Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 18 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

18 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

18 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

72%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-17 of 17 total reviews
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Beautiful, Smooth Ride! Small downsides, worth $
1/14/2011

Customer review by KeepinBusyWith2Kids

4.0 stars 1/14/2011 by KeepinBusyWith2Kids
by KeepinBusyWith2Kids

LOVE IT but some downsides. I got this for Christmas '10 and set it up myself with only a screwdriver. I love the looks of it. It's not as wide as the Schwinn or the Bob, turns on a dime. Shades move all the way down to the front! I got this after struggling to turn my Graco Quattro Tour Double Stroller since my 4yr old is now 36lbs. and my daughter is 20lbs. This is a breeze. I love the cup holders and there is a small place for keys and cards (my cell phone is too long for it to fit but I put it in the cup holder). Colors are awesome in person! The only downsides: When folding it, the kids trays drag on the floor/pavement and scratch easily. I like that it has handles to hold the stroller after it's folded. The other downside the basket below has a bar in the middle of it (the good, things don't fall out), the bad, no diaper bag will fit in it). I just take out some diapers, wipes, whatever I need and a lot fits in there (a blanket, food, drinks, clothes, etc.) everything you could need. If you want to hang your diaper bag on handles, you need a large strap. Another thing, my son's head rests on the netting, problem solved with a little sweater or blanket, but seats only come as high as the baby trend one whereas the Bob comes all the way up to the handle bar. I did see someone though that still uses it with their 6 yr. old w/ the blanket behind the head. The last downside is that the breaks are on each back wheel separately, not a bar like on the Bob or Schwinn but I thought all these downsides were worth the savings! GREAT purchase, would recommend if you can live with those small things. Wheel does not shake while jogging with it locked (I like that the lock is in easy reach near handle bars, push button). No hand brake, just don't go super fast down hill or you feel like you're pulling back not to lose the stroller (it has a hand strap which comes in handy!). Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KeepinBusyWith2Kids
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not so "Grand"
1/29/2011

Customer review by Hudanick

4.0 stars 1/29/2011 by Hudanick
by Hudanick

Bottom line is that standard Instep double stroller (11-AR279) is a good value for the price. The "Grand" model (11-AR283) upgrades are not worth the money. I bought the grand model for the better suspension & MP3 player but was disappointed. The upgraded shocks are not better than in my tandem (non jogging) stroller. The ride is smooth, but not a noticeable improvement over the standard Instep jogging stroller. Secondly, there is only ONE MP3 speaker for a TWO seater stroller. One kid gets to listen and the other misses out. The speaker itself is lousy & weak. If there is any suburban street noise, it is hard to hear. I compare the speaker sound to placing your MP3 ear phones on a table & listening from a distance. Skip the upgrade and buy your own speaker. You can buy an MP3 speaker like the one that comes with the stroller for about $10 at Walmart or a similar store. Additionally, there is no place to put the MP3 player on the stroller except the cup holder. Third, the sheep skin seat padding that comes in this stroller only fits an infant. It is too small for my 2 year old and makes the already tight seat even more narrow. Plus if you live in a warm climate, like we do in Texas, the sheep skin is only practical for about 2-3 months out of the year then it will be too hot. So basically I will use the one sheep skin pad about 2 months then never use it again. One thing worth mentioning about these Instep double jogging strollers is the seats on this stroller are about 12 inches wide. I have a single Instep jogger and the seat is 15 inches wide. The single is pretty roomy. The narrow seat width makes a big difference when you put older kids (2 or 3 year olds) in this stroller. The 12 inch seat width is pretty cramped so I'm not sure if we will get more than 1-2 years use out of this stroller before the kids get too big. Finally, the double stroller does fold down to fit in a sedan (Mazda 6) but not in an Acura TSX trunk. Also, there is no "good" way to fold it down with out some part of the cheap plastic getting scratched. Either the push bar or the child trays/front fender end up on the ground and scratch easily. The first thing I did once I got the stroller was to try fitting it in the trunk of my car. Just one trial of folding it down & putting it in the car cause so many scratches that the stroller looked like I had owned it 1 year not just one afternoon. I've seen other people comment on that issue also. Now that we use this stroller daily, it gets put in the trunk of our car 2-3 times a week. It is so scratched up that it looks terrible. I don't think this stroller would survive an airline trip. Even with all those issues, compared to other double jogging strollers, it is still a decent value for the money. Just don't bother with the upgraded "grand" model. Get the standard swivel wheel double.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hudanick
Austin, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Best purchase possible
3/6/2011

Customer review by luvmyTwIndians

5.0 stars 3/6/2011 by luvmyTwIndians
by luvmyTwIndians

I had a in-line stroller before (i have twin toddler boys) this one and i spent way more money by almost $100 and this one was way better. A lot of side-by-sides are too wide for isles and doorways but this one is the perfect size the tire might rub just a bit in some doorways but IT FITS! I used it in walmart with total ease in 95% of the isles the only parts that were difficult were the clothing sections. It is heavy but the handles make up for the weight because it is so much easier to get in and out of the vehicle with those handles and a fantastic feature about this stroller is that not only does it fold up into a very compact size but while its folded up you can still wheel it around! Oh and the best part is that the steering is so smooth that i guided it with one finger! Yes i said ONE finger that alone made it a wonderful purchase because other strollers are nowhere near as maneuverable. Another cool thing is that the area with the cup holders,though small, was able to hold almost entire mcdonalds happy meal which makes eating on the go so much easier! The storage bins underneath are adequate in size the only problem is the bars to the stroller make it difficult if not impossible to get large items into them but i was able to get a good chunk of my grocery shopping done using the stroller itself just as long as i didnt try and stuff a large bag of cereal into it. Overall I would buy this product for everyone i knew with more than one kid if i could!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luvmyTwIndians
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
not worth it
10/22/2011

Customer review by farmerswifeandmother

1.0 stars 10/22/2011 by farmerswifeandmother
by farmerswifeandmother

I bought this InStep double jogging stroller because I have a single InStep jogging stroller and loved it. I hate this stroller. It's cute don't get me wrong and it works so I can't complain on those two factors but the stroller is ridiculously heavy. I am not a body builder by any means but I wouldn't say I am a weakling either. I can hardly lift this stroller into our van without great effort. We don't have a garage so we have to bring it inside our house every time we use it to put it in our entryway. It's also ridiculously big when folded up. It's so big that we can't keep it in our entryway anymore and now have to carry it farther into the house and store it elsewhere. If I had known how heavy it was going to be and how big it was I wouldn't have bought it. I bought it before we had our second child and then didn't take it out of the box until after she was born and it ended up being past the 90 day return mark so now I am just stuck with it. Also, over half of the time I can't get it to fold up completely thus making it even larger than it already is when folded. The seats don't sit up far enough so my 2.5 year old has to lay back all the time if he wants a back rest which he is not a fan of. I have never been able to get the trigger to engage the lock on the swivel wheel so I'm left with it always swiveling and moving around on our dirt roads. All in all I would NOT recommend this stroller to anyone. My good friend has a Schwinn which looks identical to this stroller except it has metal wheels instead of plastic and a different color of course. Her Schwinn double is a whole lot lighter and I wish I would have just spent the extra money and bought the Schwinn.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
farmerswifeandmother
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Awesome stroller
5/12/2013

Customer review by GFYGRL76

5.0 stars 5/12/2013 by GFYGRL76
by GFYGRL76

I waited to write my review after I had the stoller for over a month and after a couple of uses. It is built very well. And very light. I have a 2.5 year old and a 1 year old. So it takes a beating. It has held up very well. My only complaint is that it doesn't fold up as nearly as compact as I would have liked. But we have a Yukon XL so I have plenty of space in the rear of my car. I would not recommend if you have a compact car. Unless you will not travel with it. Over all I am very pleased with the purchase. I would definitly buy again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GFYGRL76
Jacksonville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice stroller
3/1/2011

Customer review by twounderthree

5.0 stars 3/1/2011 by twounderthree
by twounderthree

Really like the stroller.Super easy to maneuver. We had our stroller parked next to a BOB and besides the frame you couldn't tell a difference. One downside is it is heavy! And remember to AIR up the tires, before trying it out....: ) Overall were very happy with our purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
twounderthree
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Smooth ride stroller
3/30/2012

Customer review by 2Babies2Crazy

5.0 stars 3/30/2012 by 2Babies2Crazy
by 2Babies2Crazy

Even though it is alittle heavy to pick up, this is a great stroller! The wheels pop right off, if folds down so small. It just slides when you push it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2Babies2Crazy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
7/15/2012

Customer review by DCBurbMomma

5.0 stars 7/15/2012 by DCBurbMomma
by DCBurbMomma

This is a great stroller that we are getting tons of use out of. It glides so much better than my single Jeep jogger. I have used it several times in stores and the mall, too, and haven't had any trouble fitting through doors. The iPod hook up isn't anything fantastic, but it does work fine. I would highly recommend this stroller!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DCBurbMomma
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Stroller for EVERYTHING!
5/11/2013

Customer review by GladesGirl

5.0 stars 5/11/2013 by GladesGirl
by GladesGirl

Let me just say that this is the 2nd stroller that we have owned from instep, our previous stroller was another jogging stroller just like this one, exactly actually. We do not use this stroller for jogging, we use it for everything. Where we live the roads are rough concrete and the regular stroller was getting its tires chewed up and then when in stores the traction was horrible. This stroller we use everywhere. It has everything you need. We are 2nd time parents and decided against getting a carrier this time around because they are not really needed and they will out grow them in 4 months. We got a 3 in 1 car seat and bought and insert for a newborn for this stroller and are totally happy with the results. The baggage compartment does have a bar going across that makes it a bit difficult for a diaper bag to be put into it but...thankfully it is adjustable. I just changed the attachment to the single bar and I'm good. It is super easy to fold up, a bit on the heavy side but I can handle it just fine and I am 5 feet tall and only 130 lbs. My trick to getting it in the trunk it to get it up to my bumper folded up and aligned with the kids trays and then lifting one side, then the other and it rolls right into the trunk. Basically, this stroller can be used ANYWHERE, jogging, walking, hiking, national parks, mall strolling, stores, etc. It is only 32 inches wide and fits into most doorways you'd have to have a real narrow doorway for it not to fit. Its all you need in one stroller that you can use until your children out grow them. Wouldn't waste my money buying any of those fancy strollers when you can get all you need with this, the only thing I would add is the weather shield, they sell it and its great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GladesGirl
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE IT!!
4/28/2011

Customer review by MandieB

4.0 stars 4/28/2011 by MandieB
by MandieB

I love this stroller so far. We have used it a few times and we just love it. I walk 2 to 4 miles a day with my 5 year old and 1 year old and it is just perfect. It is so easy to push. Its a lil small for my 5 year old but she loves it anyway and has even fallen asleep in it. My only problem is the basket under the stroller isn't all that great cause there is a bar in the way, and the trays for the kids are pretty far for them to reach. Other than that I just LOVE it. I can not begin to tell you how easy it is to push, I mean it just turns with no problem what so ever and it feels like you are pushing a single. It is a big stroller, we have a Yukon XLT so it isn't an issue for us but it may be for someone else. I hope this was helpful.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MandieB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very smooth
5/7/2013

Customer review by shellers81

4.0 stars 5/7/2013 by shellers81
by shellers81

I really am enjoying the stroller. My boys love going for a jog they are comfy and safe. I would suggest putting a speaker for the MP3 player in both sides. The ride is very smooth even on the bumpy sidewalks.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shellers81
Monticello, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/10/2011

Customer review by LALALA100000000000000

4.0 stars 5/10/2011 by LALALA100000000000000
by LALALA100000000000000

The stroller is fine. The adjustable handle is a bit wobbly. I did a site to store pickup. When I picked it up There was a big hole in the center of the box that someone had tried taping over. When I opened the box, the stroller's plastic was melted and the metal dented in the area where the hole in the box was.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LALALA100000000000000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
not for toddlers
4/27/2011

Customer review by tammiemo3

3.0 stars 4/27/2011 by tammiemo3
by tammiemo3

The stroller seemed sturdy and well made. It was a good price. It didnt work for us because I have a 8 month old and a 2 1/2 years old. My toddlers legs didnt fit. There wasnt room for them on the foot pad. They hung over and to the side. Not very comfortable looking this way

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tammiemo3
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Too heavy for a Grandmother
4/1/2011

Customer review by Conhail

3.0 stars 4/1/2011 by Conhail
by Conhail

I am a grandmother who has purchased this product. I have not used the stroller yet but I put it together. It is very heavy for me to pick up. I did put the twins in it in the huse and it strolled very easily, just wich it wasn't so heavy. The other strollers I looked at were way more money and I wasn't sure I wanted to spend that much not knowing how much use I would get out of it. If I had the box it came in, I would probably return it and get something a little lighter so I can handle it easier. Also, It went on sale for $187.00 after I purchased it and I paid $208.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Conhail
Port Chester, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
not so great for this price
5/13/2011

Customer review by bAbYmAmA84

2.0 stars 5/13/2011 by bAbYmAmA84
by bAbYmAmA84

handle bar broken right out of the box.snack trays are very flimsy,will break under weight of small child.foot rest not big enough for 2.seats not wide enough for children 3.5 and up.it was almost too small for my petite 3year&4month daughter.not enough shade.returned it and bought a baby trend navigator double jogger

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bAbYmAmA84
NE Tenneesse
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Lemon
6/10/2012

Customer review by Lsmmom

1.0 stars 6/10/2012 by Lsmmom
by Lsmmom

We gave this stroller two tries. First try front wheel somehow popped off and second try problem with other wheels. Not going to try again after trying two different ones of this brand

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lsmmom
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Absolutely Terrible
7/17/2013

Customer review by TaraBh

1.0 stars 7/17/2013 by TaraBh
by TaraBh

This stroller is absolutely terrible. It is for those, who love not only jogging, but also lifting weight. The comforters placed in seats, made like imitation of fur, look insane. Especially for California, where I am, but even for Alaska, it is just ugly. The wheels were almost flat, when stroller arrived. I felt almost every bump when I was walking around. Two separate canopy and trays are, of cause, nice, but because of all the rest, I was simply not able to use them and had to bring back to the store (waste of time, money and energy).

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TaraBh
Vallejo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day