Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 179 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

179 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

179 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
111
4 stars
49
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 stars
7
1-20 of 160 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 160 total reviews
1-20 of 160 reviews
A good rack for the money!!
3/19/2010

Customer review by RealBikeLover

5.0 stars 3/19/2010 by RealBikeLover
by RealBikeLover

A good rack for the money. I mounted the rack to a 1999 Toyota Sienna. I've used the hitch to carry two adult MTB and three kids bikes (Dynacraft 20" Triax PK7) for several local trips. The bikes loaded very easily. The couplings swivel, allowing small bikes to attach with out a crossbar. The rack was very easy to put together and install. The rack has already paid for itself in the enjoyment my family has had biking on several great bike trails with family and friends. Two things I did to prevent the bike rack from being stolen: 1) I use "Master Lock 262DAT Chrome Lug Nut Style Spare Tire Lock" to secure the "No-Wobble Bolt". 2) Replace a 3/8"x3" bolt with a QR CLIP. I can easily remove the rack assembly and put it in my trunk.

Was this review helpful? (109) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RealBikeLover
Union City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great deal/customer service
11/22/2010

Customer review by acflorida

5.0 stars 11/22/2010 by acflorida
by acflorida

I searched and searched for a good price on a 5 bike rack. I found the best price at Walmart to I promptly purchased one. After getting it home and out of the box, I noticed one of the plastic clips was broken. I found the email address for the Allen company and emailed them to ask what I needed to do to find a replacement. They promptly responded to my email and within 3 days, I had an entire new clip system. The bike rack is sturdy and is easy to slip all our bikes on the rack. I am thoroughly impressed with the Allen company and this bike rack.

Was this review helpful? (42) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
acflorida
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Good Value but needs better quick release pins
8/6/2010

Customer review by jgrf

4.0 stars 8/6/2010 by jgrf
by jgrf

We've only used it a few times and don't know how the more expensive racks compare, but this seems to be a great value at half the cost of other racks. There is a little play between the hitch and the rack and between the lower and upper uprights, so the rack will shift while driving around corners or braking, but everything feels solid with 4 bikes on it. I wish the quick release pins had a more secure locking system (such as locking through the pin instead of around it). Overall, a great value, but probably could be made with parts that fit more snugly together and better quick release pins.

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jgrf
Greater Boston area, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Very sturdy rack
6/3/2010

Customer review by tntraveler

4.0 stars 6/3/2010 by tntraveler
by tntraveler

The rack is stable and does not have any free play in it. We recently carried four bikes, with one behind the arm. The spacing for the bikes is a bit tight, and we had to remove the seats to accomodate three bikes on the exterior side. There could be adjustments for spacing, which there is not.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tntraveler
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Buy this Bike Rack!!
6/8/2011

Customer review by LisaI

5.0 stars 6/8/2011 by LisaI
by LisaI

My husband was very skeptical that this bike rack would be any good, before we got it. Plus, he didn't think it would work for our new vehicle, a 2011 Hyundai Santa Fe, but it worked perfectly. We drove over 100 miles each way over Memorial Day Weekend, and never had a single problem with it. We did, however need to buy an adapter so it would fit on our receiver, as ours is a pretty small one. We picked one up in a Walmart store for about $10 I think. I do think the lock idea someone else suggested makes sense to avoid theft. But over all, we love the bike rack, exactly what we were looking for, for WAY less money than anywhere we'd looked online!! And believe me, we looked!!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LisaI
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
horrible product.
6/20/2010

Customer review by 4timesdad

1.0 stars 6/20/2010 by 4timesdad
by 4timesdad

I bought this product just prior to leaving on a 2 week camping trip. I mounted 5 bicycles on it. Only 2 were full sized. I put those closest to the upright post. The other three bikes were for my children ranging from 8 to 3 year old. I put the smallest bike furthest from the upright post. Several of the plastic spacers broke during the trip causing the bikes to shift and contact each other, damaging the paint on the bikes. Later, one of the horizontal mounts bent at least 4 inches lower than the other one. I had to tie up the rack with rope because I feared it would brake and drop all the bikes on the highway. I am planning on returning it and making a rack of my own. I can't believe a rack rated for 5 bikes could not hold 2 adult and 3 kids bikes!

Was this review helpful? (15) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4timesdad
Castaic Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not a good hitch overall
7/17/2011

Customer review by Sgtj5

1.0 stars 7/17/2011 by Sgtj5
by Sgtj5

I was traveling 1500 miles round trip from ny to fla. I was planning to take 4 bikes to sc and drop off 1 and then pick up 2 smaller bikes( belonging to grand kids) total 5 but when i reached sc even though the bikes were well below the weight limit and all were rotated facing opposite directions ,1 rail bent down. I left my bike and my wifes so we could safely bring the grand kids and then 1 plastic clip on the rear (closest to car) broke so i had to put the bikes together . because of the close space between them both bikes were scratched during the ride. All in all the fact that the weight could not be supported as claimed. It caused problems with everything else.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sgtj5
Would recommend to a friend? No
Went Back to the 4 Bike Carrier
7/21/2014

Customer review by Al63630

1.0 stars 7/21/2014 by Al63630
by Al63630

I first ordered the Allen 4 Bike carrier and was very impressed with it. Thinking the five bike carrier would be better I ordered it thinking it would be better to put four bikes on as it is hard getting the maximum on any carrier. Well the five bike carrier arrived and I was very disappointed. The first bike has to be put on in the lowered position and unless you get an extension for your hitch the pedal will scrape the back of your vehicle. The four bike carrier is designed so all mount on back side of carrier. Needless to say we sent this one back and ordered the four bike carrier again and are very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Al63630
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great 5 Bike Carrier
6/29/2011

Customer review by CarefulShopper9898

5.0 stars 6/29/2011 by CarefulShopper9898
by CarefulShopper9898

Just finished a 300 miles road trip. Easy to assemble and install. Very sturdy. You'll need two bungee cords to thread through the wheels to keep the bikes from swinging and some padding for the center bar in case the bikes rub against it. Buy the "adaptor bar" if you have a girls bike.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CarefulShopper9898
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Can't beat the price
2/16/2011

Customer review by WalShopperQQ

4.0 stars 2/16/2011 by WalShopperQQ
by WalShopperQQ

I found this same product selling for $50-$70 more at other places, so this was a great buy. Fitting 4 bikes was ok, but I did have trouble fitting 5 bikes (2 adult & 3 kids) on it, but it can be done. Some of the kids bikes are tough to fit on it as the cross bar on the kid’s bikes was not long enough to fit easily, but found a way to do it. The strapping system takes a little longer to implement than some of the more expensive bike carriers, but for the occasional riders that we are, this was fine. The piece was sturdy and held onto the bikes fine. I do recommend getting a hitch lock, so you can leave it on while biking and not worry about someone taking it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalShopperQQ
Burbank
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great rack for a great price!
7/5/2010

Customer review by Sonflowers

5.0 stars 7/5/2010 by Sonflowers
by Sonflowers

I have been researching bike racks for about 2 years now and didn't want to spend more than $150 to $200. We have an Explorer and and Expediton, both with large hatches and I was debating on a 4 or 5 bike rack. Well, since our youngest is 5, we decided on a 5 bike. however, his frame is too small for the rack, so for now it will go in the hatch. I payed for 2 day shipping and it arrived when it said it would. I put it together in about 10 minutes. Dh mounted it on the expedition and then we placed my bike on it to see if I was able to do it, since I will be the one using it most of the time. Wasn't too bad and I think I will be able to get mine and the older two's bikes on without a problem. I just have to remember to put anything in the hatch before loading the bikes because it is quite heavy. i also plan on buying a locking hitch pin just to be safe. The cheapest I found this rack anywhere was $150 (most included free shipping). However, I got it shipped 2 day for $120. Great rack for not a lot of money!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sonflowers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Sturdy & Good Value
9/18/2010

Customer review by timcan

5.0 stars 9/18/2010 by timcan
by timcan

After looking and many racks and reading reviews, this 5 bike rack from walmart was clearly the best deal. The neighbor got a cheaper rack at half the price and he got what he paid for (junk). He wishes he spent a little more and got the Allen 5 bike deluxe so he could drive without worry. The Allen is not as fancy as the ones at the bike shop, but is more sturdy and functional. The straps have saddles that rotate. Bikes are easy to tie down. Rotating arms is easy. The no wobble bolt is great (no wobbles). Allen sells a no wobble locking bolt (501L) which walmart needs to start selling. I got it at another website and it is nice to be able to leave the rack connected no wobble all weekend without worry of it getting stolen. Just need a few bungies to steady the bottom of the bikes and you are ready to go. Walmart sells the 5 bike much less than anyone else, at the 4 bike price. I usually order website to store which is free shipping; this time chose cheapest UPS Ground and had it in just a couple days. Love it!!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
timcan
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Outstanding product and value
8/21/2011

Customer review by markfromnewhampshire

5.0 stars 8/21/2011 by markfromnewhampshire
by markfromnewhampshire

I couldn't be happier with this product. I have carried 5 adult bikes of various frame styles thousands of miles this summer with the family. It's strong and although some thinking is involved in manuevering 5 bikes into place, as it would with any rack of this nature, it hasn't dissappointed me even once. At $99 I can't imagine a better purchase. Saved $100's over Thule and Yakima. For about $15 more total I purchsed a 6 foot plastic coated security cable and pair of matched pad locks which allows me to secure the upper rack to my trailer chain slot which is more than enough secuity. Also allows enough cable to secure the bikes when they are on the rack. I prefer the strap down mechanism over the rubber bands I have seen used on other racks. Takes just a moment longer but even my 13 year old son finds it a snap to do. This was the deal of the summer for me! Have never felt compelled to write a product review until now.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
markfromnewhampshire
Litchfield, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent Value Bike Rack
3/14/2011

Customer review by BG35

5.0 stars 3/14/2011 by BG35
by BG35

I used it to mount on my '05 Acura MDX. It fits great on my 2" hitch. The rack doesn't wobble during the drive but the bikes do sway a bit and you will need to use a strap or some kind to prevent that so the bikes won't rub on each other. Other than that, its a great product and for the price you can't beat that. Also, a 17" frame size is a tight fit to mount so keep that in mind. That should be the minimum.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BG35
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Just what i needed
5/11/2011

Customer review by AdventureTime

5.0 stars 5/11/2011 by AdventureTime
by AdventureTime

Great for a family day adventure out on the bikes . You just have to figure out whose bikes fit next to each other the best . Easy once you read the directions .

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AdventureTime
merritt island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
convenient for hauling bikes
6/27/2011

Customer review by bikerDudeFromUtah

5.0 stars 6/27/2011 by bikerDudeFromUtah
by bikerDudeFromUtah

I just completed a trip to southern Utah and took a few bikes on this carrier (400 miles round trip). It worked well. The vertical bar rocks out of the way so I could still get into the back of my van with the bicycles attached. The bikes traveled well without any problems. One was my buddy's high-end road bike (value: $2000) and when we arrived the bike was unscratched. So I was happy about that. The no-wobble attachment bolt made attaching the bike carrier to the van a bit more cumbersome than I wanted. So I drilled out the mounting hole and made it just a little bigger so that the carrier could be attached using a standard mounting bar. I was a little worried that the carrier might be too floppy, but it worked just fine on our long trip.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bikerDudeFromUtah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
6/23/2011

Customer review by weasel22

4.0 stars 6/23/2011 by weasel22
by weasel22

The 5th bike loading is not intuitive and the instructions are for the 4 bike rack. So you have to figure out that the first bike on has to go on with the rack tilted down and on the other side of the vertical bar. Once you see that, it loads easily and can hold my 2 adult bikes and 3 kid bikes.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
weasel22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Rack for the Price
4/28/2014

Customer review by drewscottinfla

4.0 stars 4/28/2014 by drewscottinfla
by drewscottinfla

No problem assembling. My hitch receiver is about 2 inches behind the bumper, rather than flush, which makes the rack a little closer to the vehicle. As a result, the bike closest to the car would not quite fit. I purchased a hitch extender for about $20, and that solved the issue. Also, bought a locking pin, and used the no wobble bolt to attach the rack to the extender since that is the only thing I need the extender for. I use multiple things on the hitch so it didn't make sense to permanently attach the no wobble bolt anyway. 3 Adult bikes, one 24" bike and an 18" bike fit well on the rack. So far so good.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drewscottinfla
Bradenton, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great quality for a good price.
6/22/2011

Customer review by VBegs

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by VBegs
by VBegs

You could spend more, but why?

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VBegs
Melville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Why Spend More?
7/10/2011

Customer review by jgbodog

5.0 stars 7/10/2011 by jgbodog
by jgbodog

I am so happy that I bought this rack. I have three young girls who have small girl bikes. They do not fit on ordinary racks but because of this racks unique design, you are able to swivel the connectors, It allows me to hang the bikes in many different configurations. I don't think you could find a bike that you couldn't put on this rack. Plus, the cost was low, the build is impeccable, and it has a lifetime warranty. We just recently used this for a 90 mile one way trip going 70 mph and it held the bikes flawlessly. Do not hesitate to buy this bike rack.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jgbodog
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 160 total reviews
1-20 of 160 reviews