Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 95 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

95 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

95 reviews | 3 out of 5

54%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
16
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 stars
32
1-20 of 92 total reviews
54%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 92 total reviews
1-20 of 92 reviews
Does what it said!
1/9/2017

Customer review by PHPB

5.0 stars 1/9/2017 by PHPB
by PHPB

First: READ. Second: RE-READ. The directions say you will end up with orangish colored hair. The directions say you will NOT return to your original hair color. The directions say you will need to recolor your hair after use of this product! With all this in mind, and with my thick, below shoulder length hair, I bought and used two applications/packages. It removed my red mistake and lightened my dark auburn colored hair (x25 years) and left me with bright orange hair. I elected to wait a day to recolor my hair. I'm 90% gray by the way. My test strand of "Reddish Blonde" looks gorgeous even though I seem to have had three shades of orange. I applied color to the root of test strands (lighter two shades) and then after 13 minutes, I applied the color to the rest of the strand. My results are gorgeous.

PHPB
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Did its job!
1/12/2017

Customer review by aphaus

5.0 stars 1/12/2017 by aphaus
by aphaus

I've been dying my hair brown, dark brown, red and purple every month for a year. I decided it was time to go lighter so I picked this up. I have never used anything like this so I did a ton of research beforehand. Please make sure you read up on how color removers work so you know what to expect. I have hair down to my waist and 2 boxes was just enough. Next time I use this I will use 3 as I used every bit of both bottles. I covered my hair with a plastic bag and left on for 1 hour. Once I rinsed I was left with a bright orange color. The color was exactly what I expected. I then colored over my hair with a light ash brown to cover the orange and love my new lighter color. This product will dry out your hair so be gentle with it for awhile after.

aphaus
Saskatchewan, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Unimpressed!
8/10/2015

Customer review by emmylala

1.0 stars 8/10/2015 by emmylala
by emmylala

I've always bleached/dyed my hair myself and always been aware of the risks involved with home hair bleaching... so I was pretty prepared for my hair to turn from black to a horrible reddish orange or have streaks etc etc, but I had also bought a hiar dye to dye over the top, as suggested on the packet. I hadnt bleached my hair in over a year and I thought it best to do a strand test beforehand, and i'm glad I did. THE PRODUCT DID NOTHING! I had blonde and red hair prior to dying it black, and i've re-touched my roots with black hairdye for the last year and a half. This haircolour remover clearly states it will remove any colour, irrelevant of when the hair was dyed. I left the strand test for an hour and 2 minutes and nothing, not even a shae lighter. I'm not a professional, but I have bleached my hair probably 30+ times in my life and for the price of the product, it should have done more.

emmylala
North Vancouver, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
OMG!!! Remover is right!
9/3/2016

Customer review by Redbear

3.0 stars 9/3/2016 by Redbear
by Redbear

I love L'oreal haircolor, especially RB6. I had tried a different shade and I didn't like it. I used the Haircolor Remover. WHOA! You should DEFINITELY do a test before you use it on your hair!!!! I didn't and I used it for 30 minutes as per the instructions. Way too long! 20 minutes would probably have been enough. But it was MY mistake.

Redbear
,
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Horrible product
8/16/2016

Customer review by Mana6

1.0 stars 8/16/2016 by Mana6
by Mana6

This is basically a toned down bleach. If you dont want your hair ruined and to feel like noodles then i would stay away. This is basically a 20 vol bleach. Also to mention you would need A LOT of product. Unless you have a pixie cut, you wont be fine with just one box.

Mana6
Châteauguay, QC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Minimal damage to my very long over-colored hair!
1/20/2011

Customer review by sjhglenallen

5.0 stars 1/20/2011 by sjhglenallen
by sjhglenallen

I was thrilled with the results! It completely removed all the old hair color. My natural color is light brown with lots of silver gray; I have been coloring it with light auburn and streaks of black throughout, as well as a layer of black underneath, for an overall medium auburn depth of color. I decided I wanted to lighten it up. My hair is fine and well below the middle of my back, so I was worried about excessive damage. No worries, the product worked wonderfully, with minimal drying effect!

sjhglenallen
Glen Allen,VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It certainly works well!
1/25/2011

Customer review by veryblondenow

3.0 stars 1/25/2011 by veryblondenow
by veryblondenow

I have dirty blonde hair, i recently colored it lightest ashe blonde and it turned out brown. I didnt like it so I decided to use the color remover. It not only took out the color I just put in, but every color put in through the years.I only left it on for 15min. The instructios said 20-50 min. I now have very blonde hair, to light for me. didnt dare to dye it the color I bought might end up with white hair! So, I guess it does work, just maybe to well. The smell was not over powering though w

veryblondenow
Lakeland,FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does not work as advertised.
10/5/2010

Customer review by lurkie

1.0 stars 10/5/2010 by lurkie
by lurkie

I have been doing by own hair black for about 3 years. I wanted to switch it up so I tried to use this terrible excuse for a product. I tried the strand test and it looked okay on a small scale, but when used all over my hair turned out platinum blonde on the top and faded into orange, red, and black. I had to dye it back to black because that was the only color that would cover up the rainbow on my head. It is advertised as a color "corrector," but it caused more problems than it helped fix.

lurkie
Phoenix,AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
works fast and doesn't smell
10/5/2011

Customer review by Sandy2011

4.0 stars 10/5/2011 by Sandy2011
by Sandy2011

I wanted to go from black to brown. I went to the salon and 120.00 later came out like a tiger. So, I went to my local drug store and found this product. Less mess then what she used at the salon and worked fast. Watched it happen and when I thought it was light enough I washed and dried my hair. It made my hair very dry and coarse but after I colored it and conditioned it was good. Hair will turn an odd color of its normal color but, after I colored it it is one shade. use 2 for long hair.

Sandy2011
Tampa,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worked for me
12/16/2012

Customer review by JulieLA

5.0 stars 12/16/2012 by JulieLA
by JulieLA

I have very fine hair, and not a lot of it. I have used this product once before, so I knew a strand test was necessary. It only took 5 minutes to strip the medium to darkish brown color from my hair. I had bad color build up on the ends- dark ends, lighter roots-ugh! Know that your hair will look very scary when you rinse product. Mine was uneven blond and orange- it was terrifying. I immediately colored my hair back to it's original light brown color ( Feria #60) Very pleased w/ results!

JulieLA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very sad :(
9/25/2010

Customer review by starrynight4eva

2.0 stars 9/25/2010 by starrynight4eva
by starrynight4eva

I bought this product after reading the reviews, you see I have black hair half colored, half natural.. people in the reviews said would remove colored black... NOT!!! I followed the directions, what happened!? I tell you what happened now I have half orange hair and half balck, it stripped my natural color black, but not the colored half!!! I have been doing my own hair for at least 15 yrs so its not the first time I have ever had to strip my hair.. so much for dying my hair red :(

starrynight4eva
marion,MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
how many boxes should I have to buy?
11/9/2010

Customer review by dawn

1.0 stars 11/9/2010 by dawn
by dawn

I saw the Haircolor remover in my local store and was happy to try and remove the darker ends of my hair, as I've been going lighter. Thank goodness I used much much less product for my strand test, I barely had enough product to cover my 6 inch ponytail. How many boxes would someone with long hair have to buy? 6? I haven't removed it from my hair, I'm hoping it's not streaky which would make me have to go to the store and either purchase more and start again, or buy a darker shade.

dawn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Totally says what it does.......GREAT!!
11/14/2010

Customer review by Shelly

4.0 stars 11/14/2010 by Shelly
by Shelly

I just finished about 1/2 hour ago. I read all the reviews and was stlill nervous, as I could be that one person whose hair would fall out or something. This product does exactly what it claims to....just follow the directions and it will work. I had a history of black hair color that I wanted to go back to Burgundy. The black color came out and I recolored it Burgundy. My hair looks great and feels even better...totally soft and ready to face the world tomorrow.

Shelly
Mission Viejo,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
different way to use this product
9/1/2010

Customer review by timekeeper

4.0 stars 9/1/2010 by timekeeper
by timekeeper

after i dyed my hair the color of soft black, i used this as an experment. after i did the strand test and the color looked ok i put it on my hair, i didnt use it as it says to. what i did was use it to make highlights in my hair. my hair went from a darkish black to a medium brown. i dont know about doing this for any color other than black or dark colors, but it work for my hair idk if it will work again next time but right now i love the way it turned out :)

timekeeper
warner robins,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent product does its job
7/12/2010

Customer review by meriannep

5.0 stars 7/12/2010 by meriannep
by meriannep

I have always dyed my hair red. Until one day, I decided to dye it black. Worst mistake of my life. Black is the hardest color to come out. I wanted to go back to red because I missed it so much. So I started dyeing my hair red again and brown to lighting it up..wrong again. So, I went to my pharmacy and picked this up and I brought two. It was the best thing i have ever done. It worked great. didn't have a smell to it or nothing. It worked fast and did its job

meriannep
Miami Beach,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Could be alot easier to apply, and....
4/13/2010

Customer review by Happy2day

3.0 stars 4/13/2010 by Happy2day
by Happy2day

Overall it DOES remover color, but do to viscosity and not enough product in bottle this doesnt do a complete job, I have shoulder length hair, used 2 boxes and still have color that was not removed. My results were similar to 1st 2 reviews on this item, but I think with experience it could be a great product, and of course if there was more in each box and a thinner viscosity for ease of use there would be more return purchases. Bottom line does remove color.

Happy2day
High Point ,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
it does actually work!
6/5/2010

Customer review by moomoo1973

4.0 stars 6/5/2010 by moomoo1973
by moomoo1973

hey girls and some guys, this does work if your hair is COLORED darker than what your natural hair color is. but the stench is horrible!!! i couldnt stand to be with myself. i had to sit outside for most of the time,hahaha. the only thing is that i colored right after and that was a HUGE mistake. i just got greedy i guess. i shouldve waited a few days to color my hair after. I as well had to use 2 boxes on shuolder length hair. My gosh it smells horrific!!!

moomoo1973
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bright blonde
1/21/2011

Customer review by Brandi

1.0 stars 1/21/2011 by Brandi
by Brandi

I had used product called colour rays in red and tried doing red highlights, didnt work so well so i tried using this to strip out the color and it went terrible wrong my hair in some spots turned bright blonde and as it did take a lot of the red out it left streaks of light pink my hair looks terrible. if it hadnt turned my hair bright blonde it wouldnt look bad with my natural hair color but it instead dyed my natural hair color which is medium brown

Brandi
Would recommend to a friend? No
A real life saver!!!!
8/15/2012

Customer review by GryphonSpirit

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by GryphonSpirit
by GryphonSpirit

So I got some hair color RR07, warm copper red. It gives examples of results on different color hair and says red hair will turn auburn. Ok, I have strawberry blond, so I should go by the blond result right? WRONG!!! Strawberry blond RR07= Ronald McDonald hair. I used the color remover and got an ugly bright orange, as expected, which held my new color, 6.4 ‘ginger twist’ perfect with no blending or showing through of the old color. A real life saver!

GryphonSpirit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
it works...kinda
3/25/2010

Customer review by Sarah

3.0 stars 3/25/2010 by Sarah
by Sarah

after buying the remover my husband applied it to my dyed black hair according to the directions.arpund the crown of my hair it turned really bleach blonde.around the bottom and the front it turned reddish orange...after rinsing my hair looked awful!not to mention it felt like hay.i recolored with a medium brown.after rinsing and my hair drying my hair is an auburn color.so while it did strip the dark out i was not able to dye it the color i wanted.

Sarah
Lubbock,TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 92 total reviews
1-20 of 92 reviews