Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

25 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

25 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

28%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 stars
11
1-20 of 23 total reviews
28%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
Deceiving Picture on the box
2/23/2010

Customer review by KaidsMom

3.0 stars 2/23/2010 by KaidsMom
by KaidsMom

Dont let the picture fool you. Note the contents of the box contains 1 Round Mold. If you want a Star or Heart you have to mold that shape yourself! The instructions say to mix 1 cup of cool water with the powder in the mold tray. First of all you have no room to stir it around once you add the water. Secondly 1 cup of water was not enough. It starts to harden up so fast you cant even spread it. I found that if I mixed it in my large measuring cup, with 1 1/4 cup of cold water it mixed much better and I was able to pour it into the mold and have a nice finished top. I suppose if you want to mold it into another shape you could use the 1 cup of water it calls for, however like I said it starts to harden up very fast. The instructions say 4-8 minutes. I found it was more like 1-2 minutes. You have to work very fast!!! As far as the included gems and little tiles, you get about 8 gems and 10 tiles. Not enough for every stone as the picture shows.

Was this review helpful? (52) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KaidsMom
SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Total Waste of Time and Money
7/6/2011

Customer review by WhatNameWillYourSysAccept

1.0 stars 7/6/2011 by WhatNameWillYourSysAccept
by WhatNameWillYourSysAccept

My girls each got one of these as gifts. We attempted the project following the directions given. What a disaster!! I agree with everyone else. The instructions are completely wrong. The amount of water is wrong and within SECONDS it sets up hard enough that adding water doesn't help. We have a bowl full of plaster rocks. The instructions say there should be a plastic sheet to put out over your table as protection. There isn't. The included gloves are insanely big and were completely useless for my kids. As this is a kids project they should be smaller. The mixing tongue depressor was worthless. It was on the verge of breaking in half while stirring the water in and once the stuff started setting SECONDS later it did break. The "mixing tray" doesn't exist. There was only the design tray which has designs pressed into it. This makes it nearly impossible to mix as the indents fill with powder but the stirring can't get to it. That was all with the first kit. Didn't even attempt to do the second kit.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WhatNameWillYourSysAccept
Would recommend to a friend? No
Fun Project
5/7/2010

Customer review by MommyJanMar

4.0 stars 5/7/2010 by MommyJanMar
by MommyJanMar

The prior reviews are correct in that the pictures are deceiving on the box AND the amount of water needed is more than instructed. BUT I knew someone who already had worked with this product and I read the reviews first... so I knew what to expect. I used about 9 oz. of water (a little over a cup) and mixed it in a separate container - the extra water gives you plenty of time to stir it up and get out the clumps. Once my mixture was smooth, I poured it into the mold - smoothed it a little with the stick included - then gently wiggled the mold around to get it nice and smooth. After this - just keep checking very frequently until it is set enough for your handprint (you can put the jewels/stones in while you are waiting). It still sets up really quick even when using the extra water - so it is still a fast project. Make sure to wait long enough before taking it out of the mold - it does crack easily if it isn't ready!! I bought extra acryllic jewels since there are not very many included!! I would have bought extra stones too if I'd seen some. I also bought extra paintbrushes since it only came with one. If you want other shapes of molds - you can always buy them separately. Overall, my opinion is - if you know what to expect - you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (54) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommyJanMar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Very Disappointing!
5/10/2010

Customer review by proudmaof2

1.0 stars 5/10/2010 by proudmaof2
by proudmaof2

I agree with the other reviews, as the box only came with one tray/template. I ended up adding more water than the instructions called for, and even then, the mixture did not turn out very well. It was messy to spread, even after attempting to smooth it out evenly with a butter knife. The mold seemed to set up to quickly to add gems, or do a handprint. This is junk, and I would not recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
proudmaof2
North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Box is misleading
3/1/2010

Customer review by WitchWitch

3.0 stars 3/1/2010 by WitchWitch
by WitchWitch

On the box it looks like you can make several different shape/style stepping stones. In reality, it comes with only one shape/style, the flowers. There was a smoothing tool missing as well. We also didn't know how to put the jewels and mosaic tiles on, the instructions for doing this were not included. It was also extremely difficult to make an impression of your hand. The paste seem to set too quickly to do this.

Was this review helpful? (31) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WitchWitch
Would recommend to a friend? No
Daddy to the rescue.
1/2/2013

Customer review by CaptainHuggyface

1.0 stars 1/2/2013 by CaptainHuggyface
by CaptainHuggyface

Mix is wrong. One shape. Whatever. You've read it a dozen times here already. This product is garbage. My 4 year old daughter was distraught over the poor quality of her project. Daddy to the rescue. A quick trip to the local home improvement store... 50lbs of Quickcrete ($4) and a few cheap plastic drip trays that are supposed to go under house plants and we had four 12" stones you could park a car on without breaking... and for less than the cost of this kit. We reused the decorations from this kit and my daughter spent at least an hour decorating. Save the trouble, get a quality product for less money. Crafts don't have to come out of a box.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CaptainHuggyface
Snohomish, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Miss leading and won't last outside.
5/12/2012

Customer review by CubScoutMama

1.0 stars 5/12/2012 by CubScoutMama
by CubScoutMama

I bought this for a mothers day presant, but there is a lot of issues with this item. -There is only one mold! The mold is the butterfly with leaves. The other three; I the directions you are told to find a mold similar to make them. -The directions say to use 1 cup of water. You need 2 cups. -The stickers that everyone is talking about, they are ment for clear stones. You are supposed to buy them seperatly and place them underneath. - The stones cannot be placed on the product wet, it won't adhere to it. - The stone dries way to fast and makes it impossible to do hand prints. - The stone has to sit in the mold overnight otherwise it will crack when you take it out. Making it a long process. - The stone is made of cheep sand and not enough concrete. The stone will not last outside. It will disenagrate due to it having to much sand in the product. -Finally; the gloves are big, but use common sense! You the adult need to mix the cement due to the nature of the product. This stuff is hard to mix because it dries fast! I would never rececomed this to someone unless they want to keep it as an keepsake inside. If you paint this I recommend spraying the stone with crystal clear acrylic coating. This preserves the paint and stops it from coming off and gives the stone a gloss finish, but the stone should be dry for a few days.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CubScoutMama
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
Deceiving Photo On Box
3/31/2010

Customer review by Ercokat

3.0 stars 3/31/2010 by Ercokat
by Ercokat

I completely agree with the first 2 raters. There is only 1 mold, and the instructions are sparse. When I tried to find the company online, it said their website was under construction. There is no smoothing tool, as the instructions stated. You cannot make the stepping stones on the front without buying a mold elsewhere. The only way I can see to use the jewels is if you use the bottom of the mold as your top, and just ignore the design on the opposite side, and stick the jewels in before the bottom dries. The instructions do not address any of these issues. My instructions called for only 1/2 cup of water, which was not nearly enough. We ended up adding about another 1/2 cup, and even then it was a little hard to mix. Also, there was no mixing container, as suggested in the instructions; only the mold, which we mixed in.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ercokat
Eastover, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Ok but not what I was expecting
6/22/2012

Customer review by cryss0305

2.0 stars 6/22/2012 by cryss0305
by cryss0305

This loooked like a cool idea I really wated to make these stones for my husband for fathers day. On the box it shows a star shaped stone one with a butterfl and plant, and one with a hand print. I was most excited by the hand print one. It said it made 4 stones so I thought this is perfect, maybe if I had read better I would of known buying this that it was only one mold, so the only one you could make was the one with the butterfly and plant. And that didnt really work for me. I didnt want to make 4 of the same one for my husband I wanted to put my kids hand prints in them. Then I thought well I will try to make one anyway. It wasnt as easy as I thought it would be. I measured out the water but it dried way before I was finish smoothing it out so the back of the stone looked awful. It was ok and I guess if your kids just want the one with the butterflys and plant to paint it works great but if your looking to do other things and other shapes its not the thing for you. hope this helps someone one! but hey its only 10$ so at least its cheap! :)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cryss0305
Lake Elsinore, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
7/22/2011

Customer review by kelof3

3.0 stars 7/22/2011 by kelof3
by kelof3

I got this in our local walmart. I have 3 kids and thought it would make a good art project. It came with only one mixing tray. So i had to make the first one,and by the time I try to press my childs hand in the mold tray it bascially started to dry. Had to let that one dry for at least 4-6 hours,make another one do the same thing let it dry again for 4-6 hours and so on. And it only makes 4 steping stones. So i decided to paint their hands with the paint it came with and press it on the back of the dry stepping stone. I used regular kids glue to put the jewels on,which held up. The only thing that I didn't like was we put them outside to make a path way to our fence and over a period days between the rain,heat and so on they bascially fell apart. I kinda wish I wouldn't put them outside and kept them inside as a keepsake but I did take pictures of their finished stepping stones,so I guess that was ok. Bascially for the price its ok,but how it came with one molding tray and how fast it started to dry and how it fell apart after a few days outside was a disappointment. But overall it was a fun project and i think my kids enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kelof3
louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
You Get What You Pay For
5/30/2010

Customer review by kacorey

1.0 stars 5/30/2010 by kacorey
by kacorey

I purchased this at Wal-Mart for somewhere around the $10 range. We tried a "test-run" and it set up so fast that by the time I got it into the mold, my 4 year old couldn't even push his handprint into it - with my help. About 3 weeks later, we read the reviews and the woman who said to use 9 oz. of warm water was dead on. It worked much better. I wouldn't call it "perfect", as it was still gritty, etc. but as I said, you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kacorey
ND
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Okay for the price
7/8/2011

Customer review by karebear28

3.0 stars 7/8/2011 by karebear28
by karebear28

I agree with everything the previous reviews have noted. The stones are actually pretty small, meant more for children to step on really. I was a little bummed that it turned out not to be as great as I hoped for, but it was okay for a summer project for the kids. The paint that came with it was really good, nice colors and consistency. I got what I paid for, but next time I will opt to buy something else.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
karebear28
CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Complete Waste of money & time. Disappointing
5/11/2012

Customer review by HsMom89

1.0 stars 5/11/2012 by HsMom89
by HsMom89

I bought this product for my daughter, my autistic brother, & my little sister to do as a Mother's Day present for my Mom. What a waste! EVERYTHING the reviews below say, is absolutely 100% true. It's not human error, it's a poor product & misleading. I was very disappointed as I cannot afford to be buying such misleading & unsuccessful products. I now have to spend more money on something else as a Mother's Day gift as I originally thought that $10 + $4 more I spent on buying glow in the dark acrylic paint for the project was a GREAT deal! But have since learned I may as well have ripped my $10 in half because buying this product was the equivalent of doing so.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HsMom89
Festus, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
it really does work
10/21/2013

Customer review by gizmo1234cook

3.0 stars 10/21/2013 by gizmo1234cook
by gizmo1234cook

Forget the instructions. After my first stone failed I made some adjustments. First slowly mix warm/hot tap water with plaster. 1 cup of water plus about 3 TBS into a small container then pour mix into mold. Tap mold to smooth out top. With gloved finger,test plaster in middle. When it begins to firm you can place jewels or beads then let dry. You will also have option of painting butterflies on the other side. Be sure to purchase additional decorations as the kit comes with only a few. Once I made these changes we had 3 beautiful stepping stones and will be buying more. A little extra water gives you 5-7 minutes of dry time before the stone is to hard to work with. Let me know if you have as good a time as we did once we made these adjustments

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gizmo1234cook
Nashille, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Horrible and very misleading.
6/12/2011

Customer review by MomOfTwinsInKy

1.0 stars 6/12/2011 by MomOfTwinsInKy
by MomOfTwinsInKy

I bought this HOPING to make it as a gift and it looked easy enough. First off there wasn't a smoothing tool and the mixing tool they give you after being wet for a little while becomes very flimsy. The water amount is nowhere near accurate and it sets up VERY FAST! Good thing it comes with 4 packages of cement, because that's what it took to get one decent looking stone. I tried to put my kids handprints in it...good luck! Even after I found the correct amount of water to add, the handprints still didn't turn out. And the package comes with stickers?? Why you would add stickers to a cement stepping stone going outside is beyond me. I've looked up on "do it yourself" websites and will be making our own stepping stones.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomOfTwinsInKy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
my children's disappointment...
6/12/2010

Customer review by SymonSimple

1.0 stars 6/12/2010 by SymonSimple
by SymonSimple

Visually, this product seems to be the perfect way to spend a Saturday morning (for boys and girls of varying ). That is until you open the box. 10 miniature tiles (which are shown on the box place on other molds), plastic jewels, stickers (really? stickers? for a garden stepping stone...that will last about a week), paints and the plaster mix. This product has made me wary about this brand and I will most likely not purchase anything else they make. /c:',

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SymonSimple
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Product misrepresntation.star & heart mold not inc
12/17/2012

Customer review by brokenarrow21

1.0 stars 12/17/2012 by brokenarrow21
by brokenarrow21
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I expected this product to have a round, a star and a heart steping stone mold as the picture on the packsge shows. Instead it only has the round mold. Very disapointing. It should not show the star and heart mold if the supplier is not going to include it. It doest state that the star and heart are not included, but you have to look for it and I did not.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brokenarrow21
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
cheap; doesnt work
3/9/2012

Customer review by springarden

1.0 stars 3/9/2012 by springarden
by springarden

the mix instantly got hard- i wanted to put my girls hands on a stone for their grandma's garden but the mix hardened almost instantly and their little hands couldnt press hard enough to make a mold. i tried to re create the mold mix, but it doesnt work. very sad. i know its 10 bucks but now im out of a birthday present :(

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
springarden
Would recommend to a friend? No
4/11/2010

Customer review by mommy51239

2.0 stars 4/11/2010 by mommy51239
by mommy51239

I was so disappointed in this product. The box is misleading and the instructions were not correct. You need more water then it says and you really cannot get a good handprint out of it at all. I was very disappointed in this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mommy51239
Would recommend to a friend? No
6/17/2010

Customer review by simpstrips

1.0 stars 6/17/2010 by simpstrips
by simpstrips

I read others' reviews of this product, and bought it anyway. It was a good price, so I figured the worst case scenario would be losing 10.00. The directions and materials were not worth 50 cents. Don't waste your money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
simpstrips
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews