Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 27 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

27 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

27 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 27 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
Very cute playhouse!
9/3/2010

Customer review by thetrainer2have

5.0 stars 9/3/2010 by thetrainer2have
by thetrainer2have

I bought this for my 18 month old little boy. I wanted a playhouse that didn't look too feminine. He loves it, especially the door bell and phone. It also very cute inside with the fake fireplace. It's even big enough for me to crawl inside and play with him. The only con is the flower pot on the outside. When water gets in there it just sits and becomes a mosquito magnet. I wish it had a drain or something. My son would have loved if it had the magic fountain with water coming out of the lion's mouth. However, he still likes the lion on the outside. I also wish it had a trap door or secret passage coming out the back. There's a fake barrel on the outside that looks like it would open up, but it doesn't. Overall, it's really cute and I'm happy with the purchase!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thetrainer2have
Ashland, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Perfect house for little and big alike
7/14/2010

Customer review by NSWE

5.0 stars 7/14/2010 by NSWE
by NSWE

Got this house for my 1 and 4 year old so that both could have years of play. It was easy to install, took about 30 minutes, very few pieces. I got it b/c it's taller than most on the market and my 4 yr old could probably get another two years out of it. It's study and very cute on the inside. The stickers make it feel cozy. I filled the outside planter box w/ sand to add another play area. Worth the money, expecially since it's being sold for more at other stores. Ship to a walmart store and save on shipping....it's not too heavy to fit into an SUV.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NSWE
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cozy & Colorful!
3/16/2015

Customer review by Katie T.

5.0 stars 3/16/2015 by Katie T.
by Katie T.

Our daughter received this adorable cottage from her Mimi & Pawpaw about 2 years ago. When we got it we lived in a 2 bedroom apartment and so we actually set it up in our living room! It was very easy to put together and one of my daughter's favorite features is the flower box in the front. She also loves the fire place and sink. My husband and I loved that there were 3 windows and that the door was a "farm-style" door so we could see her at all times. She was about a year old when she first got the house and now she's turning 3. She plays with it everyday and has even camped out in it. haha! She plays everything from "Bake Shop" to "princess castle" in this cottage and it may just be her favorite toy of all time. She has at least 3 more years if not more to enjoy it. We have moved since then but we are still in an apartment just a larger size. It is set up in her room and she couldn't be happier about that!

Katie T.
Wilmington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
fun times
4/21/2011

Customer review by MommaOf3rugrats

4.0 stars 4/21/2011 by MommaOf3rugrats
by MommaOf3rugrats

House went together easily. I do reccommend drilling a hole in the flower pot or it will become a stagnet bug pool. YUCK. Other than that we love it. I Love the openness of the play area. I know what the kids are doing and it allows for lots of sunshine and air to get inside.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommaOf3rugrats
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Disappointed
3/27/2011

Customer review by Mad mom

3.0 stars 3/27/2011 by Mad mom
by Mad mom

My daughter received this house for being a good little girl as she has always wanted one. I did alot of research and since I am a big fan of Step 2 products, we decided on this one. Also, because this is only 1 of 2 houses that are sold in stores from Step 2. Within 1 hour (husband did not even finish building it yet) the phone did not work. THe house has not been built for 24 hours and I went outside to let her play today and the doorbell did not work. If it wasn't such a pain to get this home I would return it. THe roof on top does not meet up properly either. I love the house but for being something for small children and suppose to be durable, too many things are going wrong. I put at the bottom wouldn't recommend, but I am borderline. THe phone and doorbell are the best parts to her and now they don't work.

Mad mom
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not worth the money
8/18/2010

Customer review by Unhappy Mom

2.0 stars 8/18/2010 by Unhappy Mom
by Unhappy Mom

I was so excited to get a play house for my son because everytime we visited someone with one he played in it for hours. We got it for him for his second birthday. That was 4 months ago and he has played in the house a total of three times. Though the description makes it seem like there is so much to do in it, there is really very little. The phone breaks easily, the sink and stove are boring after a minute, the stickers fall off in the rain, and the flower pot holder fills with water and gets slimey and dirty and it hard to clean. The best part is the doorbell, and for the money I can think of many better toys to buy than a doorbell. I have put toys in the house and a chair, but there is nothing I can do to lure my son into it. A big disappointment.

Unhappy Mom
Westport, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Much more cute in person
7/6/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/6/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We purchased the Playful Countryside Cottage for our daughter's 2nd birthday. With Walmart.com's price plus free Site-to-Store shipping, we got it for under $200 total, which was $150 MSRP. It was by far the largest at its price range, but it still is not huge when pu together. My husband assembled it easily by himself. It seems nicely sturdy. The colors are not as ugly in person as they look in the pics online, and the inside fireplace stickers etc. are charming. The doorbell chime and phone are a big hit, though I'm sure the phone will be lost out in the yard in no time. My only complaint is that there is no little seat or something inside. She was able to bring in her own little chair set however. Overall, it seems like a good product and my 2-year-old doesn't want to get out of it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Great playhouse!
7/7/2010

Customer review by Dealseeker1023

5.0 stars 7/7/2010 by Dealseeker1023
by Dealseeker1023

This is the perfect playhouse for my 20mo old son. He loves the phone and door bell, as well as opening the door and playing with the little sink. This will definitely last quite awhile, as it is a lot taller than many of the other playhouses.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dealseeker1023
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it
6/3/2014

Customer review by Doc West

5.0 stars 6/3/2014 by Doc West
by Doc West

We got this for my foster child and it was a huge hit. Unfortunately, I never got around to cleaning it up and making it usable for my own son until just this year. He's now 4 so it sat unused for over 4 years. I was afraid he'd be too big for it but he fits and moves around in it perfectly fine. Shocked that the doorbell still worked after all these years outside in the snow and rain. The phone got run over by the lawnmower long ago - too bad because it was a fun addition. We have the original version with the water fountain (instead of the flower pot) and somehow that still works too. No need for a water table. He just splashes around in that thing all day. Love, love, love it.

Doc West
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5 Grandchildren loved their playhouse
1/9/2015

Customer review by Ginny

4.0 stars 1/9/2015 by Ginny
by Ginny
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is a really nice size, since I have 5 grandchildren under the age of 4 who will be spending time playing in it. It was a Christmas present but they cannot wait to plant flowers in the lovely planter on the outside of the house. Love that it is so easy to see the children inside from any angle. It has a good height so the kids will be using it for a few years. Of course the working doorbell is a big hit. It has a really nice sound but once installed it is much quieter and could be louder.

Ginny
Louisville, Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lots of fun for 2 year old
5/27/2010

Customer review by Mom of 3

3.0 stars 5/27/2010 by Mom of 3
by Mom of 3

My two year old son loves the cottage. We keep it on the deck and when it rains, the brown flower pot fills with water. We have to tip the house to empty it and you can never get rid of all the water that accumulates in the crevice at the base of the pot - unless you completely flipped the house over. Also, the phone got wet during a heavy rain and no longer works. We've had the cottage for only 3 weeks. Our son loves it, but I wish the phone was better quality - and tipping the house to empty the flowerpot is inconvenient.

Mom of 3
Medina, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
nice house
11/4/2011

Customer review by mrandmrsdiego

5.0 stars 11/4/2011 by mrandmrsdiego
by mrandmrsdiego
Walmart associate

This is a pretty good sized house we didn't use the screws except for the door bell it pops together really strong and me my husband and our daughter were all in it playing she has lots of fun and loves the door bell and phone I'm guessing it only took about 20 mins to build. i think the price is a bit high but my daughter likes it so it makes it worth it she has even tried adding water to the sink to make it real and she always brings all her dolls inside. we bought it for her as a Christmas / birthday present since she was born close to Christmas but we gave it to her early because who wants to play outside in a house in the snow

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrandmrsdiego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Grand-daughter LOVES!!!
12/24/2014

Customer review by Pattrz

5.0 stars 12/24/2014 by Pattrz
by Pattrz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased this for our granddaughter for Christmas! She LOVES it!! Easy to assemble, shipped quickly. What I love about it is that it is open and airy so we can watch her play! Have already recommended to a fellow Grandma to buy for her little one!

Pattrz
Sumter, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this house!
10/28/2010

Customer review by Mom Mom

5.0 stars 10/28/2010 by Mom Mom
by Mom Mom

We bought this house for our granddaughter. She loved it! She is two. She calls it her birthday house. However, it came with no assembly instructions. I guess somehow they were not packed in the box?? So it took us a while to get it together. I had to find the picture on the internet website and try and put it together.

Mom Mom
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Cottage
3/21/2010

Customer review by Chastity

4.0 stars 3/21/2010 by Chastity
by Chastity

It's a good quality product. We keep it outside on our patio. We purchased this for our 2 yrs old son and he loves it. The only con would be it's not that big inside the cottage. It would only be comfortable for 2 toddlers at a time. Overall I was impressed.

Chastity
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cute little house
6/22/2010

Customer review by Mom2abunch

5.0 stars 6/22/2010 by Mom2abunch
by Mom2abunch

We purchased this little house after looking at several different ones. We chose this one for the size and price. It has been a great buy for those reasons. We bought it for my four year old but my six year old can stand up inside of it. Even my older daughters, who are 9 and 12, have loved playing in it. It has nice open windows so it is not confining or claustrophobic feeling. The kids love the working doorbell and phone. I am very happy with our little cottage!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mom2abunch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It lives up to the ad
6/7/2010

Customer review by Nana

4.0 stars 6/7/2010 by Nana
by Nana
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to assemble and grandchildren seem to love playing in it. Disappointed that decals did not come with it and am still waiting for them, since that is what makes the cottage.

Nana
Auburn, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
love it
4/14/2010

Customer review by daycare provider

4.0 stars 4/14/2010 by daycare provider
by daycare provider
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband put this together in about an hour. I run a daycare from my home. Children of all ages seem to love it. I would definately recommend it.

daycare provider
Sullivan, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BEST PLAYHOUSE FOR 4 YR OLD AND 2 YR OLD
4/16/2010

Customer review by MOMMYTO3ANGELS

5.0 stars 4/16/2010 by MOMMYTO3ANGELS
by MOMMYTO3ANGELS

I LOVE THIS PLAYHOUSE MY 4 YR OLD LOVES IT AND MY 2 YR OLD LOVES IT TOO BEST PLAYHOUSE I BOUGHT VERY STURDY AND WORTH THE MONEY

MOMMYTO3ANGELS
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Almost everything we wanted
7/2/2010

Customer review by IamAmomTo2

5.0 stars 7/2/2010 by IamAmomTo2
by IamAmomTo2

I wanted a playhouse that was tall enough for the kids to grow with and one that was sturdy enough to handle my kids. This one is both! My kids love it. Summer loves the phone and Noah loves the doorbell. They try to beat it up pretty badly, but it is standing strong! :) I bought this from Toys R Us instead of Walmart though. It was cheaper at the time. But if you don't have a Toys R Us in the Area, Walmarts site to store is cheaper.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IamAmomTo2
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews