Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

39 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

39 reviews | 4 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
5
1-20 of 36 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews
Worth a shot...
6/14/2010

Customer review by Grendle2000

5.0 stars 6/14/2010 by Grendle2000
by Grendle2000

This was my first trolling motor (to go along with my first boat) so I can't really compare to other brands but so far I'm very happy with this motor. I have a 17' Hurricane deck boat that I use in salt and fresh water and it pulls it around just fine, even in choppy water. I wanted a saltwater unit and didn't feel like paying $1000 for a Minnkota or Motorguide so I figured I'd give this one a shot. Time will tell if it will stand up to the harshness of saltwater use but so far, so good. The price cannot be beat. The instructions are sparse to say the least and there's not much more to be found on the Watersnake website but it's not hard to install. I also recommend the quick release mount. You can buy it here separately and it's worth the little extra money to be able to remove the motor easily for safe keeping.

Was this review helpful? (46) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grendle2000
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great trolling motor for flats angler
3/1/2012

Customer review by Flathappy

5.0 stars 3/1/2012 by Flathappy
by Flathappy

I easily mounted this bow mount trolling motor using the quick release bracket accessory. The product looks great and it pulls my 16'8" flats boat swiftly across the shallows of Florida's Mosquito Lagoon. I have a casting platform and the longer shaft makes it much easier on the back during several hours of fishing. I previously owned a very well known name brand 55 lb thrust and this motor and prop perform just as well at half the price. Frankly, I would have again purchased the other name product but it is difficult to justify the high price point given the basic mechanical and electrical components associated with a trolling motor. To top it off, how can the market leaders justify $100 plus for a composite/plastic mounting bracket.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Flathappy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
7/9/2012

Customer review by Bambridge

5.0 stars 7/9/2012 by Bambridge
by Bambridge

Took the boat out after installing and the motor worked well, moved a 19 Ft Boat well in Lake Ponchatrain. At one point with a good falling tide had to use 5 to move forward, but worked as well as my old trolling motor. Only one trip but believe the price and motor will be a good value. Not sure on mailing warranty info in, not a US address. Called the # in brochure and no answer. Will try again. A strap to tie/hold motor in place would be a good addition to package. I will purchase one. Motor did bounce some during rough water, but did not come out of mount/cradle. Currently happy with it and time will tell of its durability.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bambridge
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Good Bargain
9/22/2011

Customer review by HIM001

4.0 stars 9/22/2011 by HIM001
by HIM001

If you are fishing with a current, you may want to go with a more powerful model. I have this installed on a 16' Cape Craft Center Console. It struggles running against the current during tide changes. In still water, it is great.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HIM001
Goose Creek, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fantastic unit
6/4/2012

Customer review by hootie6

5.0 stars 6/4/2012 by hootie6
by hootie6

We have owned the top three branded trolling motors for years. Got this one because a fishing guide in Florida was using one. It is perfect. Quiet and powerful for our 16ft fishing boat. We especially like the easy release to remove the unit for storage. We highly suggest you give this motor a try, you won't be disappointed. It wasn't available at our local stores, we ordered on line. Received the unit quickly.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hootie6
vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
very worthy purchase
10/15/2010

Customer review by Fauxtastic

5.0 stars 10/15/2010 by Fauxtastic
by Fauxtastic

I recently researched competitors brands, and for triple the money, you can get less thrust and two blade prop.This is a very quiet and stealthy motor,an all around great purchase.I've put it on an 18' mannatee,and have now turned it into a deadly inshore boat for those days when the seas are less than attractive .

Was this review helpful? (30) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fauxtastic
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great deal
8/19/2011

Customer review by Txsbigfoot

5.0 stars 8/19/2011 by Txsbigfoot
by Txsbigfoot

I was too tight to buy an overpriced MinnKota or Motorguide. This was an alternative to a 65 lb thrust motor. I am very pleased. It pushes my 18 ft Bay boat very well. Easy to mount, and plenty of power. I am well satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Txsbigfoot
Vidor, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great trolling motor
7/23/2011

Customer review by altagoat

5.0 stars 7/23/2011 by altagoat
by altagoat

The 55# thrust bow mount Watersnake is the perfect motor for my 15.5 flats skiff. Bargain priced at Walmart, it beat the completion and iwound up 1/2 the price of comparable MK or MG brands. With an uneven small deck I went with the quick release bracket, also 1/2 the competitors price, it all worked out beautifully. The lock on the quick release means nothing, because the motor can be removed easily from the folding bracket by loosening 1 screw so security demands you simply remove it with the quick release when necessary. For an additional $44 I will add 3 years to the two year warranty!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
altagoat
Gulf Coast, central FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
As good as the ones costing a lot more
10/22/2012

Customer review by Snokster

5.0 stars 10/22/2012 by Snokster
by Snokster

I ordered this motor from Walmart and it arived in 3 day's. So far I have used it 4 times on my 17' key largo and it works as good as the minn kota I had in the past. It was real windy on the Indian River Lagoon and the motor handled it fine. I tried to give it a work out to see if it would hold up and it passed.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Snokster
Palm Bay, FL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
You get what you pay for.
10/30/2012

Customer review by BassLove101

2.0 stars 10/30/2012 by BassLove101
by BassLove101

Man I thought I was getting the deal of a lifetime, gonna save a hundred bones. Ya know make the wife happy. Got this watersnake and had to drill 4 new holes in my bassboat to make it all line up. That was ok because I was saving money. Man this thing looked good as my motorguide. (replaced the motorguide with the snake for more thrust power.) I run that old motorguide for 6 years and no mechanical probs. Just wanted something better for cheaper if that makes since. Well got to use the watersnake 6 times before the shaft snapped into when I drove it up close to the bank. My buddy got a good laugh because of all the braggin on this thing I was doing. The shaft was so thin and non flexable I could not believe what happened. Well now I got the mototguide back on and slammin into rocks and sand flats like always before. Thought you should know.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BassLove101
Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice for money
7/5/2012

Customer review by 1LONGBOW

4.0 stars 7/5/2012 by 1LONGBOW
by 1LONGBOW

WATERSNAKE MOTOR LOOKS GOOD BUT NOT BUILT AS STRONG AS SOME OTHER COSTING MUCH MORE. MOTOR RUNS QUIET AND SCISSOR BRACKET IS OK. HOOKUP WIRE IS A LITTLE SHORT BUT HAS NICE INLINE FUSE . OVERALL I WOULD RATE THIS ONE AS GOOD FOR THE MONEY. IF YOU WANT THE BEST HEAVY DUTY BUY ANOTHER BRAND AND EXPECT TO PAY 100-200 MORE. HAVE A GOOD OUTDOORS DAY.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1LONGBOW
NORTH CAROLINA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great product, Bad shipping
2/11/2011

Customer review by auger77

4.0 stars 2/11/2011 by auger77
by auger77

I had to order this motor twice. first time it was shipped to my home. A guy in a rental truck pulls up and delivers a box that was busted up and falling apart...looked like it was dragged through mud as well. Parts were missing. I re-ordered and shipped it to my local Walmart. It was delayed in transit twice and when it finally came in, that box also was nearly destroyed and muddy. Whats up with the contract carriers Walmart is hiring? Walmart manager helped with my frusteration with a $50 discount. As for the motor, looks very nice. I have not installed yet since boat is in winter storage. Motor seemed to be ok in box...still wrapped, and in styrofoam. Cant beat the price if you get the motor intact...

Was this review helpful? (10) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
auger77
Saratoga, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Does the job
5/8/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/8/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

have caught 5 flounder in the ocean and 1 jack in the lake - does a great job in both

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
6/24/2013

Customer review by BxAxDxCxHxOxIxCxE

1.0 stars 6/24/2013 by BxAxDxCxHxOxIxCxE
by BxAxDxCxHxOxIxCxE
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Two things wrong with it: Power cable to battery is too short, mounted on bow I have to place battery on deck to reach it. Has a fuse which blew out the first time I used it. Brand new 12 volt marine battery. Fuse is proprietary one so I guess I have to have it shipped from Australia.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BxAxDxCxHxOxIxCxE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great price, excellant customer service.
7/25/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/25/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have not had this motor for long but it is easy to mount and has meet my expectations. When I mounted the motor and was ready to put on the propeller I found that one of the blades was damaged. I called the 800 number and they had a new propeller to me in two days. I have used it only a few times and have had no problems. Moves my 17 foot bass tracker at a decent speed on only one battery. I opted for the salt water motor as I sometimes vacation in areas where it will be needed but most usage will be in fresh water. I was not willing to pay $700.00 or more for the same capabilities in the competitors motors. Only time will tell how well this will hold up and if this was a good investment.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Akron, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product!
7/9/2011

Customer review by robotrailersailer

5.0 stars 7/9/2011 by robotrailersailer
by robotrailersailer

I am using this motor as a "kicker" for my 22' sailboat and it does a great job.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
robotrailersailer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good piece of gear
4/19/2013

Customer review by NatMart

5.0 stars 4/19/2013 by NatMart
by NatMart

I bought this motor for our 17' Four Winns Fish 'n' Ski, which is a V-hull bowrider with some rod holders built in. I got really creative when figuring out how to mount it on the bow. I used a 1" thick disc of UHMW plastic to mount the it to, and installed a removable locking pin. I use this trolling motor in salt water exclusively. I've had no issues with it performing to my expectations. It pulls my boat with ease and is pretty quiet. I haven't bashed it into a sand bar or bank yet like another reviewer, so I can't tell you how strong the shaft is. The hard rubber ball that holds the motor in place does give it some shock resistance, though. It is easy to remove from the boat, so I store it inside, after giving it a fresh water wash down. A year later, the motor still looks brand new. The scissor bracket which is left on the boat looks new too, except for the plastic cover. It has mold and UV damage, but I'm sure if it really bugged me I could scrub it off down to fresh plastic. My only gripe is that the turn buckle bolt that tightens the aluminum bracket around the round rubber ball thingy is too short and it sometimes makes it a little difficult to install the motor. If it were 1/4" longer, it would be a lot easier to close and secure the bracket. Now, considering that this motor is half to one-third the price of a comparable Minn Kota or Motorguide, it is a really good bargain.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NatMart
Pensacola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great for my boat
5/26/2013

Customer review by melbno

4.0 stars 5/26/2013 by melbno
by melbno
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought for 174 CC Sailfish boat, used Water Snake quick release mounting platform. Good power for handleing this boat in 5 -10 mph wind. Would have given excellent rating in all areas if not for the short power cord to the battery, needs to be at least three feet longer to allow battery to set in bottom of boat instead of bow deck

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
melbno
Outer Banks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
motor seems to work fine
6/3/2014

Customer review by coondad1

2.0 stars 6/3/2014 by coondad1
by coondad1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When I recieved the motor from fed ex, the box was all torn up. Looked like it was thrown out on the road. The motor itself,was in pretty fair shape,except for some scratches on the paint. I went ahead &,, mounted it on the boat.I havent used it much yet, but it seems to work ok.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coondad1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Trolling Motor
6/3/2012

Customer review by Mock5550

4.0 stars 6/3/2012 by Mock5550
by Mock5550

Looks and runs great. I don't regret the purchase. What I would have liked to see included is a detailed installation manual and the location of the serial number for the product warranty. Also what size bolts and the number recommended for installation. I was able to get some of this information on line but it would have been nice to have included.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mock5550
Citrus County Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews