Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 69 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

69 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

69 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
11
1-20 of 48 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews
MuchBetterThanExpected
2/6/2010

Customer review by Gma09

5.0 stars 2/6/2010 by Gma09
by Gma09

I had missed the government coupon period and had recently borrowed a magnavox converter from a relative. My picture quality was very poor. Wanting to return the borrowed converter, I started checking stores and discovered my local Wal-mart had none in stock. I checked online and found site to store had this product. I picked it up, plugged it in and was immediatley impressed with the crystal clear picture both satellite and local stations. I feel it is excellent quality for the price. I would definitely recommend this product. It came with a universal remote, very useful.

Was this review helpful? (62) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gma09
Columbia City, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Poor product
1/6/2010

Customer review by butterscotchcountry

1.0 stars 1/6/2010 by butterscotchcountry
by butterscotchcountry

I ordered this product as I needed a 3rd HDTV converter box. I assumed they all were equal in performance. I assumed wrong. My previous 2 converter boxes worked fine with an inside antenna. I had to purchase a more expensive inside antenna for this product to work. I tried this product on 3 different TV's with the antennas that worked with those TV's. It was definitely the product as I also switched around my previous converter boxes to rule out other possibilities. This product is a VERY POOR product. SKIP this brand and get something else.

Was this review helpful? (35) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
butterscotchcountry
Joplin, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Get you by til you can buy a new TV
1/25/2010

Customer review by Jdez

4.0 stars 1/25/2010 by Jdez
by Jdez

This product is very hard to figure out how to use. On the box it says that it can not be used with satellite like Directv or Dish Network. We have Directv. We hooked it up anyway and it works fine but we have to unplug all of our other gadgets and use just this converter and some rabbit ears. It has very clear reception but like any digital transmission, it gets stuck and breaks up every now and then. I would recommend that you buy this if you can not afford to go out and buy a new tv and you want to watch local network channels.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jdez
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1/15/2010

Customer review by JohnettaP

4.0 stars 1/15/2010 by JohnettaP
by JohnettaP

I enjoy this product but to get the best display from your TV you need to purchase a good antanne. The old ones do not work as well.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnettaP
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Ok, when it was working
12/25/2009

Customer review by SirKen

1.0 stars 12/25/2009 by SirKen
by SirKen

Worked great for just short of 24 hours. This thing was so hot when plugged in that you couldn't even touch it. It did its job and I got all the channels I was supposed to get, crystal clear. I just assume that it burned up because it stopped working while watching tv the following day. Luckily, I can just return it to the local store. Unfortunately, they don't even carry these things in the store so I'll be ordering the other one that is on the Walmart site.

Was this review helpful? (11) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SirKen
Would recommend to a friend? No
disappointment
1/15/2010

Customer review by noTVnow

1.0 stars 1/15/2010 by noTVnow
by noTVnow

This converter box was a huge disappointment. The remote control was totally messed up. The buttons did not function as they should. Additionally there was a constant buzz.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
noTVnow
Gainesville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
6/25/2010

Customer review by MissKitty8

1.0 stars 6/25/2010 by MissKitty8
by MissKitty8

The product is not working and I have tried numerous times to contact AccessHD - either by phone or email and have not received any responses from them. Needless to say, I am not a satisfied customer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissKitty8
Twin Falls ID
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
cheaper than a new TV
12/31/2009

Customer review by dbnuke

4.0 stars 12/31/2009 by dbnuke
by dbnuke

Easy to setup an use. I particularly like having a universal remote to save on the hassle of multiple remote controls. It doesn't pick up all the channels that my other units do, but this may be an issue with the antenna connection to this room. Overall a good product and small footprint.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dbnuke
Oak Harbor, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good for a few channels
1/12/2010

Customer review by electronics4me

4.0 stars 1/12/2010 by electronics4me
by electronics4me

So far I like the converter box alright. I canceled my 20 channels of cable because they kept raising their prices, so I figured I could buy the converter box, watch the same channels and not have to pay for it every month. It works alright, but you do get weird channels. The biggest complaint I have is that you cannot set it up with your VCR to record very easily because you are receiving a digital signal for the converter box and the VCR works based off of an analog signal. All in all I think it is a good option if you are looking for basic channels only.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
electronics4me
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy setup
12/29/2009

Customer review by tobuyornot2buy

4.0 stars 12/29/2009 by tobuyornot2buy
by tobuyornot2buy

This was easy to setup, I bought 2 for my boys rooms. I haven't programmed the universal remote for the tv's and dvd player yet, but I do hope it will just as easy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tobuyornot2buy
AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not that bad
7/1/2010

Customer review by NEwWen

4.0 stars 7/1/2010 by NEwWen
by NEwWen

This product was simple to set up. It has been at least a month since I bought it and I am happy about the whole experience from ordering to recieving to using the product. The only problem I have, and it is not a big problem at all, is it takes a long time to turn on. The light on the product is red, then fade red, then fade green, then solid green and the product is in function. Sorta annoying when you are watching soccer and you by accident turn off the system by sitting on the remote. LOL!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NEwWen
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Waste of money and time
6/14/2010

Customer review by dontwanttogivename

1.0 stars 6/14/2010 by dontwanttogivename
by dontwanttogivename

This box is so small that it probably doesn't have any fan at all. If it does have a fan it must be very small. It was always very hot when it was being used. Otherwise it worked fine for three weeks but then there was no more picture on any channel. Just wavy lines and straight lines, some color and some black and white. Still had sound on every channel. Manufacturer is to blame for poor quality, not Wal-Mart. I took it back to the store and got a full refund.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dontwanttogivename
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Product
7/20/2010

Customer review by noone2010

4.0 stars 7/20/2010 by noone2010
by noone2010

The product is fine but the directions confusing and disorganized. Had to go back and forth between the directions for the remote and the product. Called the help number day one as did not get a picture, had to leave a message with product number and serial and would be called back. Was never called back. Called again next day and after fifteen minutes it hung up on me. Finally got it going but get someone to help as the company will not.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
noone2010
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Not Worth the Money
6/10/2010

Customer review by Stevestone624

1.0 stars 6/10/2010 by Stevestone624
by Stevestone624

This product did not work very well at all, not only is it not receive channels properly it has a terrible remote, that I have to always turn the Unit "On" and "Off" by using the button on the front of it, rather then the Remote. It didn't track into but 10% of my normal TV channels, my other Analog/Digital one's I had purchased work perfectly. Sadly this product isn't worth the $45 I paid for it at all.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stevestone624
Denver, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not sure if they're all like this...
6/26/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 6/26/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Or just the one my mother got. You definitely need to use an outdoor antenna with the longest UHF range you can afford. The converter box is slow to power on. It's extremely slow to tune from one channel to the next whether you use the remote or if you hit the buttons by hand. It's really lightweight, you have to hold it with one hand while you push the buttons to keep it from falling off your TV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Saltillo, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Needs more to work
6/12/2010

Customer review by WillItDo

2.0 stars 6/12/2010 by WillItDo
by WillItDo

This product is not bad.It is compact,easy to setup and use but the information that's not given is that you need to buy an antenna. The unit and the remote that comes with it is both simple and easy to use which makes my husband extremely happy. So I would recommend this product to those who are electronically challenged or those that don't have time for setups.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WillItDo
Danville,Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't buy Access HD
7/8/2010

Customer review by MustangGT30

1.0 stars 7/8/2010 by MustangGT30
by MustangGT30

Installed converter box right when I got it. Converter box would only work half of the time with the remote. I also put in different batteries in the remote. I tried to rescan with a different antenna to get better reception but then could not find the menu spot to rescan. After 30 min., I gave up and packed it in the box to return to the store.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MustangGT30
Little Canada, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy to set up
7/7/2010

Customer review by ChristofProbst

4.0 stars 7/7/2010 by ChristofProbst
by ChristofProbst

The converter searched for available broadcast stations and identified more than I thought were available in my area. If a signal loses strength a message appears on-screen; otherwise the content is displayed. The universal remote was easy to set up for my TV, although my VCR/DVD combo was not on the list. Great value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChristofProbst
Okmulgee, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good product
7/14/2010

Customer review by ycruz

4.0 stars 7/14/2010 by ycruz
by ycruz

I bought this for an analog tv in my basement. I have an antenna for the tv in the window of the basement to get a better signal. Depending on the weather the I can get reception. Only down fall. I have to move the cords to watch movies, and move them back to watch tv. Very easy set up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ycruz
Pueblo, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Better than some of the others
1/9/2010

Customer review by centxshopper

5.0 stars 1/9/2010 by centxshopper
by centxshopper

I bought this because it had a universal remote. I am using it with a so-called RCA hdtv (a 32' inch flat screen I purchased at Walmart 1.5 years ago) that has a tuner that is too weak. The antennae I use is a RCA Digital Flat Passive Antenna. I now have a picture.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
centxshopper
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews