Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

35 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

35 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
23
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 32 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews
Works great!!
4/24/2010

Customer review by TechJunkyExtrodinare

5.0 stars 4/24/2010 by TechJunkyExtrodinare
by TechJunkyExtrodinare

I just got it and it's already at work. All you need is a second monitor, put in the cd, restart your computer, and WAMMO it's right there! This is a nice cheaper alternative to the main one on the site ($10 difference makes the most of this). Considering I'm using vista, the most incompatible with anything, I'm glad I had no trouble. Notice: Will only work if you have a USB 2.0 port, this isn't for someone with an ANCIENT computer. However I have a nice flat screen and a right out of the 90's big honkin' CRT monitor (weighs more than a TV I must say) works fine. Happy with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TechJunkyExtrodinare
Corpus Christi, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Be Warned: Specifications are WRONG!
6/8/2011

Customer review by wally04

1.0 stars 6/8/2011 by wally04
by wally04

The USB2VGAE2 will NOT work for a Dell Duo running Windows 7, despite both Walmart and the Manufacturer listing 7 as an appropriate OS. I am NOT running Aero. My video processing is reduced to the absolute minimum, and the USB2VGAE2 install-disk makes my computer UNSTARTABLE. With or Without the disk still online. Note Dell (who also sells the USB2VGAE2) does NOT list Windows 7 in THEIR USB2VGAE2 spec-sheet (although Walmart and Startech do) Nor does the paper booklet that accompanied the USB2VGAE2 I purchased through Walmart mention W7. It doesn't work with W7.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wally04
Seattle Wa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/19/2010

Customer review by HarvardMan

4.0 stars 7/19/2010 by HarvardMan
by HarvardMan

It's a good little gadget, and it does what its supposed to do. There are some drawbacks - since you're not using a dual monitor internal card, there is significant lag time when you use media-rich content such as video or flash. However for word processing or excel spreadsheet usage, there's no problem whatsoever. For the money and ease of use, it's well worth the price. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HarvardMan
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works
9/14/2010

Customer review by namelessperson

5.0 stars 9/14/2010 by namelessperson
by namelessperson

Does the job for Windows XP. I tried it on Windows 7 and could not get it to work - I'm ok with that, I'll just use on my XP box where it works great.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
namelessperson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
good product/idea
3/10/2012

Customer review by MisterU

4.0 stars 3/10/2012 by MisterU
by MisterU

Pros: - no need to open the cpu; which is a very big plus if you don't know what graphic card your motherboard can take; - Small; - USB. Cons: - installation CD needed to get it to work; so don't misplace or toss it; - it changes the 2nd monitor number from time to time: it means that, after the first time you drag the window* to the 2nd monitor it will remember it the next times so you don't need to drag it again when you double click on the 1st monitor the program's icon that you need to work with; but if the monitor number changes after a power down or a log-off then you will have to drag the window again because it will not open on the 2nd monitor when you double click the program or file; which is not a big deal. * rem that in order to be able to drag the window over it should not be maximized; maximized windows will not move to the 2nd monitor.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MisterU
WPB, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works Just fine!
12/25/2010

Customer review by FlyoverCountry

5.0 stars 12/25/2010 by FlyoverCountry
by FlyoverCountry

This thing worked great so I could project a power point on a screen and still se the "Presenter's View" on my laptop. The only issue I may have is upon shutdown of my laptop, I now get an error. Don't know if the "drivers" caused this or not.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FlyoverCountry
Central Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Works Great
5/26/2012

Customer review by KXavier

5.0 stars 5/26/2012 by KXavier
by KXavier

Works great for what I needed. I just wanted something to extend my desktop so I could multitask easier, view multiple documents & websites, etc. The disc that comes with the adapter doesn’t work with Windows 7, but there are instructions in the box on how to download the latest drivers from www.startech.com. My recommendation is don’t even use the disc. Just download the newest driver from the site before you plug in the adapter. Not even sure why they include the disc in the box.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KXavier
Middletown, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Gets the job done.
10/18/2011

Customer review by LeO11

5.0 stars 10/18/2011 by LeO11
by LeO11

The product works great! It was my first time setting up dual monitors, so I called Star tech's technical support. The service provided for installing and setting up my displays was excellent. Great product. Great support. Excellent price. I'm really happy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LeO11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product & Customer Service Great !
7/20/2012

Customer review by rjpate

5.0 stars 7/20/2012 by rjpate
by rjpate

Very easy instructions and installation. Works great for the Dual Screen function. Called customer service to ask one question. They were friendly & helpful

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rjpate
Festus MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for easy 2nd monitor
9/8/2012

Customer review by fulghumm

4.0 stars 9/8/2012 by fulghumm
by fulghumm

Super easy to use with a PC with no second VGA plug for a second moniotr. At first it powered off when my PC went to sleep fo some reason, but after simply unplggin/repluggin the USB it was fine!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fulghumm
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You pay for what you get!
5/18/2014

Customer review by TruReview78

1.0 stars 5/18/2014 by TruReview78
by TruReview78

So I purchased this adapter to run a 3rd monitor off of my laptop for work. Pros: Easy set up - Cord is long enough for positioning the monitor where you want it - price Cons: The monitor that is hooked to this adapter does not function very well. The screen is choppy at times, there is a very noticeable lag. Wait time for tech support was about 1 1/2 hours When I drag a window to the monitor that is run by this adapter, there is not only lag but you can see the choppiness of the page. It does not look very good at all, almost like looking at an older television from the late 70's. When I contacted their tech support ( after the looooooong wait ) they directed me to download the "new" driver. This fixed absolutely nothing. I searched for answers to why it was this way and the truth is you get what you pay for. If you're looking to add another monitor with an adapter I recommend you spend about 20 bucks more and get a better one. I would not purchase this product again and I would not recommend anyone purchase this, just not worth it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TruReview78
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I like it
2/11/2011

Customer review by ProfM

5.0 stars 2/11/2011 by ProfM
by ProfM

It was easy to install. It freed up my PCI-E slot for other use. It provided ample resolution 1680 x 1050 and speed (I am not a gamer.) It provides the possibility of easily transferring a monitor from one computer to another as the need arises. Cons. It does not allow the old 640 x 480 setting for those who have vision problems. It works with XP. I don't know about other OS's.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ProfM
Oxford, MS.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
6/3/2010

Customer review by Tgaile

5.0 stars 6/3/2010 by Tgaile
by Tgaile

Price and performance outstanding. Keep up the good standards for your electronic equipment. Tgaile

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tgaile
Elmont, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
ok with Windows 8
8/25/2013

Customer review by lukeP

5.0 stars 8/25/2013 by lukeP
by lukeP

Works fine on Windows 8 but the need for loading drivers will prevent it from working with Windows 8 RT.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lukeP
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
adding a monitor made simple
8/8/2014

Customer review by laurab2808

5.0 stars 8/8/2014 by laurab2808
by laurab2808

Simple way to ad extra monitor without having to do an internal install

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
laurab2808
Greencastle, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic
1/15/2015

Customer review by Super1Ted

5.0 stars 1/15/2015 by Super1Ted
by Super1Ted

Worked perfectly, Just plug it in and away it went. Have been enjoying it ever since I got it Thanks

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Super1Ted
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Added 2nd monitor easily
5/4/2010

Customer review by DigitalNinja

5.0 stars 5/4/2010 by DigitalNinja
by DigitalNinja

Product easily installed on my windows XP machine. Had an extended desktop on a 2nd screen in a matter of minutes. Has greatly increased my productivity by avoiding clicking back and forth between multiple windows. Well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DigitalNinja
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
USB2VGAE2 USB VGA External Monitor Video Adapter
7/2/2013

Customer review by rtimmons

5.0 stars 7/2/2013 by rtimmons
by rtimmons

A great product and works great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rtimmons
Kernersville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/13/2013

Customer review by Musicnote1

5.0 stars 9/13/2013 by Musicnote1
by Musicnote1

Product was great and meet our expectation, we are now up and running on our new computer at church and can use our power-point on screen.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Musicnote1
Dayton ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for second monitor
9/22/2013

Customer review by MisterBarry

5.0 stars 9/22/2013 by MisterBarry
by MisterBarry

If you do not have the time, money of knowledge to replace your video card this is the next best way to go. It was easy to install and I am now using two monitors at work. Greatly increases my work.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MisterBarry
San Pedro, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews