Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 78 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

78 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

78 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
51
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
9
1-20 of 61 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews
Stand is not Universal for all Umbrellas
4/25/2011

Customer review by KJanuaryFebMarchApril

5.0 stars 4/25/2011 by KJanuaryFebMarchApril
by KJanuaryFebMarchApril

I thought that this stand would fit all umbrellas because it has a picture of the stand with an adjustment screw. Well, the screw doesn’t go all the way through the plastic, so if your umbrella is just a slight smaller in circumference it leans over just like the leaning tower of Pisa. Otherwise the stand is beautiful and very heavy, so it's not going anywhere in the wind. I'm now looking for some type of adaptor or coupling that will hold my umbrella upright in the stand.

Was this review helpful? (30) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KJanuaryFebMarchApril
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product
6/7/2010

Customer review by MCLTA

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by MCLTA
by MCLTA

This is an excellent product for the money. Very sturdy, well built, and easy to assemble. The Ship to Store was easy and efficient and it arrived sooner than expected.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MCLTA
Lincoln, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent if Prepared Well for Use
3/10/2014

Customer review by rcalzadilla

5.0 stars 3/10/2014 by rcalzadilla
by rcalzadilla

Just got this beautiful base but in three weeks and a little rain it began to rust here and there. Rusts wherever the paint has chipped. Rusts at the botton of the vertical tube. This is made of iron and it will rust like crazy if you don't do something about it when new. You must paint it with a good Rust-Oleum spray paint top and bottom. Take special care to paitn the "vertical" tube, inside and out. Also at the base cavity as this is where water will accumulate and rust! Must make the rain water drain from the base's cavity. I easily drilled four 3/16" holes and painted again, trying to get the paint inside these new holes. The base is a perfect fit for 1-1/2" umbrella pole, which seems to be the most common size. I expect to re-paint it again in the future.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rcalzadilla
Miami, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Umbrella Base
6/1/2010

Customer review by DCMomofGirls

4.0 stars 6/1/2010 by DCMomofGirls
by DCMomofGirls

Very heavy umbrella base and went well with a large umbrella that I had with a previous table and didn't want to get rid of. I liked the style of the base and it matches all of my patio furniture.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DCMomofGirls
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good Sturdy Umbrella Stand
7/17/2012

Customer review by SuburbanSally

4.0 stars 7/17/2012 by SuburbanSally
by SuburbanSally

The umbrella stand is good and sturdy. After reading all of the reviews, I decided to purchase this one for my new patio. It was recommended that for a 40 inch table you needed a stand that could hold 50 lbs. This was listed as doing the job! When it arrived I was very happy with the style, weight and little Better Homes and Gardens plaque. One thing kept me from giving the stand an excellent rating was the fact that the paint was missing in a couple of spots and rust had started when I took it out of the box. I had to sand the spots myself and decided to spray paint the whole thing over again in a black shiny paint. It looks fabulous. I feel they need a little better quality control before they send out their products, especially with the Better Homes and Gardens reputation.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SuburbanSally
South Hamilton, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not so good
5/4/2010

Customer review by BishopTKE

1.0 stars 5/4/2010 by BishopTKE
by BishopTKE

The design of the pipe or umbrella pole assembly is poor, held together by one bolt and visually one can see that it is not perpendicular to the base. In addition, the wieght of the unit it to light and a gust of wind will move the umbrella and base. There is no way to attach or add additional wieght to the abse unit.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BishopTKE
Phx, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
5/9/2011

Customer review by southernmissjenny

5.0 stars 5/9/2011 by southernmissjenny
by southernmissjenny

easy to assemble and your able to tighten the grip its got on the umbrella

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
southernmissjenny
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Buyer beware
6/7/2014

Customer review by Zinfiir

4.0 stars 6/7/2014 by Zinfiir
by Zinfiir

The product description does NOT indicate this, but the instructions in the box are very clear, this is NOT a stand-alone umbrella base. It MUST be used in conjunction with a table. We don't have space for a table in the location we were planning on placing the umbrella, and thus back to the store it goes.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zinfiir
Mt Pleasant PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great looking stand for lightweight umbrellas
8/20/2012

Customer review by FolsomGal

4.0 stars 8/20/2012 by FolsomGal
by FolsomGal

Very attractive and easy to assemble. One of the prettiest stands I've seen. Using for a 9' aluminum pole umbrella in a stand-alone location; not in a table. Won't stay up in strong gusts of wind, but just keep umbrella closed when its windy :-) Or use in a patio table. On the positive side, it's not so big and heavy that its unmanageable to move. A great choice for your lightweight umbrellas that you open when needed and leave closed when you don't, or in a table. In a table it's small enough to not be in the way.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FolsomGal
Folsom, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/13/2013

Customer review by Sweltering

1.0 stars 5/13/2013 by Sweltering
by Sweltering

I was initially pleased with this patio umbrella stand, but was disappointed when I got it all unpacked. NOWHERE in the specs does it tell U that it should not be "free-standing" and must be used with a table!! The cylinder for the umbrella pole was way too BIG for the umbrella that had also been purchased at Walmart. The adjustment screw was too short and unable to make contact with the pole to secure it in the cylinder. The only thing that worked well was the ordering on-line and returning it to the store. Still Looking for a stand............

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sweltering
Frsno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Rusted.
5/8/2014

Customer review by WalkByFaith35

1.0 stars 5/8/2014 by WalkByFaith35
by WalkByFaith35

Looked great until it rained. The next day it was rusty.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalkByFaith35
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
BEST product ever!!!
5/11/2014

Customer review by patiowoman

5.0 stars 5/11/2014 by patiowoman
by patiowoman

Assuming I could afford it, I'd buy each of my friends one of these!!! This cast iron base has the durability to last the next 100 years! Given that you had any weather fade or rust spots, touch up would be a breeze with some spray paint! When I received this product, I just fell in love with it! I was pleasantly surprised with the QUALITY and weight of this product! It's the best deal I've ever found on walmart.com for the money, and I HIGHLY recommend it if you are in search of beauty, quality and sustainable durability in an umbrella stand!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
patiowoman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great stand - great price!
6/16/2014

Customer review by PhillyDiane

5.0 stars 6/16/2014 by PhillyDiane
by PhillyDiane

Had to return first one, arrived broken, got the 2nd one and it's doing its job. No rust, holds our 7.5" umbrella in place with no problem. I Highly recommend this stand. Good product for a good price

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PhillyDiane
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
i like the looks of the stand
7/12/2011

Customer review by sailor60

2.0 stars 7/12/2011 by sailor60
by sailor60

The hole in the bottom of the stand did not match up with the hole in the pole holder. I had to take it to a machine shop and have the hole bored out and had to use a larger washer. This cost me extra money, but I didn't want to wait to return it and wait for another stand to come back. It's hot and sunny out and I waited long enough. I like the stand as a whole,but the quality control is lacking supervision.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sailor60
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
product unusable because bolt hole was off center
5/31/2014

Customer review by tenniswarrior

1.0 stars 5/31/2014 by tenniswarrior
by tenniswarrior

Although this product was well reviewed, we received a stand which should have never left the factory! The hole in the base was 1/4 inch off center thereby making it impossible to screw in the bolt that holds the securing tube for the umbrella. Where is the quality control for these products! We wasted several hours picking up our purchase, trying to assemble it, and then returning to the store to return the product!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tenniswarrior
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Metal Umbrella Base
6/27/2011

Customer review by 007mytam

5.0 stars 6/27/2011 by 007mytam
by 007mytam

It's worth the money and is metal not plastic or other materials. Was better than I expected for the money spent. During shipping the box rubbed a whole at the top of the box and when opening the finish was down to raw metal. Due to circumstances I decided not to take it back and now the top of the base, the raw metal has turned to rust. When this arrived seems walmart would have replaced it due to shipping damage when it was clearly visible. The associate responded to my concerns this is normal due to the heavy base which I should have refused it then.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
007mytam
St.Louis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/27/2011

Customer review by geewhizzzkris

2.0 stars 6/27/2011 by geewhizzzkris
by geewhizzzkris

It is such a nice heavy duty umbrella base...too bad the paint job is horrible...it should of had two coats cause you can see an orangish color through the brown...wonder if they'll send me a touchup paint??? Cause if I would have seen this in the store, I would never had bought it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
geewhizzzkris
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awesome product milled poorly
6/6/2014

Customer review by glitter8

1.0 stars 6/6/2014 by glitter8
by glitter8

We received our umbrella stand so quick. I was excited! It looked wonderful, had good weight to hold umbrella. Was cheaper than Home Depot or Target umbrella stands and nicer than other in-store items. The problem was that the hole milled in the iron disk was off-center so when we finally worked the sleeve around enough for the screw to connect the parts, it leaned and so did the umbrella when placed inside. Had to return. The local Walmart store took return pleasantly and gave full refund, no problem. I just felt cheated because I paid for the shipping and it wasn't my fault that they sent a defective product so why should I pay anything for it?

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
glitter8
Orange, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Umbrella Base
6/8/2010

Customer review by happyddb

4.0 stars 6/8/2010 by happyddb
by happyddb

It is great for the size of the umbrella. However, it is a little too large for the bistro set that I purchased it for. It is a bit wider than the legs of the bistro set. I had another bistro set that is a little larger that I can use it with instead.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happyddb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Umbrella BASE for my table.
6/27/2011

Customer review by TechDad101

5.0 stars 6/27/2011 by TechDad101
by TechDad101

This base works like a charm for my umbrella. Your umbrella will NOT tip over when connected through your table. I do suggest as with any umbrella is that you close it during a windy storm or when not in use for a long peroid of time. I installed it over a month ago and haven't found any issues. It took less than 5 minutes to install.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TechDad101
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews