Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 147 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

147 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

147 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
105
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 142 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 142 total reviews
1-20 of 142 reviews
Eye Catcher
2/24/2010

Customer review by opcamaro

5.0 stars 2/24/2010 by opcamaro
by opcamaro

I just finished assembling this desk for instore display. The assembly was very simple and fast (less than 10 minutes.) No tools were required for the assembly of this desk. Every other associate that walks by comments on how nice it looks. This is called a writing desk, but has features that make it usable for a computer also. It has a keyboard drawer and cord storage at the rear of the top surface.

Was this review helpful? (47) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
opcamaro
Idaho Falls, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Walmart associate
Love Love Love this Desk !!!
1/9/2011

Customer review by felinaa

5.0 stars 1/9/2011 by felinaa
by felinaa

It is super easy to put together. I did it myself in about 20 minutes or less. It has a wheel-out drawer that needs no installation and comes with an option of knobs. The desktop has plenty of room to do homework with my laptop and/ or makeup kits. It has an ample compartment on the back where you can hide all your wires and electric connections. I keep a power strip in there to connect any additional electronics or even hair tools. I love love love this desk. :)

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
felinaa
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Finish damages very easily
8/25/2010

Customer review by dcpeeps

2.0 stars 8/25/2010 by dcpeeps
by dcpeeps

At first, this product seems great. The assembly is a breeze, and the hinged compartment in the back for cords is great. The size is also ideal- enough space for paying bills, writing a letter, or working on a laptop, but still small enough to fit into a corner or small space. Unfortunately, things go downhill quickly because the finish has no durability and damages very, very easily. After only two weeks of occasional light use (paying a few bills and using a laptop computer) by one adult, our desk already has three dings in the finish on the top. At this rate it will probably be so nicked up that we will have to trash it in 3-6 months. Bottom line: great design but very poor finish that won't last.

Was this review helpful? (37) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dcpeeps
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent second desk
4/3/2010

Customer review by Adeskforme

5.0 stars 4/3/2010 by Adeskforme
by Adeskforme

I purchased this desk because I was buying the canopy office set and thought it would be nice to have a side desk that matches. It's a simple construction that doesn't have any drawers aside form the shallow keyboard drawer. Assembly was amazingly simple... All I had to do was screw in the legs. The desktop and keyboard drawer were already assembled in the box. If you want a computer desk and don't need extra drawers or mind having your tower on the floor, this would be an excellent desk for you. If you want to use it as a writing desk, a place to write bills or sift through papers, this would also be an excellent choice. The only complaint I can think of is the website didn't completely describe the desk and the pictures were a tad misleading. It's basically a table with four legs, a keyboard drawer. The top, back of the desk has a 4" panel that lifts up so you hide your monitor cables. Overall, it's a worthwhile purchase. I love this set of furniture. It's so hard to find office furniture that is not made of spit and sawdust. Finally, real wood at a reasonable price! (o, for those people who err on the side of clean, the dark stain is unforgiving when it comes to dust and pet hair. Plan to dust daily if you are a clean freak.)

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Adeskforme
Hoboken, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Easy to assemble, sturdy and attractive
11/22/2013

Customer review by Smukke13

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by Smukke13
by Smukke13

Excellent piece of furniture -- very surprised at the quality and the ease of assembly at this price point. First off, it comes mostly assembled; all you have to do is screw on the legs. I did it alone, but someone who is not quite so stubborn may need a partner for the back legs. Second, it feels strong as a tank. The caveat is that it's just a week old and all I have on it is one iMac. I do use the keyboard tray multiple times a day, and so far the sturdy latches seem to be hanging in there. The drawer also seems to be assembled more strongly than in my prior desk, whose keyboard drawer fell off early in its life & then repeatedly thereafter, once the drawer rails were weakened. I have no kids climbing on it, or pets likely to try to jump up & see if they can tip it over. But it feels like a stout, sturdy piece of furniture. Finally, it's pretty. The pieces fit together well -- no big gaps anywhere. The most amazing part is the cold-holder space at the back of the desk -- really minimizes the usual computer-desk clutter! (I use a lot of USB connections...) I don't recall whether it is supposed to be solid wood or laminate, but it smells & feels like real wood anyway. I'm beyond pleased -- this piece totally exceeded my expectations. I will definitely look at Canopy furniture again in the future.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Smukke13
The Woodlands, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top Quality Desk, plus more!
5/16/2010

Customer review by ChaosChicago

5.0 stars 5/16/2010 by ChaosChicago
by ChaosChicago

This writing desk is outstanding quality, seconds to setup and the hidden compartment just adds to the overall amazing value of this desk. There is no reason to pass up this desk. Hard wood, easy assembly, additional features like hidden wiring compartment, drawer that doubles as a keyboard/mouse tray…. I LOVE this desk!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChaosChicago
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Beautiful!
4/14/2011

Customer review by Alysson

5.0 stars 4/14/2011 by Alysson
by Alysson

This desk is so great. Assembly only requires putting on the legs and drawer knob. That's IT! The drawer is a little tight opening and closing but I think a little WD40 will fix that problem. Comes with a touch up marker for scratches but there were non in shipping. The packing was very impressive. Fits my Sony Vaio all in one computer perfectly. Drawer has drop down front that has locks and fits the keyboard and mouse. The back of the desk opens up the full length of the desk about 3 inches width. There is a hole on both sides under the desk to bring cords through and a half circle in the middle top of the desk to help organize them so they aren't running all over the place like a typical desk. If that makes sense. Very nice color. Compared to the picture on the website from my computer it looks a little darker and richer. Not much but a typical chestnut color. If you want to know what the chestnut or mahogany colors look like go to your local walmart and check out the canopy picture frames. They have the same colors. I bought a frame to bring home to compare to my other brand tv stand. Easier to return a frame than a desk. I would also like to say that this is real wood. The bottom has plywood but the rest is a real. A little bit of a wood stain smell on the wood but nothing that will gag you. I found it refreshing. This was my first Canopy furniture buy other than the storage ottoman/file box and I will be purchasing more in the future.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alysson
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beautiful piece of furniture!
4/7/2010

Customer review by shopperfromatlanta

4.0 stars 4/7/2010 by shopperfromatlanta
by shopperfromatlanta

Sleek, beautiful, well finished and elegant! Blends well with our furniture! Recommend it strongly for someone looking for conventional, dark wood, easy to assemble and value for money writing desk!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shopperfromatlanta
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it!
2/27/2011

Customer review by Dejamekieta

5.0 stars 2/27/2011 by Dejamekieta
by Dejamekieta

Just bought it today (Feb.27.2011) at my local walmart store in Puerto Rico for about $185.00 Looks lovely in my small living/dining apt. Very easy setup (Only have to put the 4legs and knob). It fits my needs and for the price it was fairly right. Goes well with my dark chocolate brown furniture. I think it is 100% Solid Wood....

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dejamekieta
Aibonito, Puerto Rico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pretty, sturdy, and functional!
7/23/2010

Customer review by LoveMyNewApartment

5.0 stars 7/23/2010 by LoveMyNewApartment
by LoveMyNewApartment

The assembly was quite easy, though having another person to help like it recommended in the book would have made it much easier. It's a great place to work on my laptop or write, and it makes a a pretty addition to my living room!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveMyNewApartment
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Be careful - The quality is getting much worse
11/4/2011

Customer review by ShawnMo

1.0 stars 11/4/2011 by ShawnMo
by ShawnMo

We bought one last year. We liked it so much that we got a second one last month. The second one cost $20 more, but the quality is SO MUCH WORSE now. The surface used to be processed very well and reasonably durable. The surface on the new one is not even smooth, with a number of defects on top and on the sides. The paint is applied much thinner than before. We had disagreed with other reviewers’ complaints on the durability but now agree totally. The quality is simply not tolerable. We will have to go through the trouble to return it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShawnMo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great for the Kids
6/7/2013

Customer review by Ciarrai

5.0 stars 6/7/2013 by Ciarrai
by Ciarrai

This desk was easy to assemble and is well made. The writing surface is big enough for the kids to do crafts, jigsaw puzzles, or spread out their homework. There is space to store unsightly cables and a drawer that flips open for keyboard use. Another review was the reason I chose this particular writing desk and it more than met my expectations!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ciarrai
Peninsula, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great writing table
4/12/2012

Customer review by medinabaker

5.0 stars 4/12/2012 by medinabaker
by medinabaker

This is a beautiful writing desk for the price. Has a working drawer, compartment in back on hinges, and was extremely easy to put together. love it

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
medinabaker
medina, oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth a second try
2/10/2014

Customer review by TXmominNC

4.0 stars 2/10/2014 by TXmominNC
by TXmominNC

I was pretty happy with this product when I got it. There were features that weren't really highlighted and were a nice touch; like the hidden cord compartment in the back and the hinges on the drawer can lock closed so it doesn't have to fold down for keyboard use. I had read some other reviews and saw that the veneer had some issues so I went in knowing this was a risk. We ordered online for home delivery and it was packaged great. (as someone had noted) But we did have issues with the edge veneer peeling and was bubbled so simply gluing it back would not have worked. It was nice looking and a great price so we returned it to the store w/o any hassles and tried one more time. This time it was fine. We are happy with the desk. It seems to be holding up just fine, and I have a 3 and 1.5 yr old that like to "do work" on mommies desk. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice looking desk on a budget but remind them there is a bit of a risk with the veneer issue.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TXmominNC
Jacksonville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I really wanted to like this desk
9/18/2012

Customer review by CarolinaShopper5

1.0 stars 9/18/2012 by CarolinaShopper5
by CarolinaShopper5

But the first one arrived damaged, and now so did the second. The glue job on the veneer is poor and bubbled up in basically the same spot on both. For this desk, the legs are a different color than the finish on the main body. In addition, as I am trying to return the first damaged desk, I cannot get a hold of the courier to return. Overall, a poor experience. We have canopy furniture in the rest of the office and have been very pleased with that, but the price has increased and the quality decreased over the last 2 years.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CarolinaShopper5
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Looks great
4/9/2010

Customer review by yitbos2

4.0 stars 4/9/2010 by yitbos2
by yitbos2

Great piece of furniture. Assembly is a snap, less than 20 mins. There is a cool hiding spot on the back of the desk for hidden wire and cord storage. Really, really nice finish, not cheaply made at all. I'm typically skeptical of u-assemble furniture, but this arrives almost completely assembled. All you do is attach the legs and insert the drawer... really simple. And it's wood too, not that cheap Sauder stuff, (even though I suspect this is made by Sauder because the packaging said Sauder)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yitbos2
Monroe, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very poor quality, don't buy!
4/17/2013

Customer review by neo111

1.0 stars 4/17/2013 by neo111
by neo111

The veneer of the desk already fell off when I open the box. It is not properly glued. Poor quality. I would have it returned if it's not that heavy. You get what you paid for.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
neo111
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Somewhere in China is some extra hardware
3/8/2011

Customer review by Bentcorner

1.0 stars 3/8/2011 by Bentcorner
by Bentcorner

I purchased two of these at my local Wal-Mart. The first one went together without a problem. The second one, not so much. It was missing the instructions and all of the mounting hardware. Not that I really need an extra set of intrustions. I now how to go and try to buy some extra hardware. It's not like I can re-box everything and take it back to Wal-Mart.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bentcorner
Hagerstown, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
An attractive, solid desk for a PC
7/6/2010

Customer review by AnonymousInChatomAL

5.0 stars 7/6/2010 by AnonymousInChatomAL
by AnonymousInChatomAL

Purchased this desk for my 80 year old mother for her new PC. She uses a laptop PC which sits on top of the desk but the keyboard drawer of the desk holds her wireless full-size keyboard & wireless mouse. The desk is very attractive & perfectly matches another piece she bought at Wal Mart that holds her printer. The surface of the desk is large enough for her PC, an accessory lamp & still leaves ample writing surface. The desk is solid, seemingly well made. Assembly of the legs took only minutes with no tools required. A good value on an attractive, useful piece of furniture.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnonymousInChatomAL
Mobile, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Solid desk! Nice finish.
11/14/2013

Customer review by CSW222

5.0 stars 11/14/2013 by CSW222
by CSW222

We bought this desk for our sons room. For the price this desk is a great value. The desk is very stable and the color is a beautiful dark color. The drawer front folds open if you wanted to use a keyboard with this desk. The assembly was very quick. I would buy this product again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CSW222
Saline, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 142 total reviews
1-20 of 142 reviews