Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 99 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

99 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

99 reviews | 3 out of 5

53%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
16
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 stars
34
1-20 of 96 total reviews
53%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 96 total reviews
1-20 of 96 reviews
Went from black and red to full on red!
10/21/2013

Customer review by IAmMrsSeay

5.0 stars 10/21/2013 by IAmMrsSeay
by IAmMrsSeay

I had black hair for about a year. Then I decided I want red hair. I tried previously to dye it red via-salon and resulted in black and red. Through the summer I continued dying my hair red with no successful result. So, I turned to this certain product and it did me wonders! It gives you a complete list on what your result will be. Just be careful not to leave patches, leave it on for too long, or to get it on your natural hair. The best thing about this product is that you can immediately dye your hair the color you want. This product is great. Just be very careful.

Was this review helpful? (121) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IAmMrsSeay
Longview, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per year
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
FROM RED TO BLONDE
6/19/2014

Customer review by drmweaver

5.0 stars 6/19/2014 by drmweaver
by drmweaver

I purchased this product after reading reviews about it on you tube. I had red hair was tired of it as it causes me to color more often because it shows the gray. So I wanted to go back blonde. I bought this not thinking it would really work, but to my surprise it took it all out. The red was done at a salon and didn't want to pay another $75.00 to go back. I didn't buy the red packet as suggested in the video from Sally my hair had an orange tint to it. I didn't go to a higher blonde which I should have done so now I have a blonde like strawberry ...This stuff works great didn't burn my scalp as the other lighters do hair is soft. Great product.

Was this review helpful? (61) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
drmweaver
apache junction, az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Great color remover
3/6/2013

Customer review by kittie02

4.0 stars 3/6/2013 by kittie02
by kittie02

This product worked great for me , I had dark red hair I didn't like it so I removed it now I'm trying to do ombre hair style this worked perfect and removed all the dark red, remember this product won't turn dark hair to blonde it's just remixing an unwanted color. It turned my hair orange but that's what any color remover or bleach will do to dark hair, over all very satisfied and it worked as if using bleach but less chemical.

Was this review helpful? (63) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kittie02
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
LONG HAIR ONE BOX
3/18/2017

Customer review by Stng

5.0 stars 3/18/2017 by Stng
by Stng

To apply this mix it in the bottle then put it in a bowl and use a brush like a root dye applicator then you can see how much you are using. I 4 months ago I permanent dyed my hair cherry black and it came out black. One box is enough. I applied and left 45 minutes it is orange and in two days (i decided) I am going to dye red but look at pics the black permanent black is gone Also hair is not damaged. I'm happy. Again mix well and make sure all the powder is shaken in the bottle then pour in a bowl to apply on your hair best wishes (: The orange hair you see in the pic is not re-dyed it is right after black was stripped out

Stng
Toronto
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I look like an actual skunk.
10/16/2016

Customer review by Madison

1.0 stars 10/16/2016 by Madison
by Madison

I have dyed my hair for several years now (typically red) but decided I was ready for a change and was going for a lighter strawberry blonde color so first I needed to get the dark hair dye out of my hair. (Hair dye will not dye lighter over hair dye.) I used this product after a failed attempt at trying a product bought at Sally's (a local beauty shop) because the lady failed to tell me I needed a developer that does not come with the box set. Anyways, I left this color remover in my red hair for probably 40 minutes or so (I had a plastic bag tied on my hair to help seal in the moisture). I then washed and conditioned my hair and got out of the shower to find that the top of my head is extremely white while the bottom parts are still dark red. I also have streaks of my natural brownish hair color showing through out my hair. I guess I'm just going to dye it tomorrow and hope for the best, but I will not use this product again.

Was this review helpful? (7) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Madison
Would recommend to a friend? No
Amazing
9/13/2014

Customer review by kkthree

5.0 stars 9/13/2014 by kkthree
by kkthree

My hair has not been it's natural color for as long as I can remember .. the first time I used this product was after dying my hair black for 4 years and I was completely amazed it got.it.to a orange blonde color .. I then took a journey and went blonde .. 2 years later I ended up at a deep burgundy color .. nothing got the red color out so I went for this and yet again it has amazed me .. it's the orange blonde color so I will follow up with an ash shade .. bad reviews of this product are baffling! I have thick hair below my shoulders (boob area) and I used two boxes I should have gotten three so buyer beware you will most likely need more than one box! Another tip is to use a shower cap or plastic bag over it so it stays warm (if it's cool it won't work) & I put it on for the full hour.

Was this review helpful? (56) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kkthree
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE THE COLOR!!!!
5/6/2011

Customer review by Nutmeg90795

5.0 stars 5/6/2011 by Nutmeg90795
by Nutmeg90795

I bought this thinking that it wasn't going to work at all and that my dyed hair would stay black while my roots turned blonde. It didn't my hair turned orangeish red and yes my roots were blonde but it didn't matter i was so happy that it worked. You are supposed to dye it the color you want after but i loved the wacky color it turned out later so i kept it and i love it.

Was this review helpful? (92) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nutmeg90795
92630
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:14 - 18
Works Like A Charm!
3/28/2014

Customer review by beckysue74

5.0 stars 3/28/2014 by beckysue74
by beckysue74

I had several layers of dark brown hair color on my hair. I wanted to go lighter to a blonde. So, I applied to my entire head and left it on for an hour. It itched a little but that was too be expected. I rinsed, shampooed and dried my hair. It was an orangy/reddish color. I then applied L'oreal Preferance 8.5, (champagne blonde) and left it on 35 minutes. It's now a pretty, light strawberry blonde color that I am very pleased with!

Was this review helpful? (44) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
beckysue74
Newark, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
7/6/2012

Customer review by antagonist

5.0 stars 7/6/2012 by antagonist
by antagonist

I had dyed my hair originally with Revlon medium brown mixed with Revlon burgundy along with a few blonde highlights…after about a month I didn’t want the hair color anymore and yesterday found a nice strawberry blonde I wanted to try, but the problem was my hair was still a little too dark, so, I picked up L’Oreal Colorist Secrets Artificial Haircolor Remover for $8.50. I brushed my hair thoroughly with a soft bristle brush then went over it gently with a fine tooth comb to get rid of any tangles and kind of flatten my hair out to make applying the remover a lot easier. I mixed the remover, there was very little smell to it and the bottle was considerably smaller than most hair dye bottles, so, if your hair is longer than your shoulders or very thick you may need up to three bottles to cover your hair completely. The product was very runny upon applying it which is one aspect I did not like whatsoever. It was almost the consistently of water which made it hard to apply and very messy. Be prepared to have to work fast while applying for that reason. After applying I noticed it had already started working on the burgundy in my roots turning it almost pink after just 4 minutes and the browner strands of my hair had already started to turn a mousey brown color which was a big difference from the medium brown. I only let it sit on my hair for 15 minutes because I wanted to keep some of the brown to give my new color I will be using some dimension, but upon rinsing I found my hair to be very, very dry which was to be expected because after all this product is a STRIPPING AGENT and will be very harsh. The dryness was easily fixed though my gently shampooing the remainder of the remover out of my hair and letting conditioner sit for 5 minutes (Shampoo & conditioner used was Clear.) then rinsed again and put it up into a towel to drip dry. After blow drying my hair was considerably lighter and there was not nearly as much damage done to my hair with the remover as there would have been using a bleaching kit (which I used to use to lighten.). Overall I am very satisfied with the end results. Also below is a list of things to expect and not to expect. Expect some damage such as drying or frizz (esp. if you color often). Expect hair to take on red and yellow tones after lightening. Do not expect to gain your natural color back…the box clearly states to have another box of hair dye to color with ready because of the red and yellows that will be left. Expect to use more than one bottle on longer/thicker hair. Expect the product to be runny.

Was this review helpful? (157) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
antagonist
Tulsa,Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Makes it affordable to change to your style
11/15/2016

Customer review by Amlebra

5.0 stars 11/15/2016 by Amlebra
by Amlebra

Sooooo glad I found this, I have done tons of research online on how to get my red Feria dyed hair back to blonde which is my natural color. I read over and over it couldn't be done at home. I can tell you it can! I saw a tutorial on YouTube of a girl who pulled green out of her hair. Bright green. So I gave it a shot. It is damaging but you have to remember to get a good deep conditioner. It brought my dark red hair up to a strawberry blonde. I dyed over it with nice and easy dark blonde and achieved a lovely honey blonde. It's brassy but that's an easy fix. I'm happy with this product for sure! Thankful it exists.

Was this review helpful? (8) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Amlebra
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Why does it turn hair red?
5/11/2016

Customer review by Unhappyred

1.0 stars 5/11/2016 by Unhappyred
by Unhappyred

So I recently read many reviews of Color Oops and I tried it and the end results were awesome. Honestly I never thought I would be a blonde in a minute, after dying my hair hot red. So after color oops I felt like I just needed to get the trots of my hair lighter so I sent my husband to buy me another box of color oops. But instead he brought me Loreal hair color remover. After the first ten minutes of putting it on I realized my hair was turning red orange. I was mad because I had blonde hair before this. I wish he would of just brought me what I'd asked for so I wouldn't mess up my hair.

Was this review helpful? (22) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Unhappyred
Would recommend to a friend? No
So many good things to say about this product!
6/20/2011

Customer review by FamilyGuyIsFunny

4.0 stars 6/20/2011 by FamilyGuyIsFunny
by FamilyGuyIsFunny

I have never before removed color from my hair until this product. This is what happened: Using Clairol's Balsam Color in Black, a little over 3 months ago, I colored my hair with it. I kept it for 3 months until my roots came in very noticably blond. Then, I picked up Revlon Colorsilk dye in Deep Burgundy. All it did was make my faded black an intense black with bright purple roots. Then, I found this product. I thought, it's only $8.50. Let's give it a try. With the help of my sister, we applied the product evenly all over my hair. (My hair is like 3 and 1/2 inches past my shoulders, thickish, and there was some product left over after I applied it all over my head. After 1 hour, I washed it out. My purple roots were now a light orange, as were most of the underneaths of my hair. The top layer was a brown shade. I applied a Garnier dye over it. Remember, this can be very damaging, so use a good deep conditioner like Aussie 3 Minute Miracle (I used it) to keep your hair conditioned.

Was this review helpful? (38) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FamilyGuyIsFunny
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per month
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Horrible don't buy this mess!
3/11/2017

Customer review by TareBearRox88

1.0 stars 3/11/2017 by TareBearRox88
by TareBearRox88

This product will not help you remove red color from your hair. I used it to remove an auburn shade and all it did was turn the auburn color PINK! I used this product because I was looking to go a darker blonde color afterwards. I was under the impression that it would remove the red and lighten up my hair enough to go the darker blonde that I wanted. WRONG. My natural hair color is a dishwater sandy blonde light brown mix. This product fried my hair by the way. I was left with pink polka dot waist length hair. Looked like a clown. Had to dye it a brown color to make it even again and it's now brown with a pinkish tint. Yuck! Please opt for color oops to remove unwanted colors. It works great. Don't know what I was thinking using this chemical hair fry serum. Do yourself a favor and don't waste your money on L'Oréal color remover unless you want fried uneven polka dot ugly wig looking hair! Not impressed.....

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TareBearRox88
Would recommend to a friend? No
Difficult to Use
5/16/2017

Customer review by Clare

1.0 stars 5/16/2017 by Clare
by Clare

I usually use Color Oops, but my store was out so I decided to take a chance on this product. The bottle made application very difficult, and the cap kept leaking, so I ended up with some strange patchy bits. The resulting color was also much brassier than Color Oops so that was also disappointing. All in all, I just should have went somewhere else where Color Oops was in stock. This product was a big flop for me and I won't be buying it again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Clare
Would recommend to a friend? No
YEARS OF BOX BLACK HAIR DYE
9/2/2016

Customer review by Kristy

4.0 stars 9/2/2016 by Kristy
by Kristy

I have been dying my hair black since I was 15, so you can imagine the layers upon layers of gunk I have built on top of my strands. About two years ago, I dyed the underneath of my hair red, then covered it with black two times. That was the part of my hair that took to this product the best, as there were not as many layers to get through. The color turned a soft reddish brown & is light enough that the mahogany color I will be dying my hair should take perfectly. My virgin hair roots did not turn blonde, they are more of a light brown. The only part of my hair that did not take to the developer is the middle, where most of the dye build up is located. I can tell it is lighter, more of a brown than black. I don't think this product is strong enough to lighten it anymore than it has, as I left it on for longer than one hour. I will have to use bleach there. Overall, I think this product did an amazing job. My hair is slightly dry, which was expected because even though it is not bleach, the chemicals are still harsh. If you are worried about damaging your hair when using this product, follow treatment with a coconut oil based conditioner. I did this & my hair is MUCH softer than it would have been if I hadn't. This is a great product & it did exactly what I wanted it to, aside from the areas where the dye was thickest. Remember, I have years of build up on my hair. If you are using this product on hair that has not been dyed dark black for years, it is perfect. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kristy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No good
6/14/2011

Customer review by RahStink

1.0 stars 6/14/2011 by RahStink
by RahStink

I have been dying my hair black for the last 5 years and finally wanted to get rid of it. I only bought one box and tried a small section. The formula was very runny. I left the product on 1 hr and 40 mins, even though it says only 60 mins. The color barely lifted, it was a dark dark brownish red and then the root area was a bright orange, very uneven and I did the roots about 40 mins into the process so that it wouldn't lift so fast. I was very disappointed so I called Loreal and told them what happened and they are sending me a refund. The associate was very polite and said most of the products shouldn't be used when people have hair longer than shoulders...well that was never on the box. It should work with people that don't have over processed hair like mine, but I never bleach it and take great care of my hair. Good luck!

Was this review helpful? (28) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RahStink
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Need to research before you buy or else...
7/16/2010

Customer review by Apocalypseponi13

4.0 stars 7/16/2010 by Apocalypseponi13
by Apocalypseponi13

I would reccomend this product, but there are things a potential buyer should know first. 1.) If you are trying to get rid of BLACK hair dye whether it be multiple layers or just a one time oops black hair dye thing, this product can be useful, but be VERY careful. 2. Have a buddy with you to make sure you don't get it on your new hair growth. IT WILL LIGHTEN VIRGIN HAIR. My hair was dyed over a few times in jet black and I decided to lighten it for summer and this product was the easiest to find, but i didn't put it on my roots, which is good, because it kept my hair an even color during the processing. It turned a brilliant auburn color after about 50 minutes, it would have been train wreck orange if i had waited a full hour. 3. If you have natrally blonde or light brown hair and you have only dyed your hair once over the natural color, OR if you have a semi/demi permanent non-natural color (i.e. pink, green, blue, purple, etc), I would recommend Color Oops instead, as this product is not gentle or meant for semi permanent or demi permanent hair color. 4. If you know you do not want to go anywhere near a bleach product do NOT use this product. It is very similar to bleach and if you push it too far and try to wait for your hair to turn yellow it WILL damage your hair. 5. This product is made for haircolor to be stripped and then dyed over, so you have to buy a dye that is fairly close to the color you want, but going a few shades lighter is better as the color will be darker over stripped hair (it soakes up color like a sponge if it's not yellow), and if you go too light you can always make the hair darker, but if you make it too dark your going to do this twice. as long as you research these things and you keep an eye on your hair, this is a great product especially for people who have black black black hair like I did. After using this you can use a Colorsilk Ultra Light ASH blonde (abut $4) and it will lighten it a little further and will cancel out a lot of the brassy reddish orange tones and you can use colorsilk over again pretty quickly (5-7 days between) if you want to gradually go blonde from the auburny color this will give you.

Was this review helpful? (329) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Apocalypseponi13
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per year
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Somewhat Misleading.
1/11/2014

Customer review by z0mgdie

4.0 stars 1/11/2014 by z0mgdie
by z0mgdie

I bought this thinking it would be the L'Oreal version of Color Oops, however it's not exactly that. Technically it does remove hair color, but that's because it's bleach. Smells exactly like it, looks like it, I even compared the ingredients to that of my powdered bleach and my developer and they're exactly the same. So does it remove color? Yes. Is it the same as Color Oops? No. I was planning on bleaching my hair after removing the color anyways so I didn't care too much that this was bleach, just figured I'd let a few people know before they use it in case they don't want to bleach their hair. Otherwise it works pretty well as a bleach.

Was this review helpful? (33) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
z0mgdie
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Never
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:18 - 24
Don't do it!
2/20/2013

Customer review by tah0027

1.0 stars 2/20/2013 by tah0027
by tah0027

My hair is almost all gray and I've been dyeing it for 20 years. I was hoping to lighten my hair enough to go from medium brown to light brown. It was also pretty healthy and soft before this. I did the strand test and watched the clock carefully. This stuff is bleach and not a simple color remover. I got various splotchy shades of orange, yellow, pinkish, red and even some brown. I went to the salon to have it fixed. They dyed it medium brown and still couldn't get it to cover the red orange color. My hair now feels like straw and it has been deep conditioned with a heat set conditioner twice. I am going back to the salon today to have a second round of toner put on it to see if that will help. I am now into this well over $100 for the fix. NOT worth it at all.

Was this review helpful? (19) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tah0027
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Pretty good
12/9/2010

Customer review by gothicangel

5.0 stars 12/9/2010 by gothicangel
by gothicangel

ok, it does work. my daughter's hair was black and she wanted to go back to blond. we have colored her hair several times black so the color on the ends didn't come out well even when we waited a month and tried again. the newer hair, from top to middle, came out quite well (i guess because it had only been dyed once or twice black.) it's a very good product and it probably would have worked better if her hair hadn't been dyed black several times. i would definitely recommend this is to anyone with lighter colored hair or to someone that has only dyed their hair a darker color once or twice.

Was this review helpful? (69) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gothicangel
wagoner, ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
1-20 of 96 total reviews
1-20 of 96 reviews