Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 21 reviews | 5 out of 5

5.0 stars

21 reviews | 5 out of 5

5 stars
21
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Best Version Ever!!!!
2/22/2010

Customer review by futuredirector

5.0 stars by futuredirector

The is the best version of Emma that I have ever seen. The characters are wonderful. The relationship between Emma and Mr. Knightly is so believable and real. Not like previous versions I have seen. Micheal Gambon as Emma's gives the role real character and warmth. Very nicely done!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
futuredirector
Grand Rapids, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Two Thumbs Up!
3/8/2010

Customer review by writer17

5.0 stars by writer17

Great casting and the best version yet. Emma transported me back in time for a real taste of what Jane Austen's thoughts might have been as she was writing the novel. In my opinion, this approx. 4 hour movie goes by too quickly.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
writer17
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best rendition of Emma
7/26/2011

Customer review by LDS64

5.0 stars by LDS64

I am a huge Jane Austen fan and am very picky when choosing video renditions of her books. This one was far the best I have ever seen of Emma. Beautifully done. The Walmart price was the lowest I found. It was a no-brainer. I highly recommend it for any Jane Austen fans.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LDS64
Bradford PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Wonderful
11/9/2011

Customer review by ML56

5.0 stars by ML56

I love this movie. It is my second favorite version after the Gwyneth Paltrow/Jeremy Northam version. The story is comprehensive, the music is beautiful, the acting is fine. The more I watch it the more I love it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ML56
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Emma
3/9/2010

Customer review by Chefmansgirl

5.0 stars by Chefmansgirl

Loved this video. Fantastically done.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Chefmansgirl
Las Vegas,NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
wonderful
1/20/2011

Customer review by nimbrodal

5.0 stars by nimbrodal

this movie is wonderful, and the why thay have one it is so good that they stay close to the book. they have made it so the young people can wach and get in to it. my little gril is 3 and she likes it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
nimbrodal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Emma 2009
6/13/2010

Customer review by Funkster1

5.0 stars by Funkster1

This is the most recent interpretation of Jane Austin's "Emma" that reflects a romantic view of the novel against our modern times. It is a lavish production coming from the BBC and is well done.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Funkster1
Dayton, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Emma(2009), Widescreen DVD
4/26/2010

Customer review by mineRbluer

5.0 stars by mineRbluer

This is a great film. I highly recommend it. Great story and great acting.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mineRbluer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Version of Emma
10/21/2010

Customer review by Soundspretty

5.0 stars by Soundspretty

This is the best version of Emma I have seen so far. All the actors are likable and believable in their roles. It has a more modern flair to it (in some of the mannerisms and expressions) that helps keep the period piece from feeling too... old. It's more romantic than anything. I loved the actress who played Emma. She was able to capture the spirit of a teenage girl who was far from a grown woman, but not a little girl either. Mr. Knightley was excellent as well. Their blooming romance felt very natural. The movie/TV special is split into four parts at an hour long each, however they go by very fast. It's easy to lose yourself in the story. There aren't too many DVD extras, mostly behind the scenes set design and costumes information, but the movie is substantial enough on its own.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Soundspretty
Edwardsville, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Perfect!
4/12/2011

Customer review by LuluDownSouth

5.0 stars by LuluDownSouth

I really like this version of Emma. I think Romola Garai brings a different perspective on Emma: she's lighthearted and funny. The movie was beautifully done. It gets two thumbs up from me.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LuluDownSouth
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Amazing
9/13/2013

Customer review by Cheka

5.0 stars by Cheka

BBC version Emma (2009) (Widescreen) is absolutely fabulous from the actress who plays Emma Woodhouse to Mr. Knightley are amazing. I love this movie and I never get tire watching it. It contains two dvs lasting about 2 hours each; they are worth seeing them. This version is in my opinion better than the Gwen Paltrow did.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Cheka
East Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Entertainment
1/31/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

This is a delightful adaption of Jane Austen's Emma. Excellent acting and production; draws you right into the story. Ordering was easy and the price was lower than other stores.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
10/28/2010

Customer review by TopNotchBldrs

5.0 stars by TopNotchBldrs

Good family entertainment.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TopNotchBldrs
Englewood, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Excellent mini-series
7/31/2010

Customer review by ClassicalGirl

5.0 stars by ClassicalGirl

Emma, a classic by Jane Austen was wonderfully done in this mini-series adaption directed by Jim O'Hanlon and starring Romola Garai, Johnny Lee Miller, and Michael Gambon. The cinemtography was beautiful, the acting was spot on, and the script was well done. This is both my favorite adaptation of Emma, as well as the best adaptation of Emma. I highly recommend this! 5/5 Stars.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ClassicalGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female