Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 253 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

253 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

253 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
131
4 stars
74
3 stars
17
2 stars
5
1 stars
26
1-20 of 213 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 213 total reviews
1-20 of 213 reviews
*****Beware - it will destroy your frame ******
4/24/2011

Customer review by soccerpeve

1.0 stars 4/24/2011 by soccerpeve
by soccerpeve

The rack isn't all the bad, but I have a horrible gouge in the frame on a new stumpjumper FSR. The first bike to go on, rubs against the rubber capped vertical tube of the rack. It quickly is cut by the sharp edges of the tube underneath, then tube then eats in to the bike frame. I'm going to take a hammer to the tube to bend it away from the bike, and glue the rubber cap back on. Hopefully that will help! Otherwise it's not that bad, but I rated it low to hopefully save someones bike from being chewed up!

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
soccerpeve
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
I don't recommend this on nice new cars
7/17/2013

Customer review by Vers1

3.0 stars 7/17/2013 by Vers1
by Vers1

I've used this rack on my 1994 toyota camry and 2013 honda civic. If you don't really put anything in your trunk, this is perfect for you. I want to give you guys as much information as possible before you drop $50 on this bike rack. So here it is... It's more secure if you can hook the bottom hooks underneath your car and not on your trunk. The only problem is that you can't open your trunk. It's quite difficult to keep the rack on and open your trunk. But it's hard to keep the rack secured to the trunk when it's hooked to the trunk and not underneath the car. (At least, for my 94 camry that is. The bottom of the trunk door was square so it didn't stay on good.) The hooks can damage your trunk, most people like to put cloth between the car and the hooks so it doesn't get damaged. But it's a bit of a chore to do it every time you use it. So I got old inner tubes, cut them up right and glued them to the hooks. I'm pretty sure I don't have to worry about my trunk getting scratched up now. The weight of the bikes causes the rack to not be as secure as it is when there are no bikes. The straps can get loose and the hooks can come off which is what nobody wants. So I suggest that after you place the top hooks on the trunk, and as you hook on the the bottom hooks to the bottom of your car... pull on the 15" arms (that hold the bikes) downward with alot of force. Putting your body weight on it (maybe not a lot for stronger people, since I'm 130lbs) and tighten the bottom straps as much as possible so that you can have maximum tension in the system. This assumes the weight of the bikes and so when you put the bikes on, you'll know you have nothing to worry about. I'm just not sure I want to do this with my new car though, cause I think all that force will mess up the body. If you have drop bars with side pull brake levers, BE CAREFUL! The brake levers will SCRATCH your car. There are ways around this, I turn the front wheel so that it's facing 8 o'clock and the wheel is secured by the carrier itself so it won't move and scratch my car. I have yet to think of a better way. I don't see a way where you can put 3 bikes on there. The spacing between the bikes need to be longer. I've had difficulty putting 2 road bikes on it, but it's doable within 5-10minutes. Maybe if all the bikes were radically different sizes it'd be easy. But the handle bars and the seats get in the way of each other, as well as the pedals, but the pedals aren't too hard to find a sweet spot. Also, get a yakima security strap, it'll give you a sense of security regarding thieves trying to steal the rack itself. Since it's really easy to take off a car. I've put my 54cm steel frame bianchi bike (22lbs) on it and there aren't any problems. You have turn the plastic cups inward so you can get it through them though. Putting a 20" mountain bike is relatively difficult for me. The frame is small so there isn't alot of space and it's hard to push through, I don't feel like buying a crossbar, so idk how that'll work out. I've probably used it at least 12 times and the rack and bikes are fine. It works, it's just a hassle. I'm thinking about getting the hitch, but that involves cutting the heat shield and dirt cover at the bottom of my car. I'm not sure if I want to do that. If you still decide to buy this rack, stop. I suggest you get the other 3-bike carrier with side hooks too. These have 4 hooks, there's another one with 6. I'd get that one so I don't have to worry about lateral play.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vers1
CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good Value for Your Money!
9/23/2010

Customer review by Ready4Tri

5.0 stars 9/23/2010 by Ready4Tri
by Ready4Tri

New to endurance sports, I needed a pretty decent bike rack to put on my Corolla, since i'd invested a pretty penny into a new bike -- This rack is perfect -has carried my bike 100 miles plus on freeways and securely holds my bike! I would definitely recommend it for your money! Very sturdy and gets the job done! Why would you pay more money?!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ready4Tri
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
PERFECTION
1/26/2012

Customer review by CurlyPapas

5.0 stars 1/26/2012 by CurlyPapas
by CurlyPapas

The best bike rack I have ever had and it is really simple to use also the box the rack comes in gives you a list of vehicles that the rack will and will not work on. This came set up already in the box all that was needed was to put it on my SUV and load the bikes onto it... (Will add that if you have a Mountain Bike you will need to purchase bar adapters in order to mount the bike on the rack) I found a great price online for some Swagman Woman Bar adapters--they sold in a set of 2 and worked on my male bike as well as my GF Female bike.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CurlyPapas
Pearland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
9/7/2010

Customer review by HolmdelShopper

2.0 stars 9/7/2010 by HolmdelShopper
by HolmdelShopper

I used this rack to carry three bikes for a trip totaling about 12 hours. Twice, the straps slipped resulting in the bikes dragging on the road. The first time, one of the bikes actually popped off one side of the rack when the frame tie down strap came off. The second time, the rack mounting straps loosened up far enough that a jolt resulted in the bottom piece folding up The only thing that kept that one from being much more destructive was that I had looped a bike lock through the bikes and locked it to the roof rack. In neither case was there any way to tell from inside the car that it was loose enough to fail. Maybe there's some magic to these straps? If so, I couldn't figure it out. My previous rack (from a different manufacturer) did not have this problem. If you want to use this rack - especially fully loaded - my suggestion would be to make sure that you have some secondary fastening to make sure this doesn't happen to you.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HolmdelShopper
Holmdel, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Well built, great value
5/30/2012

Customer review by Soflacpl

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by Soflacpl
by Soflacpl

We have large cruiser-type bikes and they wouldn't fit on the 2-bike carriers we tried, without risking scratches and dings. The Allen 103DB 3-Bike Carrier was the perfect solution. Our bikes fit beautifully and do not rub against one another. The rack is sturdy and vinyl tubes over the steel frame protect our bikes from scratches. I read some of the negative reviews about this product. My opinion, after using the rack for a while, is that some of these folks may not have followed the instructions carefully. For example, if you can't hook the bottom straps to steel under the bumper, you MOVE the bottom straps to the top and hook them to the bottom of the trunk lid. If you leave the straps on the bottom and hook to the bottom of the trunk lid you risk failure. When we take it off the car, we leave the top straps alone and loosen only the bottom straps. This makes it really easy to put back onto the car. Low priced, strong and easy to use...I don't know what more I could ask for.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Soflacpl
Treasure Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
It works, it really works (I did have my doubts!).
6/25/2010

Customer review by BargainHunter2000

5.0 stars 6/25/2010 by BargainHunter2000
by BargainHunter2000

Well, what can I say, I ordered this bike carrier not being entirely sure how the thing could possibly work or how secure it would be. I was pleasantly surprised. I have to say I had to read the instructions a few times and turn the diagram three ways before I figured it out, but once you get it, it's simple. The metal hooks slide in between your trunk door and the car frame, you settle the rubber base on the car and then attach the hooks under the car (make sure you find something metal, not the fibreglass body of your car, it's not strong enough). Tighten the straps, attach the bikes, biggest one first, gears facing outwards. Nothing to it. We have had this thing on an Escape / Mariner and a PT Cruiser. Honestly, it's easier to attach to the Cruiser for me, but that could be a height thing or lack of it on my part, and I did struggle to find something to attach it to underneath the Escape. Holds 2 full size bikes easily, rides well and if the straps are tight and you reverse your handlebar / wheel (turn it 180 so it's opposite to normal) nothing bangs around on the car frame either. Well worth the money, since a tow bar was going to cost me $300 without even buying the bike part too!

Was this review helpful? (63) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BargainHunter2000
Alexandria, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good bike rack for the money
7/9/2012

Customer review by disneyr

4.0 stars 7/9/2012 by disneyr
by disneyr

I have used this several times in the last few weeks to transport 2 and 3 bikes on the back of my mid-sized sedan. It folds flat with no assembly required and since it is flat I just store it in the trunk. It is a little tight with three bikes on it but one of the bikes is a child's bike so it works. I would get the 3-bike carrier even if you plan on carrying 2 bikes. It performs as advertised and I had no trouble with it. Be sure to follow instructions and clean the pads well where it contacts the trunk. I use small pieces of cloth under the clips that go on the seam of the trunk. Use bungee cords with metal hooks on the end to secure your bike tires to the carrier and bike frame to keep the wheels from spinning. Best to turn your front wheel in a reverse position backward then secure it with a bungee cord through the wheel around the carrier and through the frame of the bike.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
disneyr
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
nice rack!
4/10/2010

Customer review by cinnagirl1

4.0 stars 4/10/2010 by cinnagirl1
by cinnagirl1

Good value. Sturdier than you'd expect for 50 dollars. Not everyone wants a hitch mount, this fits the bill. Works on a variety of vehicle types. Easy to set up.

Was this review helpful? (71) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cinnagirl1
WA State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Product
3/16/2010

Customer review by Evas1ve

5.0 stars 3/16/2010 by Evas1ve
by Evas1ve

Works right out of the box. In the two weeks I have had this product, I have used it on a 06 Civic coupe, 97 Civic coupe, and a 4door 97 Camry. Its harder to use because we have two 24" youth mountain bikes with the 3" or 4" frame and they don't extand accross the arms so they must be slid onto the arms via a small gap between the seat and the frame, tight fit but the straps rap great around the frame. Sometimes it takes a few minutes other times up to 20 or so minutes to place all three bikes.

Was this review helpful? (40) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Evas1ve
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Don't buy!!!!!
4/11/2011

Customer review by Hammbone77

1.0 stars 4/11/2011 by Hammbone77
by Hammbone77

Bought this trying to save a little money....Ended up taking it back and getting the $60 2 bike carrier which is a much better product. With this one, I only used it one time and that was one time too many. Got about 1/4 mile down the road and the little arms that hold the rack together popped out. Ended up dragging my bike down the road until I could get pulled over. It was on a smooth road and I was only doing about 30 or 35 mph. Had 2 bikes on it that were well below the 100lb weight limit on this.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hammbone77
Columbia SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
wasn't supposed to fit my car but works great!
6/17/2011

Customer review by biknmom

4.0 stars 6/17/2011 by biknmom
by biknmom

I gave it four stars simply because it said it would fit on most cars, vans, SUV's. I drive a Chevy suburban and thought it was common enough that it should fit. Once I got the rack of course it listed suburban as on of the vehicles that this rack would not work for. Wish I had know that before ordering. Disappointed and a bit determined I tried anyway. I have the Z71 package suburban that has a rack on the roof that comes all the way to the rear of the vehicle so even though I can't hook the rack to the top of the rear door, It hooks very well on this rack. It sits nicely on the rear door and is very sturdy. It is fairly simple to install and remove and easy to get the bikes on and off. I was a bit bugged that there is no way to secure your wheels to keep them from turning or spinning which happens especially when only one bike is on. I was able to fix that with a long velcro strap that I hook through my tire and then the bike rack. All in all a good rack for the money. Even if it wasn't meant for my car.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
biknmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic Product with a Great Price
6/9/2010

Customer review by HYofLA

5.0 stars 6/9/2010 by HYofLA
by HYofLA

I used this Allen Deluxe 3-bikes rack with my 2006 Nissan Murano for 2 bikes and it was solid beyond my expectation! I put on two steel (heavy!) mountain bikes and drove on the freeway for 2+ hours and the rack held everything tightly with no issue. Putting the bike rack on correctly does have a slight learning curve. If not done correctly (like my first time), the bike will move quite a bit. But once you learn to fasten the straps correctly, the rack is as solid as a rock. Please note that stacking bikes on this rack may be tricky if your bikes have different frames (male/triangle-frame vs female/V-frame). While not necessary, I had a much easier time after I took off the front wheel from one of my bike. Don't worry about the lack of the side straps (like the Thule rack). My bikes didn't move at all during the drive. At half the price of similar trunk bike racks, this is a no-brainer of a purchase! Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HYofLA
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Bike Carrier and Great Price
5/9/2012

Customer review by bricekolob

5.0 stars 5/9/2012 by bricekolob
by bricekolob

After reading several reviews on this (both on here and other websites) I was a little afraid to purchase it. Me and my wife had just bought some nice Specialized Expedition bikes and did not want them falling off the car. So nervously I put just my bike on and drove it up to the bike shop and drove it back home. Everything went perfectly. I did not need ANYTHING to secure it or keep it from damaging my car (1999 olds alero). So, decided to take it to a local bike trail. Had to go 45 mph and over several rail road tracks. Made it there and back, NO PROBLEMS! I don't know why people had problems. I am guessing they did not follow instructions. This works perfectly. could not be more happy. Not sure I would take this on the freeway. But I would not use ANY trunk rack on the freeway. Easy to install and comes ready in the package. The only thing that makes me mad is my local walmart stocks this carrier. They wanted to charge me 50.00 for it. If I bought it online at walmart.com, I got free shipping to store and it cost me 40.00 Made NO SENSE. But oh well.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bricekolob
UTAH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Rock SOLID
6/20/2011

Customer review by SingleTrackChuck

5.0 stars 6/20/2011 by SingleTrackChuck
by SingleTrackChuck

Came out of the box fully assembled. Super easy to set up and install, and fits my family's mountain bikes. I'm really impressed with the simple design and the quality. So far I have used it for a bunch of short and two long (200+ mile) road trips. Overall I am extremely happy with this product.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SingleTrackChuck
SoCal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Do NOT buy if you have a spoiler
6/9/2010

Customer review by Radius360

3.0 stars 6/9/2010 by Radius360
by Radius360

It would have been nice if there was a warning telling people that this will not work with any car that has a rear spoiler. I have a 1998 Mustang and this thing doesn't fit at all. It doesn't tell you that until you have the product in hand.

Was this review helpful? (22) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Radius360
Sherman Oaks
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Outstanding Bike Carrier
1/21/2011

Customer review by PathfinderoftheUSA

5.0 stars 1/21/2011 by PathfinderoftheUSA
by PathfinderoftheUSA

This carrier went from southern Florida to northern Illinois with no adjustments needed and no problems. We had it on a Nissan SUV.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PathfinderoftheUSA
Rockford,Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Must Buy
2/27/2010

Customer review by pickletpickletons

5.0 stars 2/27/2010 by pickletpickletons
by pickletpickletons

I am new to biking and I was not wanting to spend a lot of money on a bike carrier since I will only be riding recreationally and probably not as often as I would like. I am very pleased with this product. It was already assembled and very easy to mount on the back of my car. I put my bike on it and away I went. Guess what? The bike didn't fall off. If your looking for a great inexpensive reliable bike carrier, this is the one to get.

Was this review helpful? (38) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pickletpickletons
Cumming, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Cheap and Functional
12/5/2010

Customer review by BenHMin

4.0 stars 12/5/2010 by BenHMin
by BenHMin

Pros: this rack attaches easily to a wide variety of vehicles (Wal-Mart should put the list of supported vehicles on the product page) and can support 2 bikes quite easily. Seems to have solid construction and it was very affordable. Cons: don't expect to hold 3 bikes on this thing. also there is little to help you keep the bike's wheels/pedals from flying around and banging. You'll have to make your own accommodations.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BenHMin
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
nice rack!
3/16/2013

Customer review by cbbutler72

5.0 stars 3/16/2013 by cbbutler72
by cbbutler72
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have never owned or used a bike rack before. My kids recently got bikes and love to ride, so I got one for myself. Setup was easy, and the instructions were clear. First use was a 115 mile ride to Grandma's to show off. I was glued to the rearview mirror nearly the whole trip but all was perfectly fine. My bike has a larger frame but it didn't seem to be a problem. Put a girls 20' bike on first, then my 26' bike, then my son's 20' bike (alternating direction of bikes per instruction), all was well and secure during both trips. Short trips to biking paths nearby shouldn't be a problem. Oh - I put a gardening work glove on the pedal closest to the car...not a scratch anywhere. As long as you aren't driving like a maniac everything should be fine- even at 80 miles per hour on a highway.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cbbutler72
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 213 total reviews
1-20 of 213 reviews