Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 51 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

51 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

51 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

65%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
14
1-20 of 50 total reviews
65%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews
works extremely well
2/7/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/7/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have used this product and simular gas powered smokers to cook beef brisket, pork butt, pork ribs and whole chicken with excellent results every time. Temperature control is precise, but use an oven thermometer hung from one of the racks on the inside. I don't trust the one that comes mounted on the door. This thing sips propane. I can cook for about 24 hours with one propane fill up. I was never successful at barbequeing until I used this smoker. If you can't afford a real BBQ pit, this is the way to go. Heck, even if you can afford one, you might want to have one of these as a backup for when you want to be lazy.

Was this review helpful? (63) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
temple texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
SMOKE IT UP
3/22/2010

Customer review by RichinWebsterNY

4.0 stars 3/22/2010 by RichinWebsterNY
by RichinWebsterNY

This is the easy way of smoking or not smoking your food. Yesterday I smoked a 7 Lb. Boston Butt for just over10 hrs., This was my first time with this smoke box. My other smoker is a large offset style that you have to keep putting wood in, at first it was fun... It has ben replaced by this smoke box. The pork had a great smoke line and was moist, best tasting smoked pork I have had in a long time... Rub the meat with yellow mustard and then use your favorite dry rub, massage it into the meat good and start it with a handfull of Hickory chips low and slow. put apple cider and water in the bowl, every 2 hrs. mist the meat with a spray of cider and dont let the water bowl dry up it makes a mess. The pork should flake with a fork when it is done. ENJOY

Was this review helpful? (50) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RichinWebsterNY
W.Webster N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great product !!
4/24/2011

Customer review by kylelakeplacid

4.0 stars 4/24/2011 by kylelakeplacid
by kylelakeplacid

I have had my smoker now for two years , i just happened to be browsing through the web site to see whats new and started reading reveiws. I was actually shocked to see so many complaints . I have had exceptional luck with this product . I have cooked several hundreds of pounds of smoked meats for several partys and functions and the only complaint i have is that the door thermometer is 50 degrees off ( which i use three oven thermometers inside any ways ) and that the burner will be blown out in high wind conditions if trying to smoke at a low flame temp. of 225..solution ,wrap tinfoil around base of legs . All in all , keep it clean after each use ,fill water pan when needed while smoking meats ..i actually put wood and water in the center pan an outside water pan , keeps the water from boiling out that everyone keeps complaining about and creates steam instead of boiling out quickly ..let wood chips soak for a good 30 to 45 mins

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kylelakeplacid
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Not to bad
4/7/2011

Customer review by smokeiteatit

4.0 stars 4/7/2011 by smokeiteatit
by smokeiteatit

Bought this smoker. All in all it worked well for the ribs and sausage I did in it. My only real complaint is the heating element is so close to the drip pan/water resovoir that you need to fill your resovoir every hour or hour and a half, and that was with a internal temp of 200-225. Held heat fine and many of the reviews I read had compaints about the door not sealing and external thremomerter not being accurate. I did not find either as a issue. Ran a themometer inside and temp was identical to the external thermometer. Its not the best smoker in the workd, but for the money it most definately does the job. I previously used an electric smoker and found gas to be much better. My old smoker was a cylinder and hard to load, unload and clean. With the front load on this smoker it is easy to load, unload and clean and to me that is a huge plus. All in all a good buy.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smokeiteatit
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Didn't meet expectations
6/3/2010

Customer review by LonghornForLife

2.0 stars 6/3/2010 by LonghornForLife
by LonghornForLife

I had higher expectations for this smoker being a Char-Broil product. Everything seemed to function ok but the door would not seal. There was a large gap that allowed smoke and heat to exit the lower part of the door. Additionally, the water and wood chip pan are the same. This puts the water on direct heat from the flame...which means it is gone really fast. If I was to keep it, I would probably have to customize it so that the water was not on direct heat and basically boiling away. I contacted Char-Broil about the door and they sent me a new door under warranty, which was great service. However, the new door they sent me wouldn't even close. It was just slightly too big for the opening. That seemed a little careless to me and that's when I decide to return the product.

Was this review helpful? (19) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LonghornForLife
Would recommend to a friend? No
Super Smoker
11/3/2010

Customer review by TLGS

5.0 stars 11/3/2010 by TLGS
by TLGS

Fit & finish - perfect from the day I put it together until now. Highly adjustable temperature settings - sausage @ 150 degrees to turkey @ 275 degrees and everywhere else in between. The fire lights everytime and stays lit even in moderate wind. Whatever temp I set it on, it stays there! Big plus. Comes with three racks and six locations to put them in; i.e., super adjustable for cooking just about anything. Wood chunks last a long time - 2 long smoking sessions most of the time. If someone stole it, I'd buy another one tomorrow. Best investment I've made in a while.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TLGS
Houston, Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
You get what you pay for
8/16/2011

Customer review by vatra

4.0 stars 8/16/2011 by vatra
by vatra

was looking to pick up a smoker for about a yr. for the various game and fish we harvest. was shopping in the garden section and saw this smoker was listed for 139.00 normally but as I guess August is an off time or someone had made an error one of the boxes or perhaps the box being dirty on the outside had been marked down down to $74.00. We checked the box and it seemed factory sealed, so I brought it to the Courtesy Counter rather than the register and had them summon a manager. He checked it out and authorized the sale. Anyway got it home and took a day then assembled the unit the directions where straight forward. The unit itself was missing two nuts that were not in the sealed parts pack, One a nut that held the burner unit in place upon assembly, no biggie I had one of my own and in fact when crushing the box the missing nut fell out of the folded flap. The other (a one way) was one that should have been on the back of the "Chair-Broil Logo Plate" on the inside of the door. so much for quality control. Anyway fired it up after coating it down w/ cooking spray the temp is hard to maintain if you rely on the door gauge because the door thermometer is as others have stated OFF BY ABOUT 50 DEGREES, so you will need a decent oven rack one and that's what I used. The trail run I smoked three racks of ribs and sausages. I have no idea why the company would not make a unit with one that was accurate, but hey for the price I got it at it's good. I would say that they should include at least five shelves not three as if you want extra they sell them for like 40 bucks a pop. In summation I would say to totally cover the water /chip pan in tin foil prior to each use & then coat that two w/ cooking spray and keep the pan full of liquid as it's a hard to clean out if you let the thing run dry But over all I would say that this product although it does what it's supposed to is slightly overpriced at $139.00, and should retail for no more than $109.00, but that's me. Also there's no instruction guide for smoking things even a basic one would be a start so you'll have to get the stuff off the internet if your a starter like me.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vatra
Orange County NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Smoked it Great! Water replenishment solution
12/12/2013

Customer review by MuscleUp

5.0 stars 12/12/2013 by MuscleUp
by MuscleUp

Since I only occupied the 2 top racks with pork shoulders, I thought I would get creative and decided to put an aluminum tray on the bottom rack filled with water as I discovered the attention for water replenishment about every 30-45 mins into the 4 out of the 9 hours of my first use of the smoker. This did the trick for me as the smoker temperature went up to 250+ easily. And although you are only required to use the wood chips for the first 3-4 hours, I decided to keep up with the replenishment of the wood chips throughout the duration of the smoking process for that added wood smoke taste and... boy did the meat turn out great!! Just like anything, one will only get as much out of experience, based on the amount of attention and care put into it, especially monitoring it the first time it is used. This way, proper adjustments can be made and future smoking experiences will be much simpler as it did for me. I made it a successful first time experience for me and did not allow what I could not control bother me and instead, I did improvise and will make some minor modifications to my smoking process. However, Char-Broil should make a permanent design modification to not place the water tray above direct heat. Possibly leave the wood chips tray above direct heat then the water tray above the wood chips tray as I did. I am a Consulting Engineer, so may be we can talk to get you more sales on this product =).

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MuscleUp
Antioch, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Top notch smoker for price.
5/20/2013

Customer review by Metalace

5.0 stars 5/20/2013 by Metalace
by Metalace

Was easy to install and cooked great..... First time using I cooked a whole chicken, a boston butt and a rack of ribs... All three meats tasted sooo good.... Only thing is the manual said the water pan would hold water up to 4-6 hours.... In my case It was every one hour that I had to refill. But overall its worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Metalace
Talladega, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
smokin
12/5/2010

Customer review by nicktosmoke

4.0 stars 12/5/2010 by nicktosmoke
by nicktosmoke

Smoker works great, with one exception or maybe two. The water pan is too close to the heat source. You need to keep it filled about every hour. Also the pull-out drawer is a bad design. I tried the one in the store, and thought maybe they had just hurridly put it together, was the reason it wouldn't pull out. I was careful putting mine together, still will not pull out. Will probably have to do some tweeking.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nicktosmoke
Greeneville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
5/31/2011

Customer review by theweez63

3.0 stars 5/31/2011 by theweez63
by theweez63

Its a real pain to assemble. 6 pages of safety warnings with 1 page of use instructions. Apparently the only safe place to use it is in the middle if a football field otherwise you will be to close to something and violate the clearance restrictions. The door is difficult to open once the unit gets hot. Having said all that, the jerky and pork sholder I cooked turned out very well.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
theweez63
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
My new hobby
7/10/2011

Customer review by MuNM

5.0 stars 7/10/2011 by MuNM
by MuNM

I used to smoke on the old charcoal fired round dome smokers, maybe once or twice a year, too much cleaning. Now with this smoker I'm using it probably once a week. Contrary to most comments I have more problems keeping the temperature low in the summer, hard to run less than 220 F even at min setting. This makes slow smoking large items difficult, but the Thanksgiving turkey done at 160 F was perfect (aided by 50F outside temperatures). I found the door mounted thermometer not a good indicator for actual temperatures and use a digital meat thermometer in the exhaust to get my readings.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MuNM
NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
Not very hot
5/18/2010

Customer review by booyogi

3.0 stars 5/18/2010 by booyogi
by booyogi

not a great smoker does not get very hot . hard to maintain temp over 200. at 80 degree outside temp seems by the time the temp gets up you have to refill water dish again. roughly every 90 minutes. on high. small wood chips tray . but easy access to it and water dish. overall smoke decent but not great . would probably not buy again. this one ill tweak

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
booyogi
las vegas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not good for cold weather
4/2/2010

Customer review by mtcaves

2.0 stars 4/2/2010 by mtcaves
by mtcaves

This is my 3rd smoker. Before I used char., then electric and this one, LP gas. I used it one time and then went back to the store. You get huge BTU's and I had it on high for 7 hours and my ribs still were not done. I went through tons of water and wood for a let down. I use it in colder temps and even put it in my garage so the chill would be off of it and still no luck. If you like to babysit your food then this would work for you.

Was this review helpful? (5) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mtcaves
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Not good at all
3/14/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 3/14/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this about a year ago and the water pan/chip holder has already got a hole in in form the heat. Also, the thermometer NEVER worked. A complete and total disappointment! The last smoker I bought lasted five years and this one less than a year. Terrible product!

Was this review helpful? (6) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Vidalia, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Poor Design
5/19/2013

Customer review by Tony512

1.0 stars 5/19/2013 by Tony512
by Tony512

You will get what you pay for with this smoker. While it does work, it requires constant attention to maintain proper water & temperature levels. The all-in-one water & wood chip pan is a terrible design. With water in the pan, temperature will not go above 200 even on high. The water rapidly boils away (30-45min.) regardless of what the burner is set on. When more water is added, the temperature plummets until it starts to boil. If you let the water pan go dry, then the temperature will easily go above 275 even on low. It is easy to overfill the water pan and have water spill all over the burner, potentially putting out the flame. Forget about adding more wood chips, as they sit in the middle of the water-pan. There are better smokers to be had for a few dollars more.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tony512
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
works great
8/22/2010

Customer review by mary66

4.0 stars 8/22/2010 by mary66
by mary66

Husband fixed ribs the 1st time. Were delicious. Had to add water about every 1/2 hr tho. The temp doesn't seem to be too accurate, but he has his own probe he stuck in the vent on top. Think we will get lots of use from this smoker. Hope so anyway.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mary66
Blackwell, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Some problems but it works....
10/14/2011

Customer review by billsfan9164

2.0 stars 10/14/2011 by billsfan9164
by billsfan9164

Poor packaging- when i picked up the smoker at the walmart store, the box was badly damaged and I was concerned that it might be damaged inside. When I unpacked it, I found several loose pieces of hardware in the bottom of the box. It turned out to be the bolts that hold the racks inside the smoker. Fortunately none of the hardware was lost so I was able to re-install it. It did have some minor scratches on the sides from the holes in the box. Faulty Thermometer- it does not work and I could not locate a telephone number in the literature to request a replacement. The instructions state that water in the water pan will last 5-6 hours but I had to refill it every two hours.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
billsfan9164
Woodhull, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Mouth watering results!
12/1/2011

Customer review by GrandpaMcLovin

5.0 stars 12/1/2011 by GrandpaMcLovin
by GrandpaMcLovin

My youngest son and his wife bought one of these and the chicken and brisket he turned out with it were so mouth watering stupendous that I had to get one. It has not disappointed! My wife and I have made whole chicken, chicken wings, brisket, ribs and last week, turkey for Thanksgiving in it. They have uniformly been absolutely wonderful. In fact, the turkey was so succulent that we've agreed that for future holidays-- no more oven roasted turkey! We have a charcoal smoker that we have used with success in the past but this is clearly superior in terms of how much you have to watch it and the consistency of results is much better using a steady dose of heat than hit or miss with the charcoal. A real price performer. If you like BBQ or smoked meats, you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrandpaMcLovin
Brownsburg, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Quality Smoker for those on a budget
6/16/2013

Customer review by OIFVet2005

5.0 stars 6/16/2013 by OIFVet2005
by OIFVet2005

Been pricing propane smokers for a while and recently found this one. It was within a personal budget. Great quality. It exceeds my expectations. Used it twice so far to cook tri tip and it came out better tasting than grilled tri tip. Even if you have a grill I encourage you to get a smoker. Especially for those times you are craving more than hot dogs and hamburgers.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OIFVet2005
Grover Beach,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews