Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 78 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

78 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

78 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
28
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 stars
8
1-20 of 71 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews
Fits great on my Jeep, but not my bike.
8/9/2011

Customer review by Jasmine200199

3.0 stars 8/9/2011 by Jasmine200199
by Jasmine200199

I was excited this bike mount fit perfect on my Liberty. Unfortunately, when I tried to mount my women's mountain bike on it, it didn't fit at all. I would suggest double checking the dimensions on the mount and the bike before purchasing. Another downside was that it eventually did move out of position and the window hatch would hit it when it would open & close.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jasmine200199
Maryville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent for 2 bikes on a 2005 Honda CR-V
2/9/2012

Customer review by JohRoh

5.0 stars 2/9/2012 by JohRoh
by JohRoh

I used "ship to store" at Walmart and it came in more quickly than I expected. Packaging and directions were adequate. It is more sturdy than I expected for the price. I use it on a 2005 Honda CR-V. The top hooks snugly over the rear tire and straps hook under the door at the bottom. If you have a different vehicle, the top will fit if there's at least two inches of clearance between the tire and door. It makes no contact with the door, window, or window wiper. I've bounced over bad roads for miles with no problems. I do not remove the vinyl tire cover and it has not been damaged. Once I got used to it, I could put it on and take it off in few minutes - literally - so I take it off while riding so it's not stolen. Our bicycles strap on securely, although I do use a couple tie-downs to keep the tires and handles from bouncing around. It's a tight fit for two adult bicycles and I don't know if three would fit. Maybe they would if one or more are children's bicycles.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohRoh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
High Quality - Sturdy - Simple to Use
9/15/2013

Customer review by Chocomath

5.0 stars 9/15/2013 by Chocomath
by Chocomath
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This bike rack is very sturdy, was simple to install and use. I felt that the bike was very secure even while driving on the highway and when I went over bumps. I used it on my 2006 Honda CRV. I only put one bike on it and put the front wheel on the passenger side turning the handlebars so the front tire was perpendicular to the door. This was necessary since the spare tire is not in the center of the vehicle. I did not remove the cover from my spare tire, but I did put pipe insulation on the bar the touches the tire and another on a bar that touches the bike. The insulation is very cheap and worth the little extra for the protection it provides. I also used the Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar since I have a women's bike. The combo worked perfectly for my needs. My only comment is that, though it is set up to hold 3 bikes, I think that would be a tight fit and would be concerned that one bike would scratch another if you didn't use padding between them. Two bikes would fit easily.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chocomath
Harrisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Buy
6/28/2016

Customer review by slickninja

4.0 stars 6/28/2016 by slickninja
by slickninja
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very easy installation on a '10 Toyota Rav4. You need to remove the spare tire cover for it to fit correctly and to prevent scratching up your cover. I have no problems using the rear window wiper while it's installed. My only gripe is that fitting my 26" men's mountain bike is a bit tight. If your bike frame has an aggressive dropped top tube, you have to work it on there. Also, I find it hard to believe that it'll fit 3 adult bikes, however, I'd rather get the 3-bike carrier to fit 2 bikes than to buy the 2-bike carrier and have a hard time fitting 2 bikes.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
slickninja
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome product for your spare tire style vehicle!
7/25/2016

Customer review by nesterpr

5.0 stars 7/25/2016 by nesterpr
by nesterpr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great quality, pretty solid. Mounted on my spare tire Suzuki XL7 2004 in 5 minutes without any problems whatsoever.!! Carries 3 bikes easy, great product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nesterpr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works great
8/2/2010

Customer review by workswellwithmy50TV

5.0 stars 8/2/2010 by workswellwithmy50TV
by workswellwithmy50TV

I have a jeep wrangler with an over-sized spare tire .... it fits and works great

Was this review helpful? (71) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
workswellwithmy50TV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Product
5/14/2010

Customer review by ZukiGirl1

5.0 stars 5/14/2010 by ZukiGirl1
by ZukiGirl1

This bike rack fit my 2004 Suzuki XL7. Very easy to install and held 3 adult bikes for a long road trip. I was leary that this lightweight sparetire rack would hold 3 bikes securely but was more than pleasantly surprised!! A Great Value

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ZukiGirl1
18360
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
so far so good
7/5/2016

Customer review by ALBERT

5.0 stars 7/5/2016 by ALBERT
by ALBERT
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

so far so good

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ALBERT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Good Fit for RAV4
8/4/2010

Customer review by steelerlove1

4.0 stars 8/4/2010 by steelerlove1
by steelerlove1

I looked high and low for something to fit my 2009 RAV4, then finally came across the Allen 303DB. What they dont tell you is you have to take your plastic wheel cover off. But in the end, it will salvage all the scrapes that would have come with it. Glad i bought this and worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (42) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
steelerlove1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
It broke on the Hwy
6/21/2016

Customer review by Livi

1.0 stars 6/21/2016 by Livi
by Livi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Mine broke. It might just be a defect. I was driving from DC to GA and decided to bring two bikes with me. About an hours from GA, the tension ride rod popped out and didn't go back in. Maybe my bikes (two women's bikes) were to too heavy for it. Either way I wouldn't recommend it. Spend the money on a higher quality product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Livi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
above average, slightly.
7/12/2014

Customer review by Electronicdork

3.0 stars 7/12/2014 by Electronicdork
by Electronicdork
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased for 2014 Jeep Wrangler. Good Design with support brackets to prevent "tilting" of bike rack while using spare tire as base. My only complaint is the strap hooks that have to be placed between the back gate and the bumper. It is difficult to get them secured. Once you get them secured, the rack is very stable. It is very fast and easy to take the rack off. So that is a positive. Not enough to offset the time it takes to secure the hooks on tailgate. Bumper on my Jeep is too thick to receive the hooks on bike rack. My rating is just above average, but it is hard to find a quality bike rack that will fit on spare tire on Wrangler. I would recommend this bike rack. My assumption is I will find a quick and easy way to attach the bike rack to my jeep. I have used three times, and I am figuring out the best way to attach the bike rack. Would I suggest, yes, but have a larger strap hook to give more options to attach.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Electronicdork
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/20/2011

Customer review by FCC3

4.0 stars 6/20/2011 by FCC3
by FCC3

This is a good solid Bike rack. It is well worth the money. It can be put on and taken off easily. I suggest some pipe wrap insulation where the rack rests against the rim. I only rated 4 stars as I am only able to fit 2 bikes on the rack. The tie downs are too close together to fit three bikes. I have tested it out with two 26" bikes on it. I have driven it around town and short 12 mile trips the last two weeks. I have had no problems. My wife and I will be taking a 1,600+ mile round trip shortly. I'll update on how it holds up.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FCC3
Uniontown, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Very easy to put on vehicle.
10/9/2011

Customer review by AuroraStella

5.0 stars 10/9/2011 by AuroraStella
by AuroraStella

The bike carrier is exactly as pictured. We have a Honda CRV 2003 which is not listed for the carrier but it fits fine. We do put a cotton towel next to the car to cushion the bar which is over the spare tire. We are very satisfied with this purchase. The only concern I would have is if someone had to transport 3 bicycles. We have 2 and the carrier is great. Three bicycles would seem to be a VERY tight fit.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AuroraStella
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Product for a Good Price
4/5/2010

Customer review by traveler323

4.0 stars 4/5/2010 by traveler323
by traveler323

Overall I really like the bike rack. I was having problems finding a reasonably priced rack that would hold 3 bikes while I tow a camper with my Toyota FJ Cruiser. The Allen Rack works great for this!

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
traveler323
Middle Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent inexpensive bike rack
6/8/2011

Customer review by fxgjtykjaWY46UJRTH6RTUYGE

5.0 stars 6/8/2011 by fxgjtykjaWY46UJRTH6RTUYGE
by fxgjtykjaWY46UJRTH6RTUYGE

Excellent bike rack, first one that I've owned and I'm very pleased with it. Fits my 2004 Jeep Liberty. Very good inexpensive bike rack, would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fxgjtykjaWY46UJRTH6RTUYGE
Berkshire, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Easy to put on and take off. Holds tight.
7/31/2011

Customer review by JBH2011

5.0 stars 7/31/2011 by JBH2011
by JBH2011
Walmart associate

Very happy about this bike rack. Easy to take off and put on, so I don't have to leave it on all the time. That was the first plus. It holds super tight and is easy to adjust. Second plus. The arms have tie-downs built in so you don't have to add your own straps or bungees, unlike some bike racks that have just velcro. Third plus. And fits my oversized tire, and seems to be automatically fit just about any spare on the back, from the way it's designed. Fourth. Plus. It's a win.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JBH2011
Rogers, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Walmart associate
Great value
6/6/2011

Customer review by RCBC2335

3.0 stars 6/6/2011 by RCBC2335
by RCBC2335

This bike carrier is worth the money. The only major complaint I have is that the rack will rub your rim and cause damage. I have tried using a tire cover, but it will rub a hole through that as well. This is a good product for the money, but the design could be improved. It will work well for you if you can fix the rubbing issue. If you plan on transporting your bike often, then I recommend looking elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RCBC2335
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Best Thing Since Sliced Bread
7/28/2010

Customer review by RyanLovesTheGreatOutdoors

5.0 stars 7/28/2010 by RyanLovesTheGreatOutdoors
by RyanLovesTheGreatOutdoors

This product is easy to install, easy to use and carries three bikes. It's perfect for what I need. You have to learn to modify it to how you are going to use it. I use a bungee or tie-off to keep the front wheel of my bike from twisting around on long trips. No big deal at all. You can't lock a bike into either, so don't expect to run into Wal-Mart for an hour with your $700 Trek on the back of it. It's also very durable. I've beat the heck out of mine and it's still sturdy. Overall, works perfect. I drive a 99 Honda CRV.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RyanLovesTheGreatOutdoors
Cleveland, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not for Rav4 2011
3/19/2012

Customer review by mdavidv

2.0 stars 3/19/2012 by mdavidv
by mdavidv

For the price is a fair spare tire rack (carrier), if it fit your model. For me it did not work, The rack (carrier) did not fit the Toyota Rav4 Sport 2011. The carrier make contact with the rear wiper base and will not engage to the spare tire. Also to consider is, if the bottom supporting arm of the rack (carrier) will make contact with the wheel (Rim), probably damaging (scratching) the spare wheel. That will happen probably in 16-17" wheels and up, since the bottom supporting arm is not covered with any cushion material. Anyways I ended up getting a Thule Spare Me XRS which is far more expensive, but a real spare tire rack (carrier).

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mdavidv
Puerto Rico
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Good Product
9/12/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 9/12/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Prose: Easy to install, did not have to remove tire cover, put padding on bar to protect cover. Was able to hook trapes under tire to inside rim, so the swing arm tire carrier on my 2002 Kia would work with out removing the bike rack. Con's: Bike bars do not fold down. Other than that very good product at a good price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews