Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 42 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

42 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

42 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
9
1-20 of 42 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews
Easy to install and setup
4/7/2010

Customer review by 2Good4Sure

4.0 stars 4/7/2010 by 2Good4Sure
by 2Good4Sure

If you read and follow the directions you will have a flawless operation of the alarm system. I installed this product on a rainy day and it worked perfectly. For the price you can't beat it and it is so expandable that it will cover all of your home and outdoor sheds with no problems. There is a distance limit from sensor to central alarm unit of 300 feet. Satisfaction or return

Was this review helpful? (96) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2Good4Sure
Little Rock, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy to Use
1/13/2011

Customer review by DIY2SaveABuck

4.0 stars 1/13/2011 by DIY2SaveABuck
by DIY2SaveABuck

Installed this product with 18 additional door/window sensors and 2 additional remote controllers in about 3 hours. No problems adding sensors to host. Everything worked fine straight out box. Located host in center of 1500 sq ft house w/siren about 15 ft from host. All sensor tripping alarm fine (even 2 in garage). Phone dialer called cell phone within 5-7 seconds. Intruder shouldn't have time to destroy host prior to it placing a call. Only issue I found so far is that the supplied siren did not stay on the entire time the alarm was sounding until host was disarmed about 3 out of 5 times during testing. Host always sounded it's internal siren. System ships with the siren, remotes, and two sensor programmed. Going to reprogram the siren before I contact support. Overall would recommend system.

Was this review helpful? (55) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DIY2SaveABuck
Victoria TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
bang for the buck
8/30/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 8/30/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

this little alarm system is just what the doctor ordered for a starter alarm system. connect it up and it works. the siren is *LOUD*. the motion detector and door/window detector both work, too. this system, as is, will protect one room: for better protection, add on a few of the motion detectors, which can be had online for about $15. the best feature is that once connected to a telephone line, the alarm will call any set of numbers you want, including 911, and play a message that you record yourself, like "come to 111 mystreet because there is a burglar alarm going off!" or something.

Was this review helpful? (48) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Poor Product
2/13/2010

Customer review by gr8g8rjr

1.0 stars 2/13/2010 by gr8g8rjr
by gr8g8rjr

i hooked it up and it kept going off everytime someone walked by......or everytime the phone rang.......sirene not very loud......hard setup!! VERY DISSAPOINTED!!

Was this review helpful? (80) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gr8g8rjr
Lake City, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Budget apartment security
4/30/2011

Customer review by SlimJim77

4.0 stars 4/30/2011 by SlimJim77
by SlimJim77

Bought this system hoping to add a bit more security to the residence. The unit operates as advertised, and in some ways, has even exceeded my expectations. I recommend this unit to anyone, particularly those that live alone, as it at least allows you to minimize how much time a thief has to rip you off. This is an entry level system, so don't expect to have many customizing features, but this unit is pretty inexpensive compared to some others I've seen. I recommend to implement this product as more of a silent alarm, as the volume of the main and wireless speakers are pretty average in volume and annoyance factor. Also, an intruder may not notice the unit for an extra length of time, allowing law enforcement a better chance of catching the thief. Setup was easy, as long as you have no problem reading and following directions. $90 well spent.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SlimJim77
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/29/2011

Customer review by howthewestwaswon

4.0 stars 7/29/2011 by howthewestwaswon
by howthewestwaswon

It was a little tricky to get the hang of the different features and settings, but once you do it works great! Not as much info in the owners manual as there could be to make it easier, but we did call for tech support and they were helpful! One thing to note that they dont have on any website or product description: THIS SYSTEM WILL NOT WORK WITH A DIGITAL PHONE LINE. IT MUST BE AN ANALOG PHONE LINE. Other than that snafu, we love it now!

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
howthewestwaswon
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Simple but Good!
2/26/2011

Customer review by Wythe

5.0 stars 2/26/2011 by Wythe
by Wythe

This is a really basic, straightforward system. The wireless motion sensors make this especially easy to install and use. The telephone notification works. I would recommend that you also buy a couple extra motion detectors to provide better coverage.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wythe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Excellent DIY alarm system
2/13/2012

Customer review by NE12

5.0 stars 2/13/2012 by NE12
by NE12

Excellent DIY alarm system. It is easy to install. The included inside alarm is very loud- Scares away thieves when you are away. Alerts you or wakes you up in the event of a home invasion. The auto phone dial feature works great. I don't see the need to pay monitoring fees to a security service. If my alarm is tripped, it automatically calls family/friends' cell phones and 911. For most people, this security system is all you need. Obviously the president of the US needs more security, but this is enough for 99% of us. I like the fact that you get the basic system for such little money, but can add components to it later. For most applications, I would recommend the outside siren, panic buttons, and more door/window sensors.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NE12
New England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/24/2011

Customer review by rfthomp

4.0 stars 7/24/2011 by rfthomp
by rfthomp

Great starter alarm for the price. I was able to install (batteries included), arm, and test this alarm in 25 minutes. It called my cellphone in 4 seconds. It was actually very easy to set up and program, not so sure why so many of the others that left reviews had trouble? I would recommend longer phone line unless you are placing it by a landline. You can't use an answering machine with this unit if you want to arm and disarm via phone.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rfthomp
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Get Less than What You Pay For
7/6/2010

Customer review by rocketscientist2

1.0 stars 7/6/2010 by rocketscientist2
by rocketscientist2

The included instructions for this alarm are terrible and make little or no sense. It is clear English is not the author's first language due to the multiple spelling and grammar mistakes. Instruction manual "chapters" follow no logic. Though I can program the main control unite to turn on and off, I cannot program it to work with my phone and other features as advertised. Remote call in feature does not work if you have home answering machine. Nobody answers toll free customer service number or returns calls after leaving message. This product has potential if it worked as advertised but needs to go back to the R&D department for a more polished upgrade.

Was this review helpful? (14) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rocketscientist2
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/20/2012

Customer review by hswf

5.0 stars 2/20/2012 by hswf
by hswf

I am very, very happy with the Security Man home alarm system. I had a few questions about installing extra door and window sensors. I Emailed Security Mam customer service and recieved a response in less then 20 minutes that they would have a customer service rep reply to my Email monday morning. It was on a Saturday that I sent my Email. First thing Monday morning I recieved the Email with instructions to call the sales rep as soon as possible so he could help me. By this time I had figured out how to install the sensors by reading the manuel again. Bravo for me. I am 70 yrs old and now feel so secure, when going to bed at night that I have the alarm system. I have not had any problems with it, in the 3 weeks since I installed it. I would so recommend this product to anyone and everyone. I would also like to Thank Walmart again for the ease in ordering products from there on line web site. Besafe. get an Alarm system. Its very inexspensive and makes you feel secure in your home.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hswf
los banos, calif.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not bad for the price but calling feature is flaky
3/2/2012

Customer review by TLPShopper101

4.0 stars 3/2/2012 by TLPShopper101
by TLPShopper101

I purchased this alarm and got it setup in less than an hour. The instructions could definitely use some re-writing, as they are a little confusing. You just have to pay close attention when following them. After everything was hooked up, I tested it out and found out that the alarm called my phone not just when the alarm was triggered, but also whenever the alarm was turned on or off. This was very annoying, as I don't really care when the alarm is turned on or off. I contacted technical support and after a little trouble-shooting they told me it was defective. I returned the alarm and bought another one. The second alarm did not call my phone at all -- even when the alarm was triggered. I decided to keep the alarm anyway, as my hope is just the sound of a loud alarm going off would scare an intruder. If you don't need the feature of having an alarm call your phone when it's triggered, then this is a great alarm for the price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TLPShopper101
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
2/11/2012

Customer review by TheOneandOnlyTater

5.0 stars 2/11/2012 by TheOneandOnlyTater
by TheOneandOnlyTater

This is a great product that does what it says it does. You can add up to 60 sensors, an outside alarm, 5 numbers dialed automatically, motion sensor, remote controls--it does it all, and no monthly fee. The inside alarm is extremely loud. The window/door sensors are also very easy to install. Also, it's very easy to arm/disarm for my wife. I travel alot and my family feels more secure with the SecurityMan alarm system. I had no problems setting the system up, although I took my time to read/interpret the instructions. Overall, I am very pleased with the system.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheOneandOnlyTater
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good product Bad Batterires
2/26/2011

Customer review by klovesecurity

3.0 stars 2/26/2011 by klovesecurity
by klovesecurity

I purchased this product in December 2010 and the batteries didn't last a whole month and since I have replace all 9 sensors twice and working on the third round now. I will be getting an refund ASAP!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
klovesecurity
GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for the Price
4/22/2011

Customer review by Runner20852

4.0 stars 4/22/2011 by Runner20852
by Runner20852

For around $100, this was exactly as advertised. Not a great system, but very inexpensive. The documentation and instructions are poor, but the system is fairly basic, so some trial and error diagnosing eventually worked for me.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Runner20852
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Securityman is Great System
1/10/2012

Customer review by HemiD

5.0 stars 1/10/2012 by HemiD
by HemiD

Ordered this product after doing much research. Purchased additional window/door sensors to fill out my needs and went to work on setup. Setup is not complicated if you follow the cronology of the quick start guide. Adding additional sensors was easy but have to remember that each zone can only have 4 wireless devices. Autodialer is flawless as it calls my cell phones and I can decide to call neighbors or police. Build quality is quite good for an inexpensive passive system. Autodialer will only work if connected to analog land line.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HemiD
Kansas City, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works Well
4/17/2011

Customer review by faraday

4.0 stars 4/17/2011 by faraday
by faraday

The alarm was pretty easy to install and I had it working in just a couple of hours.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
faraday
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great system...Really fit my needs
12/25/2011

Customer review by Stormbringer9567

5.0 stars 12/25/2011 by Stormbringer9567
by Stormbringer9567

I really like this alarm system it fits my needs perfectly and the only reason i dont give it 5 stars is the instruction manual......God god could you get it more cryptic???..LOL it took me a while but i figured it out and it works really good once i figured it out everything went together fine the sensors worked and paired perfectly...........the motion sensor says it will ignore cats....not in my case....maybe i just have bigh cats but they did set the alarm off but all in all it was a great buy and works wery well

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stormbringer9567
Pittsburgh,Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice Quality
11/29/2010

Customer review by homeshopfan

5.0 stars 11/29/2010 by homeshopfan
by homeshopfan

Upon opening the box and previewing the items we were impressed that the remote entry key chains were built so well! They are solid, weighty, and classy looking. Nice that the manufacture took the effort to detail something like that. Too often companies try to go the cheap route and end up making intricial parts cheesy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
homeshopfan
Martinsville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
reviewed others, this is the best
10/1/2011

Customer review by Billie74

5.0 stars 10/1/2011 by Billie74
by Billie74

A little hard to set up, have to read directions careful, but then was ok

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Billie74
Manhattan, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews