Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 42 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

42 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

42 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 stars
8
1-20 of 38 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
Decent for LIGHT work
3/29/2010

Customer review by AridTX

4.0 stars 3/29/2010 by AridTX
by AridTX

Do not buy this if you want something heavy duty. It is decent for light weed eating. I would not ever recommend using this on St Augustine. It handles Bermuda fairly well. The battery life is a bit of a problem if you want to do your whole yard in one go. Mine tends to last about 30 min on a good day which lets me do 3/4 of my yard, plug it in to charge, mow, and come back to finish. Otherwise, it is fairly durable and easy to use without much maintainance involved.

Was this review helpful? (77) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AridTX
Ft Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
This trimmer is great!
7/23/2010

Customer review by ConsiderThis1

5.0 stars 7/23/2010 by ConsiderThis1
by ConsiderThis1
Top 1000 contributor

I have solar electric so I needed a trimmer that I could charge during sunlight, then use anytime I wanted. This trimmer is great. It's important to wear eye protection b/c it cuts through pretty thick stuff and when the stuff is dry it shoots it rather far. My garden is looking so much more lovely. I use the little metal flip thing as a guide around rock edgings... and it works perfectly. I charged it for 30 hrs before a first, short, try-it-out use. It said to charge "at least" 24 hr. I'm very pleased. If you're looking for convenient, not very heavy, and cordless... this is a great product.

Was this review helpful? (46) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ConsiderThis1
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
Still a Solid Value After 1+ Year's Ownership
6/8/2010

Customer review by HoosierDada

4.0 stars 6/8/2010 by HoosierDada
by HoosierDada

I have owned my Black & Decker Cordless Trimmer for more than a year now and still believe it is a good value. It starts by pressing the safety switch and pulling the trigger (like most power tools.) And, it starts EVERY time and runs quiet. It's well balanced and light weight to allow you to work without fatigue and since it's cordless, you don't have to worry about wrapping and tangling a cord. The twisting shaft and metal guide make edging straight and simple. The string automatically advances when needed so you don't have to bump it on the ground for more string. Setup is easy... you just plug-in the charger adapter, mount the charger/holder on the wall and hang the trimmer up... pull it off when you're ready to go... put it back when you're done. It's designed to "trickle-charge" so you can always leave it on the charger/holder without damage to the battery and it will do a 1-hour quick-charge between jobs. You don't buy an inexpensive battery powered trimmer like this to wack down waist-high weeds on the back 40 every weekend... you buy it to trim weeds around trees, fences, shrubs, etc. (the places your mower can't get to.) If you have tall weeds or thick grass overgrowth on sidewalk edges, the first time you use it you may question the battery life. But once you've "tamed" that to something you can maintain once a week... the battery is not an issue. Like most people I have a front and back yard so I edge and trim the front yard and mow, then edge and trim the back yard and mow. I believe it's more than adequate for 80% of homeowners and I highly recommend it for those who want to keep things trimmed and edged without forking out a lot of money for a gas trimmer or messing with a cord or removable battery.

Was this review helpful? (79) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HoosierDada
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good for a small yard
7/9/2016

Customer review by CoHoRama

4.0 stars 7/9/2016 by CoHoRama
by CoHoRama
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My old one like this lasted 8 years. Works well for my small yard. The box was damaged when I received it but the product is okay. It got shipped to the wrong address which was very frustrating.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CoHoRama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good enough
6/14/2010

Customer review by RedDelicious

5.0 stars 6/14/2010 by RedDelicious
by RedDelicious

I have used this trimmer twice. I have a small yard so I didn't need much. It doesn't weigh much or make much noise, and I love not having to drag a cord around anymore. The small head let's you get into tight areas. It struggled a bit in the thick stuff after the battery weakened a bit, but it tore right through the normal stuff. Great for small yards.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RedDelicious
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Not good for edging
7/19/2010

Customer review by randyInColumbia

3.0 stars 7/19/2010 by randyInColumbia
by randyInColumbia

I bought this product primarily for edging. The automatic string feed does not allow you to edge. When it gets to short, it does not edge anymore. You either have to manually cut the string or angle it in a weird position to get the string to edge the grass. Painful for the back.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
randyInColumbia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Short battery life
2/2/2010

Customer review by bigdogmcl45

2.0 stars 2/2/2010 by bigdogmcl45
by bigdogmcl45

This works for about 10-15 minutes. Then you have charge it for at least 1/2 an hour before you can get more than 5 minutes before the battery loses power again. I can't imagine using it to edge with this short active life.

