Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 431 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

431 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

431 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
334
4 stars
54
3 stars
17
2 stars
15
1 stars
11
1-20 of 429 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 429 total reviews
1-20 of 429 reviews
Incredible Camera. Get the 5D II instead.
1/3/2010

Customer review by ElGordo

5.0 stars 1/3/2010 by ElGordo
by ElGordo
Top 25 contributor

The new 7D is great. It has a new sensor at 18 ginormous megapixels, which gives you tons of room for cropping or enlarging--up to 20x30 easily. The new autofocus works great with extra sensors for your wide apertures to help it focus on the right subject (I can't tell you how many times in a hurry I have focused behind the subjecty with my 50mm lens) There are now two CPUs for processing images quickly and for collecting your HD video at normal frame rates. This is definitely one up on the T1i. The frame rate is a blazing 8 fps, which makes this passable for sports photography. It also does individual lens microfocusing for the perfectionists out there, which also saves on the costs of sending lenses back to Canon for servicing. My one little problem is that at this price, it is not a full frame camera! Besides which, you're only around five hundred dollars short of the 5D mk II which IS full frame. The 7D has a better autofocus though, along with double the frame rate. This camera is great for the amateur, or a primary or backup for a sports photographer Pros: Great camera! Sweet autofocus. Cons: Just the one downside. Summary: I don't think it's worth that much more than the 50D for most people, and it's not enough for those of us who covet the 5D II.

Was this review helpful? (58) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ElGordo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Top 25 contributor
Canon 7D
2/3/2015

Customer review by wildlifedigicam

4.0 stars 2/3/2015 by wildlifedigicam
by wildlifedigicam

I shot another brand forever. I was tired of the poor pictures on the sidelines of the high school football games. A Canon seemed to be a favorite of the photographers around me. I read that the 7D was the best choice in the mid price range to accomplish this task. I purchased the 7D. I soon found out that the kit lenses did not work for me on the sidelines. I invested in a faster f2.8 lens. After a year of shooting Friday night football with this new set up, I found that even though I was getting some ok pictures, most of them were very grainy or noisy under the poor lighting conditions at most high schools.. I still did not have the equipment to get quality shots at low light sports action. This prevented me from getting a part time job shooting sports for a website. The 7D is an excellent overall camera, but don't expect to get quality pictures at low light fast action sporting events. I am looking at the newer Canon 7D Mark ll. It just might be what I need to reach my goals.

wildlifedigicam
Bay Area, California
A Real Winner!
3/6/2010

Customer review by ChandlerPhotography

5.0 stars 3/6/2010 by ChandlerPhotography
by ChandlerPhotography

I'm a semi-professional photographer and wanted to upgrade my equipment. After weeks of research I decided to purchase the 7D. My decision was heavily influenced by the fact that I own several Canon EF/S lenses and needed to keep my business expenses limited. Sure, a 5DMkII would be awesome, but I needed a good camera and not a completely new lens collection. My pictures don't need to be blown up to poster size, either. The 8fps shutter speed on this camera is only 2fps slower than the top-of-the-line 1D. It is blazing fast and keeps up with sports action very well. You can increase your chances of success by learning to use the various AF zone options depending on what sport you are shooting. Canon made a smart move by adding two Digic 4 processors to this camera and dedicating one of them to the auto-focus system. It does make tracking a moving object quite accurate. My secondary reason for buying this camera was the built-in HD movie capability. Pair the 7D with a fast lens and you can make outstanding HD videos and not have to lug around a camcorder at the same time. The T2i is coming out soon with HD video but it doesn't offer 60fps. If you want to do slow-motion replay for dramatic effect then 60fps will let you do just that. Pair this outstanding camera with a Canon 480EX-II or 580EX-II flash and you have a great sports or wedding setup.

Was this review helpful? (32) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChandlerPhotography
Ithaca, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Solid camera, but won't work for me
5/29/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 5/29/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased one of these about 3 weeks ago and was not at all pleased with the metering inconsistancy in brightly lit scenes. So I returned it, got another and well...same problem. If you're just taking snapshots or family photos the camera is fantastic. It also works well in shaded scenes. But I sell thousands of pictures of kids playing youth sports. I didn't need a portrait camera...my 5D Mark II is perfect for that. I replaced my 40D simply looking for a little better performance in low light, but mostly for the extra FPS rate. The meter is terribly inconsistent in bright scenes.. I'm now going to end up replacing the 7D with a 50D. Wishing I hadn't sold my 40D already, but I've never experienced anything like this before. Normally a new product out erforms the old one. This one does, in most instances, but too many shots are unusable. I guess I should just suck it up and move up into the 1D Mark IV. You guys have got some work to do with that new metering system of yours.

An anonymous customer
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great new features
12/9/2009

Customer review by jundel75

3.0 stars 12/9/2009 by jundel75
by jundel75

I purchased the canon 7D as an upgrade from my 50D. I glad the put all the necessary features that makes it easy to use.the camera have a great design and feel.So far the issues I encountered might help others to check their 7D if they have the same issues with mine.I bought the 7D last week and i encounter some problems with the liveView mode on manual setting in certain light conditions.I can see 3 faded brown lines or shadows across the LCD while at video mode.it also moves from the bottom up.So i went back to the store and have it replaced. Now i have a new 7D on my hands and tested it on the same conditions i had before and guess what?! it happen again. Is this a batch problem with canon?i dont know? still trying to get some answers if this is a defective camera or what.I would still get this 7D.I want canon to resolve this issues. it also can be seen on myplayback,so I'm assuming it's the sensor.Somehow the flouriscent light in my room affects the sensor in manual setting in video mode.

jundel75
Jamaica,New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Product Satisfaction Guaranteed
11/4/2010

Customer review by Gil

4.0 stars 11/4/2010 by Gil
by Gil

I've been using 'digital camera' for 8 years now. I started with the Canon power shot A610, which I found it very satisfying for a starter. With the results that I have, I was encouraged to purchase a better camera with the latest model (at that time), Rebel XSi, and still keep my power shot model. I used my XSi with my 18-55mm IS lens mostly on landscape and sports/action. Very satisfied with the results, it encouraged me with more interest on photography and decided to trade and upgrade the camera with latest 7D including a new set of lenses - 18-135mm IS and 70-300mm IS - and still keep the power shot model (used for 'not-so-serious' shooting). I never had 2nd thought of considering other brands. With my Canon 7D and the new set of lense, I find it very satisfying on performance, quality, feature and price/value. I love photography using my Canon 7D. Now I'm considering a Canon macro lense. Saying: 'My fingers become itchy when I can't hold and click my camera in a day'.

Gil
Toms River, New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quality Build and Images
10/16/2010

Customer review by sierra-life

5.0 stars 10/16/2010 by sierra-life
by sierra-life

I had been running into more and more situations where clients had been yearning for slightly higher image output resolution than I was able to produce with my 40D. I was on the fence between the 7d and 5d but the 5d would have been an extra stretch financially at the moment. The biggest mental hurdle to jump with the 7d were the multitude of reviews I had read reaming the camera for soft images (possibly by other camera company employees?). I have all "L" glass and when combined with the 7d's ability to micro-adjust each lens specifically the result is tack sharp images. <br> <br> While I was making up my mind on updating to the 7d or 5d a client actually rented me a 1ds MKIII for a weekend shoot for some outdoor images they needed. I have a hunch I will really like the 5d as my next upgrade, but I actually enjoy shooting my 7d more than the I did the 1ds MKIII. Didn't have much time to get the 1ds dialed in, but I thought the images were a little too warm in comparison.

sierra-life
Sierra | Tahoe | Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Has Noise and Focus Issues
3/20/2012

Customer review by Joshua

2.0 stars 3/20/2012 by Joshua
by Joshua

I'm not sure why the 7D even bothers to go up to 6400 ISO (or 12800 ISO)...anything above 1600 ISO is typically useless when it comes to noise. Perhaps you'd get acceptable results cleaning up the noise with higher-end noise reduction software but with the included DPP software, reducing noise is mostly equivalent to introducing blurring - which is to say, not good. Considering the camera seems to have AF sharpness issues anyway, I find it hard to get tack sharp pictures even with a tripod. But back to ISO, at higher ISO's I've noticed "hot" runs of pixels running horizontally across the whole width of the sensor. Anyway, I noticed many reviews have claimed the battery life is a plus/pro. Coming from a rebel XSI, I find the 7D battery life to be astonishingly bad. I could go a week between charges on the XSI...the 7D leaves me charging after every photo shoot. This is with similar shooting situations. Overall not happy with the cost/performance on this camera. Who knows, perhaps I just got a bad body?

Joshua
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
A good choice
12/8/2009

Customer review by Syracuse

5.0 stars 12/8/2009 by Syracuse
by Syracuse

I'm been an avid amateur photographer for about 40 years and owned professional grade cameras (and did my own processing) back in the days of film, but entered the digital SLR market with the lower end Canon Rebel XT about 3 years ago. I decided to update and was trying to decide whether to go with a new version at the same level (Rebel T1i) or take a step up to the 7D. After considerable research and trying both cameras in the store, I decided to go for the 7D and have been very happy with the choice. The camera is well built, environmentally sealed and takes excellent photos. Although it has more features than my Rebel XT, it's actually easier to use due to improved layout of menus and controls, the larger LCD, and the ability to create your own menu with features that you use most. The only con is that it is larger and heavier than the Rebel, but the 7D still fits in my old walk about camera bag and the added weight is not noticeable when shooting. If you can afford it, I'd highly recommend the 7D

Syracuse
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed purchase
5/27/2011

Customer review by JR

3.0 stars 5/27/2011 by JR
by JR

I purchased the Canon 7D in March to replace my 50D. I thought by waiting - most of the early criticisms would find their way into a bit bucket (fixed). My initial reaction was - wow! nice equipment. I looked at my first shots and again - wow! As I got more into this camera I started to compare against my 50D, my 30D and my 300D shots. I began to see some issues with soft focus, lack of detail, noise. I do shoot RAW so I am used to working the noise out but at ISO 200? I began to blame my lenses. I did microadjustments, I upgraded my processing software, I applied the latest firmware fix. I even bought a new lens. In the best conditions the camera takes a great photo, but let a little shadow or shade or distance come into the play - poor or mixed results. The main issue I have is the lack of consistancy. Good shot, bad shot, so-so shot, etc I have requested a authorization from Canon to repair the camera but I am not sure if I need to send my lenses as the ones that perform the poorest are L glass. Duh?

JR
San Antonio, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Amazing Image Quality!
5/17/2012

Customer review by DGPhotography

5.0 stars 5/17/2012 by DGPhotography
by DGPhotography

When I first heard about the 7D with it's fast 8 fps, I was sold. However, I was concerned about image quality since it's an APS-C and not full frame. I was relieved to see that the IQ is excellent with great contrast, color, and no noise. Focusing was fast and accurate. I am mostly a landscape and cityscape shooter. My 7D is always on a tripod when I shoot. And I use a remote shutter release. Every shot turns out sharp. Of course, I shoot at ISO 100 since I am on a tripod. Therefore, noise is not an issue, even long exposure shots. And when I need to shoot wildlife and birds on rare occasions, the 7D focused fast and accurately. The only issue I have is that I shoot multiple exposures for HDR. And I think Canon should update its firmware to allow for more than 3 AEB exposures without me having to touch the camera to dial for other set of exposures. And HDR mode would be nice, too. Other than that, it's an excellent camera with excellent IQ and build.

DGPhotography
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What a step up from the Rebel Xsi
4/5/2010

Customer review by photofred

5.0 stars 4/5/2010 by photofred
by photofred

I cannot rave about this camera enough. I recently upgraded from a Rebel XSi, and I was not disappointed with my decision. I spent months. agonising over the 5D II or the 7D, and do not take enough pictures that need a full frame sensor, which was really the only thing that I could see the 5D would give me. The 7D is an amazing camera, and when matched to L series glass, the results are outstanding. The quality of the pictures, ease of use, speed and video cababilty is stunning. I use a 24-105 L as my prime ( on camera 85%) and 100- 400 L, when I am taking wildlife. Both lenses, combimed with the 7D give me results that I would not have be able to get with the Rebel. The only other lens I use is the 50mm 1.4 for some studio and macro work. This camera is a great choice for someone wanting to move up the Canon range, without having to spend a huge amount of $$$ that would be required to aquire the 5D or better. I highly recommend this camera.

photofred
Dallas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My new toy
4/13/2010

Customer review by Shutterbug68

4.0 stars 4/13/2010 by Shutterbug68
by Shutterbug68

I researched a great deal before purchasing this camera as it will be my primary piece of equipment going forward. It has a great deal of features and I have enjoyed everyday that I have used it so far. I love using the 8 FPS during my son's sporting events. I capture every move. The fact that it is not a full frame camera has taken some getting used to but it is fine. Overall, I am pleased with my purchase. It was a good value as I really wanted to stay within a budget.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shutterbug68
Burrillville, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice camera
4/19/2010

Customer review by DonsFan

5.0 stars 4/19/2010 by DonsFan
by DonsFan

I've had the camera for about a month. Came with the 28-135mm zoom. I have been shooting mostly track meet action shots and have not been disappointed. I shot some basketball in a gym also, and had to crank up the ISO. At 6400 I was getting good exposure without much noise. The 8fps high speed burst mode gets the dramatic positions of athletes that you want when you shoot sports. I am looking into getting a better zoom, like the 70-200mm f4, so I can get more DOF. This camera pans really well. You can follow a runner using a high shutter speed in burst mode. Images come out with blurred background but sharp subject -- pretty cool. The general hardware is very robust on this camera. I use a battery grip with it, which makes it relatively heavy, but I find the extra weight just makes the camera feel more secure in my grip. I would definitely buy this camera again, and recommend it especially to photographers who want to shoot action in burst mode.

DonsFan
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just Buy It!
8/19/2011

Customer review by Jerry B.

5.0 stars 8/19/2011 by Jerry B.
by Jerry B.

Just buy it! You have read the reviews...But until you buy, own and start using the EOS 7D as your main unit you will not understand what all the HYPE is about. The EOS 7D did not get the Awards, Accolades and Favor of myriads of World Renown Photographers without being a levels above the rest and classed in a standard almost to its own. You can argue negatively about anything, say for instance some say the Sun is dangerous and can cause various forms of skin cancer and no one should be exposed unprotected to it. The fact of the matter is, without the Sun, life as we know it on Planet Earth would not exist. There are people on this planet who have never used sunscreen and are in the Sun everyday for prolonged periods of time and have never had skin issues. Life goes on. What I'm trying to say is...There is no need to get into the technicalities of what this finely crafted Jewel can do, why, because there are more than enough reviews that have defined in persuasive detail the more than capable abilities of the EOS 7D...Just Buy It!

Jerry B.
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
One capable camera
11/9/2009

Customer review by Flying Fish

5.0 stars 11/9/2009 by Flying Fish
by Flying Fish

I bought this camera because my current camera, while a fine camera, doesn't have fast or accurate enough AF for me and could use better low-light performance. I have been delighted so far. The AF is faster and more accurate than I could have imagined; AI Servo really works on this camera and one-shot AF is deadly fast and accurate. 8 frames per second is almost like shooting a video, and this camera has real video capability, which I haven't tried yet. The JPEGs straight out of the camera are so good that I am not tempted to do much PP (I did add one notch of sharpness to the default picture style). Noise control is very good; I get about the same noise at ISO 6400 as my previous camera gets at ISO 1600. I really have no complaint so far at all, and I'm ecstatic with what it can do. People say there's a steep learning curve, but if you read the manual and are patient, it's really not so bad, especially if you've used another Canon DSLR.

Flying Fish
Washington DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT JOB CANON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3/6/2010

Customer review by TODZILLA

5.0 stars 3/6/2010 by TODZILLA
by TODZILLA

first thing you notice is this cameras light weight and the way it fits perfectly in your hand! very well designed and excellent constuction! love the 1.6 crop factor for getting you closer to wild life with smaller lighter lenses! took pics of flying seagulls and got tack sharp images! great action camera! 100% crops look sharp! also good for portraits and pretty much everything! very easy to use and flip through menus,nice screen layout easy to read.with little effort you get great quality pics! every option you could ever want on a camera! im sure with time pictures can only get better after learning how to use the options to your benefit.also takes great indoor pics with low light and no flash.6400 iso looks looks good,a liltle grany to be expected but still very acceptable! cant say enough about this camera,the more you learn the more you like it! great camera for all occassions and easy to carry all day! cant say enough!

TODZILLA
aurora,il.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best non-full frame SLR available
6/16/2011

Customer review by chopinlover49

5.0 stars 6/16/2011 by chopinlover49
by chopinlover49

I studied the full-frame vs non full-frame options and based on my current lenses (Canon 10-22, Canon 2.8 70-200L, and Canon 17-85 APS) plus the fact that the 7D was a newer model than the 5 IId, with some improved features over the higher-priced camera, I opted for the 7D. That also gives me time to buy a dedicated flash later instead of needing it right away. Each person may feel differently, but I have not regretted the decision at all. The image quality, ease of learning (I had a 20d previously), the video options, and the increased megapixel count, I felt the camera was a real value for the money. The build quality and materials made this a better camera for my purposes than the other lower-priced APS Canons, although some may not care. I am in the field a lot and don't want to take a chance with a plastic body or less water-tight seals. This camera will not disappoint! The video takes a little getting used to, but it is a new additional fun feature to try out and I am getting the hang of it now. It is really a major upgrade from my older Canon 20D.

chopinlover49
upstate New York state
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great DSLR
11/6/2009

Customer review by Adge

5.0 stars 11/6/2009 by Adge
by Adge

I finally decided to break down and buy a DSLR. I used to shoot stills on film back in the day and promised myself I would buy one once they could beat film in most respects DR, resolution, etc.. Well, the 7D sure doesn't disappoint in that respect. I also plan on making good use of the video function this camera has to offer. This camera is built like a brick, I'm not kidding I bet you could take a few thousand of them and build a nice house if you were so inclined. I found the controls very easy to learn, no more or less complex than the video cameras I'm used to using. The image quality is great in still mode, and the HD video isn't too shabby either. I'm still playing around with settings and will be trying some custom image styles soon, which I hope can get me even more DR in video mode. Anyways I'm quite satisfied overall with this DSLR and I hope it gives me at least a few years of trouble free service.

Adge
So Cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love It!
12/13/2009

Customer review by DanMiami

5.0 stars 12/13/2009 by DanMiami
by DanMiami

Stepped up from the 450D (XSi) to the 7D as soon as I could and boy am I happy I did! I consider myself a "serious amateur" photographer making no money from my pictures. I literally got the camera, didn't read the manual immediately and used it the next day to take over 900 shots. Now that I have had time to actually read the manual, I see even better results. There are many more settings to learn and I am looking forward to using the 7D for many years to come. I don't see myself upgrading again for at least 3-4 years. The only "con" I am listing here is that when recording video with image stabilization turned on, the noise of the IS system comes through in the recording. You can really tell the audio issue when it is a quiet environment but not really if you are recording at a birthday party, etc. where there is a lot of background noise. If it weren't for this, I would have given it 5s across the board.

DanMiami
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 429 total reviews
1-20 of 429 reviews