Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 84 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

84 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

84 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
63
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
5
1-20 of 80 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 80 total reviews
1-20 of 80 reviews
A lovely disappointment!
4/26/2011

Customer review by jon25894

1.0 stars 4/26/2011 by jon25894
by jon25894

I had read the reviews like everyone else on here and selected the Canopy office set seeing as the reviews were mostly positive. I have never bothered to comment on any purchases before but this was such a letdown that I felt I had to write something. Every piece I ordered from the Canopy office set (Desk, Bookcase, and file cabinet) arrived broken, smashed, or so poorly made that the parts did not fit together. For comparison, I also have purchased many put together items from Target from their Avington line. Never once was anything broken, missing or smashed. That's out of five pieces I purchased from Target. I just could not believe that every piece had something wrong with it. Any yes you can order the pieces you need from Sauder but it takes about two weeks for the parts to arrive. Any don't bother trying to call them. They are rude when and if they answer the phone. You will have to fill out a form to order the almost guaranteed broken parts online. So again, a huge let down on this purchase from Walmart. I'm usually one of the people who think the negative reviews are from people expecting too much from the products, but in this case I hardly think that expecting to assemble your purchase is an overly lofty expectation.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jon25894
Canton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
LOVE this desk!
8/29/2010

Customer review by NakMama

5.0 stars 8/29/2010 by NakMama
by NakMama

I picked up the writing desk from this line of furniture a while back and was so happy with it, we decided to get rid of our huge executive desk and get this and the anywhere console to use in our family room. At that point this desk was not available (of course!). I tried going with a Sauder desk, but it just looked cheap. When I went online to get info on returning that desk, I found that this one was back in stock (YAY!!!!). I immediately ordered it and picked up the console in the store. It took a few weeks for the Site to Store shipment to come in, but sooooo worth the wait! It does take some pounding to get the pieces to line up properly, but I love the look of this desk. you can put it anywhere in the room because it looks great from all sides! No cardboard back! The cords tuck in nicely so that they are concealed inside and don't hang out all messy. Now to figure out what to do with all the paper clutter that used to hide in my old desk!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NakMama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
poor quality
10/21/2010

Customer review by shoffman

1.0 stars 10/21/2010 by shoffman
by shoffman

This was the biggest disappointment of all three pieces. The finish is so poorly applied it looks like a child did it. And it scratches so easily, it's already covered with scuffs and scratches after only two weeks in my office. I've decided to have a piece of class cut to cover the top surface to prevent any further marks. The construction was also poor and required several pieces to be trimmed or reworked in order to make all the pieces fit together properly. Generally just poor design and even poorer quality of manufacturing. Would not recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shoffman
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Looks great, but may not be worth the price
1/12/2011

Customer review by SavingYoung

3.0 stars 1/12/2011 by SavingYoung
by SavingYoung

I was initially very excited to receive this product, but it fell short of my expectations. I had read such rave reviews of how high quality it was & how expensive it looked. While it does look like an expensive, high quality piece one it is put together I really don't know if it was worth the price paid. First, this is from Sauder. Had I know that I would have greatly reconsider the purchase. Second, while i didn't need any tools to put it together, it didn't assemble quite as easily as I expected. Several of the pieces I had to literally bang together with a mallot for several minutes to get flush like the directions stated. Third, this item chips likes there is no tomorrow. While assembling it my nail chipped the veneer. When trying to put the drawers in it became chipped. And when putting the CPU in it chipped yet again. Finally, the space for the CPU isn't adequate & I have to have mine sitting on the floor next the desk. While the space allotted is long, the hole for the cables is in the bottom of the space. So after I finally ran all the cables, etc, & pushed the CPU into the cabinet I couldn't close the doors b/c there wasn't enough room for the cables to stick out from the unit & then run down towards the hole in the bottom. This was VERY frustrating. While I did like the piece enough to not return it (partially because I had waited to so for it & I am pregnant & didn't want to have to search for another desk) I don't think I would recommend this unless they lowered the price. Had I paid $200 to $250 max I would happy with the purchase; however, at $350 (the cost when I purchased) it was not worth it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SavingYoung
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value
8/15/2011

Customer review by gpjf1

5.0 stars 8/15/2011 by gpjf1
by gpjf1

This is a great desk, looks good and easy to assemble. Get a desk pad for top because wood used is soft and little dents and dings will show up

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gpjf1
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Beautiful Desk
8/3/2011

Customer review by memynana

5.0 stars 8/3/2011 by memynana
by memynana

I just got the desk today and my husband and I put it together. It does take two...but...that is not a problem. The product instructions were super! No other tools needed except a hammer and the wood block which was included. My husband was totally impressed. The only thing wrong was the center desk drop down drawer. When I clicked it to drop down the front of the drawer....one of the hinges was completely pulled out of the pull down front. That was disturbing....however, my husband is handy so...we got longer screws and made the hole deeper with a hand drill...and put in the newer screws. Guaranteed...not to come apart. We are very happy with the desk!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
memynana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT QUALITY
5/13/2011

Customer review by parkersmomma

5.0 stars 5/13/2011 by parkersmomma
by parkersmomma

Canopy brand is AMAZING! solid wood all the way around - no cardboard back to be nailed on! Painted & clear coated - not just "sticker wood". Very solid & will stand the test of time... LOVE IT!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
parkersmomma
St.Cloud, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beautiful Desk
1/13/2011

Customer review by AquariusBabe

5.0 stars 1/13/2011 by AquariusBabe
by AquariusBabe

I love this desk! It was literally love at first sight. I was looking for a substantial desk with enough work space but not too big for a small room. I especially like the width of it. We did have a little difficulty putting one of the sides together BUT I totally blame it on my "instruction challenged" boyfriend.:) I looks like a million bucks.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AquariusBabe
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Desk for the Price
8/1/2011

Customer review by txrandomchase

5.0 stars 8/1/2011 by txrandomchase
by txrandomchase

This desk was by far the easiest thing to assemble. It looks great and everything lined up straight and fit together well. They are quality materitals for the good price. I would recomment!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
txrandomchase
houston, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/16/2011

Customer review by Tracyyoyo

5.0 stars 9/16/2011 by Tracyyoyo
by Tracyyoyo

I purchased this desk 3 months ago waiting for renovations before assemblying and dreading a ton of pieces and taking all day. Myself and my son put together in 45 mins, easiest piece of furniture ive ever put together. The quality of the wood and craftmanship is outstanding. You would never think this came in a box from walmart. We are purchasing the matching pieces

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tracyyoyo
vernon ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Office Collection
6/29/2011

Customer review by Tocco

5.0 stars 6/29/2011 by Tocco
by Tocco

My husband and I needed office furniture that was modern, but not expensive, and durable..since we are a military family and move often. We have other furniture from Canopy so decided to get the office collection, because of the high quality and great appearance the other furniture is. It is great for any room (big or small) and the collection really make our office complete. The desk only took about 45min to put together; the bookshelf 20 min, and the filing cabinet about 1hour (for some reason the filing cabinet was more difficult)...and I was able to do it by myself. Although we bought the office furniture knowing that our PC probably wouldn't fit in the provided space (it is a gaming PC, so it is bigger than normal), I was able to use the provided space for additional storage. I would recommend this collection to anyone wanting high quality office furniture for an affordable price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tocco
Fort Hood, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beautiful Desk...Much better than expected!
6/2/2011

Customer review by SGareri

5.0 stars 6/2/2011 by SGareri
by SGareri

I had been looking for a desk for my home office for quite some time. After looking online and in stores for months I finally broke down and purchased this desk and I'm so glad I did. I couldn't be happier with this decision! Solid wood construction, quality hardware, and after seeing the junk in stores, the price was extremely reasonable. FYI: It is quite heavy and you do need a second person to help put it together, but in an hour and a half, it was complete. My only complaint is that the back was longer to hide the cords. I'm so pleased that I'm looking to purchase more items from Canopy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SGareri
Hudson, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love the design
2/16/2013

Customer review by luv2walmartshop

5.0 stars 2/16/2013 by luv2walmartshop
by luv2walmartshop

We bought this desk two years ago and it was an excellent purchase. I was looking for a desk that we would eventually use for the kids' study area and would house a computer for them, so wasn't looking to spend a bunch, knowing it would probably get dinged/scratched a little. I have been so impressed with this desk while I have been working from home, now I don't know if I want to give it up! We have a laptop, which works great just setting on the top. I love that since this is 60" wide x 24" deep, there is still LOTS of workspace to spread out all my work stuff. At first I didn't know what I would use the right side door for #intended for a CPU tower#, but we have found the shredder fits perfectly in there. I use the top flip-down drawer for supplies, as well as the smaller top left side drawer. The file drawer holds files nicely, and there is plenty of clearance for the tabs on the hanging file folders. What the decription DOESN'T say is that there is also a small little supply drawer within/behind the door section. This little bonus drawer holds a ream a copy paper perfectly! Assembly went smooth, packaging was appropriate, no defects/scratches/etc., drawers slide smoothly. We also purchased the two-drawer file cabinet and 4-shelf bookcase for an office "suite." Seriously, do the kids HAVE to do their homework at a desk??? TBD....

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luv2walmartshop
St. Louis Metro, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value
1/10/2011

Customer review by ericneedsadesk

4.0 stars 1/10/2011 by ericneedsadesk
by ericneedsadesk

The desk looks great and has a nice surface, drawers, keyboard tray and computer storage. It wasn't too hard to put it together, but I did have to request a number of new pieces because some were damaged (e.g., warped, poorly cut, other oddities) when delivered. Customer service was very good about providing the new pieces. The matching shelves and file cabinet are good as well. I think its a great value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ericneedsadesk
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/15/2011

Customer review by student83

1.0 stars 6/15/2011 by student83
by student83

I bought the three piece set and I am very disappointed. The book case had a big (12 inches long)chip in the veneer, I purchased my own paint marker (the one that it came with is junk). The pencil drawer (small drawer inside CPU cabinet) is just barely hanging on. When my husband nailed the sides together the wood pieces broke off so the drawer is being held together by threads of wood. I can not slide the drawer in and out or it would fall apart so I can not use the drawer. The file cabinet had chips in it everywhere (again I used MY paint marker). I am afraid to really use the desk because it will chip, the desk is pretty much just a decoration now (one that cost too much). I will say after I used MY paint marker the chips covered nicely and the set looks nice but I do not use it. I am so disappointed the set looks so nice and was not cheap. I have purschased other canopy products and been pleased so I was not expecting this to be "junk".

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
student83
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Missing Items!!!
1/6/2011

Customer review by EddieUtica

1.0 stars 1/6/2011 by EddieUtica
by EddieUtica

Do your research before you buy this product. I opened the package and everything was in the box except the most important pieces, the HARDWARE!! I'm writing this negative review because Walmart does not stock this item in the store and now I have to contact Sauder to have them send me the hardware, which I'm sure I'll be waiting another week for.

Was this review helpful? (0) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EddieUtica
Utica, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Just Perfect!
9/17/2010

Customer review by lmh92

5.0 stars 9/17/2010 by lmh92
by lmh92

The desk was the only thing I needed since our home improvements last year with our brand new great room. I really didn't want to spend alot of money so I waited and kept checking furniture places and nothing caught my eye. I figured let me check Walmart, I shop in the store weekly and saw their furniture looked pretty good, so I went online and fell in love with it, it actually matches my entertainment center purchased at Bob's which I also love. Now my great room is complete and people think I spent a fortune on all my furniture!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lmh92
Selden, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/11/2011

Customer review by Paramedic150

5.0 stars 10/11/2011 by Paramedic150
by Paramedic150

Very pleased with the desk, solid wood, easy to assemble.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Paramedic150
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value
5/20/2011

Customer review by dansoffice

5.0 stars 5/20/2011 by dansoffice
by dansoffice

I spent a lot of time looking at furniture for my office at all of the fancy furniture stores. I have a small company, not a lot of money to spend, and decided to look at this line from WalMart. I have to be honest, I was wary but this furniture is great. It was easy to assemble and looks great in my office. I'm completely satisfied with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dansoffice
New Lenox, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love our desk
2/1/2011

Customer review by KYpennypincher

5.0 stars 2/1/2011 by KYpennypincher
by KYpennypincher

I waited for over six months for this to come back in stock. I bought is as a bundled package. I am so thankful I waited. This office furniture is beautiful and very well constructed. I love the Canopy band so much I am thinking about buying a small dining room table with the same finish. The only issue is the file cabinet drawer will not close if you have files with tabs on them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KYpennypincher
Vine Grove, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 80 total reviews
1-20 of 80 reviews