Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 38 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

38 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

38 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 35 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
Worked better than I thought
6/12/2014

Customer review by CRedrick

5.0 stars 6/12/2014 by CRedrick
by CRedrick
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After I installed the drivers first, then plugged in the device it worked without a hitch. Never had anything like work this well. No configuration was needed. Love it love it....!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CRedrick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
You pay for what you get!
5/18/2014

Customer review by TruReview78

1.0 stars 5/18/2014 by TruReview78
by TruReview78
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

So I purchased this adapter to run a 3rd monitor off of my laptop for work. Pros: Easy set up - Cord is long enough for positioning the monitor where you want it - price Cons: The monitor that is hooked to this adapter does not function very well. The screen is choppy at times, there is a very noticeable lag. Wait time for tech support was about 1 1/2 hours When I drag a window to the monitor that is run by this adapter, there is not only lag but you can see the choppiness of the page. It does not look very good at all, almost like looking at an older television from the late 70's. When I contacted their tech support ( after the looooooong wait ) they directed me to download the "new" driver. This fixed absolutely nothing. I searched for answers to why it was this way and the truth is you get what you pay for. If you're looking to add another monitor with an adapter I recommend you spend about 20 bucks more and get a better one. I would not purchase this product again and I would not recommend anyone purchase this, just not worth it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TruReview78
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Be Warned: Specifications are WRONG!
6/8/2011

Customer review by wally04

1.0 stars 6/8/2011 by wally04
by wally04

The USB2VGAE2 will NOT work for a Dell Duo running Windows 7, despite both Walmart and the Manufacturer listing 7 as an appropriate OS. I am NOT running Aero. My video processing is reduced to the absolute minimum, and the USB2VGAE2 install-disk makes my computer UNSTARTABLE. With or Without the disk still online. Note Dell (who also sells the USB2VGAE2) does NOT list Windows 7 in THEIR USB2VGAE2 spec-sheet (although Walmart and Startech do) Nor does the paper booklet that accompanied the USB2VGAE2 I purchased through Walmart mention W7. It doesn't work with W7.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wally04
Seattle Wa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works great!!
4/24/2010

Customer review by TechJunkyExtrodinare

5.0 stars 4/24/2010 by TechJunkyExtrodinare
by TechJunkyExtrodinare

I just got it and it's already at work. All you need is a second monitor, put in the cd, restart your computer, and WAMMO it's right there! This is a nice cheaper alternative to the main one on the site ($10 difference makes the most of this). Considering I'm using vista, the most incompatible with anything, I'm glad I had no trouble. Notice: Will only work if you have a USB 2.0 port, this isn't for someone with an ANCIENT computer. However I have a nice flat screen and a right out of the 90's big honkin' CRT monitor (weighs more than a TV I must say) works fine. Happy with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TechJunkyExtrodinare
Corpus Christi, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Works great
12/5/2015

Customer review by Russ

4.0 stars 12/5/2015 by Russ
by Russ

Works with Windows 10, used it to hook up a Visio tv as a second monitor

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Russ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good product/idea
3/10/2012

Customer review by MisterU

4.0 stars 3/10/2012 by MisterU
by MisterU

Pros: - no need to open the cpu; which is a very big plus if you don't know what graphic card your motherboard can take; - Small; - USB. Cons: - installation CD needed to get it to work; so don't misplace or toss it; - it changes the 2nd monitor number from time to time: it means that, after the first time you drag the window* to the 2nd monitor it will remember it the next times so you don't need to drag it again when you double click on the 1st monitor the program's icon that you need to work with; but if the monitor number changes after a power down or a log-off then you will have to drag the window again because it will not open on the 2nd monitor when you double click the program or file; which is not a big deal. * rem that in order to be able to drag the window over it should not be maximized; maximized windows will not move to the 2nd monitor.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MisterU
WPB, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works
9/14/2010

Customer review by namelessperson

5.0 stars 9/14/2010 by namelessperson
by namelessperson

Does the job for Windows XP. I tried it on Windows 7 and could not get it to work - I'm ok with that, I'll just use on my XP box where it works great.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
namelessperson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
7/19/2010

Customer review by HarvardMan

4.0 stars 7/19/2010 by HarvardMan
by HarvardMan

It's a good little gadget, and it does what its supposed to do. There are some drawbacks - since you're not using a dual monitor internal card, there is significant lag time when you use media-rich content such as video or flash. However for word processing or excel spreadsheet usage, there's no problem whatsoever. For the money and ease of use, it's well worth the price. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HarvardMan
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works Great
5/26/2012

Customer review by KXavier

5.0 stars 5/26/2012 by KXavier
by KXavier

Works great for what I needed. I just wanted something to extend my desktop so I could multitask easier, view multiple documents & websites, etc. The disc that comes with the adapter doesn’t work with Windows 7, but there are instructions in the box on how to download the latest drivers from www.startech.com. My recommendation is don’t even use the disc. Just download the newest driver from the site before you plug in the adapter. Not even sure why they include the disc in the box.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KXavier
Middletown, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Gets the job done.
10/18/2011

Customer review by LeO11

5.0 stars 10/18/2011 by LeO11
by LeO11

The product works great! It was my first time setting up dual monitors, so I called Star tech's technical support. The service provided for installing and setting up my displays was excellent. Great product. Great support. Excellent price. I'm really happy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeO11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works Just fine!
12/25/2010

Customer review by FlyoverCountry

5.0 stars 12/25/2010 by FlyoverCountry
by FlyoverCountry

This thing worked great so I could project a power point on a screen and still se the "Presenter's View" on my laptop. The only issue I may have is upon shutdown of my laptop, I now get an error. Don't know if the "drivers" caused this or not.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FlyoverCountry
Central Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great for easy 2nd monitor
9/8/2012

Customer review by fulghumm

4.0 stars 9/8/2012 by fulghumm
by fulghumm

Super easy to use with a PC with no second VGA plug for a second moniotr. At first it powered off when my PC went to sleep fo some reason, but after simply unplggin/repluggin the USB it was fine!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fulghumm
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product & Customer Service Great !
7/20/2012

Customer review by rjpate

5.0 stars 7/20/2012 by rjpate
by rjpate

Very easy instructions and installation. Works great for the Dual Screen function. Called customer service to ask one question. They were friendly & helpful

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rjpate
Festus MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I like it
2/11/2011

Customer review by ProfM

5.0 stars 2/11/2011 by ProfM
by ProfM

It was easy to install. It freed up my PCI-E slot for other use. It provided ample resolution 1680 x 1050 and speed (I am not a gamer.) It provides the possibility of easily transferring a monitor from one computer to another as the need arises. Cons. It does not allow the old 640 x 480 setting for those who have vision problems. It works with XP. I don't know about other OS's.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProfM
Oxford, MS.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
screen flickers, horrible graphics
5/6/2015

Customer review by milfl

1.0 stars 5/6/2015 by milfl
by milfl

Graphics are very poor, screen flickers, bad investment

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
milfl
Would recommend to a friend? No
very good
5/9/2015

Customer review by mouk

5.0 stars 5/9/2015 by mouk
by mouk

Works as it should

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mouk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fair for the price
12/3/2011

Customer review by seawind30

3.0 stars 12/3/2011 by seawind30
by seawind30

Easy installation but because it is hooked up to the USB ports you cannot utilize your monitor's full resolution. So I have two 27" monitors connected to the computer that are at high resolution and the other two 27" monitors hooked up thru the USB ports using these adapters are at their highest resolution available which is about 1/4" inch difference in my charts alignment. This is the only drawback, you cannot get the highest resolution available on your monitor using this adapter.

seawind30
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Create Multi-Monitor Displays with Ease
9/30/2011

Customer review by RachOsunshine

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by RachOsunshine
by RachOsunshine

After a lot of research, I was hesitant to pay the price for this USB device in order to hook up my two, VGA input flat screen monitors for dual display. Boy, am I glad I did. The USB ensures that, like having another graphics card, that new monitors can be used for EXTENDING your desktop space, not just mirroring content. This was incredibly easy to setup and is simple to use. I haven't had a single issue, other than the occasional lag time when I am running several programs. I HIGHLY recommend to anyone looking to increase efficiency and upgrade to a second (or third!) monitor.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RachOsunshine
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
StarTech.com USB to VGA Multi Monitor External Adp
10/24/2012

Customer review by SassyPants

5.0 stars 10/24/2012 by SassyPants
by SassyPants

I just bought new laptop from Dell and did not realize that I would need an adapter for my external monitor until I got the laptop and called myself connecting the monitor to the laptop so I could get everything setup. After doing some leg work and ordering an incorrect adapter, I called customer service and they got me in the right direction. I did have one incident where I loss use my of external monitor but that issue was quickly resolved. It has been smooth sailing. I love it!!!

SassyPants
Texas Girl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's Okay But I Would not Recommend This Product
1/11/2013

Customer review by monitordude

2.0 stars 1/11/2013 by monitordude
by monitordude

I just received this today and it's all right but I wish I would have spent the extra money and got the better one. I opened it and did as the directions say (which is very simple), it does do what it is advertised to do but it is slow on the other monitor. When you are working on the other monitor it lags and sometimes is unresponsive. I don't think this thing has enough power to run a monitor through usb. If I were to do it again I would highly recommend spending the extra money for a bit more expensive one or for one that uses HDMI.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
monitordude
Zanesville, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews