Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 70 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

70 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

70 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

51%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
8
1 stars
23
1-20 of 69 total reviews
51%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews
It worked for me. I like it!
3/25/2014

Customer review by lbean

5.0 stars 3/25/2014 by lbean
by lbean

I have dark dark blonde hair naturally. I had used brown hair color some time ago and decided I wanted to started highlighting it again. I used Frost & Tip for brunette hair - Frost & Tip works the best for my hair. My highlights turned out great, but they were kind of yellow and there was some carmel colored tones of course (because I was making a darker colored hair lighter). I used Brass Banisher about a week after I highlighted my hair and I could tell a definite difference, even with my head still in the sink, my hair didn't look orangy anymore. It pullled all the orange tones out. Now it looks like a dark ash blonde with highlights and is definitely soft. I will definitely buy it again....because I am going to add some more highlights eventually.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lbean
Northwestern WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
it works
9/5/2013

Customer review by BuBBles827

5.0 stars 9/5/2013 by BuBBles827
by BuBBles827

I used loreal les blondissimes on my medium brown hair and had some reddish gold i wanted to get rid of. The brass banisher did the job. It took the red out and toned down the gold. It also left a beautiful shine and softness on my hair. I'm buying a few boxes to have on hand when i color my hair again.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BuBBles827
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Fixed my orange roots on my new platinum blonde
10/29/2013

Customer review by Chrissyloulou

4.0 stars 10/29/2013 by Chrissyloulou
by Chrissyloulou

I didn't know if my roots didn't lift enough or was this just brass...what I read online had me confused but after a lot of reading I choose this product. I needed the full 10 minutes but I think I messed up on the last 5 mins.....I worked it into all of my hair and when I rinsed, my real light tips looked greenish so I hopped back in the shower and used a clarifying shampoo and that greenish tint is gone now. I definitely am pleased with the over all color, it seems more even and like the platinum color I was going for. It didn't hurt my delicate hair.....I am happy, happy, HAPPY. :-) GAVE A 4 STAR BECAUSE I DO NOT KNOW ENOUGH ABOUT HAIR PRODUCTS TO SAY THERE IS NO ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT ESP AFTER READING THE FAILURE REVIEWS.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chrissyloulou
USA by
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
well, it would be cool had it worked
10/2/2013

Customer review by LydiaLydiaLydia

1.0 stars 10/2/2013 by LydiaLydiaLydia
by LydiaLydiaLydia

I came into this with, what I thought to be, generally realistic expectations. I did a bleach bath on my hair a few days ago and my hair took on an orangey cast (not read neon orange crazy reds). I thought this stuff would bring me to a safe-ish neutral ground because I didn't really have much to tone. Went on well, I was surprised the whole bottle covered my hair that never happens, and it didn't have a bad smell; nothing horrible happened. Not to say anything good happened though either, actually nothing happened at all. It altered the color of the towel I was working with, but not my hair at all. Save your money, just go to a beauty supply and by a toner and developer. This only seems to work (somewhat well) for one in every two hundred purchases.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LydiaLydiaLydia
Sandusky, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Really made a difference!
10/20/2014

Customer review by LovngSnow

5.0 stars 10/20/2014 by LovngSnow
by LovngSnow
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor

I admit to being a bit reluctant to spend my money on this--but my most recent highlights were too orange for my taste, so I went for it. I did leave the product on for 15-20 minutes, even though directions clearly state to rinse it out after 10 minutes. I chose to do this since I know my hair is resistant to color changes. I always have to leave products in my hair a lot longer than recommended. My highlights now definitely have a cooler tone, and I don't see any brassiness. It really works!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovngSnow
North Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
11/12/2015

Customer review by Jenny1203

1.0 stars 11/12/2015 by Jenny1203
by Jenny1203

I used this a week after coloring my hair which could be why it did not work. I left the mixture on for 10 minutes and it didn't change the tone of my brassy hair at all.

Jenny1203
Would recommend to a friend? No
So disappointed
10/17/2014

Customer review by dshreve16

1.0 stars 10/17/2014 by dshreve16
by dshreve16

I have dark brown, long, thick hair which is prematurely graying and can't afford to get it colored at a salon, so I've been risking it with box color. I've been pretty successful until my last coloring session, when I changed my hair from a light ash brown to a medium ash brown, left me very brassy which was surprising since I use ash colors. And because I was so desperate to get rid of my brassy/coppery brown hair, I was hoping that all of the negative reviews were wrong somehow, haha. I followed the directions to the letter, leaving it on for a total of ten minutes because of how brassy my hair is and today in the sunlight it's just as brassy if not brassier than it was before. I shouldn't have wasted my money. Normally L'Oreal is a pretty reputable brand, but this time they definitely dropped the ball.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dshreve16
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Brass Banisher
8/23/2015

Customer review by PlatinumBlonde

5.0 stars 8/23/2015 by PlatinumBlonde
by PlatinumBlonde

I was a dark red I always wanted to be a real blonde well now baby I am I took out all the old color with L'Oreal oops left it on for 45'mins then shampooed it 4 times this is what take's all the old color out then I put L'Oreal extreme platinum blonde for 45'mins then washed it out it had red,yellow,and orange in it so then I pot L'Oreal BRASS BANISHER leave it on for 45'mins wash it out it came out the BEST blonde I have ever seen. Thanks so much L'Oreal for making this. But I could not find it in any store so I went on line and order it from Walmart I keep it on hand Truly not red

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PlatinumBlonde
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Big waste of money
2/14/2015

Customer review by fishlover1

1.0 stars 2/14/2015 by fishlover1
by fishlover1

Just used this today and unless you just like spending $9.00 on a small tube of conditioner, don't bother. It did absolutely "nothing" for my brassiness. In fact, it looks worse than before I used it. Really disappointed with Loreal. Normally their products are very good; not this junk. The little tube of conditioner is the only good thing in that box.....IMO.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishlover1
Would recommend to a friend? No
9/12/2015

Customer review by TByrd

3.0 stars 9/12/2015 by TByrd
by TByrd

My hair is naturally med. brown, but turning white at the crown. I have been coloring it med. brown with highlights. I wanted to try the Loreal "Super Blond" to get much closer to my white root hair color. I've done blond before and it looked pretty good. I left it on the max amount of time...it went through the orange...but I ended up with pastel Easter yellow. Not cool. What to buy next? So I went out and bought Loreal Brass Banisher. It is better...not nearly as pastel yellow...It is better, but still a bit yellowish.

TByrd
Would recommend to a friend? No
9/3/2015

Customer review by Morrisx5

1.0 stars 9/3/2015 by Morrisx5
by Morrisx5

This product did not work at all. I left it on for the max time and saw no results.

Morrisx5
Would recommend to a friend? No
Beautiful toner!
5/6/2015

Customer review by SueBQue

5.0 stars 5/6/2015 by SueBQue
by SueBQue

first time using this product, OMG so love it!! it toned it perfectly. took out the yellow orange tinge i had in my blonde hair..now my hair looks and feels natural blonde again. I swear by Loreal's products never failed me once in the last 20 yrs or so of coloring my hair with them :)..excellent price and excellent product. did what it said it would.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SueBQue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
disappointed
11/10/2014

Customer review by Babydolly

2.0 stars 11/10/2014 by Babydolly
by Babydolly

I read so many good reviews of this product and was excited to try it. It did not change the brassiness nearly as much as I was expecting. I did leave it on longer as some reviewers had suggested, but still did not work so well. Maybe if I had used it asap after I had my hair foiled (had that done about three weeks ago) it would have worked better. Not sure if I'll try it again.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Babydolly
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works Well
2/24/2015

Customer review by Heather

5.0 stars 2/24/2015 by Heather
by Heather

Took the brassiness out of my hair, but had to leave on for 10minutes. Will buy again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Heather
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
this is how it worked for me
3/8/2015

Customer review by bjcook2015

4.0 stars 3/8/2015 by bjcook2015
by bjcook2015

I has put color in my hair that was suppose to lighten it but it turned kinda red color and I hated it I have nothing against red hair but I don`t want mine red.i have really long hair and I stretched one box which covered it all.it helped a lot I would say it would b good to try,however we need to remember we will never look or should I say (I won`t) ever look like the girl on the box I could only wish. so the strand test they mention might be a good ideal im gonna do that next go-round.so good luck ladies......hope this helped.... :)

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bjcook2015
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/21/2015

Customer review by Autumn J

1.0 stars 4/21/2015 by Autumn J
by Autumn J

I read reviews on this product and was really skeptical. But after seeing how many people felt the same way as me and then tried it out and loved it, I gave it a shot. Really 100% disappointed in this product! I recently went blonde and had a ton of red in my hair still, I left this product on for the maximum ten minutes (plus a couple) and didn't even notice a slight difference in the brassiness of my hair! I love L'oreal products so I am extremely shocked and disappointed. Unfortunately, this product was a waste of my money.

Comment from - 4/21/2015

We are sorry to hear that did not get the coverage that you expected on your post bleach red. We'd be happy to explain. Give us a call at 800.631.7358 M-F 9-7 EST Give the rep reference number 113748

Autumn J
Would recommend to a friend? No
2/7/2015

Customer review by brass banisher

1.0 stars 2/7/2015 by brass banisher
by brass banisher

i had light blonde hair to start with along with gentle orange lowlights which i planned to tone to blonde with this i also followed the directions perfectly then when i rinsed as directed and used the conditioner i dried my hair and it was no longer blonde it was brown and a very ugly faded brown color at that

Comment from - 2/9/2015

We are sorry to hear about your result. We'd like to help. Call us at 800.631.7358 Monday-Friday 9-7 EST Give the rep reference number 7701683

brass banisher
Would recommend to a friend? No
6/15/2014

Customer review by Jolee

1.0 stars 6/15/2014 by Jolee
by Jolee

Tried this to remove the reds and oranges my hair pulled after using a lighter color loreal product.....spent ten dollars and it did absolutely nothing. Left it on for ten minutes, and am bummed it didn't dull the reds and oranges at all, I usually have to use an ash color and this time didn't because I figured this product would do the trick, but nope.......I usually have brown hair, now it's still reddish orange and I'm out twenty bucks for both hair colors, bummed out big time!

Comment from - 6/17/2014

Sorry this did not work for you. We would like to assist. Please call 1.800.631-7358 M-F 9AM-7 PM. Pls give ref # 7468287

Jolee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good for dark brunette with too-brassy highlights
3/27/2011

Customer review by leigha

4.0 stars 3/27/2011 by leigha
by leigha

I have naturally dark brown hair with some naturally gold tones but my roots are very very dark. I ended up getting partial highlights in a 7-8 with brown and they turned very brassy red and did not blend with my natural color at all. Brass Banisher worked wonderfully and did not seem to change my natural color, but toned the highlights from a brassy red to more of a honey brown. BB will probably not take your color from very brassy to an ash color, but it will make it look more natural/neutral.

leigha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
works ok
1/12/2010

Customer review by NoMoney4Salon

3.0 stars 1/12/2010 by NoMoney4Salon
by NoMoney4Salon

I bought this to cover a neutral blonde color that ended up turning brassy. I have a little red to my hair that I wanted to keep in my hair. I left the previous color I had used on longer to make sure it didnt turn brassy because my hair is color resistent. This product brought my hair color down a notch or two. It could pass for a strawberry blonde. So it didnt take all the orange tones out but it did to a point. I also left the product on for 20 minutes because my hair doesnt take dye well.

NoMoney4Salon
Chicago,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews