Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3out of 5 stars
3 out of 5 | 112 reviews
5 stars
36
4 stars
16
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 stars
40
Sort by: 
1-20 of 109 reviews
1-20 of 109 reviews
Went from black and red to full on red!
10/21/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had black hair for about a year. Then I decided I want red hair. I tried previously to dye it red via-salon and resulted in black and red. Through the summer I continued dying my hair red with no successful result. So, I turned to this certain product and it did me wonders! It gives you a complete list on what your result will be. Just be careful not to leave patches, leave it on for too long, or to get it on your natural hair. The best thing about this product is that you can immediately dye your hair the color you want. This product is great. Just be very careful.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (132)No (37)
Report
Was this review helpful?
FROM RED TO BLONDE
6/19/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this product after reading reviews about it on you tube. I had red hair was tired of it as it causes me to color more often because it shows the gray. So I wanted to go back blonde. I bought this not thinking it would really work, but to my surprise it took it all out. The red was done at a salon and didn't want to pay another $75.00 to go back. I didn't buy the red packet as suggested in the video from Sally my hair had an orange tint to it. I didn't go to a higher blonde which I should have done so now I have a blonde like strawberry ...This stuff works great didn't burn my scalp as the other lighters do hair is soft. Great product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (71)No (24)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great color remover
3/6/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product worked great for me , I had dark red hair I didn't like it so I removed it now I'm trying to do ombre hair style this worked perfect and removed all the dark red, remember this product won't turn dark hair to blonde it's just remixing an unwanted color. It turned my hair orange but that's what any color remover or bleach will do to dark hair, over all very satisfied and it worked as if using bleach but less chemical.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (71)No (32)
Report
Was this review helpful?
LONG HAIR ONE BOX
3/18/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
To apply this mix it in the bottle then put it in a bowl and use a brush like a root dye applicator then you can see how much you are using. I 4 months ago I permanent dyed my hair cherry black and it came out black. One box is enough. I applied and left 45 minutes it is orange and in two days (i decided) I am going to dye red but look at pics the black permanent black is gone Also hair is not damaged. I'm happy. Again mix well and make sure all the powder is shaken in the bottle then pour in a bowl to apply on your hair best wishes (: The orange hair you see in the pic is not re-dyed it is right after black was stripped out
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Horrible Product
9/12/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Ive used Color opps and color prep many times and always gotten a great result, but there was none of either product available at walmart when I went and then I saw this.. it had ok reviews so I gave it a try. Ugh. My hair was dark brownish purple, it made the length of my hair bleached blonde and my roots bright fire engine red. It also burned my scalp. I had to wash it out sooner than i wanted bc I hurt too much. About 35 minutes. I would reccomened skipping this product and usung color opps. My ends are now like straw and I had to dye it dark to cover the terrible red it left my hair.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Went from a dark red to light orange.
7/17/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Although, the orange wasn't planned, it removed a lot of the red. I just didn't leave it on long enough. I left it on for 40 ish mins. I would recommend leaving it on for an hour. I also have been dying my hair red with a box dye for probably 4 years.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Amazing
9/13/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My hair has not been it's natural color for as long as I can remember .. the first time I used this product was after dying my hair black for 4 years and I was completely amazed it got.it.to a orange blonde color .. I then took a journey and went blonde .. 2 years later I ended up at a deep burgundy color .. nothing got the red color out so I went for this and yet again it has amazed me .. it's the orange blonde color so I will follow up with an ash shade .. bad reviews of this product are baffling! I have thick hair below my shoulders (boob area) and I used two boxes I should have gotten three so buyer beware you will most likely need more than one box! Another tip is to use a shower cap or plastic bag over it so it stays warm (if it's cool it won't work) & I put it on for the full hour.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (68)No (25)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I look like an actual skunk.
