Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 91 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

91 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

91 reviews | 3 out of 5

48%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
10
1 stars
34
1-20 of 90 total reviews
48%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews
It works fine
4/4/2017

Customer review by Susie

5.0 stars 4/4/2017 by Susie
by Susie

I'm a professional hairdresser but I live in a rural area so it's not always convenient to go to a beauty supply store . The only store we have is Walmart. So I used L'Oréal frost and design on my level 7 nn dark blonde dyed hair, this is med brown on me because of the double coverage nn . It lifed my highlights to a brassy yellow. Bought the brass banisher to tone it because I figured it would just be an ash blond hair dye. It did exactly what I thought it would . It toned down the yellow and made the reddish highlights blend in with the darker color. The first pic is the yellowish untoned highlights the second is after brass banisher. It's really all about preference. Some people like yellow. Left it in for 10 minutes. Hair is soft, much softer than before. Recommend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Susie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Made my blonde orange now too..
3/12/2017

Customer review by Stellajones411

1.0 stars 3/12/2017 by Stellajones411
by Stellajones411

I recently highlighted my hair at home and it left my roots brassy orange, and previous highlights white. I used this product hoping to even out the Orange, and now my whole head is brassy yellow. I am embarrassed to tears.

Comment from - 3/15/2017

Hi! We're sorry for the results you had with our Brass Banisher. To help further tone down the brassiness, we recommend to use our Ever Pure Blonde Shampoo and Conditoner and shade reviving treatment. If you should need further assistance, please call us M-F 9 am-5:30 pm at 800.631.7358 and provide reference #2258462.

Stellajones411
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Green
Gender:Female
It worked for me. I like it!
3/25/2014

Customer review by lbean

5.0 stars 3/25/2014 by lbean
by lbean

I have dark dark blonde hair naturally. I had used brown hair color some time ago and decided I wanted to started highlighting it again. I used Frost & Tip for brunette hair - Frost & Tip works the best for my hair. My highlights turned out great, but they were kind of yellow and there was some carmel colored tones of course (because I was making a darker colored hair lighter). I used Brass Banisher about a week after I highlighted my hair and I could tell a definite difference, even with my head still in the sink, my hair didn't look orangy anymore. It pullled all the orange tones out. Now it looks like a dark ash blonde with highlights and is definitely soft. I will definitely buy it again....because I am going to add some more highlights eventually.

Was this review helpful? (31) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lbean
Northwestern WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Trial and Error
7/22/2016

Customer review by finallyfigureditout

4.0 stars 7/22/2016 by finallyfigureditout
by finallyfigureditout

I have used Brass Banisher in the past. The first time I used it, I thought it was the best product ever invented for that brassy/orange sometimes we achieve by coloring our own hair. Over the past few years have been spending the $$$ to have professional highs & lows done. I then tried this again because my partial {only blonde highlights} were way too blonde and were aging me. So I said - oh yes! - Brass banisher. I used it and was sad because it made my blonde darker - too ashy without the brightness I was looking for with the highlights. Well, once again the same thing happened with the only light blonde highlights - too blonde & yellow. I gave the Brass banisher another try but did not apply it to the hair surrounding my face. I also only left it on for 5 minutes as I was afraid of the darkness again. Well, - Worked like a charm. Have the face framing light blonde around my face and the orange tones throughout the rest of my hair are muted giving it a natural a lovely blonde. Love this product now that I know how to use it so it works for me. So hard to find though.

