Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 430 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

430 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

430 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
333
4 stars
54
3 stars
17
2 stars
15
1 stars
11
1-20 of 428 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 428 total reviews
1-20 of 428 reviews
Incredible Camera. Get the 5D II instead.
1/3/2010

Customer review by ElGordo

5.0 stars 1/3/2010 by ElGordo
by ElGordo

The new 7D is great. It has a new sensor at 18 ginormous megapixels, which gives you tons of room for cropping or enlarging--up to 20x30 easily. The new autofocus works great with extra sensors for your wide apertures to help it focus on the right subject (I can't tell you how many times in a hurry I have focused behind the subjecty with my 50mm lens) There are now two CPUs for processing images quickly and for collecting your HD video at normal frame rates. This is definitely one up on the T1i. The frame rate is a blazing 8 fps, which makes this passable for sports photography. It also does individual lens microfocusing for the perfectionists out there, which also saves on the costs of sending lenses back to Canon for servicing. My one little problem is that at this price, it is not a full frame camera! Besides which, you're only around five hundred dollars short of the 5D mk II which IS full frame. The 7D has a better autofocus though, along with double the frame rate. This camera is great for the amateur, or a primary or backup for a sports photographer Pros: Great camera! Sweet autofocus. Cons: Just the one downside. Summary: I don't think it's worth that much more than the 50D for most people, and it's not enough for those of us who covet the 5D II.

Was this review helpful? (58) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElGordo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Top 25 contributor
A Real Winner!
3/6/2010

Customer review by ChandlerPhotography

5.0 stars 3/6/2010 by ChandlerPhotography
by ChandlerPhotography

I'm a semi-professional photographer and wanted to upgrade my equipment. After weeks of research I decided to purchase the 7D. My decision was heavily influenced by the fact that I own several Canon EF/S lenses and needed to keep my business expenses limited. Sure, a 5DMkII would be awesome, but I needed a good camera and not a completely new lens collection. My pictures don't need to be blown up to poster size, either. The 8fps shutter speed on this camera is only 2fps slower than the top-of-the-line 1D. It is blazing fast and keeps up with sports action very well. You can increase your chances of success by learning to use the various AF zone options depending on what sport you are shooting. Canon made a smart move by adding two Digic 4 processors to this camera and dedicating one of them to the auto-focus system. It does make tracking a moving object quite accurate. My secondary reason for buying this camera was the built-in HD movie capability. Pair the 7D with a fast lens and you can make outstanding HD videos and not have to lug around a camcorder at the same time. The T2i is coming out soon with HD video but it doesn't offer 60fps. If you want to do slow-motion replay for dramatic effect then 60fps will let you do just that. Pair this outstanding camera with a Canon 480EX-II or 580EX-II flash and you have a great sports or wedding setup.

Was this review helpful? (32) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChandlerPhotography
Ithaca, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My new toy
4/13/2010

Customer review by Shutterbug68

4.0 stars 4/13/2010 by Shutterbug68
by Shutterbug68

I researched a great deal before purchasing this camera as it will be my primary piece of equipment going forward. It has a great deal of features and I have enjoyed everyday that I have used it so far. I love using the 8 FPS during my son's sporting events. I capture every move. The fact that it is not a full frame camera has taken some getting used to but it is fine. Overall, I am pleased with my purchase. It was a good value as I really wanted to stay within a budget.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shutterbug68
Burrillville, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Advanced Amature
4/26/2010

Customer review by cachesmith

4.0 stars 4/26/2010 by cachesmith
by cachesmith

Camera exceeded my expectations. Great camera!!! Only minus is difficult to focus movie mode in bright light using the view screen. Optional device is available to handle this however.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cachesmith
Lawton, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
3/26/2011

Customer review by 13love

5.0 stars 3/26/2011 by 13love
by 13love

I've been searching for an upgrade of my xsi, after all my search and question I decide to upgrade with the t3i, since it was less money but after contating my teacher he suggest if can afford the 7d will be the best for me, my search restart again for price but Wal-mart is the only one who offers the actual price without increase it and offer a $ 200 rebate, it is a great camera and i start enjoy it since I pick it up at Wal-mart, I will recommend this machine to any one in the field who can afford it and at Walmart side to store with no shipping cost

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
13love
greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
WoW...What a camera!
9/6/2010

Customer review by nonickname321

5.0 stars 9/6/2010 by nonickname321
by nonickname321

This camera not only takes top of the line photos, you can also make a commercial just the pros. After much research we are very happy with our result of the camera. You really don't even have to read the directions to use it with the automatic mode. We highly recommed this camera.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nonickname321
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it!!
12/14/2010

Customer review by adgilly

5.0 stars 12/14/2010 by adgilly
by adgilly

I love this camera. Haven't learned how to do everything with it. But, I will in time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
adgilly
AURORA MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
2/27/2011

Customer review by DSAP

5.0 stars 2/27/2011 by DSAP
by DSAP

Love the camera!! Takes awesome pics!! Worth every $$$$$$$$!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DSAP
Port St Lucie, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
10/31/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/31/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Great Camera But You can get for $1520.99 at Best Buy

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
3/7/2011

Customer review by unique77

5.0 stars 3/7/2011 by unique77
by unique77

Great camara

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
unique77
haines city fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Camera
9/15/2013

Customer review by TheOneAndOnlyReviewer

5.0 stars 9/15/2013 by TheOneAndOnlyReviewer
by TheOneAndOnlyReviewer

This is an overall excellent camera, I got this for Christmas last year from my husband and it takes beautiful pictures. The pictures come out so clear and there isn't any noise on the pictures. The camera is durable and strong. I've dropped it accidentally a few times and it has no scratches and still works brand new. If you have intentions on buying this camera, buy it. You will love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheOneAndOnlyReviewer
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Camera / BAD Lens
3/11/2014

Customer review by Flphoto22

5.0 stars 3/11/2014 by Flphoto22
by Flphoto22

I purchased my 2nd 7D through Walmart because they had the best online price at the time. The product was delivered as promised and on time. I wouldn't have bought a 2nd 7D if I was not happy with the performance of Canon cameras. It is a solid well built camera and holds up to the rigors of professional use... I would not recommend the 28-135 lens kit however. As a loyal Canon user for over 35 years, I was absolutely floored by how cheaply the 28-135 lens is made. Even for a beginner's lens, the quality of the lens construction is extremely poor. I was looking for a small, versatile lens that I could use for general snapshots without having to carry around my prime lenses and fast aperture zooms. The zoom on this lens is not solid and feels like a cheap plastic toy lens. Not what I expected from a Canon product...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Flphoto22
Madeira Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
one of the greatest camera in canons line up
10/2/2013

Customer review by Marion

5.0 stars 10/2/2013 by Marion
by Marion

i use this camera for portrait and landscape and its been delighting me always... its worth the upgrade.

Marion
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Way More Than I Expected
2/25/2010

Customer review by Urban Naturalist

5.0 stars 2/25/2010 by Urban Naturalist
by Urban Naturalist

I decided to buy this camera because aside from its IQ, my 5D kept sending me back to my D200 for a shooter's camera. The 7D arrived propitiously in time for a week off work and a snowstorm - perfect for the kind of work I like to do most. I got to follow some cardinals and a pheasant through snowy inner-city backyards around me to test the mettle of this 7D with my beloved lightweight and nasty-sharp 300mm f/4L IS and a 430EX. Canon finally gets it, IMHO. Without paying megabucks for a camera the size and weight of a patio stone to hang on me as I climb fences wearing boots, I do need a fast, intuitive and responsive camera. This is it. The controls are placed so they don't slow me down. The camera is sized and shaped for moving. AF to die for. Muffled shutter noise. Good with gloves.

Urban Naturalist
Detroit MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Canon APS-C so far
5/22/2013

Customer review by Lurcus

5.0 stars 5/22/2013 by Lurcus
by Lurcus

This camera definitely needs some updates (I heard a Mark II is on the way) like a vari angle LCD for video, a new sensor to improve HI ISO performances and so, but it's still the best EOS APS-C camera., for stills and video too. Actually, it's still the only "professional" EOS APS-C camera on the market. If you don't need its professional features, like the professional grade build quality, the great ergonomy, the 8 fps or the very good AF, a much cheaper model like the 3Ti will do just fine.

Lurcus
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's hard to beat the canon EOS 7D!
1/29/2011

Customer review by Sheckwel

5.0 stars 1/29/2011 by Sheckwel
by Sheckwel

It s really hard to beat the canon eos 7d. I bought an 60d for a an upgrade for my missed rebel XTI. I liked the 60d, it comes with terrific features specially the swivel screen great for some movie shooters and many more, unfortunatly i am not in videography, i don't really care about the swivel screen, i was about to buy a 50d, but a 60d comes out, i said no the eos 60d will succeed the 50D, and it has almost the same sensor to the 7d and has nice features. I used it for two months because i bought it on november 2010 the day of my birthday, i liked it and gave me good results, unfortunatly there were something i didn't like on the 60d and as an canon Fanboy it s an big downgrade from the EOS 50D, the plastic body makes the hardware cheap and too light, it stays between the T2I and the 7D, bigger than the T2I and smaller the the 7D, but has a good grip, but i don't feel it ergonomically, the build quality is supposed to stay like at least the 50D or the 5d Mark II because Build quality is very important on DSLR, thew 7D is strong, rugged, weather sealed, 7D is even more strong heavier (820G Body only) than 5D mArk2(810G body only) and 50D, the 60D frames rates is awesome, 5D mark II is sad just it's full frame and has more Mega pixels and lack the built of Pop up flash, 50D is a terrific ergonomically, and the frames rates of the 50D is happy, I love shooting action, so i need the huge frames rate, i love a heavy camera but not like the eos 1DS MII or IV ...Seriously I am not rich but i don't have financial issues, i can even purchsase EOS 1DS Mark III, i already returned the canon eos 60D, the same day before i go to bed i gotta purchase an eos the store are open in NYC on sunday. I gotta choose between 5D Mark II and 7D, seriously the 50D is awesome but it going to be archaic soon. 5D Mark II is terrific but the frames rates is slow, i don't care about it's full frame and it's 21 MP, and doesn't have built on pop up flash, it;s more friendly in studio, i gotta shoot outside a lot, i can see some wildlifes, lanscape, actions in the street of NYC,so the 7d can do the job done, it's one of the best canon eos timelines, built quality is superior, rugged, and weather sealed, I already have it, i am thinking getting another one for a back up body. Thanks for reading!

Sheckwel
new york NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Upgrade
9/6/2013

Customer review by Architect

5.0 stars 9/6/2013 by Architect
by Architect

I purchased this camera about a year ago now. My wife has used it most of this time. I did take a trip with her to do Whale watching recently and i used the camera. WOW was I please with the high percentage of perfect photos including focus and exposure. I used a 100-400 Canon lens and all worked great together. A moving boat, jumping whales and nothing steady or predictable. This camera and lens combination was fabulous. I would recommend this camera to anyone serious about great shots on a small budget and can't get say the 1D X. I really have no gripes as I am realistic to know nothing works perfectly in all conditions. This camera is a real pleasure.

Architect
Williamsport, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Advance RAW image
11/30/2009

Customer review by yunus

5.0 stars 11/30/2009 by yunus
by yunus

Having a RAW image mode is really useful especially when heavy post-processing is needed.

yunus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great!!
12/23/2011

Customer review by gutwinder

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by gutwinder
by gutwinder

The best in town! I'm an advanced amateur, since 1980 I make foto with Reflex (Yashica, Contax and Canon). I love Canon 7D as, in the past, I liked Contax.

gutwinder
Trieste, Italy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic Camera
10/8/2009

Customer review by Billd

5.0 stars 10/8/2009 by Billd
by Billd

I bought this camera as an upgrade to my 40D, and to use in combination with my 5D Mark II. I used the 40D (also a great camera) primarily for wildlife photography where the extra reach of the crop sensor was a big advantage. The 40D gave me great photos, but I wanted a camera with more megapixels for image cropping ability. I also wanted better focus tracking for moving animals, especially birds. The 7D meets all of these requirements, and adds HD video as well. The autofocus is quite complex and will take some time to learn properly, but I am very happy with its performance so far. This is as close as it gets to the perfect camera for my needs.

Billd
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 428 total reviews
1-20 of 428 reviews