Was this review helpful? (32) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bigdogmcl45
San Antonio tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
My wife likes to use it.
5/14/2011

Customer review by masterstylist

5.0 stars 5/14/2011 by masterstylist
by masterstylist

An excellent trimmer and very light weight goes forever on a charge.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
masterstylist
Liberty, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
like it
6/13/2010

Customer review by Senia

4.0 stars 6/13/2010 by Senia
by Senia

Our yard is big, so I can't go around the yard in one charge. I have to trim the outside of the house, and after the battery dies I charge it, and then trim the backyard. I wish the battery life was longer, but it's not. I love it better than a gas one. It's so easy to turn on.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Senia
Dalzell, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Short Battery Life
5/12/2013

Customer review by WinstonLawyer

3.0 stars 5/12/2013 by WinstonLawyer
by WinstonLawyer

It trudges through most things (I've pushed it to the limit with overgrown grasses, weeds, vines, etc). However, you only get 30 minutes no matter how much you charge it. That makes it tough if you have a big yard. I'm now wishing I'd bought a different trimmer.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WinstonLawyer
Winston-Salem, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Value
4/19/2012

Customer review by Bus226

5.0 stars 4/19/2012 by Bus226
by Bus226

This was brought for my husband because the big gas one was getting to heavy, a neighbor has one which he had borrowed last fall and said he loved it, has used it several times all ready this spring and loves it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bus226
Northern Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great for small to medium-sized yard.
4/6/2014

Customer review by justin33

5.0 stars 4/6/2014 by justin33
by justin33
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very light weight easy to handle. Yes I would buy another.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
justin33
Navasota, Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Shame to Own.
6/16/2010

Customer review by Blissful21

2.0 stars 6/16/2010 by Blissful21
by Blissful21

I am so disappointed with this product. This maybe a good buy for someone who gets tired easily and can only do a tiny patch of lawn at a time, but if you are wanting to do a decent chunk of work in one day: forget it! This is such a sad excuse of a machine. It seriously got to the point that I was better off getting down on my hands and knees and tearing the weeds out of the ground. The battery life is absolutely embarassing. Constantly having to wait an hour between sprints was so discouraging. Take my advice: spend an extra $20 or 30 for a gas powered. It's worth it for the sanity!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Blissful21
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Exceeds expectations
8/20/2011

Customer review by WA9ISV

4.0 stars 8/20/2011 by WA9ISV
by WA9ISV
Walmart associate

Debated about this trimmer vs one with a replaceable battery pack. Decided in favor of this one since the battery replacement for this was much less than the replacement pack. Gets through my trimming tasks on a single charge. More powerful than I would have thought. Quiet, well balanced. Reel can be reloaded; you don't have to buy a new one. Charger / hanger is a little chintzy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WA9ISV
Robinson, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
Decent for what it's intended for.
4/10/2012

Customer review by BargainHunter1432

4.0 stars 4/10/2012 by BargainHunter1432
by BargainHunter1432

My husband got this 6 or 7 years ago, and it's still working! We don't have a lot of trimming, just around the deck, shed, trees, etc. It does a fine job for that. If I wanted to clear out the brush out back in the trees, I don't think it would be up to the task. It isn't like a heavy-duty gas-powered model. My biggest complaint is that I wish it was longer or adjustable. I'm only 5'6" but still have to stoop over at an uncomfortable angle to get close to the ground. I also wish it had a shoulder strap to take the weight off my arms. It isn't extremely heavy, but it gets that way after holding it for a while. All-in-all, it works fine, and does what we expect it to do. No issues with battery life or anything. I'd say it was well worth what we gave for it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BargainHunter1432
Central Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
You get what you pay for.
8/23/2012

Customer review by ttstew

2.0 stars 8/23/2012 by ttstew
by ttstew

Being cordless makes this trimmer so much more convenient, but it also makes it useful for short periods of time. Not to mention that it is pretty wimpy compared to big tuff grass along the sidewalk. It would probably be okay for touch up work on small yards, but to try and use this as your main trimmer/edger for an average sized yard is a joke. Spend a little more for a gas trimmer, or deal with a cord. This sounds too good to be true because the description is not true.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ttstew
Richardson, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
ONLY STAYS CHARGED FOR .20 MINUTES !
10/11/2013

Customer review by MBA0921

1.0 stars 10/11/2013 by MBA0921
by MBA0921
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It will take u forever to get your trimming done with this Trimmer because the battery only stays charged for .20 minutes at a time.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MBA0921
TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/13/2013

Customer review by Dgaure

4.0 stars 10/13/2013 by Dgaure
by Dgaure
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For an average or small yard, it works great! Also the adjusting it does to line around the yard is the bonus.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dgaure
Bradenton, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/18/2013

Customer review by Nanny08

5.0 stars 8/18/2013 by Nanny08
by Nanny08
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just my size, easy to control and operate.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nanny08
West Salem, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!!
5/14/2011

Customer review by whodatgurl

5.0 stars 5/14/2011 by whodatgurl
by whodatgurl

I love mine and not really anything bad to say about it. Its light weight, not to loud and extremely easy to use!!! I think if you had a lot of trimming to do it might not be ideal for you. But one charge easily does my house, garage and privacy fence. No problem:) AND I know exactly where to find it and has its own wall mount!!! Yesterday I used it on the neighbors house and her grass was extremely high.....I was kind of leery at first on how well it would do.......zipped right through it!! Except one charge only done her house. Grass and weeds were every bit of two foot tall though!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
whodatgurl
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews