Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 86 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

86 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

86 reviews | 3 out of 5

49%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
10
1 stars
31
1-20 of 85 total reviews
49%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 85 total reviews
1-20 of 85 reviews
Disappointed
12/28/2016

Customer review by annlamb

1.0 stars 12/28/2016 by annlamb
by annlamb

This product didn't work for me. I was really excited to try it after reading reviews. It is tough when you have to go to a social function after a product fail!

annlamb
, CT
Gender:Female
Eye color:Blue
Removed brassiness out of your color instantly!
9/16/2016

Customer review by lclause66

5.0 stars 9/16/2016 by lclause66
by lclause66

Doing your own highlights tends to create brassiness, trust me I know from experience and its ok, we all save money doing our own hair but dont need the orange in our hair to show the world our mistakes! This purple product allows you to rub into the areas that you find golden or orange and leave in for about 15 mins or longer and you will see as you rinse it out the color is lighter and either less orange depending on the need for lightening or perfect, no fret you can fix the problem just to a deep condition afterwards. I use coconut oil bought in the oil aisle (cheaper than hair aisle) same thing and rub scalp to ends let it dry and sleep on a towel over my pillow, tomorrow my hair may be too soft but won't complain, if that is the case after you style you learn next time to wash after the rinse of oil and it puts some texture back into your hair. Good luck.

lclause66
New Baltimore, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Eye color:Blue
Ok
12/15/2016

Customer review by Barby1001

1.0 stars 12/15/2016 by Barby1001
by Barby1001

It didn't work at all. If anything it made it worse. L'Oréal is usually so great but this is just a waste of money. I did it exactly as instructed and left it on 10 minutes. Ugh!!!

Barby1001
, ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Eye color:Hazel
9/12/2015

Customer review by TByrd

3.0 stars 9/12/2015 by TByrd
by TByrd

My hair is naturally med. brown, but turning white at the crown. I have been coloring it med. brown with highlights. I wanted to try the Loreal "Super Blond" to get much closer to my white root hair color. I've done blond before and it looked pretty good. I left it on the max amount of time...it went through the orange...but I ended up with pastel Easter yellow. Not cool. What to buy next? So I went out and bought Loreal Brass Banisher. It is better...not nearly as pastel yellow...It is better, but still a bit yellowish.

TByrd
Would recommend to a friend? No
4/21/2015

Customer review by Autumn J

1.0 stars 4/21/2015 by Autumn J
by Autumn J

I read reviews on this product and was really skeptical. But after seeing how many people felt the same way as me and then tried it out and loved it, I gave it a shot. Really 100% disappointed in this product! I recently went blonde and had a ton of red in my hair still, I left this product on for the maximum ten minutes (plus a couple) and didn't even notice a slight difference in the brassiness of my hair! I love L'oreal products so I am extremely shocked and disappointed. Unfortunately, this product was a waste of my money.

Comment from - 4/21/2015

We are sorry to hear that did not get the coverage that you expected on your post bleach red. We'd be happy to explain. Give us a call at 800.631.7358 M-F 9-7 EST Give the rep reference number 113748

Autumn J
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good for dark brunette with too-brassy highlights
3/27/2011

Customer review by leigha

4.0 stars 3/27/2011 by leigha
by leigha

I have naturally dark brown hair with some naturally gold tones but my roots are very very dark. I ended up getting partial highlights in a 7-8 with brown and they turned very brassy red and did not blend with my natural color at all. Brass Banisher worked wonderfully and did not seem to change my natural color, but toned the highlights from a brassy red to more of a honey brown. BB will probably not take your color from very brassy to an ash color, but it will make it look more natural/neutral.

leigha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Back to fab!
11/2/2010

Customer review by Brittany

5.0 stars 11/2/2010 by Brittany
by Brittany

I have light blonde hair and I decided a few years ago to start adding highlights and sun in. As a result my hair had an `interesting` rainbow of reds, yellows etc that I hated all in attempt to lift my colour. I tried all kinds of shampoos and treatments to fix it with no luck. I picked this up today and tried it not expecting any change again. Much to my surprise the ugly colours are gone and my hair looks great! Not only did it fix my hair but the conditioner made it so soft too! THANK YOU

