Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 107 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

107 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

107 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
64
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
17
1-20 of 92 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 92 total reviews
1-20 of 92 reviews
When you need to go old school
11/6/2014

Customer review by barbinaustin

5.0 stars 11/6/2014 by barbinaustin
by barbinaustin

There are times when you need to type stuff that isn't in an electronic format. Labels can and (have gotten) stuck in printers. I just wanted a typewriter that would allow me to do those random things. I really like this typewriter. It is whisper quiet when you have it on. (Although I will admit I miss the classic HUMMMMMM when you switched an electric typewriter on). Mind you typing is almost as loud as it used to be. It has programmable things on it that I will play with at another time. I like that there is a handle on the bottom although it is dorky looking carrying it around that way. First day of use the correction tape fell off. It took me a bit to get it back on. Yes, there is an instruction manual but the images are rather small. I found myself going back in time to the days of changing the ribbons on an IBM selectric. It wasn't quite as complex but it wasn't super easy peasy either. I survived, it started doing the correction properly.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
barbinaustin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
works fine
5/22/2016

Customer review by rabbit

4.0 stars 5/22/2016 by rabbit
by rabbit
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It works fine. The only disappointment I have and should have noticed before purchasing this item is that there is only a knob on the left of the roller to feed the paper.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rabbit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Real Time Saver
9/23/2010

Customer review by Jolietgene1

5.0 stars 9/23/2010 by Jolietgene1
by Jolietgene1

I am turning 62 in 2 months and recently retired... I got this typewriter to help me make out my Social Security forms, and my insurance forms, and all kinds of forms that go along with retirement, and there are a lot of them. My writing has deteriorated from not so good to terrible... I needed help in a big way... This typewriter was the answer... A true bargain and it works like a Pro... I highly recommend it...

Was this review helpful? (154) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jolietgene1
Northern Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Brother Typewriter
6/1/2016

Customer review by Mike

4.0 stars 6/1/2016 by Mike
by Mike
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The old IBM typewriter I had for years died, so I needed another typewriter. Bought a Brother portable. Used it last week to type a few letters. it worked fine. Tries to type an envelope last night, COULD not read the address on the envelope Had to hand write it. I also hope to use it to type labels, I need to type every month. If it does not work on labels, I wasted my money. Seems like all the parts are plastic.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Brother typewriter
10/21/2010

Customer review by Spruce1

5.0 stars 10/21/2010 by Spruce1
by Spruce1

Great buy! It is very light weight, easy to move around the office for use by multiple users. Very easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (85) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spruce1
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great typewriter for home use!
7/3/2011

Customer review by marilyn3830

5.0 stars 7/3/2011 by marilyn3830
by marilyn3830

The auto correct features are awesome on this typewriter.

Was this review helpful? (53) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
marilyn3830
Maricopa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Product
1/11/2010

Customer review by SWStyleGal

4.0 stars 1/11/2010 by SWStyleGal
by SWStyleGal

For those still looking for a traditional typewriter, this item is a good choice.

Was this review helpful? (91) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SWStyleGal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product, fast shipping.
7/24/2014

Customer review by Ervmeister

5.0 stars 7/24/2014 by Ervmeister
by Ervmeister
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this typewriter for my Mom, since she's old school and does not use a computer. She loves it, there's a lot of different things you can do on it. Would definitely recommend for someone that does not wish to use a computer.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ervmeister
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
wonderful typewriter
7/7/2014

Customer review by TahoeWoman

5.0 stars 7/7/2014 by TahoeWoman
by TahoeWoman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This item is very useful in filling out medical forms. I enjoy the correction function, I just have to get the margin settings done and it will be perfect for me.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TahoeWoman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for the job!
2/14/2011

Customer review by elemgee

4.0 stars 2/14/2011 by elemgee
by elemgee

We've had this for a couple of weeks and seems to be a good typewriter. We don't use it alot, just for individual labels and an occasional envelope. The other Brother we had quit after 12+ years and we replaced it with this Brother. Very lightweight and being it's an almost exact replica of the old one, is easy to figure out how to use (with the Code keys, for example). Keys feel very "loose" and wiggle easily, so I almost expected them to fall off! (Also why I gave it only 4 stars) For the value and what we use it for though, it's perfect.

Was this review helpful? (43) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
elemgee
Conroe, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
cheaply made, with few features
11/15/2013

Customer review by BigJim41

3.0 stars 11/15/2013 by BigJim41
by BigJim41

This typewriter is really very basic and is okay for my needs, which are typing envelopes and quick notes. The correcting and whiteout keys are in odd places. All in all, it's just a little less than I expected and a fair value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigJim41
Jackson, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
An excellent typewriter
8/23/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/23/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

this was the easiest and most simple transaction I've ever done online. The typewriter was just what I wanted. Other stores did not carry typewriters anymore. I was so thrilled to find this one. Even though computers are the norm now, I need the typewriter for some forms I could not download on the computer. It arrived in 4 short days and I was done with my job in no time. thanks Wal-mart for being there when I needed you and no one else could help me.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Glendale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
4/10/2012

Customer review by BSST

5.0 stars 4/10/2012 by BSST
by BSST

This was the perfect typewriter to fill out simple forms and type envelopes.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BSST
Winnsboro, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it!
8/30/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/30/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

It was bought for me in my angsty teen years and I would spend hours tip tapping the keys writing poetry. :P Years later (7 years to be exact), and it still works, just needed more ink which was cheap. :)

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Excellent product!!!
11/4/2013

Customer review by Lisa52

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by Lisa52
by Lisa52
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This typewirter is very useful in my business when completing forms that are not condusive for form completion via a computer. In many instances, Typewriters are the only item that can be used.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lisa52
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A lemon
10/23/2012

Customer review by Youngsdale

1.0 stars 10/23/2012 by Youngsdale
by Youngsdale

I had used a Brother GX-6750 Portable Electronic Typewriter for many years. It worked very well. Eventually it is down on me. I think it is a better idea to buy a new one than to have it repaired. Because I had good experience with this typewriter, I bought another one. But this time I got a lemon. The roller can not grip paper. The paper won't feed in when I turn the roller. After I compared with the broken one I had, I found one of the parts which grip the paper is missing. I have to return the product. I like the typewriter, unfortunately I got a lemon this time.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Youngsdale
LA,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good deal
6/6/2016

Customer review by jose

1.0 stars 6/6/2016 by jose
by jose
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

work pretty good

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jose
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
9/8/2011

Customer review by lollieletty

5.0 stars 9/8/2011 by lollieletty
by lollieletty

The use of the typewriter has become outdated for most but for those who need to resort to the antiquated version of word processing, and the desire to complete projects with the benefit of todays typesetting advantage, this is the best thing available. My 6 year old asked... What is that thing anyway? Lol...

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lollieletty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Brother Typewriter
12/5/2015

Customer review by Terry

1.0 stars 12/5/2015 by Terry
by Terry

It is apparently a good machine but, not for me. I was typing faster than the typewriter and it could not keep up, resulting in many errors. It is a good typewriter for those who are learning or just need it for very simple things. I was very disappointed. Will continue my search for a faster, more professional typewriter

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Terry
Would recommend to a friend? No
9/27/2012

Customer review by 71old

5.0 stars 9/27/2012 by 71old
by 71old

Even tho you don't need a typewrighter very often, this one works very well.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
71old
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 92 total reviews
1-20 of 92 reviews