Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 163 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

163 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

163 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
104
4 stars
37
3 stars
13
2 stars
4
1 stars
5
1-20 of 128 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 128 total reviews
1-20 of 128 reviews
Vizio 23" Class Razor 1080p LED-LCD HDTV, VM230XVT
3/13/2010

Customer review by Slappie

5.0 stars 3/13/2010 by Slappie
by Slappie

It's so skinny, best tv I've ever bought.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Slappie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
What a Surprise!
2/24/2010

Customer review by Retired38

5.0 stars 2/24/2010 by Retired38
by Retired38

I ordered this TV because I suddenly needed something that would receive several channels that my cable company had converted to digital only. I'd not heard anything about this company and ordered strictly based on some reviews and the low price. Was I surprised when the TV turned out to be a streamlined marvel! Not only is it easy to operate, but the setup was virtually done in the factory, and the only step I can remember taking is to attach the base, which did not require instructions--it was self-evident. With such fine workmanship it's a wonder that other manufacturers don't have to lower their prices because of the far more realistic prices offered by Vizio--and I will continue to purchase their products as long as they keep up the quality control. This set offers the best picture and features that I've ever had in a TV--and I would have been willing to receive a model with fewer features had there been one as reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Retired38
Bethlehem, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This HDTV Is A Good Value
1/10/2010

Customer review by MonasticPriest

4.0 stars 1/10/2010 by MonasticPriest
by MonasticPriest

When I began shopping for an HDTV, my first digital set, I wanted one with 1080, the full deal. As space is limited in my house/hermitage, there was no sense looking at the big family-room-sized sets. As a result, I zeroed in on this Vizio, checked my local Walmart, found they didn't have one in stock and ordered on line. It was shipped promptly to my front door. My one disappointment out of the box, and hooked up to DIRECTV's HD service, was the paleness of the faces of actors and newspeople. At first I thought it might just be Fox News Channel, to which I am addicted, but then I found it all over the channel spectrum. I got the instructions, read them, and made adjustments to the tint, colour, brightness, etc., and now it is fine. Because this is new technology, at least for me, I also bought the three-year extended warranty. This was done before the picture problem, and is a purchase I would have made had it been a Sony, RCA or any other brand.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MonasticPriest
Rumford, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great new tv
1/27/2010

Customer review by lasleysl

5.0 stars 1/27/2010 by lasleysl
by lasleysl

I was so excited to finally find this television. The shipping time was insanely quick. I ordered it on a Tuesday night and received it on Wednesday night. The picture quality is great and the set is gorgeous. The only thing I wasn't super happy with is the sound quality it is a little bit tinny. (sp?) All in all I would definitely recommend this television.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lasleysl
Rockville, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV!!! READ MY REVIEW
4/7/2010

Customer review by 2006anonymous

5.0 stars 4/7/2010 by 2006anonymous
by 2006anonymous

TV is much better than I expected. Sound is very loud and clear, in fact when I turned it on it was turned to about 27 which is middle range, loud enough to hear about 50 feet away, between the walls and closed doors. Dog went crazy it thought a stranger was in the house. I don't know what people are complaining about the sound for, either that or I just got a really good TV. As some said its not great for low, or bass type sounds. Most TV's are not made to sound like a cinema out of the box anyway. The TV has 2-5 watt speakers, but what can you expect with a .8" thin profile design and energy consumption half of a 60 watt bulb when in use. It is still great compared to some TV's. I have Samsung, Magnavox, and Toshiba TV's, this TV is just as competitive in all ways. I currently keep the volume setting between 1 and 6, 6 or lower is sufficient to remove the background noise from the XBOX 360 fans. Picture quality is great especially for games, couldn't be better. Quality is good even without HD channels. This TV picks up lots of channels compared to some. I added about 16 channels I couldn't get before without a box, of course about 5 channels are ones I already had, but in higher quality (digital air broadcast). The touch menu works like a optical mouse, has multiple lights and when your finger moves over one it controls the vol.,channels, menu, etc. Really neat feature. Also the ambient light control feature works great at night so it doesn't blind you with brightness when you turn it on. A room with blinds or curtains (don't need absolute darkness, just a light shade, I have white curtains) should be sufficient for glare. Its not terrible in lit rooms, but not the best either. Viewing angles are limited, center viewing is great if your just one person. If you have more people viewing you will have to sit further away to see the display, especially side views. Side views 2 and 3 feet away doesn't work so well. Basically more people viewing, create a wider circle around the TV. LCD-LED type displays seem to have this problem when compared to some types of TV's. Remote and Screen are a very glossy black, like some stainless steel products, it is hard to keep clean from finger prints. Remote is limited to around 9-12 feet distance. Works fine in my 13x13 room. Overall everything works, inputs, digital recorder using USB drive (ONLY DIGITAL SIGNALS), volume and remote is sufficient. Display adjustments excellent, TV reception good (air waves, Standard and HD). For paying 298.00, I can't complain, it has its cons, but nothing notably terrible. For those with sound issues, cracking noises, etc. It is possible you have too many devices plugged in the nearby outlet. Other DC transformer paks seem to cause interference with some audio equipment. Computer speakers had this problem, when plugged in near wireless router, or when plugged into nearby battery paks it made different noises. Other devices throughout the house only at the moment turned on did they cause issues in some of my speakers. No problems with this TV though. TV size isn't too small for games and everyday movies, especially if your the only one. TV size is close when it comes to satisfaction playing split screen as far as viewing whats on your half of the screen. If it were much smaller, I'd probably regret it, at least for multiplayer modes. Debated on getting this TV or not for weeks, reviewing all types and sizes with high price ranges, up to 900 was planned for a TV, don't regret it now though.

Was this review helpful? (68) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2006anonymous
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great picture
7/7/2010

Customer review by ctyankee53

5.0 stars 7/7/2010 by ctyankee53
by ctyankee53

This TV was a Father's Day gift for my husband and he loves it! The picture is wonderful and, although others have complained about the quality of the sound, we have found the sound to be excellent as well. This is in use in the bedroom and to be honest, since it arrived my husband now watches about 90% of all his TV viewing in there as he really finds the picture so much better than our Sony and our Toshiba sets. When our other sets finally need to be replaced we will be purchasing other Vizios. We especially love the small profile. At 0.7" it is a lovely set. If you're on the edge about buying this set take the leap - it's well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ctyankee53
New Haven, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice!
2/9/2010

Customer review by Biloxi13

5.0 stars 2/9/2010 by Biloxi13
by Biloxi13

I just randomly found this TV online, and I love it. I got it within 3 days after purchasing. The picture is great, the sound is okay...not great, but just good enough--I am really not concerned about it. It has great picture with my Wii also. It's light, very slim--which is super cool, and it is very sleek and pretty! I am very very happy with this TV! It has an auto ambient lighting adjustment which I use! It's very easy to set the settings! I just cannot get over the slim size of the TV!! Great price!! :) Best investment I've made!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Biloxi13
Biloxi, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AWESOME!!!
2/17/2010

Customer review by Lilhogge

5.0 stars 2/17/2010 by Lilhogge
by Lilhogge

Ok, shipping was super fast and free. This tv is amazing. Some people have knocked the sound; i think it's great, i have it in my officer and haven't turned it up above 10. People have complained about the motion sensor; i sit about 1.5 feet from it and have had no problem. The picture is great. I bought it use with the PC and PS3 and this the picture is off the wall. I think it looks better than my 42 inch 1080p *lg*. I love it and highly recomend it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lilhogge
Lancaster, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Vizio Rules
1/6/2010

Customer review by AVdude

5.0 stars 1/6/2010 by AVdude
by AVdude

1080p Panel, LED back light, USB for picture viewing, less than 1.7" Thin...You kidding me! This is the coolest TV on the market. Volume is great, 20,000:1 Contrast......and front control buttons! Vizio got this one right. Not sure what TV the other reviewer was reviewing....Ths thing is the bomb!

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AVdude
North!
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wow!
7/19/2010

Customer review by cheapshoppinglover

5.0 stars 7/19/2010 by cheapshoppinglover
by cheapshoppinglover

Wow! What an invetment! I bought this tv to replace a 19" 720p flat screen, what a difference. The picture is better than the 42" brand name in the living room and the sound is better than what I expected. I can have the volume on 5 and still be able to hear it over the traffic. The only gripe I have is with the menu. It pops up unexpectedly with the sun glare.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cheapshoppinglover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Excellent High Def TV
5/19/2010

Customer review by jwimmer

5.0 stars 5/19/2010 by jwimmer
by jwimmer

I was explicitly looking for a small 1080p TV for my office that would also double as a monitor for my desktop computer. I had looked at several up to 26" and thought 26" was too big for the area I was to put the TV. This TV fit perfectly, works excellent as a computer monitor although I wish its resolution was 1920 x 1600. Having only 1080 vertical resolution is a bit small, but the clarity is excellent. The inputs are vast and I have a Blu-Ray player HDMI input and my DirecTV HDMI input and the VGA input. I would like to have seen a DVI computer input as well but that's ok. Again, the smooth glass front face from edge to edge makes for a very clear and stunning picture. Very impressive and I might buy another one for my bedroom. Overall, excellent value with the only con against the TV is the lack of bass. The sound is rather tinny but not so much as to make it unlistenable. It does have a speaker out jack to plug in a set of high end computer speakers or there is also a digital sound output. J Wimmer Biloxi, MS

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jwimmer
Biloxi, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Had to Return It
3/14/2010

Customer review by bigbadbob

2.0 stars 3/14/2010 by bigbadbob
by bigbadbob

Product aesthetics and packaging and documentation was great but more cons than pros. Picture quality was OK but constantly had to re-adjust video like color saturation and/or facial tint between channels. Also, the QAM tuner allows HD channels without a cable box but puts those channels numerically away from other related channels, i.e.; Channel 4 vs. Channel 4HD where Channel 4HD is labelled 116. I have a Sharp TV with QAM tuner and when connected to the same cable (no cable box either) Channel 4HD is Channel 4.005, so all Channel 4's are easy to channel scan as they are numerically nested together. Also, menu functions are not well thought-out, like sleep timer is in the on-screen menu whereas it should be a dedicated button on the remote. Overall, picture quality is way below I was expecting and set is too cumbersome to operate and enjoy. My 19" and 45" Sharps are miles above Vizio! Also, the high-gloss screen is 'gotta go. Too many reflections if placed near a window! Thank goodness I bought at Walmart and they took it back!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bigbadbob
Shelton, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Products
9/24/2010

Customer review by Thraxis

5.0 stars 9/24/2010 by Thraxis
by Thraxis

I bought this TV via Walmart.com for my dorm room for use with my 360. This TV is compact, but has plenty of resolution for playing Halo 3 or Oblivion. It has plenty of input forms to connect multiple game systems. One issue that most people have had with this product is the sound. I've found that it has great sound quality, at least at the lower volumes. It does increase/decrease rather quickly in the low single-digit volumes, but most gaming I've done takes place in the 7-12 volume range. I tend to play on the quiet side, so for people who like loud, I'll mention that I usually keep the volume less than a third of the max. This TV is also nicely sized for a Dorm room. It's small enough to fit in the open spaces of my room, and light enough to set up on top of my 360, but doesn't suffer greatly in the graphics department because of it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thraxis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Mostly good
8/17/2010

Customer review by MsAlafair

4.0 stars 8/17/2010 by MsAlafair
by MsAlafair

Pros: Picture quality is 9 out of 10; sound quality is about typical for flat screen TV speakers, so 5 out of 10. Set up was very easy. TV stand is quite stable. Good unit for bedroom or kitchen. Color is very good with sharp images, black being much blacker than on LCD sets. Cons: No timer for wake-up, just sleep mode. Remote buttons are too small, stiff and kind of annoying to the point of where I am considering the purchase of a universal remote to run both my cable box and the TV. Settings/Menu is unforgiving and turns off too quickly. Could not use as a monitor for my older desktop with XP Home but that may be my fault for not setting things properly and giving up too soon because the Settings were too fussy for my limited patience with such matters. Overall, I am very satisfied with my purchase. It suits me fine for a bedroom TV that takes up little space but has a great picture and adequate sound for a 10x14 room.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsAlafair
New England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great as computer monitor except...
2/17/2010

Customer review by dave44inWV

4.0 stars 2/17/2010 by dave44inWV
by dave44inWV

Computer Monitor: When used with a computer is it super sharp and clear. It's easy to control the brightness and back lighting so the brightness doesn't bleach your eyeballs out. You need to buy your own VGA cable to hook it to the computer..........A real deal breaker might be the feature that automatically pops up an on-screen menu the closer you get to it. While being used as a monitor up close and personal the menu pops up continuously and does not go away, taking up valuable on-screen space on the lower left side of the screen. This is really annoying, I wish I could simply turn that feature off..........My son tried it for on-line games and loves it. The 1080P means it is hi-res for the computer and not the 720 low-res you don't want. As a computer monitor it is 1920x1080, larger numbers are better. The dot pitch is .26, smaller number are better, and larger numbers mean fuzzy picture. Many monitors in this class are .43..........TV: It's a nice bed side TV with really tinny sound. There is a USB port you plug your thumb drive into for a slide show of the kids. My wife loves this because it works like a large picture frame and it is easy to use..........We view it from about 3-5 feet away and put it on the dresser. At 23" it is really a nice size for this distance. Larger is not better in this instance.........Remote Control: Very small and cheap and works best if you aim it right at the lower left side of the TV. All the menu items can be accessed directly from the pop-up on-screen menu, and the features are considerable..........Cool feature: If you insert a blank thumb drive the TV itself will act like a poor man's DVR so you can pause, rewind and fast forward, up to a half hour.......... The LED back lights make no difference from what I can tell visually. They are easy to turn down for night watching so the TV doesn't light up the room at night..........It only uses 30watts, while most TV's this size use about 110w. On standby it uses 1w. By comparison my hallway night light uses 6 watts..........Overall it is a mixed bag because of the annoying on-screen menu that pops up against your will and won't go back off, but for a $300 computer monitor or an inexpensive TV, you really can't go wrong. I bet they sell a ton of these to college students to use with laptops in dorm rooms.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dave44inWV
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Simply Amazing
3/26/2010

Customer review by MattCollins

5.0 stars 3/26/2010 by MattCollins
by MattCollins

I was a bit afraid of buying another brand electronics other than Sony but after buying this Tv i am amazed at how well Vizio actually is this tv has everything for a gamer and movie watcher it offers 2 HDMI inputs which is perfect for playing games on a PS3, or if you have a blu ray player you can use the 2nd hdmi input it also has optical digital out for extreme surround sound it actually has pretty good audio anyway. Even though its a 23" TV it looks bigger than others. Its very thin so you dont have to use much space. And the light senor takes viewing experience at day or night to a whole different level, And for a bonus it has a touch sensor which lights up the power and volume controls on the television and all you have to is barely touch it. I highly recommend this TV to everyone simply because it offers everything high branded eletronics but at a affordable price.

MattCollins
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
read for sound problem fix
12/14/2010

Customer review by Bonni3

5.0 stars 12/14/2010 by Bonni3
by Bonni3

You need to have the setting under audio set to ON for SurroundHD It makes all the difference. I had even gone and bought speakers. Then I found the setting and the sound improved dramatically I don't use the speakers.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bonni3
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Vizio the Best!
9/25/2010

Customer review by Wtrskigirl

5.0 stars 9/25/2010 by Wtrskigirl
by Wtrskigirl

I reasearched this size TV everywhere and bought and returned 3 because they were just crummy. Then I ran across this one on Walmart.com took the chance and this is a home run! This is so much better than Anything else out there in the size range that its crazy, it is a little more $$ than the generic tvs at the Best Buys ect but, its worth every dollar for the picture difference. My only ding is that the speakers are pretty wimpy, we got around that by purchasing a single speaker that gives quazi surround sound and now its perfect. Don't even consider not buying this TV because the speakers are weak, none of the TVs we tried were any better...it is just what it is... buy it and Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wtrskigirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
pleasantly surprised
7/7/2010

Customer review by katieroo

5.0 stars 7/7/2010 by katieroo
by katieroo

After reading all the reviews and seeing they were 3-5 stars I was pretty sure I would be a good buy. However in a 23x13 bedroom i had concerns over sound quality as anyone who had dissatisfactory comments was always about the sound quality. Well I must say with the default sound settings and the TV mounted on the wall at 5'6" high the small speakers in the back are plenty to fill the room. The only thing I can see wrong is that there is no speaker output jack and you have to use the headphone jack. That is no problem but there is no guide as to what type of jack to use. This TV is going to find its way into all the bedroom of the house. It is light and the picture quality is well worth the 300 dollars. We use it to stream from netflix via a sony BD/DVD player and just love it. Set up was a breeze and was ready in less than 20 minutes including channel programming.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
katieroo
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product!! Exactly what we wanted!
6/29/2010

Customer review by EnglishD4Life

5.0 stars 6/29/2010 by EnglishD4Life
by EnglishD4Life

My wife and I bought this TV so that we can have something bigger in our spare bedroom/office/man cave... I was hesitant about some of the negative reviews, but once I opened this thing and messed with the settings, I realized that this TV is exactly what I needed. I switched out my box and got a HD box, and there is a HUGE difference! -Sound quality is great! For the smaller room, I rarely even turn it up over 10, and it goes up to 100. -Picture quality is awesome as well! Even for the channels that aren't in HD, the screen is small enough that the picture isn't distorted. However, when you actually have it on an HD channel there really is a difference. One of the smallest TV's I found with 1080p. -I also have hooked up the Wii to it, and the graphics are great! I unfortunately cannot comment about the HDMI connection because I do not have the proper equipment to make the connection at this time. But I do have lots of movies on my computer, and I plan on utilizing this feature sometime soon. The only thing that I would change is possibly a sturdier base, but I think its fine. Great Product!! Exactly what we wanted!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EnglishD4Life
Toledo, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 128 total reviews
1-20 of 128 reviews