Brittany
Brampton
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
works ok
1/12/2010

Customer review by NoMoney4Salon

3.0 stars 1/12/2010 by NoMoney4Salon
by NoMoney4Salon

I bought this to cover a neutral blonde color that ended up turning brassy. I have a little red to my hair that I wanted to keep in my hair. I left the previous color I had used on longer to make sure it didnt turn brassy because my hair is color resistent. This product brought my hair color down a notch or two. It could pass for a strawberry blonde. So it didnt take all the orange tones out but it did to a point. I also left the product on for 20 minutes because my hair doesnt take dye well.

NoMoney4Salon
Chicago,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
seems to do the trick...
6/26/2011

Customer review by clevergrrly

4.0 stars 6/26/2011 by clevergrrly
by clevergrrly

10 minutes to fix the problem isn't bad... Once I dried my hair, things looked much better than before. It's not that the color I had put on last week wasn't ok, it was just a tad on the yellowy-brassy-sun side of the spectrum. So, after a week of that, I decided to go for a fix. In comes Brass Banisher. Of course, when coloring at home, if something doesn't go exactly right, it's scary to have to try to "fix" the issue. No problem, as this did the trick. Try it if you have brassy tones...

clevergrrly
Las Vegas,NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This really works. Thank you, L'Oreal!
6/11/2011

Customer review by DeniseP

5.0 stars 6/11/2011 by DeniseP
by DeniseP

I've been trying to save money by coloring my own hair and so far L'Oreal has had the most realistic red-blonde shades. However my hair naturally wants to go a golden blonde and the sun makes it a yellow-blonde, so after awhile my reddish blonde hair takes on orange-brass color. I thought I needed to just color over it until I found this product. I can't believe how much it's helped my hair in less than 10 minutes! It looks so much more cooler in tone — way more polished and sophisticated.

DeniseP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Helped My Switch to Red
10/29/2010

Customer review by Steph

5.0 stars 10/29/2010 by Steph
by Steph

I found this product because I had just applied Excellence, Red Penny, to my medium blond hair with highlights and it seemed too orange (where the highlights were). However, I must say that no one else thought it looked orange. It states it removes some of the warmer tones, and I was not sure that's what I wanted as I like warmer tones, but it did the trick and my red is wonderful now. It's a bit more muted and looks very natural. I will move on next month to the Light Auburn w/o worries.

Steph
Columbus,OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No Effect
7/20/2010

Customer review by smallzee

1.0 stars 7/20/2010 by smallzee
by smallzee

I decided to dye my blond highlighted hair a dark brown in the winter. After a month or two I started noticing the dark brown fading out and leaving an unnatural orange-gold undertone in its place. Enter Brass Banisher. The reviews I read weren't that good but I decided to take the risk and try it myself. I left it on for 10 minutes, rinsed it out and blow-dried my hair to see the results. I was very disappointed to discover my hair hadn't changed in the slightest. Not even a little bit.

smallzee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Postitives and Negatives
8/8/2010

Customer review by Angie0633

3.0 stars 8/8/2010 by Angie0633
by Angie0633

I bought the Loreal Brass Banisher to tone down some orangey yellows I had after coloring my already blonde hair with a Loreal color kit in Lightest Ash Blonde shade. I definitely saw an iprovement in shine, and the Banisher did reduce the brassiness. However, I think in order to do so it ay have actually darkened my color a bit, which wasnt really what I wanted. I would recommend for anyone who is ok with a slight darkening in order to correct, or wanting to give natural color a boost.

Angie0633
AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
IT TOTALLY WORKED!! SO HAPPY!
7/17/2010

Customer review by REBECKY

5.0 stars 7/17/2010 by REBECKY
by REBECKY

After looking at the reviews on here I was kinda hesitant, but I also looked at other reviews online and decided to give it a try. My hair pulls a lot of gold since my in my family there are several redheads, but I've always had blonde hair. After I dyed my hair dark then back to blonde it had a a really hard time getting the reddish tones out of it. After coloring it with a bleach blonde color then using this Brass Banisher it completely removed the yellow!! Finally something worked!!!

REBECKY
Taylor,MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
it did help a lot
4/8/2010

Customer review by simi531

4.0 stars 4/8/2010 by simi531
by simi531

My hair has turned really orangey/red due to well water issues and dye jobs gone wrong. I used this as a last ditch effort to make my hair sort of a normal color. It is med/light blonde with many highlights, but the roots are really red due to a nuetral dark blonde that processed "off." I have tried everything to try and nuetralize the red, but nothing has worked. I just used this and it really did help a lot to reduce the red. It did darken the highlights a little bit, but that's OK!

simi531
stamford,CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
100 STARS
10/5/2010

Customer review by Chance

5.0 stars 10/5/2010 by Chance
by Chance

i never write reviews, but had to on this one. Fantastic product and I hope Loreal always sells it. I use super blond on my medium natural brown color hair. Usually I end up with a few orangy patches that I try to get during the next coloring. With THIS BRASS BANISHER, in 10 minutes...yes, 10 minutes...the orangy and brass was completely gone and I have a beautiful natural looking blond/ashy color...I will stock up on this and have it handy for upkeeps. WOW--my hair looks nice now. l

Chance
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/15/2014

Customer review by Jolee

1.0 stars 6/15/2014 by Jolee
by Jolee

Tried this to remove the reds and oranges my hair pulled after using a lighter color loreal product.....spent ten dollars and it did absolutely nothing. Left it on for ten minutes, and am bummed it didn't dull the reds and oranges at all, I usually have to use an ash color and this time didn't because I figured this product would do the trick, but nope.......I usually have brown hair, now it's still reddish orange and I'm out twenty bucks for both hair colors, bummed out big time!

Comment from - 6/17/2014

Sorry this did not work for you. We would like to assist. Please call 1.800.631-7358 M-F 9AM-7 PM. Pls give ref # 7468287

Jolee
Would recommend to a friend? No
MIRACLE WORKER!
4/7/2010

Customer review by Jenny

5.0 stars 4/7/2010 by Jenny
by Jenny

This product saved my life! After my salon left me with bright yellow hair, even after trying to tone it down, I had to wear nothing but baseball hats for days until discovering this product. I had very little hope since even my salon couldn't fix it but I tried it anyway. This product is nothing short of a MIRACLE WORKER!! I no longer have any yellow tone to my hair, rather a beautiful shade of blonde with no damage at all. Thank you so much Loreal for this fabulous product!!!

Jenny
Sandusky,OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worth a Try
8/12/2011

Customer review by LovelyOlivia

3.0 stars 8/12/2011 by LovelyOlivia
by LovelyOlivia

To save money, I colored my light brown hair medium ash blonde and added pale blonde highlights over the base color at home. The color, thankfully, came out even, but it was more red/orange than I wanted (which is why I used ASH colors to begin with). I decided to give Brass Banisher a try. I left it on my hair for 15 minutes, and it did remove some of the orange tones, and my highlights are now pale blonde. The base color is still too red, but it left my hair soft and shiny.

LovelyOlivia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It really did tone down the brassiness!
2/20/2011

Customer review by Erin

5.0 stars 2/20/2011 by Erin
by Erin

After years of having my hair professionally colored, I switched to DIY coloring in '07. Talk about major savings and loving my results! I color often to keep the dark roots,(plus recently,the whites) at bay. But mostly, it's to cover up that horrible brassiness that sets in after a week's time at the roots! I picked up this product on a whim; thought I'd give it a shot! Wow! What a great pick-me-up! Worked like a charm and in only 10 minutes! This is my new "go-to" product!

Erin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 85 total reviews
1-20 of 85 reviews