Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 134 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

134 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

5 stars
87
4 stars
23
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 stars
8
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 125 total reviews
Beautiful!
2/21/2010

Customer review by GigiandRomo

5.0 stars by GigiandRomo

Just got this set home and it is beautiful! Just what I would expect from Better Homes and Garden! Also purchased the black and green rug made to complement this set, it truly brings this outdoor area together! The only assembly necessary is for the coffee table, the loveseat and chairs are already assembled in the box (another plus). This definitely looks like a more expensive set, but it's not!

Was this review helpful? (129) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GigiandRomo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice Look - Bad Finish
3/16/2011

Customer review by bluesideup

2.0 stars by bluesideup

The Hillcrest furniture set has a nice look to it and the cushions and cast frame feel solid. However, after just 10 months, the black finish on the aluminum is flaking, mottled and missing in spots. Clearly, this finish is cheaply painted on and not powder-coated as advertised. So I would not recommend buying any of the Hillcrest line of products unless you plan to re-finish the frames yourself before use.

Was this review helpful? (71) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bluesideup
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Super Stylish
3/11/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

This is a super great deal. I built my house 2 years ago, and have been shopping around all this time for something affordable that was sleek & contemporary. This absolutely fits the bill! Glad I had a hand at putting it together though. It's so versitile, so lightweight, so- Super Stylish! I bought the sectional to match, and love it as well. Lime green just POPS against the black! :)

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Jonesboro, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Poor quality don't buy !!!!!!!!
5/29/2011

Customer review by ott1

1.0 stars by ott1

We purchased this set this past August and the finish is flaking off. Good luck trying to reach Better Homes and Garden they will give you the run around. We are heading to Walmart to speak with a manager about this product.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ott1
Springfield, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Gorgeous
4/2/2010

Customer review by PersnicketyGal

5.0 stars by PersnicketyGal

All I can say is run to Walmart and buy this set before their sold out! What a value...its lightweight, rust proof, weather proof, value packed, looks terrific (and don't forget the coordinating rug) and all for such a low price. Kudo's to the Walmart buyers! When your friends call you particular and you like something that says alot!

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
PersnicketyGal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
NOT SATISFIED
4/29/2010

Customer review by notasatisfiedcustomer89

1.0 stars by notasatisfiedcustomer89

My husband bought this set for me for my birthday and I loved it. About 2 weeks later it started to get whitish looking spots all over the paint. By the time a month had went by the spots were huge and really noticable and looked HORRIBLE! We took it back to Walmart and they gave no problems exchanging it because even they noticed it. We exchanged for the same set. It has been maybe 2 weeks if that and it is doing it again. This set will go back to Walmart and I will not bring home the same set in its place. The set is beautiful but it will not work outside for over 2 weeks.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
notasatisfiedcustomer89
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Not for outdoor use!
4/30/2010

Customer review by GardenGirlTwo

1.0 stars by GardenGirlTwo

This is a beautiful set, but not for outdoors. After a rain the frames have permanent spots that cannot be cleaned! What a disappointment...

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GardenGirlTwo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Design, Disappointing Workmanship
5/6/2010

Customer review by DiscerningHomeowner

3.0 stars by DiscerningHomeowner

This product is good from afar, but far from good, upon closer inspection... however, I am a perfectionist. The cushions are comfortable, so far. They arrived in great condition, although they appear slightly more mint green than apple green as pictured. Great design ruined by shoddy craftsmanship. Aluminum is pitted, not part of the design, but clearly a result of flawed manufacturing. The welds are sound (structurally) but sloppy and therefore ruin aesthetics. If you can ignore these things then you will be happy because this should last a long time, and the classic design is timeless. It was disappointing to me to see such great design spoiled by poor workmanship. My recommendation is to pay a little more and get something better.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DiscerningHomeowner
McMinnville, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Well designed and packaged
5/24/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

I had been eyeing this set ever since it came out on the floors and finally got it this week with the rollback. The first impression was how well packaged everything was in the big box (which fit in the minivan with the second row pushed forward). You can definitely tell that the Better Homes and Garden team had a part in the design and packing. The chairs are solid 1 piece aluminium all over, even on the seat bottoms. NONE of those cheap vinyl straps that will stretch out and break. One big reason I got this set. The green color is beautiful and pops in the garden and the cushions are comfortable to sit on. Highly highly recommended. Conversation sets draw guests outside much more than dining sets.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Union City, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
SUPER CUTE!!
4/14/2010

Customer review by planoboles

5.0 stars by planoboles

OMG-I have gotten so many compliments on this set!! It is so cute-I bought the dining table and rug and it looks like a million bux! People are shocked when I tell them I bought it at WM! I love it!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
planoboles
Plano, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not to be left outside
6/8/2010

Customer review by PurpleStarr

2.0 stars by PurpleStarr

I feel in love with this set the moment I saw it. It has great color and gives a nice look to your patio. However, I haven't even had it for 90 days and it's fading and the paint is peeling. I expected more for the price and from Better Homes and Gardens. Very frustrated that I have to return. However the sand dunes table set I bought, is just fine. I think this is better for a sun room, even though I took the cushions in every night the tables and chairs have faded from the weather.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
PurpleStarr
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Poorly constructed
3/31/2011

Customer review by poorlyconstructed

1.0 stars by poorlyconstructed

I received this product site to store shipping, the welding on the love seat was poor and the arm and leg on one side of the love seat were damaged. I returned this product the same day and would not recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
poorlyconstructed
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love it but COVER IT
11/13/2010

Customer review by MoneyandDoby

5.0 stars by MoneyandDoby

We just put in a pool and everything looks great, new furniture was the finishing touch, very comfortable I bought two sets for the patio and they really are beautiful, HOWEVER, it is not weather proof for being outdoor furniture. Although I put the pillows up and away, the furniture and the table especially discolored after the first rain. I was so disappointed. Buy patio covers for everything and cover right away.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MoneyandDoby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWESOME piece!
7/13/2012

Customer review by indayGreen

5.0 stars by indayGreen

My hubby got this for me for a mothers day present 2 years ago and am still enjoying it now! Its not perfect but you have to take care of it! We live in New England so we have hard winter days. We keep ours inside then and we re-painted it every summer to keep it looking new! For the price! Cant complain! and its so light to move around! My 8 and 10 yo do the moving for me!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
indayGreen
Swanzey,NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
hllcrest patio set
5/20/2011

Customer review by naneJ

2.0 stars by naneJ

5-2-2011 I bought this set last summer and loved it. This yr the paint is all turning white and pitted looking it wll have t be repainted. I would not tell anyone to buy this set because of this. And you can not find a email address for better homes to complain about this set.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
naneJ
Dunkirk NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful purchase!!
5/11/2012

Customer review by SSKB

5.0 stars by SSKB

To be honest, I wasn't too sure what to expect because I hadn't ordered anything from Wal-mart before and there wasn't a sample of this set in the store, so I wasn't able to see it before I placed my order. Well.... I am happy to say that this set was a wonderful purchase. I can't speak on the durability since I've only had it a short time, but I can speak on everything else. The quality of the frame is a nice, solid and quite standard aluminim frame. The chairs are a nice width, so when I am seated, I am comfortable. I love the quality and color of the cushion. One of my concerns about not being able to see it ahead of time was that I couldn't tell the quality of the cushions. These cushions are nice and thick and aren't the cheap, thin cushion that are included in some sets. They also have a nice fabric on the cushion - they are soft, are a very pretty shade of sage green, and have a very subtle textured pattern. I love the coffee table that comes with it, too. I hope they carry this set for a long time and add the option to buy other items such as end tables, replacement cushions, extra chairs and/or a couch so that I can build upon this set. I am a very particular shopper and I must say that I am very happy with this set, so far! Thank you Wal-mart for offering beautiful, nice quality patio set at a reasonable price point!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SSKB
MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Looks great--held up well through winter
3/27/2013

Customer review by teach215

4.0 stars by teach215

I bought this set last summer and put it out on my deck in July. It looks beautiful, like expensive wrought iron, but it is actually very light and easy to move around. I did bring the cushions in for the winter, but the frames set out in all weather. After inspection this spring, I don't see any of the paint issues that others have reported. Everything looks great and is ready to enjoy as soon as the snow melts again. One problem I had was that when the set first arrived, the weld between the arm and where it hooks on to the rest of the chair was broken. This was a cosmetic problem, but for what I paid, I didn't want an obvious crack that might get worse with wear. The instructions said not to return the item to Wal-Mart, so I called the toll free number listed. The representative was very nice, and she asked me to send a picture of the problem. I emailed the picture, and they replaced the chair frame at no charge. I even got to keep the one with the minor defect, so now I have a spare. That was good service. I wouldn't be afraid to purchase this item again. It looks great and feels comfortable to sit in. I would wait until it goes on sale, though. It was a lot less expensive last July than it is right now. :)

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
teach215
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Disappointed
8/15/2010

Customer review by Summergarden

2.0 stars by Summergarden

The set was very nice when we put it together. Unfortunately within a week or two of being outside the frame of the set became discolored. The discoloration has gotten worse over about a 8 week period. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Summergarden
Would recommend to a friend? No
deck set
3/30/2011

Customer review by wooddawg

3.0 stars by wooddawg

This patio set is sturdy, however, the finish does not hold up to sun. Within three months the finish on all of the set was spotted and a white color. I had to re-paint the Entire set. Very disapponited with the finish.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
wooddawg
West Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Very nice
10/14/2011

Customer review by prairielady

5.0 stars by prairielady

The comfort and price of this set are incredible. The cushions alone would cost this much at other places. The detail is nice, and it was very easy to put together.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
prairielady
Lexington, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 125 total reviews