Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 144 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

144 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

144 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
89
4 stars
34
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 stars
7
1-20 of 130 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews
BEST VALUE SMOKER U CAN GET!!!!!
3/10/2010

Customer review by DallasCowboys1

4.0 stars 3/10/2010 by DallasCowboys1
by DallasCowboys1

Had this smoker for 3 years now and still works like a charm. This smoker really helped me open the doors to outdoor BBQ. It smokes evenly and can handle a lot of food. I smoked a whole goat with ease, also can smoke up to 6 spare ribs with no prob. This is an awesome grill that any TRUE BBQer will love for sure. Would recommend to anyone for sure.

Was this review helpful? (225) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DallasCowboys1
Avondale, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Double the pleasure of cooking outdoors
4/8/2010

Customer review by Bandet

5.0 stars 4/8/2010 by Bandet
by Bandet

Very easy to assemble, I'm a woman and never put anything together by myself, but rather enjoyed it. I love the smoker/grill combination, its built well and even has a nice warming tray! I shopped around a lot, and this was a very good price. I'm very happy with it..

Was this review helpful? (82) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bandet
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
READ the directions...we did not!
7/26/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/26/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a great smoker/grill...we liked what we read and bought it. First time we used it, the paint started peeling. We contacted the company and they were wonderful, patient and kind. They asked if we seasoned the grill. The directions are on page 3 of the book that comes with it. We didn't even read that part...goes to show how important the directions are...! Please save yourself some trouble and season the grill before you use it the first time. We will season it now, they said it isn't too late but to save yourself from having a peeling grill, follow their directions! No other issues, it is a great grill/smoker!

Was this review helpful? (88) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Auburn WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
good value for the money
9/21/2010

Customer review by BamaBob316

5.0 stars 9/21/2010 by BamaBob316
by BamaBob316

a couple of pieces were bent but some pliers took care of that. some nuts and bolts were missing, but a trip to home depot took care of THAT. it took longer to put together than the instructions said, but i did it by myself and they suggest 2 people (definitely get a friend to help if you can). I wish the thermometer showed the actual temp instead of "cool, ideal, hot" but it does a good job smoking meat. plenty of room on the grill for several racks of ribs, 4 butts, plenty of chicken. I think the warming rack will be in the way if you want to do a whole turkey. I'm still learning, but i got the smoker to hold the temp for 4 hours before i needed to add more fuel. I think I'll get a lot of use out of this.

Was this review helpful? (51) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BamaBob316
birmingham, al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great smoker
3/19/2010

Customer review by CGBear54

5.0 stars 3/19/2010 by CGBear54
by CGBear54

I upgraded from my small water smoker to this large unit and couldn't be happier. I've used it with charcoal and cherry wood. I've cooked Turkey, ribs, brisket and chicken......all to smokey perfection. I looked at quite a few smokers before picking this one. I give it two thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? (34) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CGBear54
Woodstock, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome!!!
4/19/2010

Customer review by Taysia06

5.0 stars 4/19/2010 by Taysia06
by Taysia06

Get's the J-O-B done!!! meat gets sooo tender it falls off the bone, first I thought it was the cook (husband) behind the grill, till I realized it's the PIT (grill) it's self, that keeps the meat so tender you want even need tenderizer for this roaster, another great buy from Walmart!! (U GO WALMART!!) all I can say is AWESOME!! (Need I say more??)

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Taysia06
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great smoker to learn on.
11/8/2011

Customer review by GrimOinker

4.0 stars 11/8/2011 by GrimOinker
by GrimOinker

Easy to read directions made set-up a breeze. Had this smoker put together and charcoal rolling within a hour and a half. READ THE DIRECTIONS!!!! The grill needs to be seasoned prior to use to burn off factory oils, set the paint, etc. I was able to go 2 months of twice weekly use before having to redo the paint on the fire box, which should be expected with extreme heats, especially if the coals touch the sides. There is a large heat difference between the left and right hand sides of the cooking chamber. I was able to remedy some of this with some JB Weld (red and black tubes) sealing off the seam on the right hand side, and around the smoke stack, and a couple bricks under the cooking rack. Also, a cheapo bread pan filled with water right up next to the hole where the fire box and the cooking chamber helped level out temps as well You do need to baby sit to keep temps steady, and since the dial gauge is not accurate, I purchased a digital thermometer with a probe connected to a wire that will hold with the magnet on the sides of the grill. I purchased a charcoal chimney and found that had the best results on final flavors; no harsh chemicals from lighter fluid, and you always have newspaper laying around the house to light it. Dont skimp on your charcoal either, cheap charcoal is cheap for a reason; low quality. For the actual smoking, I prefer to use wood CHUNKS over chips. 1) I feel they burn more efficently and release a better flavor, 2) if the temperature starts to drop, a few large chunks will bring it right back up to temp. Rub your meat and stick it in the refridgerator while you go light the grill up. Cold meat picks up smoke much better than room temperature meat. Experiment with different woods for thier flavor. Hickory and Mesquite are great flavors, but with other woods easily available at stores, why limit yourself to one or two flavr profiles. As a professional culinarian, I feel this is a great smoker to learn on. Within a few uses, you can get it dialed in for succulant, juicy meat.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrimOinker
Evansville, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
this is a good one
3/13/2011

Customer review by chopstyle

5.0 stars 3/13/2011 by chopstyle
by chopstyle

I love this smoker with a little help it can be a great smoker go on u-tube to find out how to make it better

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chopstyle
Milwaukee,Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
You can make this smoker even better!
1/18/2012

Customer review by gmarriott

4.0 stars 1/18/2012 by gmarriott
by gmarriott

Works great straight out of the box, however... I compared the expensive smokers (over $400) to this one...two main differences, thickness of the metal (thicker holds heat better) and how well it is sealed (temperature control). I decided to try to make it better without spending a fortune. So I bought some flexible heat resistant seal ($20)and installed it around the edge of the lid and then I bought a foil water heater jacket ($22) and covered the lid. A little black spray paint and... Now I get the performance of a $500 grill for a total out lay of less than half the cost of the expensive models. Results: Less than 10 degree difference at either end of the smoke box. Charcoal and wood consumption reduced by half and way better temperature control.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gmarriott
Englewood, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
3/23/2010

Customer review by brainfreak

5.0 stars 3/23/2010 by brainfreak
by brainfreak

The smoker was perfect. My boyfriend put it together with the help of a friend and it took him only about 20 minutes (with beer in hand). It looked just like the picture when he was done.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brainfreak
Long Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Works well beyond my expectations!
6/26/2011

Customer review by FrankensteinTwoStep

5.0 stars 6/26/2011 by FrankensteinTwoStep
by FrankensteinTwoStep

I've been looking for a new BBQ since my kettle grill is falling apart (it lasted 25+ yrs). I was amazed at how well this one worked. The only complaints I have (and they're small) is the temperature gauge that comes with it is next to useless. It's works, but it's range is so great that you could have a 50+ temperature difference from one end to the other of the cooking box and not know it. However, this can be fixed by buying and installing two temperature gauges at grill level (I bought the Char Broil gauges for $7 each). Using these gauges I was able to keep the cooking temps within 10 degrees of one another on a breezy day. Another is that the identification of the hardware doesn't match the numbering in the directions, but if you just follow the directions by the description of the part you'll get it put together correctly. Also, the hardware comes nicely packaged and everything I needed was included. Also, for a long smoke, use hardwood charcoal not briquettes. I found that the briquettes make to much ash in the firebox and eventually start to smother the fire. I used Kingsford Competition and Stubbs.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FrankensteinTwoStep
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice smoker
9/20/2010

Customer review by cornbread68

4.0 stars 9/20/2010 by cornbread68
by cornbread68

Nice smoker. I am a beginner when it comes to smoking meat, but so far this unit has done a great job. I was able to purchase mine pre-assembled at my store, which was a plus. I would STRONGLY suggest anyone to follow the seasoning instructions before using the smoker the first time. The only complaint I have is the thermostat. I purchased a couple of small temp gauges and a place them on the grill grates to have a more accurate temp measurement. I smoked some ribs, sausage, and chicken one weekend for my brother and his family and he bought one for himself when he got back home. He hasn't had any issues with his either. Good Product.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cornbread68
sealy, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
3/22/2010

Customer review by MekhongMan

5.0 stars 3/22/2010 by MekhongMan
by MekhongMan

Does a great job of smoking. Easy to maintain and adjust temperature. Does a better job than most more expensive smoker/grills. Will probably replace the charcoal rack in the fire box with a heavier duty one though.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MekhongMan
Jessieville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Quite Pleased!
5/4/2010

Customer review by loveless8182

5.0 stars 5/4/2010 by loveless8182
by loveless8182

We purchased this combo bbq/grill/smoker because Target sold out of their bbq/smoker. We're glad we didn't go with the Target grill because we are super pleased with this one! The test drive of the grill yielded us VERY delicious results. It's spacious and maintained the temperature for about 3.5 hours. We added mesquite chips to the smoker and grill area and you could taste the smoky flavor in every bite. Note: it is quite heavy, so you'll need 2 people if not a 3rd to help you carry it & it helps to have an extra set of hands for assembly. Another thing to watch out for: I went through and double checked for all the correct parts and materials. We went through every step to a tee and discovered two screws missing. We managed to end up with two extra different sized screws. Didn't have any problems with paint coming off or rust. Once we tried it out, we got the hang of using this very quickly! This was an excellent buy!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
loveless8182
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Truly worth the MONEY!!
5/10/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/10/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I brought this item hoping that both the grill and smoker worked. Even though in the back of my mind I thought different. I'm truly happy to know I did right in buying it.Having a big family on a buget makes this a GREAT BUY for us!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good grill but not smoker
2/4/2011

Customer review by jgr8hous

3.0 stars 2/4/2011 by jgr8hous
by jgr8hous

It was very easy to put together, looks great. As far as grillin it is very good good but not as a smoker if you want that real smoke flavor. I smoked a beer can chicken for about four hours and could barely taste the smoke in the meat, the taste was good but smoke flavor I love was not there. I think its because all the smoke escapes the grill so easy, very little smoke comes out the smoke stack. Also i had to take out the upper rack to even fit the beer can chicken in the grill so the lid would shut. And when the upper rack is in you can not put anything on it that will drip grease or juice alot. If you do you end up with a mess behind your smoker/grill. When you raise the lid it puts the upper rack over the back of lid so when you shut it the grease just runs down the back of the grill to your deck making a real mess. If your wanting an offset cooker to slow cook food this item is great but if you want a SMOKER that puts great smoke flavor in your food then this is not the one for you.

Was this review helpful? (15) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jgr8hous
knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great amatuer smoker
6/5/2011

Customer review by bikerboy83

5.0 stars 6/5/2011 by bikerboy83
by bikerboy83

i bought this smoker like 5 years ago and have turned out great food since. i have smoked everything from several boston butts to several slabs of ribs to a whole turkey and i will give you some advice on a turkey do not call the butterball hotline for they have no advice on the subject of smoking a turkey but anyway back to the smoker i agree that they should have put a different temp gauge on there but what i did was go to an outdoor store and found a replacement temp gauge drilled a hole just big enough for it and now i know what warm ideal and hot mean so i would suggest that if you dont want to go by the included temp gauge and i will be looking to buy another one here soon since the fire box after many years of great service has rusted and the vents do not close or open so im glad that i got it set the way i want it but i would recomend this to any backyard barbeque connoisseur

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bikerboy83
springfield, mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Best and Biggest Smoker
6/1/2011

Customer review by MoukasLilBit

5.0 stars 6/1/2011 by MoukasLilBit
by MoukasLilBit

I read all the reviews before I purchased this smoker for my husband's birthday. We shopped around and always came back to this one. Luckily our local Walmart had one on display so we were able to examine it carefully. I agree with other reviewers that one key to getting the most out of this grill/smoker is to season the grill inside and out. We have used it three times since we put it together on May 9 to grill and smoke large and small amounts of food and it cooked perfectly each time. Everyone who has seen it wants one. We highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MoukasLilBit
Pembroke, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Lasting Grill
5/15/2011

Customer review by Ceal1960

5.0 stars 5/15/2011 by Ceal1960
by Ceal1960

Bought this grill 11 yrs ago. Finally rusted out. So buying a new one today!! LOVE THIS GRILL!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ceal1960
Lehigh Acres Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Not a true smoker
3/21/2011

Customer review by parker79252

2.0 stars 3/21/2011 by parker79252
by parker79252

Bought this product thinking it would be a good smoker for the money. The thought and ideas behind are good but it does have flaws. Once you get the fire going and smoke rolling it leaks out smoke all over the place except the smoke vent pipe located on top of the cooking area. Smoke comes out all around the cooking area door and every where else it can. This item is pretty limited on controlling your heat and smoke flow since it egets air flow from all over. You cannot shut off the air to the fire even with the vent on the end of the firebox. When you close off the smoke outlet the smoke just pours out of everywhere else so you have no control of it. It does make a good grill, but a barell cut in half can do that just as well. Not reccomended!

Was this review helpful? (10) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
parker79252
Vernon, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews