Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 76 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

76 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

76 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
47
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
1-20 of 64 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews
Nice heater; incorrect description.
11/1/2012

Customer review by thksfrhmslf

4.0 stars 11/1/2012 by thksfrhmslf
by thksfrhmslf

The item name and image is correct (BlackCat PerfectTemp), but it does not have the InstaStart ignition as stated in the item description. You have to use a match or lighter to start it. Otherwise, it works well in a confined space, is almost silent, and has the advantage of two temperature settings. The lower setting roughly halves the heat output while almost doubling the run time on a canister of propane. I have used this one and the similar SportCat style (which only has the lower setting) in our tiny teardrop camper with excellent results. It heats the camper effectively even in below freezing outdoor temperatures, although as a by-product of propane combustion it also adds a significant amount of humidity to the air. We increase our usual amount of cross-ventilation to reduce the humidity in the camper when running the heater. Our Carbon Monoxide detector has never registered above zero when running this catalytic heater, but we sleep better knowing it's there.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thksfrhmslf
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Makes the difference
7/13/2011

Customer review by KnightXR

5.0 stars 7/13/2011 by KnightXR
by KnightXR

I used this in the Ozark Trail 20' x 11' (3-Room XL Camping Tent, Sleeps 10). Temps were in the upper 30's and we didn't section off the three rooms so we put it in the middle and I believe it gave us another 5 degrees of heat...not sure at all about that but I do believe it made the difference. For this size tent I should have purchased one or two more and sectioned off the rooms to optimize the heat...but oh well. I recommend one of these heaters per every 3 to 4 person sleeping capacity tent...as I noted above, we were in a 10 person tent and we are all scrawny folks with no meat on our bones (from Phoenix) so we needed it. It used a can of gas each of 3 nights; I started it up early evening and let it run. Just be careful in the morning...this thing will be blazing hot.....and make sure its not touching anything while you sleep. (I ran it in my garage for 20min. to get smell out before camping due to other reviews I read)...(we noticed no smell).

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KnightXR
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A HUNTERS REVIEW
10/13/2011

Customer review by TheKansasHunter

3.0 stars 10/13/2011 by TheKansasHunter
by TheKansasHunter

Hi I bought this about 2 years ago for my deer hunting blind, my blind is 4ft x 4ft x 6ft tall so a total of 96 cuft and is built like a house, as far as the walls and ceiling have r-19. The windows are all 36" x 20" low e sliders. A good rule of thumb is 30-50 btu per 1 cuft depending on where you live, so i figure this 3000 btu heater will do 100 cuft (3000/30=100) where i live and will work great for my deer blind but it did not perform like i thought it would, i mean dont get me wrong no matter what the outside temp was it would usually raise the inside temp by 15-20 degs, i have a therm in my blind and it was 5 degs in my blind and after a hour i got the temp to almost 20 deg which helped but was still freezing in there. so all in all if you are in a area where the temp dont go much below freezing this will take the chill off in 100 cuft or less but this year im gonna buy the bigger version did have a Oder for the first couple of bottles then stopped Thanks and hope it helps

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheKansasHunter
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
11/24/12 SEPA 24 degree weather - Life Saver
11/25/2012

Customer review by extremekicks

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by extremekicks
by extremekicks

I had to come on here and write a review. My finance and my two boxers camped out at French Creek Park last night in 23 degree weather. This thing was a life saver in a 12x8- 6 person tent it kept us warm. It was even snowing a little, we had to use 2 canisters from 5pm until 8am on high. The Propane canisters werent Colemans but the other generic brand Walmart is selling. I will try Colemans next time to see if I will get any more additional heating time. Some pointers 1. Light outside. 2. If you use in your tent have a 6" opening somewhere to allow proper air flow. 3. Use a Carbon Minoxide Detector for extra precaution if you plan to run all night, we did this and we are alive. 4. Keep distance of 2ft on sides and top, so you wont burn any holes. The bottom part has like no heat. 5. I will be posting a review of this online soon at http://www.youtube.com/extremekicksdotcom

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
extremekicks
Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1/7/2010

Customer review by Cammanic

5.0 stars 1/7/2010 by Cammanic
by Cammanic

First thing I did is start it warming my shop outside. Took out to my trailer and fired it up again. No problem, fired up nicely and began to heat my trailer, very efficiently and quickly. Great heater and much larger than I imagined. This is the perfect heater for low prices, I did not want to spend $85 to $100 for a heater. This is perfect for camping also, that is why I bought one, because we used one while camping with some friends. Quality and price = Coleman

Was this review helpful? (85) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cammanic
Stockton, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Creature Comfort
3/1/2010

Customer review by WhatWhereWhen

5.0 stars 3/1/2010 by WhatWhereWhen
by WhatWhereWhen

We bought this heater to take the chill out of the tent. We used it only for short periods of time (up to 30 minutes). It was easy to light using a fire stick and it very quickly took the chill out of our 6 person family tent with an outside temperature of about 35°.

Was this review helpful? (50) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WhatWhereWhen
So Cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
A good heater
12/16/2013

Customer review by Stefanina

4.0 stars 12/16/2013 by Stefanina
by Stefanina

This is a fairly easy to use model. The cylinder screws in easily and becomes the third leg of the tripod. The face is pretty simple to light, especially if you have a long lighter as opposed to a cigarette lighter. It lasted eight hours on the lower setting, about six on the higher setting from a fresh cylinder. If you plan to use this inside a tent, you will want to tote along a flat piece of wood or heat resistant plastic to create a flat surface on an uneven tent floor, or put it up on a side table, which is what I do. The face will get hot, and the cylinder will get cold & develop condensation on the outside. The manufacturer will never recommend using it while you are sleeping, but as long as there is good airflow in the tent, it is no more dangerous than any other type of heater.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stefanina
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Coleman Blackcat Heater
10/30/2010

Customer review by JohnnyTheMailman

4.0 stars 10/30/2010 by JohnnyTheMailman
by JohnnyTheMailman

I used this heater camping last week (mid October in Md.) in my Coleman Elite Evanston 8 12x12 tent. The first night the temperature dropped down to 37 degrees F. I had the heater on high all night with one propane bottle change at 4:00am. I wouldn't say it was hot in my tent but it definitely knocked the chill off. The second night it wasn't as cold so I ran it on low and 1 bottle lasted all night. I was told that the smaller version of this heater doesn't work very well but I am very happy with this Blackcat Heater.

Was this review helpful? (38) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnnyTheMailman
Pasadena, Md 21122
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
This heater is great and lights easily
12/8/2010

Customer review by carbineman

5.0 stars 12/8/2010 by carbineman
by carbineman

I used this heater in an elevated deer stand with side enclosures and it was nice to have some heat coming up from the floor of the stand. The heater lights easily with a kitchen match or lighter, takes up very little space, and has two heat settings, Low and High on dial. It also worked great in my Ground Max Ecilpse hub blind during deer hunting. More than enough to warm your hands or take the bitter chill out of the blind in the morning. Best heater I've used. Quiet operation, No Smell, Lotsa Heat!

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
carbineman
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great!
3/4/2010

Customer review by nyamedua

5.0 stars 3/4/2010 by nyamedua
by nyamedua

We have an off-grid cabin and we love to go off-grid rv-ing; this little heater is perfect for both of those applications. We have used it when the outside temp. was hovering in the teens and it really took the chill off and kept us toasty. If you want a bit better heat circulation, buy the next model up as it comes with a battery operated fan. Of course the downside of that is the need for batteries. All in all, this is a great heater.

Was this review helpful? (46) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nyamedua
southwestern U.S.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A nice heater I can recommend
6/2/2011

Customer review by cjams2001

4.0 stars 6/2/2011 by cjams2001
by cjams2001

My wife and I used this heater for a week in a 9x12 tent. I did what other reviewers had suggested and let it run on high for 20 minutes to remove any odor. We found this unit works better than expected. Some people say it doesn't work but the trick is it works great if it's not windy. We found it heated our tent on windless nights very well and lasted all night on high, more than the 3-4 hours I read about. When I covered the tent in tarps due to the threat of rain, the tent got so hot we had to turn it down, and this is on a Michigan night in May when the temp drops to 40 at night

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cjams2001
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
perfect little heater
11/16/2010

Customer review by Cactusboy19

5.0 stars 11/16/2010 by Cactusboy19
by Cactusboy19

I spend a lot of time sleeping in the back of my SUV. with this thing on low and my back glass cracked. it ran all night and kept me plenty warm. It was in the low 40s all night. I would recommend this for tenting also.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cactusboy19
McMinnville, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Lifesaver!
12/7/2010

Customer review by Opal4irene

5.0 stars 12/7/2010 by Opal4irene
by Opal4irene

I love my lil heater!!! My son plays travel ball and in the colder months I freeze!! So now I take this lil heater and am instantly the most popular mom in the stands! lol....even outdoors it gives off enough heat to keep a few of us warm and one canister last all day long!!!! BIG RECOMMENDATION TO ALL SPORTS PARENTS!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Opal4irene
Corona, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Takes the edge off
6/14/2011

Customer review by campaneur

5.0 stars 6/14/2011 by campaneur
by campaneur

This heater won't heat up your tent but it will certainly take the edge off and it's well worth it. We just went camping in Yosemite and it got down to about 35 at night. I could immediately tell when the tank would run out because my face would begin to freeze. It definetely makes a difference. Look if it's 35 outside it's not going to make it 80 in the tent but you don't notice it. If you're a person who's always cold like me, you'll really appreciate it. I suggest you take 1.5 propane cans for each day you'll use it if you want it running the full night. I would turn it on at 10 then it would run out around 5 and I would put another tank for a couple of hours more.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
campaneur
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
heat
12/5/2010

Customer review by kimmers1028

5.0 stars 12/5/2010 by kimmers1028
by kimmers1028

I go to a lot of soccer games in the freezing cold and it is so nice to have this heater, it is so easy to carry & set up.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kimmers1028
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3K BTU
1/4/2013

Customer review by OBPirate

5.0 stars 1/4/2013 by OBPirate
by OBPirate

This unit produces 3000 BTU. Will that heat your tent or garage or palace? It depends on the rate of energy loss in your system. If your enclosure is bleeding more than 3000 BTU into the surrounding environment, you will not stay warm. If the heat loss is less than 3000 BTU, your enclosure will heat up over time. 3000 BTU is not a lot of heat. However, this unit produces the advertised amount simply and reliably, is durable, compact, and easy to use. It stands nicely on it's fold-away legs, and really does run all night on a bottle. There is only just so much energy in a bottle of propane. If it comes out faster, it won't last as long. This is a nice compromise for me and I use it regularly on my boat and while camping. It won't make a large tent stay toasty warm in a breeze, though. You need insulation to retain the heat and it is a good idea to get it pumping heat out early as it won't warm a space quickly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OBPirate
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Disagree with the other reviews
3/11/2011

Customer review by BlindRacer

2.0 stars 3/11/2011 by BlindRacer
by BlindRacer

I unfortunately have to disagree with the the other reviews for this heater. I purchased this a few weeks ago, so I'd be more comfortable camping the next weekend. The night was about 35-40 degrees. I initially turned it off when I went to bed (didn't notice a difference at this time from the temperature outside the tent)... (Also, my tent is about 8ftx9ft dome. Not huge, but not small either.) So about an hour after bed, I was getting way to cold, so I started up the heater. (At this point the temp dropped from about 45/50 degrees, down to the 35/40 degrees). At that point I kept it on the whole night, hoping that it would help raise the temperature a little bit. What I basically ended up doing was just warming my hands and feet with it, then getting bundled into the sleeping bag again. This heater just doesn't put off that much heat. There was about a ball that you could feel around it, about 6 inches in all directions, and about 1 foot above it. If you were outside of this ball of heat, then you wouldn't feel ANYTHING. At most, my tent may have increased in temperature a degree or two, but nothing noticeable. I would not recommend this heater for general camping use. I could see it being okay if you were to take it to a child's baseball/soccer game, and were physically sitting with it between your legs to warm your hands. Anything beyond that, and it really doesn't do much. I'll probably end up getting something with a little (read: 'lot') more power. This little guy just wasn't up to the task. I guess I may have been asking to much out of such an inexpensive heater, but the previous reviews had raise my hopes. I remember one here that said (paraphrasing) "it raise our tent 20 degrees" - that was the comment that convinced me it would work. Unfortunately it did not.

Was this review helpful? (17) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlindRacer
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
10/25/2012

Customer review by Russd41

5.0 stars 10/25/2012 by Russd41
by Russd41
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent for cold weather camping, in a 1 to 6 person four season weather tent. Don't expect the Black Cat to work well in a summer tent (one season), that allows a cool breeze in the summer. The base is practical. The arms fold out and away from the heating element, not the attached canister and it does not tip easily. It has a slow burn, with a small glow under protective screen. No flames while it keeps you warm. If it does tip over it has cut off and protective screen. It works well for drive by camping and for kayaking because it's weight is a big issue for back country hiking, camping, etc.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Russd41
greeneville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this heater!
5/29/2012

Customer review by 2Todds2Many

5.0 stars 5/29/2012 by 2Todds2Many
by 2Todds2Many

I love this heater! I've had this heater for about a year now and have used it on several camping trips and I absolutely love it! I've used it when it was pretty cold (almost freezing), when it was raining outside, etc. This heater warms up the tent (and tent cabin) quickly and one propane tank lasts 2-3 nights, when using the heater on low, and running the heater for about an hour, 3-4 times in a night. It's easy to use and lights easily! Plus the heater is pretty lightweight and easy to store. I went and bought a second one for my spouse tonight! Great buy!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2Todds2Many
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
good little heater
11/27/2010

Customer review by runner22

5.0 stars 11/27/2010 by runner22
by runner22

bought this heater for a small cabin i just got built if it was up to me i wouldnt have bought but my girlfriend insisted.thank god she did because it was in tne low 20s and i was so thankful i had it.fast delivery and it really heated the little cabin well.some people said it had a funny smell burning it for the first time so i ran it for 20min before taking it inside.onle negative was that when i got it the on/off button was very loose but i could not return because i got it on thursday was we where leaving on friday night but the switch still worked.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
runner22
cabin in birdsall ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews