it is a full swing gate meaning not just part of the gate swings open but the WHOLE gate does- this is perfect as other gates more it so you need to be pretty skinny to get through the gate easily otherwise you need to go in sideways- not with this one. 3- other swing gates that partially swing open still have a floor barrier- so when it's open you need to step over it which is awkward and uncomfortable if you forget and step on. All in all this gate is soooo worth the cheap price- I also have one of those retractable gates I paid 160 for because of the fact the disappear when you don't need it- wish I would have just got these from the start as they also kind of disappear when you take em off- granted you need to them put it somewhere and it doesn't actually disappear into thin air lol- but them you're not paying 160 for it! Because they're so cheap i got 3 which I cousin do with the retractable as just couldn't afford to!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ranawi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good gate!
8/28/2010

Customer review by GreenTpaz

4.0 stars 8/28/2010 by GreenTpaz
by GreenTpaz

This gate is perfect for our house. As indicated, it is for the top of stairs. It was easy to install with only minor issues. It definitely keeps my 10 months old safe. He shakes the gate and it is sturdy enough to handle his roughness. It is easy for me to open with one had and that is important. However, it is tricky enough where my infant cannot open by himself. Overall, it is a good gate, nothing fancy, and it does what it was designed to do.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GreenTpaz
Land O Lakes, FL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent product, no complaints!
8/21/2013

Customer review by CassieMK

5.0 stars 8/21/2013 by CassieMK
by CassieMK

This gate is awesome! I have installed many baby gates, and have had some kind of problem with every single one. I have no complaints about this gate! It was super easy to install (I installed two gates in less than an hour by myself), and it is very easy to operate. It closes smoothly and quietly, and you can easily open and close the gate one-handed while holding a baby in your other arm. On top of all of these qualifications, it is super affordable! Like I said, I have no complaints about this baby gate. Every Evenflo product I've tried has been well-made, and this gate is no exception. I wish someone had recommended this gate to me so I didn't have to waste so much time and money on other gates. Moving forward, I am recommending this gate to all my friends and family!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CassieMK
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 167 total reviews
1-20 of 167 reviews