10/16/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have dyed my hair for several years now (typically red) but decided I was ready for a change and was going for a lighter strawberry blonde color so first I needed to get the dark hair dye out of my hair. (Hair dye will not dye lighter over hair dye.) I used this product after a failed attempt at trying a product bought at Sally's (a local beauty shop) because the lady failed to tell me I needed a developer that does not come with the box set. Anyways, I left this color remover in my red hair for probably 40 minutes or so (I had a plastic bag tied on my hair to help seal in the moisture). I then washed and conditioned my hair and got out of the shower to find that the top of my head is extremely white while the bottom parts are still dark red. I also have streaks of my natural brownish hair color showing through out my hair. I guess I'm just going to dye it tomorrow and hope for the best, but I will not use this product again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/6/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had dyed my hair originally with Revlon medium brown mixed with Revlon burgundy along with a few blonde highlights…after about a month I didn’t want the hair color anymore and yesterday found a nice strawberry blonde I wanted to try, but the problem was my hair was still a little too dark, so, I picked up L’Oreal Colorist Secrets Artificial Haircolor Remover for $8.50. I brushed my hair thoroughly with a soft bristle brush then went over it gently with a fine tooth comb to get rid of any tangles and kind of flatten my hair out to make applying the remover a lot easier. I mixed the remover, there was very little smell to it and the bottle was considerably smaller than most hair dye bottles, so, if your hair is longer than your shoulders or very thick you may need up to three bottles to cover your hair completely. The product was very runny upon applying it which is one aspect I did not like whatsoever. It was almost the consistently of water which made it hard to apply and very messy. Be prepared to have to work fast while applying for that reason. After applying I noticed it had already started working on the burgundy in my roots turning it almost pink after just 4 minutes and the browner strands of my hair had already started to turn a mousey brown color which was a big difference from the medium brown. I only let it sit on my hair for 15 minutes because I wanted to keep some of the brown to give my new color I will be using some dimension, but upon rinsing I found my hair to be very, very dry which was to be expected because after all this product is a STRIPPING AGENT and will be very harsh. The dryness was easily fixed though my gently shampooing the remainder of the remover out of my hair and letting conditioner sit for 5 minutes (Shampoo & conditioner used was Clear.) then rinsed again and put it up into a towel to drip dry. After blow drying my hair was considerably lighter and there was not nearly as much damage done to my hair with the remover as there would have been using a bleaching kit (which I used to use to lighten.). Overall I am very satisfied with the end results. Also below is a list of things to expect and not to expect. Expect some damage such as drying or frizz (esp. if you color often). Expect hair to take on red and yellow tones after lightening. Do not expect to gain your natural color back…the box clearly states to have another box of hair dye to color with ready because of the red and yellows that will be left. Expect to use more than one bottle on longer/thicker hair. Expect the product to be runny.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (169)No (26)
Report
Was this review helpful?
LOVE THE COLOR!!!!
5/6/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this thinking that it wasn't going to work at all and that my dyed hair would stay black while my roots turned blonde. It didn't my hair turned orangeish red and yes my roots were blonde but it didn't matter i was so happy that it worked. You are supposed to dye it the color you want after but i loved the wacky color it turned out later so i kept it and i love it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (96)No (33)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Makes it affordable to change to your style
11/15/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Sooooo glad I found this, I have done tons of research online on how to get my red Feria dyed hair back to blonde which is my natural color. I read over and over it couldn't be done at home. I can tell you it can! I saw a tutorial on YouTube of a girl who pulled green out of her hair. Bright green. So I gave it a shot. It is damaging but you have to remember to get a good deep conditioner. It brought my dark red hair up to a strawberry blonde. I dyed over it with nice and easy dark blonde and achieved a lovely honey blonde. It's brassy but that's an easy fix. I'm happy with this product for sure! Thankful it exists.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works Like A Charm!
3/28/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had several layers of dark brown hair color on my hair. I wanted to go lighter to a blonde. So, I applied to my entire head and left it on for an hour. It itched a little but that was too be expected. I rinsed, shampooed and dried my hair. It was an orangy/reddish color. I then applied L'oreal Preferance 8.5, (champagne blonde) and left it on 35 minutes. It's now a pretty, light strawberry blonde color that I am very pleased with!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (48)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Says it's color remover for boxed hair dye
8/12/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I did exactly what the box said start with the bottom and work your way up. I look up and my hair is bleached!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Why does it turn hair red?
5/11/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
So I recently read many reviews of Color Oops and I tried it and the end results were awesome. Honestly I never thought I would be a blonde in a minute, after dying my hair hot red. So after color oops I felt like I just needed to get the trots of my hair lighter so I sent my husband to buy me another box of color oops. But instead he brought me Loreal hair color remover. After the first ten minutes of putting it on I realized my hair was turning red orange. I was mad because I had blonde hair before this. I wish he would of just brought me what I'd asked for so I wouldn't mess up my hair.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (26)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So many good things to say about this product!
6/20/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have never before removed color from my hair until this product. This is what happened: Using Clairol's Balsam Color in Black, a little over 3 months ago, I colored my hair with it. I kept it for 3 months until my roots came in very noticably blond. Then, I picked up Revlon Colorsilk dye in Deep Burgundy. All it did was make my faded black an intense black with bright purple roots. Then, I found this product. I thought, it's only $8.50. Let's give it a try. With the help of my sister, we applied the product evenly all over my hair. (My hair is like 3 and 1/2 inches past my shoulders, thickish, and there was some product left over after I applied it all over my head. After 1 hour, I washed it out. My purple roots were now a light orange, as were most of the underneaths of my hair. The top layer was a brown shade. I applied a Garnier dye over it. Remember, this can be very damaging, so use a good deep conditioner like Aussie 3 Minute Miracle (I used it) to keep your hair conditioned.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (42)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works great!
9/17/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have colored my hair dark for about 9 months and was ready for a change. Read the directions. It will tell you that it will not restore your hair to its original color. I left it in the maximum time allowed. Ended up with orange-white hair. Redyed it that same day to the medium brown color that I wanted. Excellent results, totally even, no damage to my hair. Note: I use a product that I got at Sally's that you use to make sure you get an even dye job, once it was in may hair, I left my hair dye in longer (as per package instructions) to make sure my almost white roots got the same brown color as the rest. I got even color, no gradation and no damage to my hair. Would highly recommend product to anyone who can read package instructions!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It does work
7/1/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Make sure you read the instructions or you will be surprised! It will turn your hair orange and red, do not put it on your roots, do not put anything over your head while it's on. I read a lot of reviews complaining that their hair did not turn back to their natural color, this is not the boxes fault. It was very clear your hair would turn crazy colors, and to have the color you want on hand to dye it after you are finished with this! I used this because I had too much color build up. I can't wait to see how my new color turns out after I am finished!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
From red to blue
9/29/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had fire engine red hair for about eight years and after letting it fade for several weeks I wanted to dye it electric blue. I did a test strand but the red undertones were too dark and the blue looked almost black. This stuff lightened it to a light blonde and I was able to get the blue I wanted. It also lightened my almost black natural color to light blonde as if it had been bleached.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
O.K
10/1/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I could not find the brand I used before. We had to go and get the other brand. To take out all of the color.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Need to research before you buy or else...
7/16/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I would reccomend this product, but there are things a potential buyer should know first. 1.) If you are trying to get rid of BLACK hair dye whether it be multiple layers or just a one time oops black hair dye thing, this product can be useful, but be VERY careful. 2. Have a buddy with you to make sure you don't get it on your new hair growth. IT WILL LIGHTEN VIRGIN HAIR. My hair was dyed over a few times in jet black and I decided to lighten it for summer and this product was the easiest to find, but i didn't put it on my roots, which is good, because it kept my hair an even color during the processing. It turned a brilliant auburn color after about 50 minutes, it would have been train wreck orange if i had waited a full hour. 3. If you have natrally blonde or light brown hair and you have only dyed your hair once over the natural color, OR if you have a semi/demi permanent non-natural color (i.e. pink, green, blue, purple, etc), I would recommend Color Oops instead, as this product is not gentle or meant for semi permanent or demi permanent hair color. 4. If you know you do not want to go anywhere near a bleach product do NOT use this product. It is very similar to bleach and if you push it too far and try to wait for your hair to turn yellow it WILL damage your hair. 5. This product is made for haircolor to be stripped and then dyed over, so you have to buy a dye that is fairly close to the color you want, but going a few shades lighter is better as the color will be darker over stripped hair (it soakes up color like a sponge if it's not yellow), and if you go too light you can always make the hair darker, but if you make it too dark your going to do this twice. as long as you research these things and you keep an eye on your hair, this is a great product especially for people who have black black black hair like I did. After using this you can use a Colorsilk Ultra Light ASH blonde (abut $4) and it will lighten it a little further and will cancel out a lot of the brassy reddish orange tones and you can use colorsilk over again pretty quickly (5-7 days between) if you want to gradually go blonde from the auburny color this will give you.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (341)No (48)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640691, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-