Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 116 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

116 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

5 stars
42
4 stars
22
3 stars
11
2 stars
8
1 stars
33
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 105 total reviews
Horrible, the included software is useless.
1/16/2011

Customer review by GoodSol

2.0 stars by GoodSol

The installation is fairly straightforward but the included recording software is faulty. The software can't record more than approximately five minutes of video before it stutters and skips. An alternative is using Windows XP Movie Maker which supports video capture from external devices. Install just the driver software but skip the One Touch Grapper and VHS to DVD installer programs and use Movie Maker instead and you'll record hours of uninterrupted error free video.

Was this review helpful? (79) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GoodSol
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Top 50 contributor
This thing is AWESOME!!!
12/20/2009

Customer review by akgrl71

5.0 stars by akgrl71

I bought this so i could put my wedding tapes onto a dvd and i found that it does that and more. I was able to get pictures off my vhs wedding tapes along with able to edit out the parts i didnt want. This thing is awsome and Im telling all of my friends to go buy one.

Was this review helpful? (30) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
akgrl71
Alaska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
USB Video Capture Device
5/13/2010

Customer review by kgandalf

4.0 stars by kgandalf

As advertised. Installed on Windows Vista without a hitch. Capture button on the device itself is very useful. 640x480 size is especially nice. I upgraded from a 320x240 device.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kgandalf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Would recommend with reservations
8/29/2013

Customer review by Carlosh11934

3.0 stars by Carlosh11934

The video capture portion of this product works exactly as expected with very good results. What doesn't work is the "Dyyno Broadcaster." The instructions indicate that you have to go to a certain website to register your product or it won't work. When you attempt to go that site, it times out with "Page not found." I googled the internet and found that Dyyno went under. I'm not sure what this part of the software is supposed to do, but you can't use it. As for the instructions, they are horrible. There are obvious misspelling and steps that buried inside of other steps, where they should have been given their own line. It is obvious that nobody checked the documentation before releasing the software. The actual steps are horrible too. They don't match what I'm seeing on the screen and several times I had to guess what the next step might really be. Somebody needs to do their job!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Carlosh11934
North Padre Island, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great capture device.
3/5/2014

Customer review by VHSGuru

5.0 stars by VHSGuru

I am using the unit to burn dvd's off my large collection of VHS tapes. I recently purchased the VC500 to replace a Roxio unit. The roxio unit gave me troubles from the beginning and I never received any satisfaction from the support group. I checked into reviews on the VC500, and so purchased it. I have been using it now for a coupla weeks and found it to be very satisfactory, with good renditions of picture and sound. I can't say too much for the program itself, but I am using another burning program so no problem.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
VHSGuru
Topeka Ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/14/2010

Customer review by Bixley

4.0 stars by Bixley

Worked well. Software not right for Vista. Some confusion when installing. But worked ok when done.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Bixley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Horrible, do NOT buy if you have windows 7.
12/3/2011

Customer review by Windows7User135

1.0 stars by Windows7User135

When I first got this product, I was really excited. The software downloaded and seems to work fine. But when I actually went to record, (after fixing compatibility issues) there were green lines all over the recording, and the sound came in as nothing but static. Trust me, you dont want this. I ignored the bad reviews and figured the people who wrote them just didnt know what they were doing, but I was wrong.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Windows7User135
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best Data VC500
4/15/2010

Customer review by jamessan43

5.0 stars by jamessan43

Most inexpensive device I found. Very easy install in Windows XP. Worked correctly right off the bat. No problems, so far.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jamessan43
Bryan, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Works
4/11/2014

Customer review by roundspider

5.0 stars by roundspider

I almost didn't buy the adapter due to some of the reviews, but I am glad I did! I used it to capture video from a Sony Digital 8 Cam. I am using Windows 8.1 and using CyberLink PowerDirect to capture and edit my old videos. I only installed the driver for the Diamond Multimedia and that's it. I did not even bother installing the provided software. I am very very happy now that I am able to transfer and edit all my old videos to digital!

Was this review helpful? (14) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
roundspider
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great hardware, but the software had issues
2/2/2014

Customer review by SoulShaker

3.0 stars by SoulShaker

The video capture hardware and capture software worked as expected. However, there was basically no documentation to support the use of the device and software. But, it was pretty simple and required very little technical knowledge. The video editing software, on the other hand, did not work and kept locking up. I ended up downloading some free video conversion and editing software from cnet.com that worked just fine, after capturing the original image.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SoulShaker
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ignore the negative!
12/23/2012

Customer review by ttlove

5.0 stars by ttlove

I purchased this even though I read alot of bad responses. I actually purchased two. One from Kohl's which was more expensive and this one from Walmart. Just incase the reports were right about it not working. The VC500 works so much better than the more expensive one I purchased at Kohl's. It is very easy to use. Turn off your internet connection, sometimes it got in the way. Great product, great price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ttlove
Southern Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect solution for VHS to DVD
4/28/2014

Customer review by PFQV

5.0 stars by PFQV

I needed a low cost way to save some old VHS cassettes for a friend whose player broke. I did a lot of searching before I found this device and it works as advertised. I already have video editing software installed so all I really needed was the analog to digital conversion.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
PFQV
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A lifesaver
12/29/2010

Customer review by how2bsuperwoman

5.0 stars by how2bsuperwoman

My mother-in-law passed away this year. We wanted to preserve and copy home videos on DVD. I checked several local electronics stores and they all tried to sell me VHS/DVD players. I finally checked online and found this. It took a little time to figure everything out but once I did it worked like a charm! We made DVD's for the whole family and have peace of mind that those memories are preserved.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
how2bsuperwoman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
As advertised
11/25/2012

Customer review by marana1

4.0 stars by marana1

Software installed easily, video streamed perfectly, now just figuring out all the cool things you can do with it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
marana1
Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
As advertised
2/19/2011

Customer review by Dave525

5.0 stars by Dave525

Does great converting video/audio from VCR/analog camera to USB and digital video into a Win 7 machine!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Dave525
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
VHS to dvd
11/7/2013

Customer review by kaffy

5.0 stars by kaffy

This is great, so easy to use, and now all my VHS home movies are on disk, what a relief

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kaffy
Verona, va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tool for the beginner or professional
6/26/2014

Customer review by videoSam

5.0 stars by videoSam

I have a very expensive tape video camera I'm not about to part with and this device allows me to capture to any computer instantly, regardless of its video capabilities.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
videoSam
Rogers, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/24/2012

Customer review by Mamatomuch

5.0 stars by Mamatomuch

This product is wonderful, exactly what I wanted. I had taken back the one from Radio shack that didn't work hardly at all. This does exactly what I wanted, it even saves to my computer the way I wanted, its perfect. I'm so excited, I was worried the 17 years of home video's on 8mm, were lost forever. this is a great product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Mamatomuch
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A good product
3/23/2011

Customer review by SpringtimeLover

4.0 stars by SpringtimeLover

This product is very good at transferring your home movies to the computer to be edited then put on DVDs. However, the video loses some of its quality while being transferred. Also the software that is included with the product does not have a good way for it to be split into scenes. It also freezes a lot and will close down but it saves the work you already did.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SpringtimeLover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
10/26/2012

Customer review by Badret

1.0 stars by Badret

After installing many times to get computers to see the device it worked poor on old windows xp computer and would not work at all on my windows 7 computer

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Badret
SLC UT.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 105 total reviews