Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.3out of 5 stars
3.3 out of 5 | 483 reviews
5 stars
193
4 stars
79
3 stars
27
2 stars
51
1 stars
133
Sort by: 
1-20 of 483 reviews
1-20 of 483 reviews
9/12/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've been coloring my hair since I was 16. I'm also a licensed cosmetologist. This was my favorite semi permanent color (even over Redken). I went from a level 10/11 hi lift blonde to this and it covered it great, left my hair shiny, the color was deep brown with very little of that reddish brown you associate with cheap brown hair color, and with proper initial rinsing had very minimum fading. I used it for 8 months with no problems. Then they changed the formula, called it "New and Improved". I've used the new formula twice and wish they'd switch back. The color isn't as deep and dimensional, it has the dreaded reddish brown tint to it. I can see the line of demarcation from the old formula to the new, my hair isn't as shiny, and I just don't like the new conditioner they include. If I didn't know they changed the formula, it would probably be fine. I'm giving it one more time with a darker/ different shade and then make my decision whether to keep spending my money on this product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
5/3/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I tried the color Medium Blonde, which turned out okay. It wasn't exactly the color I was looking for, yet it did add more color to my hair, which fades very quickly. I've been using permanent color for years and within two weeks, it fades. I've tried using a dark blonde, it still fades. I've tried everything from using color protecting shampoos, to washing it only every other day, and it still fades. I wanted something that wasn't as harsh as permanent color that I could do in between colorings to boost the faded color and it did do that. The color on the box, looked slightly more golden than what it turned out. Yet I know color will look different depending on what color was there previously. I'll have to see how long it lasts and whether it's worth it. I also bought another color gloss by a different brand that you use once a week to restore color and shine and will see how that compares. For the most part, I still give it four stars and may try a different shade in the future.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/3/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Previously, I had used Clairol Natural Instincts Dark Bronze Brown. I absolutely loved it! I decided to give this brand a try as it was on sale at my local Walgreens. I was also looking to go a bit darker; my hair is medium-dark (?) brown that looks reddish in the sunlight. Hope that gives a bit of a reference. First off, the smell was different from the Natural Instincts. It smelled more chemically. The processing was fine, but I noticed my hair felt like straw! I've never had that happen before! It actually felt like that for the first two weeks. The color was alright, but I noticed the Natural Instincts was just better overall. That color had more definition in it; this was kind of flat dark brown. Also, I noticed the packaging just didn't show how the color actually looks. It looks fake and computerized on the box. This just wasn't my cup of tea. Sorry L'oreal unless you amp up the shades for dark brown, I'll be sticking with my Clairol.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
BEST OF ALL HAIR COLORS I HAVE TRIED, GENTLE
9/17/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I HAVE BOUGHT THIS TWICE AND ABOUT TO BUY ANOTHER. IT WORKS GREAT. I AM A NATURAL BLONDE BUT TRIED MANY DIFFERENT HAIR COLORS THIS YEAR MOSTLY LOREAL PREFERENCE, FERIA, AND REVLON ONCE. REVLON LEFT MY HAIR DRY AND YOU ONLY GET A TINY PACKET OF CONDITIONER. HEALTHY LOOK 8 1/2 WHITE CHOCOLATE IS CLOSEST TO MY NATURAL HAIR COLOR AND IT HELPED ME GET BACK TO SOFT AND HEALTHY HAIR ONCE AGAIN. I HAVE PROBABLY TRIED 10 DIFFERENT COLORS THIS YEAR BUT HEALTHY LOOK BROUGHT ME BACK TO HEALTHY HAIR. I ALSO USE THE $1 PACKET OF HENNA AND PLACENTA AND IT HELPS TOO. ALL THE OTHER HAIR COLORS EITHER FRIED MY HAIR OR LEFT ME ORANGE, OR SILVER OR PURPLE. IT WAS A NIGHTMARE ALL THIS YEAR AS THIS WAS MY FIRST TIME COLORING MY HAIR WITH ANYTHING OTHER THAN SUN IN. SUN IN LEAVES MY HAIR DAMAGED AND DRY. I HAVE BABY FINE NATURAL BLONDE HAIR THAT GETS DARK AT THE ROOTS OVER THE WINTER. I TRIED REVLON LAST WEEK BECAUSE HEALTHY LOOK DOESN'T HAVE ANYTHING LIGHTER THAN 8 1/2 BUT REVLON COLORSILK 03 LEFT MY HAIR DRY AND DAMAGED. HEALTHY LOOK BROUGHT MY HAIR BACK TO HEALTH AND I AM GETTING ONE EITHER TONIGHT OR TOMORROW ASAP. I'M STICKING TO IT. THE CONDITIONER LASTS A LONG TIME AND IS HEALTHY.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/18/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was recently a campus rep for the L'Oreal Healthy Look Creme Gloss, and I loved it then. I thought it was just fine for a hair color and after handing out all of the samples to UofA students I kept a dark brown color for myself to try again for a later time. I didn't know at the time, that it was going to save me from the worst hair disaster of my life. I recently went into a salon asking for a honey golden brown color. The idiot stylist gave me dark brown hair with bleach blonde highlights. I went to a different salon to try and get it corrected. My highlights were maybe a shade darker, but my hair was still looking awful. So I broke out the dark brown Healthy Look and it covered everything up no problem, AND helped with the damage the bleach caused. Never using anything else but L'Oreal ever again. If the pros can't even do what the Healthy Look did, why pay so much more for hair care? L'Oreal, my hair owes you it's life!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love this haircolor
12/23/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I really like this haircolor, minimal show of grow out if you choose a color close to your own. I have some white in my hair and it covers it to blend it not making it bright red or orange like some hair color.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
3/10/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My hair was fried and my new color that was drab, dull, and uneven. I had it done at the salon for a change by someone highly recommended. I hated the color and how uneven it was. So I decided to try Healthy Look since it seemed a lot less damaging. I've always wanted to try having black hair so I chose Rich Black 1. The color went on easily and took about 20 minutes to process all of my shoulder length hair. I rinsed and shampooed to get all the dye out and deep conditioned with the awesome conditioner that was included and I added my own hair mask since my hair was so brittle. The results were BEAUTIFUL! PERFECT, NATURAL, VIBRANT, GLOSSY BLACK! And my hair felt smooth as satin, full of life, and it looked HEALTHY! I never thought that a hair dye could give me hair that looks natural and healthy with intense color that actually lasts. It outlasts fading so when I recolor I only do it because my honey blonde roots start to appear. I'm very careful with not over washing my hair and I keep it well conditioned so the color looks fresh dyed all month long.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/17/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Overall, i like this product. My hair feels healthy, soft and shiny. It is naturally thick, and coarse and if it dries up it looks like straw. This product instead makes it look and feel great. Yes, it is definitely 2, maybe 3 shades darker than the swatch on the box, but knowing this, I choose a lighter shade and end up with what I want. The fact that my hair is healthy after this is worth it. Also, non permanent color lightens up quickly for me. This product blends in my roots beautifully. Works great if one has small amounts of gray too. Usually I buy in bulk with coupons, and when performing the allergy test, I also perform a strand test, coloring a small strand of my hair , before the rest. I usually choose the darkest hidden parts, or cut a super tiny strand off and dip it in the color. this way I see the color on myself, before applying all over my hair . Then I get to seethe condition my hair will be in after coloring. It takes a little extra time but it pays off. No surprises and no disaster to repair. Again, having healthy hair for me is the priority.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
5/10/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was SO scared because of the bad reviews that I did a thick strand test first. This alleviated all my fears. Try it you'll like the results! I have VERY long hair. It's light brown/ dark blonde. From many years of highlighting ,I must say I am all shades of blonde from dark to light. Think ombre with light highlights . Well, enough is enough. I have never used hair color before. Instead of cutting it all off, I decided to try new and improved Healthy Look 8/medium blonde vanilla creme. This shade softened my light blonde highlights to a vanilla caramel color,took away all brassiness and seemed to ever so slightly lighten my dark under layers. I used two boxes. My hair color is classy looking. Its not just one Boring solid shade either. I can still see my highlights . No more bold stripes,just pretty blended highlights and lots of silky,shiny medium/dark blonde hair..I am so pleased .
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
9/18/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I felt compelled to review this product/color because I was so afraid it would be discontinued. When you find something that works perfectly for you, so often it immediately disappears. I've used this color three times in the last seven months. I am 46 with about 25% gray. Mostly happy with the beautiful bright tone and sheen it gives to my naturally mousy-dark blonde hair. I've tried other perm & demi brands, but after using this my stylist raved over it, and I heard comments like "it lights up your face" and "makes you look younger" and "I thought you were your daughter's friend." Resulting color is very close to the box. The first time I used this I was watching the Oscars and hoped desperately, but with very low expectations, that the results would be the soft champagne, not brassy red, I'd been trying to achieve for years. For me, this formula nailed it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The color is OK but the smell takes days to fade
12/7/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used Clairol Natural Instincts for years but unfortunately the "improved/ruined" a good thing. I am now using the White Chocolate by L'Oreal. The color is OK and lasts fine, it is close to my natural color and gives it a boost. I do not like the chemical smell that lingers for days from this hair color. The smell remains no matter how long I rinse my hair. (I now use baking soda in warm water to remove the odor, yes; it is that bad). I don't like the fragrance of the conditioner and toss it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
5/13/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the worst beauty news ever. I have used Healthy Look for the past years, and it was the BEST DEMI HAIR COLOR ON THE MARKET. Now its discontinued, and I have not found anything close to it, even in Beauty Supply stores. It had great grey coverage, was mild on my scalp which is very sensitive, had great shine, and most of all did not have ammonia. How could you take a product like this off the market. Because it did not sell?? Well, maybe Loreal should have marketed it better. I never saw commercials for it. It you marketed it, I am sure that it would have been a big hit with people who are interested in using less chemicals on their body. That alone would have increased your sales. Please reconsider this product, do your marketing, and bring it back. It's not too late to revive the greatest haircolor ever.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/10/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
PLEASE BRING BACK THE OLD FORMULA!! I have been using Healthy Look since it first came out, and I absolutely loved it until the formula changed. The old #4 color was beautiful. It blended well with my natural color, had depth, and switched my greys to a lovely caramel color. When the new formula came out, I noticed the dye was a different color as soon as it was applied, and the final result was horrible. Now I have to reapply color every 3 weeks because the new formula drastically fades after less than a week, making my roots significantly lighter than the rest of my hair. My greys now color to a gross dirty blonde color, and the brown is dull and lifeless. The first time I used the new formula, I thought it was just weaker so I increased the processing time to 40 minutes. The result was a little better, but it still wasn’t close to results of the old color formula. I’m compelled to write a review now, because I was reminded of how great the old formula was when I used a box of it yesterday. Please, please, please bring back the old formula!! I've been using L'Oreal hair color for almost 20 years, and this disaster is enough to permanently make me change brands.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
10/3/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Amazing, gorgeous. I have been getting grays since my 30's i'm in my 50's. Always did my same medium brown for years, henna, semi permanent, permanent, my hair's always been waist length . 2010 decided to be blonde. Started with salon high lights, then did it myself, back to salon, myself etc. Now my hair is many shades of blonde, brown, gold, ash, etc. Was ready to go back to brown but I thought I would give this a try. I called the color help line at Loreal and was told to go for a salon correction. Nope, did it myself. Used two boxes of 8 1/2. Left it on 45 min. The color is beautiful, almost even. Hair is not damaged. I take super care of my hair, will do a deep condition in a day or so, once the color sets, get a trim. Buying as many boxes as I can find. Box color's come a long way baby!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great hair color
5/16/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great coverage for gray hair. No peroxide!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/3/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I don't understand why this product is being discontinued?! It's my favorite non permanent hair color. I can't use permanent due to how it damages my hair, plus my scalp is super sensitive. I'm very disappointed. This was the only hair product that did a perfect job of providing uniform results and was exactly the color I wanted. At least, once I realized that I could not find the product in any store in town, I started looking elsewhere and bought out the final six boxes I found at Fred Meyer's in Oregon. That store advised me the product was being discontinued. I came here to confirm so I guess it's true. I'm going to have to go to a different brand for my non-permanent hair color if L'Oreal does not offer a new alternative non-permanent hair color. (pout)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4/5/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this product! It takes half the time to color hair, time which is something I don't have much of. It does not smell, because it is ammonia free. After coloring my hair, it felt so silky smooth felt very conditioned and healthy. Other products I've used make my hair feel damaged and dry. I always got compliments right after coloring my hair. It is now hard to find the product, because it is being discontinued. I have tried other hair colors, but would have to say this is the one I love the best. Am trying to find out why, it is being discontinued. Would love for L'OREAL to bring back this product, or bring another new product similar to this one. One with no smell and a short amount of dye time. Please bring this product back! Judy (TX)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4/20/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After recieving a coupon to try a free box of Healthy Look Cre'me gloss. I picked the medium blonde in Vanilla Cre'me . It had been awhile since i had colored my hair, and wanted to get rid of the grey that had taken over. Well I wasn't too sure that this shade would do the job. But, after waiting for ten mins , actually fifteen for more grey coverage. I was pleasantly surprised. It had looked like it didnt work. But after rinseing my hair and applying the conditioner. I then waited for my hair to dry. Well It had done better than what I had thought. It is alot lighter, and better yet the grey is gone and less noticeable. Thank you L'oreal . I feel alot better about myself and dont look older than my age of fourty nine .
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/2/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've been using the 4AR for years, and was always extremely pleased with my color. I had found what I'd been searching for, in over 25 years of coloring my hair....that is, until the new formulation. It's awful. The color mixture is thicker and harder to spread, the conditioner is atrocious, the process time has gone from 10 to 20 minutes for a semi-permanent color, and the color's not the same. I will be heading out this weekend and buying up as many boxes of the original formulation as I can find. In the past, I've been quick to praise both this specific color, and the dye itself. No longer. Sadly, once I can no longer find the original formula, I'll be switching to something else. Why fix what isn't broken, L'Oreal??
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
12/15/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this hair color - but I don't love that it takes me numerous phone calls to various drugstores and visits to find this color. Why is it so difficult to find? I'd order it online - except that Walgreens, Drugstore.com, Target, CVS and Amazon don't carry it - or when I do go to order it, this shade is out of stock. And when I am able to find it, I typically try to buy multiple boxes to save me the hassle the next time around - but I usually can't even do that because when I do find it, I rarely find more than two boxes at a time. Any way you can get more product in stores...or at least online? It's frustrating to say the least when I'm trying to give you my business and you don't make it easy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640673, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-