Was this review helpful? (19) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
finallyfigureditout
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
it works
9/5/2013

Customer review by BuBBles827

5.0 stars 9/5/2013 by BuBBles827
by BuBBles827

I used loreal les blondissimes on my medium brown hair and had some reddish gold i wanted to get rid of. The brass banisher did the job. It took the red out and toned down the gold. It also left a beautiful shine and softness on my hair. I'm buying a few boxes to have on hand when i color my hair again.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BuBBles827
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
not like the picture
1/26/2017

Customer review by FrankoD

2.0 stars 1/26/2017 by FrankoD
by FrankoD
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

far cry from the picture on the box , no brass just extremely blonde but not platinum

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FrankoD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't waste your money!
4/13/2017

Customer review by Shelley974

1.0 stars 4/13/2017 by Shelley974
by Shelley974

I had already been using the ever pure purple shampoo and conditioner for over 3 weeks with no change to the brassiness in my medium blonde hair. Decided to give the brass banisher a try despite the mixed reviews. It did absolutely nothing. If anything, it made it more of a glowing orange that it already was. Disappointed in the product and the ever pure shampoo and conditioner as well.

Comment from L'Oreal Consumer Care - 4/18/2017

Hi Shelley974, we are sorry that you were not happy after using Brass Banisher and EverPure Shampoo and Conditioner. Is your hair color-treated or naturally medium blonde? If your hair is color-treated and you are seeing a lot of brassiness, it is possible that the medium blonde color you used is too light for your hair. We recommend going one shade darker to cover up a lot of those orange tones. We hope this helps!

Shelley974
Winchester, va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Green
Gender:Female
Works great!
4/24/2017

Customer review by cheermom17

5.0 stars 4/24/2017 by cheermom17
by cheermom17

I was skeptical in using this product because of so many negative reviews but decided to give it a try. After all.. it's only hair right! So glad I tried it!! Took all the brassiness and gold out of my hair! Left in for 20 minutes instead of the recommended 10.

cheermom17
Louisiana
Eye color:Blue
Gender:Female
Brass banished.
4/26/2017

Customer review by itssskarissaaa

1.0 stars 4/26/2017 by itssskarissaaa
by itssskarissaaa

I bought this and used it this morning. This is the biggest waste of money ever. It didn't take out any brassy tones all it did was make my hair worse.

Comment from L'Oreal Consumer Care - 5/2/2017

Hello! If the brassy notes in your hair were the undertones from the product itself, that could be why the brassiness was not lifted. The Brass Banisher should be used on hair that has been lightened too much. To the point where peoples undertones (brassy notes) show on the hair.

itssskarissaaa
Maiden, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Blue
Gender:Female
Fixed my orange roots on my new platinum blonde
10/29/2013

Customer review by Chrissyloulou

4.0 stars 10/29/2013 by Chrissyloulou
by Chrissyloulou

I didn't know if my roots didn't lift enough or was this just brass...what I read online had me confused but after a lot of reading I choose this product. I needed the full 10 minutes but I think I messed up on the last 5 mins.....I worked it into all of my hair and when I rinsed, my real light tips looked greenish so I hopped back in the shower and used a clarifying shampoo and that greenish tint is gone now. I definitely am pleased with the over all color, it seems more even and like the platinum color I was going for. It didn't hurt my delicate hair.....I am happy, happy, HAPPY. :-) GAVE A 4 STAR BECAUSE I DO NOT KNOW ENOUGH ABOUT HAIR PRODUCTS TO SAY THERE IS NO ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT ESP AFTER READING THE FAILURE REVIEWS.

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chrissyloulou
USA by
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Never
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Really made a difference!
10/20/2014

Customer review by LovngSnow

5.0 stars 10/20/2014 by LovngSnow
by LovngSnow
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor

I admit to being a bit reluctant to spend my money on this--but my most recent highlights were too orange for my taste, so I went for it. I did leave the product on for 15-20 minutes, even though directions clearly state to rinse it out after 10 minutes. I chose to do this since I know my hair is resistant to color changes. I always have to leave products in my hair a lot longer than recommended. My highlights now definitely have a cooler tone, and I don't see any brassiness. It really works!

Was this review helpful? (27) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovngSnow
North Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
False hope
2/8/2017

Customer review by krisann21

1.0 stars 2/8/2017 by krisann21
by krisann21

Bought today to tone down a diy ombre that was too orange. At first it seemed like it was cooling down the color but when I rinsed it out and dried my hair it seemed more red than when I started. I think I'll give my hair a break for a while.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
krisann21
Would recommend to a friend? No
Brass Banisher
8/23/2015

Customer review by PlatinumBlonde

5.0 stars 8/23/2015 by PlatinumBlonde
by PlatinumBlonde

I was a dark red I always wanted to be a real blonde well now baby I am I took out all the old color with L'Oreal oops left it on for 45'mins then shampooed it 4 times this is what take's all the old color out then I put L'Oreal extreme platinum blonde for 45'mins then washed it out it had red,yellow,and orange in it so then I pot L'Oreal BRASS BANISHER leave it on for 45'mins wash it out it came out the BEST blonde I have ever seen. Thanks so much L'Oreal for making this. But I could not find it in any store so I went on line and order it from Walmart I keep it on hand Truly not red

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PlatinumBlonde
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Did not work for me.
12/28/2016

Customer review by annlam

1.0 stars 12/28/2016 by annlam
by annlam
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Did not work for me. No reduction in brassy tones. Had to go to a party afterward.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
annlam
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not exactly what I expected.
12/27/2016

Customer review by FlossyMae

4.0 stars 12/27/2016 by FlossyMae
by FlossyMae
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I done a "DIY balayage" on myself. It turned out great except my color was a little more golden and reddish than what I wanted to achieve. A couple days after, I decided to try this product. I left it on for twenty minutes even though it says not to exceed ten. My results were a little darker, more natural looking tones on my hair. I like that it is so much more natural looking!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FlossyMae
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It was horrible
12/31/2016

Customer review by Ashley

1.0 stars 12/31/2016 by Ashley
by Ashley

I thought this would help get some of the brassy orange colors out of my hair and i left it on for ten minutes. This did literally nothing to tone my hair. My hair is still orange and i would never recommend this to anyone esp for the price that they have

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ashley
Would recommend to a friend? No
Big waste of money
2/14/2015

Customer review by fishlover1

1.0 stars 2/14/2015 by fishlover1
by fishlover1

Just used this today and unless you just like spending $9.00 on a small tube of conditioner, don't bother. It did absolutely "nothing" for my brassiness. In fact, it looks worse than before I used it. Really disappointed with Loreal. Normally their products are very good; not this junk. The little tube of conditioner is the only good thing in that box.....IMO.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishlover1
Would recommend to a friend? No
well, it would be cool had it worked
10/2/2013

Customer review by LydiaLydiaLydia

1.0 stars 10/2/2013 by LydiaLydiaLydia
by LydiaLydiaLydia

I came into this with, what I thought to be, generally realistic expectations. I did a bleach bath on my hair a few days ago and my hair took on an orangey cast (not read neon orange crazy reds). I thought this stuff would bring me to a safe-ish neutral ground because I didn't really have much to tone. Went on well, I was surprised the whole bottle covered my hair that never happens, and it didn't have a bad smell; nothing horrible happened. Not to say anything good happened though either, actually nothing happened at all. It altered the color of the towel I was working with, but not my hair at all. Save your money, just go to a beauty supply and by a toner and developer. This only seems to work (somewhat well) for one in every two hundred purchases.

Was this review helpful? (15) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LydiaLydiaLydia
Sandusky, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
No change
12/22/2016

Customer review by Brassy

2.0 stars 12/22/2016 by Brassy
by Brassy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Didn't notice a difference in my hair when I used it. It certainly didn't take all the brassiness out as I had hoped. Not a bad product, I guess I just expected it to make a noticeable change.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brassy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beautiful toner!
5/6/2015

Customer review by SueBQue

5.0 stars 5/6/2015 by SueBQue
by SueBQue

first time using this product, OMG so love it!! it toned it perfectly. took out the yellow orange tinge i had in my blonde hair..now my hair looks and feels natural blonde again. I swear by Loreal's products never failed me once in the last 20 yrs or so of coloring my hair with them :)..excellent price and excellent product. did what it said it would.

Was this review helpful? (13) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SueBQue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews