Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 423 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

423 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

423 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
324
4 stars
54
3 stars
18
2 stars
15
1 stars
12
1-20 of 420 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 420 total reviews
1-20 of 420 reviews
Canon 7D
2/3/2015

Customer review by wildlifedigicam

4.0 stars 2/3/2015 by wildlifedigicam
by wildlifedigicam

I shot another brand forever. I was tired of the poor pictures on the sidelines of the high school football games. A Canon seemed to be a favorite of the photographers around me. I read that the 7D was the best choice in the mid price range to accomplish this task. I purchased the 7D. I soon found out that the kit lenses did not work for me on the sidelines. I invested in a faster f2.8 lens. After a year of shooting Friday night football with this new set up, I found that even though I was getting some ok pictures, most of them were very grainy or noisy under the poor lighting conditions at most high schools.. I still did not have the equipment to get quality shots at low light sports action. This prevented me from getting a part time job shooting sports for a website. The 7D is an excellent overall camera, but don't expect to get quality pictures at low light fast action sporting events. I am looking at the newer Canon 7D Mark ll. It just might be what I need to reach my goals.

wildlifedigicam
Bay Area, California
Solid camera, but won't work for me
5/29/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 5/29/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased one of these about 3 weeks ago and was not at all pleased with the metering inconsistancy in brightly lit scenes. So I returned it, got another and well...same problem. If you're just taking snapshots or family photos the camera is fantastic. It also works well in shaded scenes. But I sell thousands of pictures of kids playing youth sports. I didn't need a portrait camera...my 5D Mark II is perfect for that. I replaced my 40D simply looking for a little better performance in low light, but mostly for the extra FPS rate. The meter is terribly inconsistent in bright scenes.. I'm now going to end up replacing the 7D with a 50D. Wishing I hadn't sold my 40D already, but I've never experienced anything like this before. Normally a new product out erforms the old one. This one does, in most instances, but too many shots are unusable. I guess I should just suck it up and move up into the 1D Mark IV. You guys have got some work to do with that new metering system of yours.

An anonymous customer
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great new features
12/9/2009

Customer review by jundel75

3.0 stars 12/9/2009 by jundel75
by jundel75

I purchased the canon 7D as an upgrade from my 50D. I glad the put all the necessary features that makes it easy to use.the camera have a great design and feel.So far the issues I encountered might help others to check their 7D if they have the same issues with mine.I bought the 7D last week and i encounter some problems with the liveView mode on manual setting in certain light conditions.I can see 3 faded brown lines or shadows across the LCD while at video mode.it also moves from the bottom up.So i went back to the store and have it replaced. Now i have a new 7D on my hands and tested it on the same conditions i had before and guess what?! it happen again. Is this a batch problem with canon?i dont know? still trying to get some answers if this is a defective camera or what.I would still get this 7D.I want canon to resolve this issues. it also can be seen on myplayback,so I'm assuming it's the sensor.Somehow the flouriscent light in my room affects the sensor in manual setting in video mode.

jundel75
Jamaica,New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quality Build and Images
10/16/2010

Customer review by sierra-life

5.0 stars 10/16/2010 by sierra-life
by sierra-life

I had been running into more and more situations where clients had been yearning for slightly higher image output resolution than I was able to produce with my 40D. I was on the fence between the 7d and 5d but the 5d would have been an extra stretch financially at the moment. The biggest mental hurdle to jump with the 7d were the multitude of reviews I had read reaming the camera for soft images (possibly by other camera company employees?). I have all "L" glass and when combined with the 7d's ability to micro-adjust each lens specifically the result is tack sharp images. <br> <br> While I was making up my mind on updating to the 7d or 5d a client actually rented me a 1ds MKIII for a weekend shoot for some outdoor images they needed. I have a hunch I will really like the 5d as my next upgrade, but I actually enjoy shooting my 7d more than the I did the 1ds MKIII. Didn't have much time to get the 1ds dialed in, but I thought the images were a little too warm in comparison.

sierra-life
Sierra | Tahoe | Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Has Noise and Focus Issues
3/20/2012

Customer review by Joshua

2.0 stars 3/20/2012 by Joshua
by Joshua

I'm not sure why the 7D even bothers to go up to 6400 ISO (or 12800 ISO)...anything above 1600 ISO is typically useless when it comes to noise. Perhaps you'd get acceptable results cleaning up the noise with higher-end noise reduction software but with the included DPP software, reducing noise is mostly equivalent to introducing blurring - which is to say, not good. Considering the camera seems to have AF sharpness issues anyway, I find it hard to get tack sharp pictures even with a tripod. But back to ISO, at higher ISO's I've noticed "hot" runs of pixels running horizontally across the whole width of the sensor. Anyway, I noticed many reviews have claimed the battery life is a plus/pro. Coming from a rebel XSI, I find the 7D battery life to be astonishingly bad. I could go a week between charges on the XSI...the 7D leaves me charging after every photo shoot. This is with similar shooting situations. Overall not happy with the cost/performance on this camera. Who knows, perhaps I just got a bad body?

Joshua
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed purchase
5/27/2011

Customer review by JR

3.0 stars 5/27/2011 by JR
by JR

I purchased the Canon 7D in March to replace my 50D. I thought by waiting - most of the early criticisms would find their way into a bit bucket (fixed). My initial reaction was - wow! nice equipment. I looked at my first shots and again - wow! As I got more into this camera I started to compare against my 50D, my 30D and my 300D shots. I began to see some issues with soft focus, lack of detail, noise. I do shoot RAW so I am used to working the noise out but at ISO 200? I began to blame my lenses. I did microadjustments, I upgraded my processing software, I applied the latest firmware fix. I even bought a new lens. In the best conditions the camera takes a great photo, but let a little shadow or shade or distance come into the play - poor or mixed results. The main issue I have is the lack of consistancy. Good shot, bad shot, so-so shot, etc I have requested a authorization from Canon to repair the camera but I am not sure if I need to send my lenses as the ones that perform the poorest are L glass. Duh?

JR
San Antonio, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
A good choice
12/8/2009

Customer review by Syracuse

5.0 stars 12/8/2009 by Syracuse
by Syracuse

I'm been an avid amateur photographer for about 40 years and owned professional grade cameras (and did my own processing) back in the days of film, but entered the digital SLR market with the lower end Canon Rebel XT about 3 years ago. I decided to update and was trying to decide whether to go with a new version at the same level (Rebel T1i) or take a step up to the 7D. After considerable research and trying both cameras in the store, I decided to go for the 7D and have been very happy with the choice. The camera is well built, environmentally sealed and takes excellent photos. Although it has more features than my Rebel XT, it's actually easier to use due to improved layout of menus and controls, the larger LCD, and the ability to create your own menu with features that you use most. The only con is that it is larger and heavier than the Rebel, but the 7D still fits in my old walk about camera bag and the added weight is not noticeable when shooting. If you can afford it, I'd highly recommend the 7D

Syracuse
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Should I Buy This Camera?
9/11/2010

Customer review by PTNDSLR

5.0 stars 9/11/2010 by PTNDSLR
by PTNDSLR
Top 25 contributor

I think this question is one that most of us ask ourselves when considering a purchase of this magnitude. The question is not an easy one, and I'm not sure I made the correct decision in purchasing this marvelous piece of technology. Let me put it in perspective; I am a prosumer camera user. I love photography and take a variety of photographs including family pictures, sports photography (see photos at smugmug for gatorowl), and casual street photography. I have owned lots of cameras including film, digital P&S and DSLRs. The 7D is my sixth DSLR (including a DReb XSI that I sold after two weeks). Before the 7D, my main camera was a 40D, which I found to be satisfactory especially the image quality (IQ). The negatives of the 40D are lack of weather sealing, 6.5 frames per second (fps) repeat rate, 1600 ISO max (can be pushed higher) and some focusing issues especially in sports photography. Of course, when comparing with the the DReb series, these "negatives" immediately become positives. The 40D has better construction, much faster repeat rate, and much better focussing (the T1i has, arguably better high ISO capabilities). The 40D compares well with the Nikon D90. Both cameras are very close. The D90 has video, better high ISO performance, and is a little more compact. However, it is a little slower in repeat rate, and I found selecting D90 focus points a bit on the clumsy side. Anyway, because of lens choices, I decided to go Canon. The 50D held no allure mainly because it was an incremental improvement. So, I thought my kit was set for at least a couple of years. Notice that in the above discussion, I never talk about IQ. Of all the 10MP or better DSLRs that I have used, there is no noticeable difference in IQ. However, after the 7D announcement and some of the preliminary reviews, I was convinced that the 7D was a quantum improvement over the 40D in every respect. I panicked, sold my 40D and bought a 7D. So, what did I find? The 7D is a great camera and is a clear improvement over the 40D. In some respects, it is substantially better than a 40D, but IQ isn't one of those major improvements. If you look at your files at 100%-300%, you will see more detail in a 7D shot. I have a standard photo that I take in my office when I get a new lens. I had to blow the photos up to 300% before I could detect differences. There was more texture detail in the 7D and the contrast and saturation were better. However, to be honest, it's not clear how much of this difference is attributable to the camera or the lenses (I shot the 40D with a Sigma 70-300mm and the 7D with a Canon 70-300mm IS lens). Frankly, I'm not surprised. DSLRs are so good right now, differences in IQ at low ISO are marginal. However, I do feel confident that I can shoot at 1600 ISO or 2000 ISO with the 7D without a substantial reduction in quality. While I can control noise at 3200 ISO, color saturation and contrast decline more than I like. With the 40D 800 ISO was as far as I wanted to go, but I would push it to 1000 when desperate. The 7D provides is a major ISO gain. I really love the 7D focus system. I don't know if it is as good as the Canon 1D series, but it is so, so much better than the 40D. By focusing on the exact point in a field, I feel like my creative options are substantially expanded. I was frequently frustrated by having the wrong part of my picture in focus. This need never happen with the 7D. The 8fps repeat rate is a nice bonus. It just raises the probability that the exact frame you want will be captured. So, the question is should you upgrade? You have to decide whether you can afford it; so my advice assume that you can afford the camera, but are looking for the camera that best matches how you shoot. If this is your first SLR (film or digital): I'd recommend starting with a Canon T1i or Nikon 90D. The 7D is an extremely complex camera that will take many hours to learn and dozen of hours shooting to master. Unless you have the time to invest in such a camera it will just be a source of frustration. Unlike almost every other camera I've owned, the user will obtain disappointing or bad results unless s/he truly understands this equipment. By contrast, you can take other DSLRs and just start shooting. Unlike the other cameras, the 7D has no scene modes. With other DSLRs you can take your time and gradually learn the more sophisticated capabilities. Most importantly, the quality of your pictures will be just as good. If you are moving up from an entry level DSLR: You need to ask yourself why you are moving up? If you are dissatisfied with the IQ, then the 7D is not your answer. Using the 7D, it will take a lot more work (initially) to become proficient. However, if you need a faster framerate, better high ISO performance (although the T1i and D90 are very good for high ISO), long for a better focussing system, or shoot in the rain or the beach, then the 7D might make sense. If you are moving up from a mid-level XXD or Nikon D300: As before, you're getting very little IQ improvement (wildlife photographers claim they can use the extra cropping capability, but I'm not convinced it's substantial). Buy the 7D because the features provide you with value. Also, I would seriously discourage anyone from switching from a Nikon D300 to a 7D. There has to be an absolute must-have 7D feature for you to make that leap. As for me, I don't regret this purchase. I'll never say never, but I'm hoping that the 7D will be my last crop-sensor camera. I love the flexibility and expansion of creative options that the new features allow me. It's a wonderful camera. I'm looking forward to spending many hours becoming intimately acquainted with its capabilities.

Was this review helpful? (60) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PTNDSLR
NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 25 contributor
Amazing Image Quality!
5/17/2012

Customer review by DGPhotography

5.0 stars 5/17/2012 by DGPhotography
by DGPhotography

When I first heard about the 7D with it's fast 8 fps, I was sold. However, I was concerned about image quality since it's an APS-C and not full frame. I was relieved to see that the IQ is excellent with great contrast, color, and no noise. Focusing was fast and accurate. I am mostly a landscape and cityscape shooter. My 7D is always on a tripod when I shoot. And I use a remote shutter release. Every shot turns out sharp. Of course, I shoot at ISO 100 since I am on a tripod. Therefore, noise is not an issue, even long exposure shots. And when I need to shoot wildlife and birds on rare occasions, the 7D focused fast and accurately. The only issue I have is that I shoot multiple exposures for HDR. And I think Canon should update its firmware to allow for more than 3 AEB exposures without me having to touch the camera to dial for other set of exposures. And HDR mode would be nice, too. Other than that, it's an excellent camera with excellent IQ and build.

DGPhotography
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What a step up from the Rebel Xsi
4/5/2010

Customer review by photofred

5.0 stars 4/5/2010 by photofred
by photofred

I cannot rave about this camera enough. I recently upgraded from a Rebel XSi, and I was not disappointed with my decision. I spent months. agonising over the 5D II or the 7D, and do not take enough pictures that need a full frame sensor, which was really the only thing that I could see the 5D would give me. The 7D is an amazing camera, and when matched to L series glass, the results are outstanding. The quality of the pictures, ease of use, speed and video cababilty is stunning. I use a 24-105 L as my prime ( on camera 85%) and 100- 400 L, when I am taking wildlife. Both lenses, combimed with the 7D give me results that I would not have be able to get with the Rebel. The only other lens I use is the 50mm 1.4 for some studio and macro work. This camera is a great choice for someone wanting to move up the Canon range, without having to spend a huge amount of $$$ that would be required to aquire the 5D or better. I highly recommend this camera.

photofred
Dallas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice camera
4/19/2010

Customer review by DonsFan

5.0 stars 4/19/2010 by DonsFan
by DonsFan

I've had the camera for about a month. Came with the 28-135mm zoom. I have been shooting mostly track meet action shots and have not been disappointed. I shot some basketball in a gym also, and had to crank up the ISO. At 6400 I was getting good exposure without much noise. The 8fps high speed burst mode gets the dramatic positions of athletes that you want when you shoot sports. I am looking into getting a better zoom, like the 70-200mm f4, so I can get more DOF. This camera pans really well. You can follow a runner using a high shutter speed in burst mode. Images come out with blurred background but sharp subject -- pretty cool. The general hardware is very robust on this camera. I use a battery grip with it, which makes it relatively heavy, but I find the extra weight just makes the camera feel more secure in my grip. I would definitely buy this camera again, and recommend it especially to photographers who want to shoot action in burst mode.

DonsFan
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just Buy It!
8/19/2011

Customer review by Jerry B.

5.0 stars 8/19/2011 by Jerry B.
by Jerry B.

Just buy it! You have read the reviews...But until you buy, own and start using the EOS 7D as your main unit you will not understand what all the HYPE is about. The EOS 7D did not get the Awards, Accolades and Favor of myriads of World Renown Photographers without being a levels above the rest and classed in a standard almost to its own. You can argue negatively about anything, say for instance some say the Sun is dangerous and can cause various forms of skin cancer and no one should be exposed unprotected to it. The fact of the matter is, without the Sun, life as we know it on Planet Earth would not exist. There are people on this planet who have never used sunscreen and are in the Sun everyday for prolonged periods of time and have never had skin issues. Life goes on. What I'm trying to say is...There is no need to get into the technicalities of what this finely crafted Jewel can do, why, because there are more than enough reviews that have defined in persuasive detail the more than capable abilities of the EOS 7D...Just Buy It!

Jerry B.
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
One capable camera
11/9/2009

Customer review by Flying Fish

5.0 stars 11/9/2009 by Flying Fish
by Flying Fish

I bought this camera because my current camera, while a fine camera, doesn't have fast or accurate enough AF for me and could use better low-light performance. I have been delighted so far. The AF is faster and more accurate than I could have imagined; AI Servo really works on this camera and one-shot AF is deadly fast and accurate. 8 frames per second is almost like shooting a video, and this camera has real video capability, which I haven't tried yet. The JPEGs straight out of the camera are so good that I am not tempted to do much PP (I did add one notch of sharpness to the default picture style). Noise control is very good; I get about the same noise at ISO 6400 as my previous camera gets at ISO 1600. I really have no complaint so far at all, and I'm ecstatic with what it can do. People say there's a steep learning curve, but if you read the manual and are patient, it's really not so bad, especially if you've used another Canon DSLR.

Flying Fish
Washington DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great price on 7D! Cheap shipping but slow.
4/14/2011

Customer review by Teaman2

5.0 stars 4/14/2011 by Teaman2
by Teaman2

First a comment about the product. It's genuine Canon USA new product with the warranty and full retail stock package components. The price was better than most online establishments including Amazon. They also had it in stock! I ordered it up and had it shipped by ground. The only complaint I have about the order experience is that the web site is the shipping time estimator. It's not very accurate. It gives you a range. The min. looked like I'd have this product in hand in less than a week. It actually took slightly over a week, about 9 days. Had I known... I would have opted for the faster shipping which only cost a little more. It probably would have shaved a few days off the delay, so don't be a cheap-skate and go for their slowest option. As for the product itself, it's a Canon. I'm still learning how to use it. There's a lot to learn. I am upgrading from the 20D which was a mighty fine camera. But I wanted a newer technology DSLR for an upcoming trip and wanted built in movie capability. It will do HD video at 720 or 1080p. That is amazing. Just be aware that the focus is not auto once the Record button is activated. The mirror is locked up to provide direct exposure to the sensor continuously which makes the manual focus only possible looking at the backside LCD. for indoors, this isn't as much a problem as when you are outside in bright sunlight and you can't use the viewfinder (mirror is blocking). It's not a big deal if your subject is farther away or distant and stationary (like scenery, etc) but subjects moving toward you will be really tricky to keep in focus, if not impossible. You can snap the shutter to take a photo which releases the mirror and allows a new focus reading on the subject. But it will interrupt the movie for a split second and may need to be edited out. I'm still learning so there may be better ways to handle this situation. If you plan to zoom the lens while making a movie, it's best to zoom in first on the subject, focus, zoom out, start to record, zoom in slowly or if starting zoomed in, slowly zoom out. If you base the focus while the lens is zoomed out, when you zoom in invariably the focus will be off. This also requires a zoom lens that doesn't alter the focal length when zooming. This would be most L series zoom lenses. As for photo taking, some reviews I've seen have users complaining about the auto focus not working right and their getting blurry shots. I don't think that is the fault of the camera. I've taken quite a few shots already and this camera takes great shots, all but a few being sharp as can be. I suspect the issue for them has more to do with their transitioning from a point-n-shot auto-everything camera to a DSLR. There is a learning curve there... learning about depth of field (DOF) spot metering, zone metering, using aperture and speed to control DOF as well as focal length of the lens, etc. I'm very happy with this camera and think you will be too if you are looking for a great feature-packed DSLR and know how to use one. Plan on buying lots of big CF memory cards for a trip as this camera shots at 18MP per photo. This means it consumes about 25-30MB per photo in Large Raw photo mode. Medium Raw is about 16MB +/- per photo. Plan to use Raw mode at least as that provides the maximum flexibility with the photo in post processing. You can also take Raw+Jpeg at the same time giving you both. If you only take jpeg formatted photos you are wasting the capability of this camera and tossing valuable photo information away that is normally packed into the Raw format. Use Adobe Lightroom, Photoshop or Apple Aperture to post process the images as Raw and then save/export to jpeg when done adjusting your photos for posting online or emailing to others. For a trip plan well in advance on how you will safely store your photos. This means estimate how many photos you think will will take per day, make a conservative adjustment upwards from that, multiply by the number of days gone on your trip, multiply by the space required for the average sized photo for the format you plan to shoot with. Add that up and you will have how much space you need total. If you plan to store backup copies in case your laptop or iPad get stolen, then plan to double the space requirements. For this camera that can mean a lot of space that is required (remember LRaw can easily be 30MB per photo.) I was going to try and fit my trip on a couple 32GB iPads and a 32GB iPhone but that proved to be too little for a 3 week trip using 8GB per day minimum. Hope this helps you in your camera decisions. Good luck! This camera is amazing piece of technology, a lot of bang for the buck! For those of you wishing for a 5D, this is $1k less. About all you give up is the full sized sensor. 5D also does not allow any EF-S lenses so if you already have some of those, you will have to replace them. That's why I went with this one.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Teaman2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
GREAT JOB CANON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3/6/2010

Customer review by TODZILLA

5.0 stars 3/6/2010 by TODZILLA
by TODZILLA

first thing you notice is this cameras light weight and the way it fits perfectly in your hand! very well designed and excellent constuction! love the 1.6 crop factor for getting you closer to wild life with smaller lighter lenses! took pics of flying seagulls and got tack sharp images! great action camera! 100% crops look sharp! also good for portraits and pretty much everything! very easy to use and flip through menus,nice screen layout easy to read.with little effort you get great quality pics! every option you could ever want on a camera! im sure with time pictures can only get better after learning how to use the options to your benefit.also takes great indoor pics with low light and no flash.6400 iso looks looks good,a liltle grany to be expected but still very acceptable! cant say enough about this camera,the more you learn the more you like it! great camera for all occassions and easy to carry all day! cant say enough!

TODZILLA
aurora,il.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Incredible. Get the 5D II instead
1/2/2010

Customer review by ElGordo

5.0 stars 1/2/2010 by ElGordo
by ElGordo
Top 25 contributor

The new 7D is great. It has a new sensor at 18 ginormous megapixels, which gives you tons of room for cropping or enlarging--up to 20x30 easily. The new autofocus works great with extra sensors for your wide apertures to help it focus on the right subject (I can't tell you how many times in a hurry I have focused behind the subjecty with my 50mm lens) There are now two CPUs for processing images quickly and for collecting your HD video at normal frame rates. This is definitely one up on the T1i. The frame rate is a blazing 8 fps, which makes this passable for sports photography. It also does individual lens microfocusing for the perfectionists out there, which also saves on the costs of sending lenses back to Canon for servicing. My one little problem is that at this price, it is not a full frame camera! Besides which, you're only around five hundred dollars short of the 5D mk II which IS full frame. The 7D has a better autofocus though, along with double the frame rate. This camera is great for the amateur, or a primary or backup for a sports photographer Pros: Great camera! Sweet autofocus. Cons: Just the one downside. Summary: I don't think it's worth that much more than the 50D for most people, and it's not enough for those of us who covet the 5D II.

Was this review helpful? (14) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ElGordo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Top 25 contributor
Best non-full frame SLR available
6/16/2011

Customer review by chopinlover49

5.0 stars 6/16/2011 by chopinlover49
by chopinlover49

I studied the full-frame vs non full-frame options and based on my current lenses (Canon 10-22, Canon 2.8 70-200L, and Canon 17-85 APS) plus the fact that the 7D was a newer model than the 5 IId, with some improved features over the higher-priced camera, I opted for the 7D. That also gives me time to buy a dedicated flash later instead of needing it right away. Each person may feel differently, but I have not regretted the decision at all. The image quality, ease of learning (I had a 20d previously), the video options, and the increased megapixel count, I felt the camera was a real value for the money. The build quality and materials made this a better camera for my purposes than the other lower-priced APS Canons, although some may not care. I am in the field a lot and don't want to take a chance with a plastic body or less water-tight seals. This camera will not disappoint! The video takes a little getting used to, but it is a new additional fun feature to try out and I am getting the hang of it now. It is really a major upgrade from my older Canon 20D.

chopinlover49
upstate New York state
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great DSLR
11/6/2009

Customer review by Adge

5.0 stars 11/6/2009 by Adge
by Adge

I finally decided to break down and buy a DSLR. I used to shoot stills on film back in the day and promised myself I would buy one once they could beat film in most respects DR, resolution, etc.. Well, the 7D sure doesn't disappoint in that respect. I also plan on making good use of the video function this camera has to offer. This camera is built like a brick, I'm not kidding I bet you could take a few thousand of them and build a nice house if you were so inclined. I found the controls very easy to learn, no more or less complex than the video cameras I'm used to using. The image quality is great in still mode, and the HD video isn't too shabby either. I'm still playing around with settings and will be trying some custom image styles soon, which I hope can get me even more DR in video mode. Anyways I'm quite satisfied overall with this DSLR and I hope it gives me at least a few years of trouble free service.

Adge
So Cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love It!
12/13/2009

Customer review by DanMiami

5.0 stars 12/13/2009 by DanMiami
by DanMiami

Stepped up from the 450D (XSi) to the 7D as soon as I could and boy am I happy I did! I consider myself a "serious amateur" photographer making no money from my pictures. I literally got the camera, didn't read the manual immediately and used it the next day to take over 900 shots. Now that I have had time to actually read the manual, I see even better results. There are many more settings to learn and I am looking forward to using the 7D for many years to come. I don't see myself upgrading again for at least 3-4 years. The only "con" I am listing here is that when recording video with image stabilization turned on, the noise of the IS system comes through in the recording. You can really tell the audio issue when it is a quiet environment but not really if you are recording at a birthday party, etc. where there is a lot of background noise. If it weren't for this, I would have given it 5s across the board.

DanMiami
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What a camera!!!!
3/5/2010

Customer review by tcpaul

5.0 stars 3/5/2010 by tcpaul
by tcpaul

I have always loved Canon SLRs, and this one is, without a doubt, the best of all!. It combines so many features into one package that it would satisfy almost any pro or amateur. Because I shoot a lot of sporting events, I wanted an extra fast shutter and FPS. This camera delivers! I do a great deal of traveling and shoot nature. Again, this camera provides everything! I also love shooting video and editing (FCP) professionally, and I'm NOT disappointed with the quality of the high definition. Shooting High Def video through a luxury lens is simply an awesome experience with quality you won't believe! It has something for everyone! It also enhances the quality of my 70-200 2.8 L telephoto to deliver bright and sharp images time after time after time! The most dependable camera I have ever had, and it's a Canon which means it's built like a truck. It is the best bang for the buck out there! Buy one today!

tcpaul
La Mirada, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 420 total reviews
1-20 of 420 reviews