Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 133 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

133 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

133 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
83
4 stars
35
3 stars
12
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 112 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 112 total reviews
1-20 of 112 reviews
Very pleased
3/3/2010

Customer review by ZeeBear

5.0 stars 3/3/2010 by ZeeBear
by ZeeBear

Love the desk. I agree with some of the previous post. It does take some time to put together but if you're comfortable with the "do-it-yourself" thing, its a piece of cake. I'm a girl and I did it :) ALTHOUGH, it did take me over 4 hours. Another buyer also mentioned the screws for the drawer handle, I agree there... they should be longer. It does look a lot more expensive than it actually is. LOVE LOVE love the drawers and having the ability to keep the clutter off my desk. Huge work space, I have a 22" monitor and a multifunction printer on top with PLENTY of room left. OH, only one con.. My tower is massive so I had to opt out on the door to the CPU unit BUT, it still looks great AND wish it was just a little more open for more ventilation. Had a few instances with my PC overheating.

Was this review helpful? (63) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ZeeBear
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great desk for the money
1/31/2010

Customer review by scrureview

4.0 stars 1/31/2010 by scrureview
by scrureview

Arrived quickly, easy to assemble but took 3 hours of effort. Looks like a more expensive piece than it is. Very functional for my kids as their work/Internet space.

Was this review helpful? (30) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scrureview
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice Desk
2/5/2010

Customer review by Shopper8580

4.0 stars 2/5/2010 by Shopper8580
by Shopper8580

Desk arrived on time and in perfect condition. Set up was long (2 boxes worth of parts) but otherwise the end result was a very nice desk. The only thing I did not like was that the screws for the handles to the drawers/cabinet were too short and a couple of them just would not tighten (it just kept turning and turning and turning). Easy problem to fix. I went to Home Depot with the screw and the guy there gave me the same size screw that was a bit longer and problem solved. Otherwise, it was a great desk for my apartment.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shopper8580
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very nice
2/18/2010

Customer review by 01222010

5.0 stars 2/18/2010 by 01222010
by 01222010

for the price the desk has many great features & looks really nice! When pushing in the screws be careful because the covering on the wood because it does tend to pull away. Love the color of the wood as well it's very similar to cherry!

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
01222010
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
A great desk with one flaw
1/20/2011

Customer review by OldGuy100

3.0 stars 1/20/2011 by OldGuy100
by OldGuy100

The desk is very well made, sturdy and functional. It would ba a 5 Star buy, except for one design flaw. The keyboard tray is too small and is 5 or 6 inches off-center, to the left. If you are seated in the center of the desk, with the keyboard centered in front of you, the only place for your mouse is on the left side. It doesn't bother me too much because I use a cordless mouse and just put it on top of the desk. If I didn't have that, I would be an unhappy camper.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldGuy100
Nashville
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Looking, Functional, a few Short Comings
12/29/2012

Customer review by jsgeare

5.0 stars 12/29/2012 by jsgeare
by jsgeare

Have just assembled this unit, which took about 4 days to reach me in Central Virginia from Florida via UPS Yellow Ground. It arrives in 2 flat boxes, one about 50 lbs, the other about 75 lbs. Drawers glide in and out nicely and mount evenly. Keyboard mounted on actual ball bearing sliders. Assembly time for a seasoned assembler - about 4 hrs. Recommendation: use a powered screwdriver or drill/driver because much time is taken screwing in the hardware. They DO include a little screwdriver. Instructions are clear and for the most part well illustrated, mine came in English and Spanish. The desk is made entirely of particle board with a sheet vinyl veneer that resembles a walnut finish and is embossed with the wood grain. Rather than attempt assembly where you want to locate the finished unit, use a kitchen counter top or similar as a workbench to produce the sub-assemblies first. Allow about 2-3 feet of working space for the cabs and drawers, and 4 feet for the desk top. In general, the instructions assume that you will be assembling the unit at the location where it will go. But don't do it that way, unless you have a tremendous amount of working space. Assemble the various sub units first - the 2 cabinets and their drawers and a door. Then assemble the top working surface, complete with keyboard shelf attached. You'll need only 2-3 feet of counter top for convenient assembly of the cabinets and drawers. At this height, you'll be able to approach the work easily. You'll need at least 4 feet to work on the main desk top; if this space is not available, use a couch. But the idea is to finish all the separate components, and THEN assemble them in the location where they will be used. This means you'll need to skip ahead in the instructions now and then. For example, attach the door to the CPU cabinet after you've assembled the cabinet itself - don't wait until you put everything together, at the end. Start with the smaller box which contains everything for the cabinets and drawers plus hardware for the entire unit and the instructions. All parts are numbered to match the instructions - the hardware in numbered plastic baggies. One issue is the drawer sliders which include the stationary track attached to the interior walls of the cabinets and the sliding piece attached to the sides of the drawers. Make SURE you carefully observe which part goes where, and how the part is oriented. For example, the rollers on the drawer slider should face the top of the drawer - but this means they will face DOWN and toward the back of the drawer when you attach them, because the drawer itself will be upside down during assembly (see panels 4 and 10 of instructions). Do NOT let your hardware become separated from the baggie that contains it, so that you can always fetch the correct screw of bolt. The unit is intolerant of misplaced hardware. One possibly confusing instruction is #14, page 9, which is DEAD WRONG when it says "to fix the part 8A to the CPU Left and Right Panels." In fact 8A is attached ONLY to the LEFT panel, EXACTLY as the illustration shows you. IGNORE the instruction to separate the hinges (part 8) into 8A and 8B UNTIL you have first placed the entire part 8 (hinge) against the left panel to determine how how 8A should be positioned; it is possible to install it backwards! This instruction also shows a view of the hinge (part 8) with parts A & B of it fully engaged, and also separated. But the close up view of the hinge parts is the reverse (right is left, left is right) of their actual placement. That is, 8A is attached to the inside cabinet wall; 8B goes into the cabinet door, later. This erroneous section may have been corrected in the unit you receive, but play it say - print this out and keep it handy, just in case. The only other caveat with respect to assembly is to make certain you pay close attention to hardware part E (6 X 40 MM bolt) and hardware part K (6 X 25 MM bolt). In a few cases, both are used in specific locations on the same panel of wood. Instruction #16 is a case in point. Areas of major stress get the longer bolt, so be sure to place them where they belong. Observe and follow the instructions exactly. As you work through assembling the parts from the smaller box, you will eventually need to break into the larger one to get what you need. Meanwhile, instructions tell you to slide the drawers into their cabinets near the end of the assembly. Don't fall for this, test immediately after you've assembled them. THIS is the time to find production errors, when they may be easily corrected. Likewise, affix the cabinet door for the CPU cabinet NOW - don't wait until later. The instructions also tell you to affix the keyboard shelf as a final step. This is nonsense; do it while you work on the main top panel. You will end up with 2 cabinets and a top section -move these to the destination of the project and assemble them there. The "weakest link" is the panel that connects the two cabinets together. Near as I can tell, it serves only to establish the correct distance between the cabinets, it is structurally worthless. The main top piece drops onto the two cabinets and the connecting piece. This is all trial and error to get it right, just fuss with it until everything drops into place, which it will. Some final tips: this unit uses "cams" which are all pre-installed. But it is ESSENTIAL that the longer groove on the top of the cam, with a pointed tip, points towards the channel through which the bolt is inserted to hit the cam, and be drawn in when you turn the cam. Also, when you install bolts (by screwing them in) BE SURE they go in absolutely straight. If they are tilted, then they won't line up with holes which connect them to other pieces. I'm very happy with this unit, and recommend it highly; it is well designed, has spacious storage, and looks good.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jsgeare
Crozet VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Overall Nice but beware of some things...
2/6/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 2/6/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Off the bat, this is a nice small desk for the price. At $180, you can't expect to find as nice a desk. The desk is press board(?) with a faux wood paper covering. This faux wood film seems to scratch easily so be aware of that when building it and overall. The desk has everything I need in terms of storage. I only wish the PC tower compartment was longer front to back. I have an old Dell and it just fits in the provided space. My cables are bent uncomfortably in the back. Also, the rear opening for this compartment can be wider as well. The designers opted for a curved opening and I wish it was wider and straight. As for the build, it took a few hours. The desk comes nicely packed in 2 boxes (one large and one small). The instructions were adequate with the exception of 2 parts. The first is the keyboard slide out tray. It is very difficult to see which holes they mean to screw through as the drawing is too small. Lastly, and this is VERY IMPORTANT!!! The lower file-sized drawer instructions. I really didn't need to install the metal bars to hold files since I have a separate file cabinet but decided to anyways just in case. The instructions do not mention that the hardware that receives the screwing end of these bars is an open hole. To explain, these screw lugs are attached to the front of the drawer. I had the drawer front-side down on the floor while building it. I tend to be an "over-tightener" and didn't hear the bars break through the faux wood paper in front. I screwed both in and heard a sort of pop but figured it was the screws loosing their grip. It was actually the bars ripping the cover. Imagine my disgust when I flipped up the drawer and saw the damage!!! AAARRGGGHH!!! Anyway, I temporarily placed some felt tabs on the holes to further lessen the ripping and meant to contact the manufacturer for a replacement. I kept all the docs and called the number on one of them. I spoke to a rep and he said this was a common problem and they were working to update the instructions or fix these screw lugs as they are not a closed end deal. I had the replacement part (piece #32 on the instructions) within a week! Very nice fellow and kept his word. Before I forget, expect to see thousands of these small black rubber things all over the foor after building. They seem to come from all the drilled holes in this desk. Overall, I am pleased with this purchase as well as the company itself. As I said, for $180, you can't really do better.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Everything I expected
8/18/2010

Customer review by gentlenyman48

4.0 stars 8/18/2010 by gentlenyman48
by gentlenyman48

For the money, this has to be one of my best online purchases ever. Although it took me much longer than the 2-3 hours to assemble that other reviewers stated, it went together nicely with only a few minor glitches. It has been duly "christened" i.e., you can't see it through the clutter I so dearly love to create. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a full size desk at an affordable price....:)

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gentlenyman48
Auburn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent desk
11/14/2010

Customer review by 3deploymentsurvivor

5.0 stars 11/14/2010 by 3deploymentsurvivor
by 3deploymentsurvivor

It came in a timely manner, showed up in two boxes, all the pieces were labeled clearly and the instructions were quite simple to follow. A hand drill would be very helpful as there are A LOT of screws that need turning in this job, but I'm a 38 yr old pregnant woman and I had no problem putting the whole thing together on my own and mostly with a screw driver. Came out looking great and very sturdy. Very happy.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
3deploymentsurvivor
Jacksonville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
PC Desk
12/11/2010

Customer review by TightwadT

4.0 stars 12/11/2010 by TightwadT
by TightwadT

Assembly was no big deal, just follow the simple directions but be careful not to over-tighten the rods that serve as the hanging file rails. If you do, you will create a couple undesirable bumps on the front face of that drawer. If anything "won't fit" during assembly, you're doing something wrong! :)) All in all, my expectations have been met or exceeded.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TightwadT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Perfect
3/4/2011

Customer review by PRgrl99

5.0 stars 3/4/2011 by PRgrl99
by PRgrl99

This desk is exactly what the picture looks like! It's perfect and it looks really nice. My only gripe is although the assembly instructions were very clear and easy to follow the desk took over 2 hours to assemble!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PRgrl99
Lake Elsinore, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Greatest Desk Ever
8/26/2010

Customer review by TacoGrease

5.0 stars 8/26/2010 by TacoGrease
by TacoGrease

If you have the patience to put this desk together... you will be rewarded, because it is one awesome desk. A couple of my desk parts didn't fit perfectly together, but that's expected when I buy something that I'm assembling myself. It's always kind of a gamble to me. The desk looks, and functions great. I used to have a desk and a utility table (for my All-in-One). Now I just have this desk. It eliminated a lot of my clutter, or at least hid it in the drawers. The file drawer is such a great touch. I used to have a file box... now I use the drawer. It is also probably the heaviest piece of furniture I own now... no joke. It's definitely worth it's weight.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TacoGrease
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Desk for the $!
10/4/2010

Customer review by BeautifulSicily

5.0 stars 10/4/2010 by BeautifulSicily
by BeautifulSicily

I'm very satisfied with this desk. It looks more expensive than it is and has a beautiful deep stain colored finish. Also took me a good 3 hours to assemble but it's worth it. I have ordered many do-it-yourself assembled furniture through the internet and this is by far the best packaged one I have received. There were no marks or scratches from shipping and I do typically find this hard to achieve... Comes with a small screw driver but I opted for the power tools to cut time. Overall great desk for the money, would highly recommend for those on a budget or for someone who is looking for functionality + storage without spending big $$.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeautifulSicily
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Techni Mobili Super Storage Computer Desk
2/19/2011

Customer review by nutts2shop

5.0 stars 2/19/2011 by nutts2shop
by nutts2shop

Really wasn't sure if this desk would work with my computer but it more than exceeded my expectations. It fits perfectly in my office and It suits my needs.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nutts2shop
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sharp looking desk
3/6/2011

Customer review by Shopper243

4.0 stars 3/6/2011 by Shopper243
by Shopper243

Great desk, very nice looking. You will spend a lot of time putting it together, but it is packaged very well to avoid damage and literally every piece is labeled so even though it takes a long time to assemble, it's relatively easy to put together. My only complaints was that the drawer inserts were not cut out properly on every drawer and I had to go and cut them out so that I could get the bottom of the drawers in. There was also one other section where I had to cut out a part that wasn't done properly. You can't see where I had to do anything, so it wasn't a big deal, just kind of a hassle. Not sure how well it would hold up if you had to move, but overall for the price you really can't beat it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shopper243
Chattanooga, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Computer Desk
12/4/2010

Customer review by TheJudge65

4.0 stars 12/4/2010 by TheJudge65
by TheJudge65

Super product, Takes time to assemble recommend two people assemble for better and easier assembly. Very sturdy and serves great purpose.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheJudge65
Morgans Point Resort, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/5/2013

Customer review by aflott

3.0 stars 7/5/2013 by aflott
by aflott

Online the desk looked amazing, and is really great quality when put together in person too. It does have a lot of parts, and took a good three hours to put together. My main complaint, which after going back and looking at the picture I notice it now, is that there is no designated place for a mouse. The pull out tray for the keyboard is far too small to place a mouse next to it. The desk itself is taller than I'd expected so placing the mouse on the top of the desk is extremely uncomfortable and probably not good for your wrist and arm over a long period of time.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aflott
Aiken, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very tall desk
1/11/2011

Customer review by bigmamasaysay

5.0 stars 1/11/2011 by bigmamasaysay
by bigmamasaysay

I knew this desk was going to be tall but I didn't expect this, if you have a desk top computer with a built in web cam you might have problems with the height. It was a long process to get this desk put together but it's very sturdy and looks really nice just wish the keyboard tray would come out further but that's a little thing. All in all definitely a great buy

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigmamasaysay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
well made product
9/26/2010

Customer review by patty2step

5.0 stars 9/26/2010 by patty2step
by patty2step

The desk is great, took about 3 1/2 hours to put together. It came very well marked on how to put together and was packed very good.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
patty2step
Grand Island, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Assembly Problems
9/24/2012

Customer review by Vigilante

5.0 stars 9/24/2012 by Vigilante
by Vigilante

Assembly requires placement of the file drawer guides inside the cabinet before the cabinet is assmbled, and they almost complete cover the lower assembly capture clamps, making them very had to lock down. Assembly also caused me very painful hand and wrist cramps from all the screwing. P.S. the supplied screwdriver is way too small to apply the necessary torque required to screw in all the studs.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vigilante
Gainesville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 112 total reviews
1-20 of 112 reviews