Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 117 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

117 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

117 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
93
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
1
1-20 of 110 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 110 total reviews
1-20 of 110 reviews
A camper's best friend . . . .
7/26/2016

Customer review by TheDudeInFlorida

5.0 stars 7/26/2016 by TheDudeInFlorida
by TheDudeInFlorida

I bought this while working at a sporting goods store. While there, I started getting into camping. Prior to one such excursion, I purchased one of these tomahawks; much to my satisfied surprise. I didn't realize just how versatile this tool is. Chopping wood, splitting logs for firewood, driving tent spikes, digging a "cat-hole," and numerous other uses. Now, I don't go camping, and if I can help it hiking, without it. And for the "wringers" I've put it through, for it to still be intact, speaks volumes for it durability.

TheDudeInFlorida
Jacksonville, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Tomahawk...
7/26/2016

Customer review by The Gear Guy

5.0 stars 7/26/2016 by The Gear Guy
by The Gear Guy

I have had this hawk for over a year and I absolutely love this thing. It is lightweight and razor sharp from the factory. I use my hawk for all kinds of light tasks. I wrapped mine in Gorilla tape, and Paracord along with a bicycle inner tube on the handle for added grip.

The Gear Guy
Illinois, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Amazing and Indispensable
7/26/2016

Customer review by TactiNuke

5.0 stars 7/26/2016 by TactiNuke
by TactiNuke

Picked this up about 4 years back and it's been an amazing tool. Whether it's clearing brush, splitting small logs, being tossed at targets, or demolishing old furniture, it excels at the task.

TactiNuke
St Paul, MN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best tactical tomahawk i have had
7/25/2016

Customer review by Cloud

5.0 stars 7/25/2016 by Cloud
by Cloud

Bought this over a year ago still sharp even after splitting some logs and normal throwing practice

Cloud
Iowa, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
4/21/2010

Customer review by outdoorsman7

5.0 stars 4/21/2010 by outdoorsman7
by outdoorsman7

I have been looking for a good quality hatchet for a while and came across the SOG tomahawk. I have heard good things about SOG so I figured I'd give it a try. I purchased this as a combo because everyone else selling this item was charging more for just the tomahawk than Walmart was charging for the combo! So the knife was a bonus. This thing is by far the best one-handed axe type tool I have ever owned. It came already razer sharp and the throat has a steel ring on to protect it from a missed swing! It slices through paper like a ginsu, its light, strong and well crafted. I am very happy with it so far, and probably for years to come

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
outdoorsman7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great hawk
3/25/2011

Customer review by Lavllam

5.0 stars 3/25/2011 by Lavllam
by Lavllam

This is an awesome tomahawk, great balance if your going to use it for throwing. Also works pretty well at chopping wood, I've used it to take down some smaller dead tries for firewood and it performed much better than I suspected. The sheath is nice, the hawk is held in with snap buttons in the nylon which hold it securely when stowing in a bag or carrying by hand. On the back of the sheath there is a loop that seems like it would be for a belt, however I would be very careful hanging it on your belt as I tried this out and had one of the buttons come unsnapped while walking uphill allowing the hawk to fall and embed in a piece of wood.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lavllam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Never buy another "hatchet" again.
7/20/2011

Customer review by LakeChelan

5.0 stars 7/20/2011 by LakeChelan
by LakeChelan

After using the SOG Tomahawk during a weekend camping trip, it took about a half hour for me to realize that I'll never own another camp hatchet. In fact, when I got back, I gave all my Gerber and Buck hatchets away. The SOG Tomahawk trimmed and cut my firewood (4-6" diameter) in half the time of using either hatchet. If you are looking for a camp hatchet, forget it and purchase the SOG Tomahawk. I just ordered another (because I like two of everything) but this time bundled with the SOG Jungle Primitive. Most hatchets are not very sharp out of the box. The SOG Tomahawk is razer sharp out of the box - think of a bowie knife mounted to an ax handle. Very nice tool and a permanent fixture with the rest of my gear.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LakeChelan
Lake Chelan, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
great tomahawk
6/15/2016

Customer review by greg

5.0 stars 6/15/2016 by greg
by greg

i bought this tomahawk about 3 years ago I've taken it on every hike/camping trip still works like a charm to this day. holds a good edge and fly's through the air

greg
Hansville, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good piece of hear to have
5/30/2010

Customer review by MilitaryOutdoorsman

5.0 stars 5/30/2010 by MilitaryOutdoorsman
by MilitaryOutdoorsman

I would highly recommend this product if your in the military. It is cheap enough that if it get really messed up your not out a lot money. This tomahawk would also be good for camping, backpacking, and hiking. Its no to heavy or light and just plain looks good.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MilitaryOutdoorsman
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Pretty Cool
6/3/2010

Customer review by GottaBePrepared

4.0 stars 6/3/2010 by GottaBePrepared
by GottaBePrepared

I ordered this tomahawk to keep in my car for emergency reasons. It feels solid and indestructible. I haven't tested it yet, but it looks like it can stand up to the abuse. Look up some youtube videos and see what I mean. Overall a good product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GottaBePrepared
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome all around tomahawk
6/18/2015

Customer review by D_RocK

5.0 stars 6/18/2015 by D_RocK
by D_RocK

I bought the tactical tomahawk over two years ago and enjoy using it when I get the chance. At first I wanted a rugged tomahawk that I could use for camping such as splitting up wood to start a fire which the weight makes it pretty easy, hammer down tent stakes, and other camping to do list. Then I got my cousin the fast hawk for Christmas and a friend of ours made a throwing block out of a cedar tree. During the summer of 2014, all we did was throw our tomahawks and knives at this block probably over hundreds and hundreds of times every weekend. They say every great weapon has a name, and my tactical tomahawk has definitely earned the title of "Can't Have Nice Things". Not only would this tomahawk take out chips and chunks out of the block, but other people's tomahawks and knives too. Lol the handle has taken some chips and scratches damage, but that just gives it character. After all of this abuse, the head of the tomahawk and handle still remain solid together. I want to thank SOG for making an amazing tomahawk and hope to get a lot more years out of my "Cant Have Nice Things".

D_RocK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
awesome
8/4/2010

Customer review by papibug

5.0 stars 8/4/2010 by papibug
by papibug

Great hawk for the price, compared to the tactical hawks priced well over $100. People need to be realistic about what they are going to use this for since most are not going to be busting down doors. For what the most are going to doing with it, it is a great value and choice.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
papibug
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
The Tank
8/27/2010

Customer review by Motorhawk

3.0 stars 8/27/2010 by Motorhawk
by Motorhawk

I read all the reviews before ordering this product. It is nice HEAVY duty. OK if you were going to go car camping. Not good if you plan on using it as a utility hiking tool or to add to your survival travel kit I looked at other Nam hawks that were almost half the weight. This hawk is almost 2 lbs. It does not swing very well, too heavy (as a defensive weapon). It's perfect for chopping wood because of the weight. Nice handle and finish on the stainless steel head. Very sharp, can take a good edge. As to recommend this product? Yes for car camping only. No for hiking or survival tool. Too Heavy.

Was this review helpful? (8) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Motorhawk
Silicon Valley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent throwing and all around forest axe
12/11/2011

Customer review by ejstech

5.0 stars 12/11/2011 by ejstech
by ejstech

This SOG tomahawk is excellent for throwing, chopping and climbing. If your on the verge of buying this item I wouldn't hesitate if I was you. The SOG tomahawk arrived fast, wrapped in brown paper and was in excellent condition. The tomahawk comes out of the package with an ultra sharp blade with some sort of weird plastic protective finish. After using the tomahawk to split wood and make kindling this bad finish wore off quickly. The tomahawk also features a beautiful tactical spike for rapid entry, popping holes in cinder blocks for sniping and is excellent for use to jab into the side of a mountain to climb steep terrain.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ejstech
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Tactical Tomahawk
2/17/2016

Customer review by Michael

5.0 stars 2/17/2016 by Michael
by Michael

As a Vietnam vet, I was pleased to receive the Tactical Tomahawk. Almost like the ones I had in Vietnam but more durable!

Michael
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Not impressed
11/16/2015

Customer review by Tony

2.0 stars 11/16/2015 by Tony
by Tony

I got this for a Christmas present a couple of years ago and really never had the occasion to use it!!! It just set in my hunting pack unused, until this elk season I harvested a cow and had to pack it out as we were over two miles from the truck! I used this tool to split the pelvis and rib cage as well chopping of the lower legs and head, not once did it hit dirt or rocks, but the blade looks like it was used to pound nails with, there isn't a bit of edge that isn't turned or just plain mashed up!!! By the time I was done I was just beating things apart with it not cutting!!! I have a $20 dollar Fiskars that held up better

Tony
Kittitas, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
The best bang after it's little brother
5/23/2013

Customer review by Nomad1952

5.0 stars 5/23/2013 by Nomad1952
by Nomad1952

This is the F-01N and it is a great tool. Its not a hatchet and a big ol machete works better on most outdoor work. This is more of a defensive weapon that can be used as a tool when needed. It now comes in a stainless version and better yet it now comes with a hard plastic fast draw sheath. The black one is best for stealth with hard cover it is the F01T-K. Now to practice watch Walmart at around Christmas and they have been running the F06N for $20 that is the Fasthawk by SOG and it is slightly smaller. These normally run about $40. I have six of these and have given away a dozen as gifts. I us these for practice and love to throw them. I keep my larger stainless with fast draw sheath for show and tell. Hope I never have to show cause I won't tell if I draw it. Look out all you Zonbies this is a great weapon for the show "Walking Dead".

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nomad1952
Crestview, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Satisfied After Two Years' Use...
7/18/2015

Customer review by Metaphysical_Mormon

5.0 stars 7/18/2015 by Metaphysical_Mormon
by Metaphysical_Mormon

May of 2013 I purchased two of these tactical tomahawks with hard nylon sheaths. After two years of use, I am still glad that after considerable product comparisons I made the right choice: perfect balance; excellent weight-to-performance characteristics; superb durability; and easy to sharpen because of the straight blade design and primary grind. I'm a Vietnam Veteran -- so I'm getting older and slower, but don't be confused, I haven't forgotten anything but will be quicker to make a decision when cornered (i.e., can't afford to give a threat the chance to attack first). As many learned in "Nam," the tomahawk is not dead, just relegated to "little known."

Metaphysical_Mormon
New Mexico, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So close
8/20/2013

Customer review by Mangudi

3.0 stars 8/20/2013 by Mangudi
by Mangudi

I am so close to giving it a 5 star but there are a few things that are holding it back. To start the nylon sheath, Very good quality does its job, only problem is getting the head out of it, the buttons they use are very difficult to undo. The Tomahawk i like, the whole thing feels solid, great weight to it, the plastic handle is good quality and makes the whole thing lighter than a wooden handle. There are two problems with the blade, 1 the head is just to small, wish it was just a little bit longer 2 the blade on mine has all these little nicks and marks in it, i'm pretty sure its just the one that i got has it which i know happens in the modern world, not everything is hand checked. Overall great tomahawk would definitely suggest this to anyone looking for a halfway between a weapon and a hatchet.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mangudi
Monroe, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
$64.25 of pure awesomeness!
11/13/2015

Customer review by MaDeuceUSMC

5.0 stars 11/13/2015 by MaDeuceUSMC
by MaDeuceUSMC

Purchased this a while ago to have a lightweight chopper for backpacking. This thing was proven to be one tough cookie; handles the light wood chopping for camp fire kindling as well as repeated throwing. This just screams "I dare you to throw me!" and after about 8 months, it is still going strong. I have since grown out my beard to that I can look as tough as this. A must for all who love the outdoors and like throwing sharp objects!

MaDeuceUSMC
Colorado, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 110 total reviews
1-20 of 110 reviews