Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 67 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

67 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

67 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

54%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
8
1 stars
21
1-20 of 66 total reviews
54%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews
it works
9/5/2013

Customer review by BuBBles827

5.0 stars 9/5/2013 by BuBBles827
by BuBBles827

I used loreal les blondissimes on my medium brown hair and had some reddish gold i wanted to get rid of. The brass banisher did the job. It took the red out and toned down the gold. It also left a beautiful shine and softness on my hair. I'm buying a few boxes to have on hand when i color my hair again.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BuBBles827
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
It worked for me. I like it!
3/25/2014

Customer review by lbean

5.0 stars 3/25/2014 by lbean
by lbean

I have dark dark blonde hair naturally. I had used brown hair color some time ago and decided I wanted to started highlighting it again. I used Frost & Tip for brunette hair - Frost & Tip works the best for my hair. My highlights turned out great, but they were kind of yellow and there was some carmel colored tones of course (because I was making a darker colored hair lighter). I used Brass Banisher about a week after I highlighted my hair and I could tell a definite difference, even with my head still in the sink, my hair didn't look orangy anymore. It pullled all the orange tones out. Now it looks like a dark ash blonde with highlights and is definitely soft. I will definitely buy it again....because I am going to add some more highlights eventually.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lbean
Northwestern WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
well, it would be cool had it worked
10/2/2013

Customer review by LydiaLydiaLydia

1.0 stars 10/2/2013 by LydiaLydiaLydia
by LydiaLydiaLydia

I came into this with, what I thought to be, generally realistic expectations. I did a bleach bath on my hair a few days ago and my hair took on an orangey cast (not read neon orange crazy reds). I thought this stuff would bring me to a safe-ish neutral ground because I didn't really have much to tone. Went on well, I was surprised the whole bottle covered my hair that never happens, and it didn't have a bad smell; nothing horrible happened. Not to say anything good happened though either, actually nothing happened at all. It altered the color of the towel I was working with, but not my hair at all. Save your money, just go to a beauty supply and by a toner and developer. This only seems to work (somewhat well) for one in every two hundred purchases.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LydiaLydiaLydia
Sandusky, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Fixed my orange roots on my new platinum blonde
10/29/2013

Customer review by Chrissyloulou

4.0 stars 10/29/2013 by Chrissyloulou
by Chrissyloulou

I didn't know if my roots didn't lift enough or was this just brass...what I read online had me confused but after a lot of reading I choose this product. I needed the full 10 minutes but I think I messed up on the last 5 mins.....I worked it into all of my hair and when I rinsed, my real light tips looked greenish so I hopped back in the shower and used a clarifying shampoo and that greenish tint is gone now. I definitely am pleased with the over all color, it seems more even and like the platinum color I was going for. It didn't hurt my delicate hair.....I am happy, happy, HAPPY. :-) GAVE A 4 STAR BECAUSE I DO NOT KNOW ENOUGH ABOUT HAIR PRODUCTS TO SAY THERE IS NO ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT ESP AFTER READING THE FAILURE REVIEWS.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chrissyloulou
USA by
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Really made a difference!
10/20/2014

Customer review by LovngSnow

5.0 stars 10/20/2014 by LovngSnow
by LovngSnow

I admit to being a bit reluctant to spend my money on this--but my most recent highlights were too orange for my taste, so I went for it. I did leave the product on for 15-20 minutes, even though directions clearly state to rinse it out after 10 minutes. I chose to do this since I know my hair is resistant to color changes. I always have to leave products in my hair a lot longer than recommended. My highlights now definitely have a cooler tone, and I don't see any brassiness. It really works!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LovngSnow
North Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
Works Well
2/24/2015

Customer review by Heather

5.0 stars 2/24/2015 by Heather
by Heather

Took the brassiness out of my hair, but had to leave on for 10minutes. Will buy again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Heather
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Beautiful toner!
5/6/2015

Customer review by SueBQue

5.0 stars 5/6/2015 by SueBQue
by SueBQue

first time using this product, OMG so love it!! it toned it perfectly. took out the yellow orange tinge i had in my blonde hair..now my hair looks and feels natural blonde again. I swear by Loreal's products never failed me once in the last 20 yrs or so of coloring my hair with them :)..excellent price and excellent product. did what it said it would.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SueBQue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
this is how it worked for me
3/8/2015

Customer review by bjcook2015

4.0 stars 3/8/2015 by bjcook2015
by bjcook2015

I has put color in my hair that was suppose to lighten it but it turned kinda red color and I hated it I have nothing against red hair but I don`t want mine red.i have really long hair and I stretched one box which covered it all.it helped a lot I would say it would b good to try,however we need to remember we will never look or should I say (I won`t) ever look like the girl on the box I could only wish. so the strand test they mention might be a good ideal im gonna do that next go-round.so good luck ladies......hope this helped.... :)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bjcook2015
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Big waste of money
2/14/2015

Customer review by fishlover1

1.0 stars 2/14/2015 by fishlover1
by fishlover1

Just used this today and unless you just like spending $9.00 on a small tube of conditioner, don't bother. It did absolutely "nothing" for my brassiness. In fact, it looks worse than before I used it. Really disappointed with Loreal. Normally their products are very good; not this junk. The little tube of conditioner is the only good thing in that box.....IMO.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishlover1
Would recommend to a friend? No
disappointed
11/10/2014

Customer review by Babydolly

2.0 stars 11/10/2014 by Babydolly
by Babydolly

I read so many good reviews of this product and was excited to try it. It did not change the brassiness nearly as much as I was expecting. I did leave it on longer as some reviewers had suggested, but still did not work so well. Maybe if I had used it asap after I had my hair foiled (had that done about three weeks ago) it would have worked better. Not sure if I'll try it again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Babydolly
Would recommend to a friend? No
So disappointed
10/17/2014

Customer review by dshreve16

1.0 stars 10/17/2014 by dshreve16
by dshreve16

I have dark brown, long, thick hair which is prematurely graying and can't afford to get it colored at a salon, so I've been risking it with box color. I've been pretty successful until my last coloring session, when I changed my hair from a light ash brown to a medium ash brown, left me very brassy which was surprising since I use ash colors. And because I was so desperate to get rid of my brassy/coppery brown hair, I was hoping that all of the negative reviews were wrong somehow, haha. I followed the directions to the letter, leaving it on for a total of ten minutes because of how brassy my hair is and today in the sunlight it's just as brassy if not brassier than it was before. I shouldn't have wasted my money. Normally L'Oreal is a pretty reputable brand, but this time they definitely dropped the ball.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dshreve16
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Sorry, didn't do a thing for me.
3/14/2014

Customer review by Righton1

1.0 stars 3/14/2014 by Righton1
by Righton1

I was not following what's on the box, I was following the bloggers and had this thing on for about 40 minutes. No result. I gave it more stars for "easy to use", but what does it matter...

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Righton1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Waste of money and time
9/2/2014

Customer review by gipsyqueen

1.0 stars 9/2/2014 by gipsyqueen
by gipsyqueen

Don't waste money and time. Left 20 minutes and came out strawberry blond highlights. Now I have to go to a professional and have done the right way.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gipsyqueen
Maricopa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Best Product Ever
12/20/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/20/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I would have spent $100 at a salon whereas Brass Banisher makes my hair look like I did. I also use L'Oreal brush on highlights. The combination makes my hair look remarkably good. I don't think I can ever go back to the salon for hair color. My hair looks so much better for so much less $. Thank you.

An anonymous customer
Colorado Springs ,CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Absolutely took all the ''crayon yellow'' out!
6/3/2012

Customer review by runningontime

5.0 stars 6/3/2012 by runningontime
by runningontime

Had a haircut

runningontime
West Liberty ,KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Brass Banisher - a good product.
6/28/2011

Customer review by RedBGone

5.0 stars 6/28/2011 by RedBGone
by RedBGone

This product does what it says. After multiple golden

RedBGone
Woodstock,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worked great for me
8/22/2010

Customer review by Lisa36

5.0 stars 8/22/2010 by Lisa36
by Lisa36

I used a semi-permanent color that ended up a bit too dark, and after several washes, it turned by roots brassy. It wasn't too terrible, but I certainly noticed it. I had a hard time finding this product, and finally found it at Walgreens. It worked great for me! Now my hair looks like it should, and I have my natural blonde back. I would use it again, without a doubt.

Lisa36
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This really works. Thank you, L'Oreal!
6/11/2011

Customer review by DeniseP

5.0 stars 6/11/2011 by DeniseP
by DeniseP

I've been trying to save money by coloring my own hair and so far L'Oreal has had the most realistic red-blonde shades. However my hair naturally wants to go a golden blonde and the sun makes it a yellow-blonde, so after awhile my reddish blonde hair takes on orange-brass color. I thought I needed to just color over it until I found this product. I can't believe how much it's helped my hair in less than 10 minutes! It looks so much more cooler in tone — way more polished and sophisticated.

DeniseP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not so good
4/5/2010

Customer review by Bargainshopper

5.0 stars 4/5/2010 by Bargainshopper
by Bargainshopper

I was hoping this would tone down the reds in my colored med. blond hair. It really did nothing as far as getting rid of the red. It just made it darker and washedf out in three shampoo's.

Bargainshopper
Ashburn,VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
It really did tone down the brassiness!
2/20/2011

Customer review by Erin

5.0 stars 2/20/2011 by Erin
by Erin

After years of having my hair professionally colored, I switched to DIY coloring in '07. Talk about major savings and loving my results! I color often to keep the dark roots,(plus recently,the whites) at bay. But mostly, it's to cover up that horrible brassiness that sets in after a week's time at the roots! I picked up this product on a whim; thought I'd give it a shot! Wow! What a great pick-me-up! Worked like a charm and in only 10 minutes! This is my new "go-to" product!

Erin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews