Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 98 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

98 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

98 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

48%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
34
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
11
1 stars
37
1-20 of 97 total reviews
48%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 97 total reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews
It works fine
4/4/2017

Customer review by Susie

5.0 stars 4/4/2017 by Susie
by Susie

I'm a professional hairdresser but I live in a rural area so it's not always convenient to go to a beauty supply store . The only store we have is Walmart. So I used L'Oréal frost and design on my level 7 nn dark blonde dyed hair, this is med brown on me because of the double coverage nn . It lifed my highlights to a brassy yellow. Bought the brass banisher to tone it because I figured it would just be an ash blond hair dye. It did exactly what I thought it would . It toned down the yellow and made the reddish highlights blend in with the darker color. The first pic is the yellowish untoned highlights the second is after brass banisher. It's really all about preference. Some people like yellow. Left it in for 10 minutes. Hair is soft, much softer than before. Recommend.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Susie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Made my blonde orange now too..
3/12/2017

Customer review by Stellajones411

1.0 stars 3/12/2017 by Stellajones411
by Stellajones411

I recently highlighted my hair at home and it left my roots brassy orange, and previous highlights white. I used this product hoping to even out the Orange, and now my whole head is brassy yellow. I am embarrassed to tears.

Comment from - 3/15/2017

Hi! We're sorry for the results you had with our Brass Banisher. To help further tone down the brassiness, we recommend to use our Ever Pure Blonde Shampoo and Conditoner and shade reviving treatment. If you should need further assistance, please call us M-F 9 am-5:30 pm at 800.631.7358 and provide reference #2258462.

Stellajones411
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Green
Gender:Female
Every hairstylist needs to have this
9/19/2017

Customer review by Nonbrassychick

5.0 stars 9/19/2017 by Nonbrassychick
by Nonbrassychick

I love my brass banisher! It's the greatest thing since sliced bread. Whenever I would go get my hair done blonde at the salon I would still come out brassy. Since I have dark Mexican hair my hair has orange undertones that are hard to get out in one visit. I would buy this after my coloring and put it on the next day. It keeps my hair looking nonbrassy and a beautiful blonde. Great for Mexican hair.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nonbrassychick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Trial and Error
7/22/2016

Customer review by finallyfigureditout

4.0 stars 7/22/2016 by finallyfigureditout
by finallyfigureditout

I have used Brass Banisher in the past. The first time I used it, I thought it was the best product ever invented for that brassy/orange sometimes we achieve by coloring our own hair. Over the past few years have been spending the $$$ to have professional highs & lows done. I then tried this again because my partial {only blonde highlights} were way too blonde and were aging me. So I said - oh yes! - Brass banisher. I used it and was sad because it made my blonde darker - too ashy without the brightness I was looking for with the highlights. Well, once again the same thing happened with the only light blonde highlights - too blonde & yellow. I gave the Brass banisher another try but did not apply it to the hair surrounding my face. I also only left it on for 5 minutes as I was afraid of the darkness again. Well, - Worked like a charm. Have the face framing light blonde around my face and the orange tones throughout the rest of my hair are muted giving it a natural a lovely blonde. Love this product now that I know how to use it so it works for me. So hard to find though.

Was this review helpful? (26) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
finallyfigureditout
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It worked for me. I like it!
3/25/2014

Customer review by lbean

5.0 stars 3/25/2014 by lbean
by lbean

I have dark dark blonde hair naturally. I had used brown hair color some time ago and decided I wanted to started highlighting it again. I used Frost & Tip for brunette hair - Frost & Tip works the best for my hair. My highlights turned out great, but they were kind of yellow and there was some carmel colored tones of course (because I was making a darker colored hair lighter). I used Brass Banisher about a week after I highlighted my hair and I could tell a definite difference, even with my head still in the sink, my hair didn't look orangy anymore. It pullled all the orange tones out. Now it looks like a dark ash blonde with highlights and is definitely soft. I will definitely buy it again....because I am going to add some more highlights eventually.

Was this review helpful? (35) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lbean
Northwestern WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
My Holy Grail
6/24/2017

Customer review by meeker1989

5.0 stars 6/24/2017 by meeker1989
by meeker1989

I have naturally bright coppery red hair. Often I tend to bleach my hair because hey its fun to be blonde. But of course this awful orange tint likes to rear its nasty little head. And for the last five years when this happens I always turn to L'Oreal brass banisher. It works every time for me. And for the people who it didn't work for you have to remember every color you have dyed your hair that you currently have obviously plays a factor in how anything is going to work. If you have dyed your hair red, then bleached it then expect it to turn out wonderful without some extra work your asking a lot. There are thing like Cleansing treatments and color ooops to help get your hair ready for the fun life of a blonde. And if your not sure what to do search search search for someone who has gone through the same problem as you online and follow there lead it may help you a lot.

meeker1989
Dade City, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Eye color:Green
Gender:Male
it works
9/5/2013

Customer review by BuBBles827

5.0 stars 9/5/2013 by BuBBles827
by BuBBles827

I used loreal les blondissimes on my medium brown hair and had some reddish gold i wanted to get rid of. The brass banisher did the job. It took the red out and toned down the gold. It also left a beautiful shine and softness on my hair. I'm buying a few boxes to have on hand when i color my hair again.

Was this review helpful? (32) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BuBBles827
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Fixed my orange roots on my new platinum blonde
10/29/2013

Customer review by Chrissyloulou

4.0 stars 10/29/2013 by Chrissyloulou
by Chrissyloulou

I didn't know if my roots didn't lift enough or was this just brass...what I read online had me confused but after a lot of reading I choose this product. I needed the full 10 minutes but I think I messed up on the last 5 mins.....I worked it into all of my hair and when I rinsed, my real light tips looked greenish so I hopped back in the shower and used a clarifying shampoo and that greenish tint is gone now. I definitely am pleased with the over all color, it seems more even and like the platinum color I was going for. It didn't hurt my delicate hair.....I am happy, happy, HAPPY. :-) GAVE A 4 STAR BECAUSE I DO NOT KNOW ENOUGH ABOUT HAIR PRODUCTS TO SAY THERE IS NO ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT ESP AFTER READING THE FAILURE REVIEWS.

Was this review helpful? (15) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chrissyloulou
USA by
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Never
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Really made a difference!
10/20/2014

Customer review by LovngSnow

5.0 stars 10/20/2014 by LovngSnow
by LovngSnow
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor

I admit to being a bit reluctant to spend my money on this--but my most recent highlights were too orange for my taste, so I went for it. I did leave the product on for 15-20 minutes, even though directions clearly state to rinse it out after 10 minutes. I chose to do this since I know my hair is resistant to color changes. I always have to leave products in my hair a lot longer than recommended. My highlights now definitely have a cooler tone, and I don't see any brassiness. It really works!

Was this review helpful? (30) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovngSnow
North Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
Brass Banisher
8/23/2015

Customer review by PlatinumBlonde

5.0 stars 8/23/2015 by PlatinumBlonde
by PlatinumBlonde

I was a dark red I always wanted to be a real blonde well now baby I am I took out all the old color with L'Oreal oops left it on for 45'mins then shampooed it 4 times this is what take's all the old color out then I put L'Oreal extreme platinum blonde for 45'mins then washed it out it had red,yellow,and orange in it so then I pot L'Oreal BRASS BANISHER leave it on for 45'mins wash it out it came out the BEST blonde I have ever seen. Thanks so much L'Oreal for making this. But I could not find it in any store so I went on line and order it from Walmart I keep it on hand Truly not red

Was this review helpful? (15) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PlatinumBlonde
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
well, it would be cool had it worked
10/2/2013

Customer review by LydiaLydiaLydia

1.0 stars 10/2/2013 by LydiaLydiaLydia
by LydiaLydiaLydia

I came into this with, what I thought to be, generally realistic expectations. I did a bleach bath on my hair a few days ago and my hair took on an orangey cast (not read neon orange crazy reds). I thought this stuff would bring me to a safe-ish neutral ground because I didn't really have much to tone. Went on well, I was surprised the whole bottle covered my hair that never happens, and it didn't have a bad smell; nothing horrible happened. Not to say anything good happened though either, actually nothing happened at all. It altered the color of the towel I was working with, but not my hair at all. Save your money, just go to a beauty supply and by a toner and developer. This only seems to work (somewhat well) for one in every two hundred purchases.

Was this review helpful? (17) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LydiaLydiaLydia
Sandusky, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Beautiful toner!
5/6/2015

Customer review by SueBQue

5.0 stars 5/6/2015 by SueBQue
by SueBQue

first time using this product, OMG so love it!! it toned it perfectly. took out the yellow orange tinge i had in my blonde hair..now my hair looks and feels natural blonde again. I swear by Loreal's products never failed me once in the last 20 yrs or so of coloring my hair with them :)..excellent price and excellent product. did what it said it would.

Was this review helpful? (15) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SueBQue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
this is how it worked for me
3/8/2015

Customer review by bjcook2015

4.0 stars 3/8/2015 by bjcook2015
by bjcook2015

I has put color in my hair that was suppose to lighten it but it turned kinda red color and I hated it I have nothing against red hair but I don`t want mine red.i have really long hair and I stretched one box which covered it all.it helped a lot I would say it would b good to try,however we need to remember we will never look or should I say (I won`t) ever look like the girl on the box I could only wish. so the strand test they mention might be a good ideal im gonna do that next go-round.so good luck ladies......hope this helped.... :)

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bjcook2015
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product!
6/21/2017

Customer review by LorieQ

5.0 stars 6/21/2017 by LorieQ
by LorieQ

I bought this product yesterday. I had highlighted my hair about 2 week prior and it just still had too much brass. I wanted to cool it down a bit. It worked great and I was happy with the results. I left it in my hair for about 10 minutes before rinsing it out.

LorieQ
West Virginia, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Eye color:Blue
Gender:Female
Disappointment!
6/12/2017

Customer review by Newfie79

2.0 stars 6/12/2017 by Newfie79
by Newfie79

I used brass banisher about 6 years ago after a professional hair dye job ended brassy and it worked to tone my hair down a little. Fast forward to now, after a terrible bleach job gone bad at the salon left me looking copper, I turned to Brass Banisher again to fix my hair, but this time it didn't seem to do anything, or possible made my hair even more coppery. Sad to have wasted my money this time!

Comment from L'Oréal Consumer Care - 6/15/2017

Hi! We apologize that you did not achieve the same results that you have in the past with the Brass Banisher! It is possible that this product was not strong enough to get rid of the copper completely. Depending on how orange your hair was, you may have needed another application of the bleach. If you would like further assistance on your haircolor we would be more than happy to help. You may reach out to one of our hair experts via email for any questions or concerns that you may have please provide this reference #2678442! We do have a anti-brass shampoo that will neutralize any unwanted warmth! If you would like to try this product it is the EverPure Blonde Shampoo! We hope this information is helpful and we apologize again for your experience! In the future please reach out to us again if you are unsatisfied with any of our products!

Newfie79
,
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Waste of Money
6/15/2017

Customer review by Tam68

1.0 stars 6/15/2017 by Tam68
by Tam68

I brought this product after using loreal 9n. It left my hair very, very brassy. It was almost orange. I used brass banisher and it mafe it even brasser. Total waste of money

Comment from L'Oreal Consumer Care - 6/23/2017

Hi Tam68, we are very sorry that this did not work. If your hair looked orange after using a permanent haircolor, that means that the color you used originally was too light, exposing your natural undertones of yellow/orange. Brass Banisher will not work as effectively if you used a color that is out of your color range. We would love to help you get the right haircolor! Please Live Chat us through our website to get a personalized recommendation!

Tam68
Nacogdoches, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Blue
Gender:Female
Terrible product
6/4/2017

Customer review by BB2017

1.0 stars 6/4/2017 by BB2017
by BB2017

Don't waste your money! Did not remove ANY of the brass at all! Very disappointed.

Comment from L'Oreal Consumer Care - 6/7/2017

Hi BB2017, we are sorry that Brass Banisher did not work for you. There could be a few reasons why you did not see results, including the haircolor you used and the color of your natural hair. So we can figure out why this did not work, please Live Chat us through our website. Please provide the advisor with reference #02641438. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond!

BB2017
Illinois, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Hazel
Gender:Female
Removed brassiness out of your color instantly!
9/16/2016

Customer review by lclause66

5.0 stars 9/16/2016 by lclause66
by lclause66

Doing your own highlights tends to create brassiness, trust me I know from experience and its ok, we all save money doing our own hair but dont need the orange in our hair to show the world our mistakes! This purple product allows you to rub into the areas that you find golden or orange and leave in for about 15 mins or longer and you will see as you rinse it out the color is lighter and either less orange depending on the need for lightening or perfect, no fret you can fix the problem just to a deep condition afterwards. I use coconut oil bought in the oil aisle (cheaper than hair aisle) same thing and rub scalp to ends let it dry and sleep on a towel over my pillow, tomorrow my hair may be too soft but won't complain, if that is the case after you style you learn next time to wash after the rinse of oil and it puts some texture back into your hair. Good luck.

lclause66
New Baltimore, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Eye color:Blue
Gender:Female
False hope
2/8/2017

Customer review by krisann21

1.0 stars 2/8/2017 by krisann21
by krisann21

Bought today to tone down a diy ombre that was too orange. At first it seemed like it was cooling down the color but when I rinsed it out and dried my hair it seemed more red than when I started. I think I'll give my hair a break for a while.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
krisann21
Would recommend to a friend? No
Big waste of money
2/14/2015

Customer review by fishlover1

1.0 stars 2/14/2015 by fishlover1
by fishlover1

Just used this today and unless you just like spending $9.00 on a small tube of conditioner, don't bother. It did absolutely "nothing" for my brassiness. In fact, it looks worse than before I used it. Really disappointed with Loreal. Normally their products are very good; not this junk. The little tube of conditioner is the only good thing in that box.....IMO.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishlover1
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 97 total reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews