Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 53 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

53 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

53 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
36
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 52 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews
Great Value for the DJ Hobbyist who want the real feel of vi
1/1/2012

Customer review by jaketheman

4.0 stars 1/1/2012 by jaketheman
by jaketheman

Started back DJing after several long years away from the craft. Decided to go with a controller instead of a pair of turntables; paying 500+ for a pair of 1200's is out the question. And I have a limited record collection. I read about the AT LP120 was impressed by it's appearance and the reviews. I had to see for myself, I already had a Technics SL-D2. Order one Audio Technica LP120. Un-boxed it and was very impressed. It's heavy which gave me confidence that it's sturdy. I am using a the VMS4 with VDJ 7 Pro, I setup and configured timecoding. And bingo, I have the option to use the tracks on my PC and my vinyl collection. I definitely going to a second AT LP120 in a few weeks. Thanks Audio Technica. I do have one suggest, make some in a dark blue or black.

jaketheman
New Jersey, USA
Excellent quality and performance - great product
11/6/2014

Customer review by AudioNeophyte

5.0 stars 11/6/2014 by AudioNeophyte
by AudioNeophyte
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was a first-time purchase of a professional quality turntable. Initially, I bought this turntable from a well-known major online merchant. The product sent to me was broken and not operating - obviously a previous customer return that had not been repaired and was just turned around and sent to me. The turntable purchased from Walmart was a bit more expensive, but was received in absolutely perfect condition. Once assembled (the instruction manual is very clear), the product functions perfectly - as I expected. Buyers should be aware, however, that the tone arm cartridge supplied with the turntable is not intended for 78 RPM records. Another head/cartridge, at additional expense, is recommended. Also, the Audacity software supplied takes some trial and error to completely understand how to convert audio to digital and burn the results to CD. Other than that, this is a great value for the money. I would certainly recommend it (and Walmart) to others, including audio neophytes like me.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AudioNeophyte
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This turntable is the bomb diggity!! Love it!
7/19/2016

Customer review by Heather the Music Lover

5.0 stars 7/19/2016 by Heather the Music Lover
by Heather the Music Lover

I use this to play my vintage albums, new albums, and ones recorded from master tapes at half speed.

Heather the Music Lover
Wild and Wonderful West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ITS NOT ACTUALLY PURPLE
12/12/2013

Customer review by audioguy1990

5.0 stars 12/12/2013 by audioguy1990
by audioguy1990
Walmart associate

as i suspected its not actually purple. went to the main audio technica website and there are no turntables with purple covers, thankfully it is clear like the rest of their products the price was good for me so i put in an order. this is my first turntable and first time spinning vinyl, i am very pleased with the sound quality. both channels are working. i saw in other reviews that this was a problem. it was well packaged and arrived to my house with out a scratch on it. this thing is built like a tank. very solid construction and good design, easy to use, wish it had an auto return feature. but other than that its good all the way, i highly recommend it. thanks Walmart for carrying a good product.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
audioguy1990
louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Audio Technica Turntable
5/14/2016

Customer review by Tony

5.0 stars 5/14/2016 by Tony
by Tony

Having owned this model turntable for many years I decided to give one to my Granddaughter as she has recently got into collecting Vinyl discs. The unit both looks great & performs great. It is robustly made but because a turntable is inherently a fine mechanism one must treat this unit with care if you want to get the best life from your discs. The instructions to level & weight the tone arm are easy to follow but it is essential to do it correctly to produce the least wear on your discs. All the features work as described & are like the quality of a fine watch. If you want to copy your Vinyl discs onto CDs this unit includes the software to enable you to use your computer to burn CDs, & if you just want to listen to good music reproduction this is the right tool for the job & at a reasonable price. This unit also has a direct drive motor as against a belt drive & some people claim that the direct drive motor can transmit noise, but I personally like the direct drive & I have not been aware of any transmitted noise. All in all I believe this is an excellent quality turntable that will give you years of faithful music reproduction.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tony
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding Turntable; Best Bang for Your Buck!
5/12/2016

Customer review by Topo

5.0 stars 5/12/2016 by Topo
by Topo

There are sooooo many internet reviews of this turntable, it's probably impossible to add something someone else hasn't already written. That being said, in my every-man opinion I think this is the BEST turntable out there for the money. It sounds great, looks good, and it's not too expensive. After receiving this, I unboxed it and had it thrown together within just a few minutes. Admittedly, I've never setup an adjustable tonearm, so after 5 minutes at You Tube I was all set! My previous turntable was fully automatic, so there was small period of getting used to lifting the needle and stopping the platter manually. I will say this to the great people at Audio-Technica; while I think this looks good, I do think AT could take this model a step in another direction. Do we really need +/- pitch adjust, pitch lock, or even USB? I think most listeners that aren't DJ'ing seriously don't need these options. I think AT should flesh a new model out of this thing, remove the aforementioned features, replace the silver/black deck with some nice stained wood, and kill the cheapish built-in RCA cables for just straight gold-plated inputs. What a great model that would be! AT, are you listening? I'll even offer to test-drive a model like this ;)

Topo
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent turn table.
3/16/2014

Customer review by MaxThePak

5.0 stars 3/16/2014 by MaxThePak
by MaxThePak
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a Technics SL-1300, the only improvement I would have liked to see would be an automatic arm return after an album is done playing with automatic shut off. Other then that This is an Excellent turn table and at a great price. No complaints here. Would recommend this to any record enthusiast. I have a collection that dates back to 50 years of collecting, a lot of the early rock & roll from the 50's thru the 60',70's right up to today. I have no problem with this product. Easy set up, anyone can do it. Buy it, you won't be sorry.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MaxThePak
Broadview Hts, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Solid turntable for the money
12/30/2013

Customer review by BillH22

5.0 stars 12/30/2013 by BillH22
by BillH22
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you want to buy a Technics quality turntable at a fraction of the price, this is it. This turntable is very solidly made and is direct drive. Plays well and has ability to play 33, 45 and 78s. My only negative is that it is not fully automatic.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BillH22
Studio City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
New to vinyl and I love it.
5/12/2016

Customer review by Frank

5.0 stars 5/12/2016 by Frank
by Frank

I am new to vinyl. I love this turntable. It is built like a tank and I can tell it will last a long time.

Frank
Lisle,il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
"Line" setting vs "Phono" setting
3/24/2016

Customer review by Sonic Archives

1.0 stars 3/24/2016 by Sonic Archives
by Sonic Archives

[One star, because I only purchased the unit recently, and have not had enough time to really put it to the test, but I was not allowed to post anything without choosing a star rating, and I personally think star rating are useless. So, the one star was for their insistence on that, and nothing to do with the turntable. I might be likely to rate the turntable *after* I've lived with it a while, and can speak to actual pros and cons.] I'm curious how many users have found that the "Line" setting provides a cleaner signal than the "Phono" setting? I have three receiver/amplifiers, two of which are identical, and have phono input jacks with a ground terminal. When connecting the LP-120 to the phono inputs, with the the turntable switched to "Phono", a nasty buzz is present. When connecting the turntable to any outputs on any of my receivers, with the switch set to "Line", the signal is clean. So.... is this something that other users have experienced? Additionally, the turntable provides a clean signal when switched to "Line", and connected via USB to any of our computers, and also to powered monitor speakers in the studio. This makes me curious about the built-in pre-amp, and why the "Phono" setting creates a buzz when connected to receivers which are designed for phono inputs?

Sonic Archives
Hilsboro, OR
GET IT!!!!!
9/10/2014

Customer review by midnitevinyl

5.0 stars 9/10/2014 by midnitevinyl
by midnitevinyl

It's way better than the LP60 or any cheap turntable like a crosley. To some people it might be a bit pricey but it is worth it! TWO THUMBS UP!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
midnitevinyl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great if it works
3/9/2016

Customer review by WB

3.0 stars 3/9/2016 by WB
by WB

She it is working it is a great turntable form the price. However, had it for less than a year and the stylus skates across the record and skips despite setting the tracking force and anti skate exactly as directions describe. A quick Google search shows that this is a common issue. I realize that it isn't a top of the lone TT, but should still be able to do what it is designed for. Getting in touch with technical support is a nightmare because they never answer the phone and you have to leave a msg then sit around while they call you back. Despite 3 calls to them I still haven't talked to anyone.

WB
St Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
It's like a time machine!
2/6/2015

Customer review by MikeinChatsworth

5.0 stars 2/6/2015 by MikeinChatsworth
by MikeinChatsworth

Being somewhat older than dirt, I have over 400 LPs, collected since 1957. Most are of classical music, which means the unit must perform flawlessly and SILENTLY. This unit has given these back to me. I have no wish to dub them over onto CDs, as when I want to hear one, I'll just play it again on this. I have full-range surround speakers with 12" and 15" woofers, and a powerful receiver, so any rumble would shake the walls. The unit has none. The top-line cartridge with elliptical stylus extracts beautiful sound and seems to minimize most surface noise. I had no trouble setting it up, but it's my FIFTH turntable over the years, so I know how to do this. I also had trouble getting the unit to sit level on a custom made rack. It is very heavy toward the left front, and that spring foot completely collapsed and I had to shim it with an old cell phone battery to get the unit to sit level. Once I did this, it performed flawlessly. Bottom line is: It performs flawlessly and does exactly what I want it to do, which is play my treasured LPs with the best possible sound and no noise or problems.

MikeinChatsworth
Chatsworth, USA
Awesome turn table! Great delivery system.
1/24/2016

Customer review by Izeike

5.0 stars 1/24/2016 by Izeike
by Izeike

This is one solid turn table. I love the intrinsic quality. Nicely done. It is like driving a manual transmission Cadillac. It is hard to remember to be Johnny on the spot to return the arm to the lock position. I have grown accustomed to things being automatic. I love it. Audacity is a little challenging for initial set up. It works k s great when you get familiar with it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Izeike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Liked the first one so much I went out and bought a second!!
2/9/2016

Customer review by Electro Kaas

5.0 stars 2/9/2016 by Electro Kaas
by Electro Kaas

I've had my pair of PL-120 turntables for a few years now and my only complaint is that one both units the "START/STOP" switch had to be pressed a couple dozen times to get it working again. I'm an electronics broadcast engineer and I need to take it apart to see why this is happening but probably won't until it completely stops working. It almost feels as if grease in the switch (if any) is causing the problem. It is an annoying problem but probably isn't an issue if you use it at least once a month and don't let it sit idle for months at a time like I do.

Electro Kaas
Largo, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Fine Record Player
9/20/2013

Customer review by bosman752

5.0 stars 9/20/2013 by bosman752
by bosman752

I recently received my AT-LP120 a week ago and I have to say, I am impressed.This is my first "real" record player I've ever bought.There was some assembly, but no problem-setup is easy as long as you take your time and follow the instructions.I took my time setting up the tone arm, using the YouTube video regarding the subject.I have it set around 3.5 g counterweight/3.5 g anti-skate and have had no adverse effect.The sound quality is great, but the cartridge/stylus could be better.I'm planning on replacing it, but research first! I wasn't expecting it to be so heavy (around 24 lbs.), but this is good, as it provides a rock solid, level surface.The setup also comes with a variety of cables to suit your needs.I currently have it hooked to the Line-In on my Audigy 2 ZS Platinum sound card on my computer, as to record and archive the albums.I am still trying to figure out the Audacity software package that's included, but that's just the user.I definitely would recommend this turntable.I look forward to enjoying many years of enjoying my vinyl on the AT-LP120.Thanks to Audio Technica for producing a fine product!

bosman752
Madison, Nashville, TN, USA
I have the same problem. Turntable won't spin.
2/27/2016

Customer review by Marimue

2.0 stars 2/27/2016 by Marimue
by Marimue

Literally disappointed. Sounded great when it was working. Now seeing whether I keep pressing stop/ start if it will work. Everything else is on.

Marimue
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
First turntable; no regrets
1/29/2016

Customer review by Jesse

4.0 stars 1/29/2016 by Jesse
by Jesse

This is the first turntable I've ever owned, and I'm glad I did my research and went with this one. Sound quality is just fantastic, which is what you really want if you are buying a turntable. High, mid and bass ranges are all perfect. Led Zeppelin has never been more fun to listen to. For the first time, setup was a little intimidating, but that's probably more inexperience than the fault of the company. After it is set up, the controls are all simple enough to understand, and it's worth mentioning that the buttons are very satisfying to press. The lever to drop the stylus on the disc does so slowly, smoothly and carefully. I've owned the player for over half a year now I believe, and I really haven't noticed any decline in the quality of the stylus (with VERY heavy use, mind you.) The connections are great, the USB hookup is very convenient and I can use either that or the analog cables to run the sound through my computer. The whole turntable overall has a very professional look and feel, from the sleekness of it to the spindle stopping and starting on a dime. The only real drawback and the reason I will only rate this four stars, however, is because the platter is very slightly but noticeably warped. Strange for a company that seemingly makes very good equipment for them to skimp on the tolerances of the platter itself. As far as I know, however, this has not affected sound quality at all, and should no means turn you off from buying this turntable. It really is worth the price.

Jesse
Princeton, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best turntable I have ever bought!!
10/20/2011

Customer review by hotheosagpey

5.0 stars 10/20/2011 by hotheosagpey
by hotheosagpey

I have had two other turntables the first was an all in one unit that was relatively good but I wanted to be able to have more control over the records and I also wanted a unit I could use as a stereo component. The second one I bought was a nice unit until it broke the day the warranty expired. When I found the Audio-Technica AT-LP120-USB I fell in love with it. When I received it I new I had made a good choice. I have had no problems with it and the sound is great!! I defiantly will buy products from Audio-Technica again. They have wonderful costumer service and have answered all of my questions promptly and accurately. The only problem I had was when I had set up the turntable for the first time and had some dificulty balancing the tone arm but once I figured it out I have had no problems AT ALL. I love this turntable!!!!

hotheosagpey
Undisclosed
Not bad
3/12/2014

Customer review by Ultravox

4.0 stars 3/12/2014 by Ultravox
by Ultravox
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this turntable as a stop gap while my vintage Marantz is being repaired and am happy with it. Thankfully this turtable does not come with a purple dust cover - the dust cover is crystal clear - thank you. The turntable is good with good tone quality. I've experienced no problems with packaging or operating issues. It is a copy of the old Technics. I'm happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ultravox
Flower Mound, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews