Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 101 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

101 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

101 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
51
4 stars
35
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
1-20 of 82 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 82 total reviews
1-20 of 82 reviews
Great grill for cheap!
3/6/2010

Customer review by astrowolf67

4.0 stars 3/6/2010 by astrowolf67
by astrowolf67

I bought this grill to replace a two year old, rather expensive Brinkman grill, in which all steel parts had heavily rusted, some all the way through, including a cast iron burner, even though it had been covered. This grill was worth every penny I paid for it, even if it does only last a few years. It cooks very evenly, temperature is easy to control, flares are easy to control, and, it's easy to clean. Once assembled, it's very sturdy, unlike a lot of grills we looked at. Future replacement parts will be easy to find, since virtually every store that sells grills, sells Char Broil parts and accessories. I would have given it a 5 star rating, if not for two things. NOTHING on this grill is preassembled. So, if you are intimidated by assembling a grill, pay the extra to have it assembled at the store. That being said, with nothing more than a phillips screw driver, and pair of pliers, I had it together and cooking on it in about an hour. The other thing, although they are rarely accurate, a temperature guage would have been nice. But, what can you expect for under a hundred bucks. All in all, I'm very pleased with my purchase. It cooks evenly, and quickly. It cleans up easy, the little rack on the front is handy, as well as the tool hangers on the shelf. And, most importantly, the food tastes great!

Was this review helpful? (367) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
astrowolf67
Western Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Quick, Cheep, Works
2/6/2010

Customer review by AmyBooBoo

5.0 stars 2/6/2010 by AmyBooBoo
by AmyBooBoo

Me and my husband are young and we are cheep, so when we ran across this grill for less than $100 and not having a grill ourselfs do to our old one rusting apart in less than 18 months, we had to try it out. Now more than two years later this grill so far has had no problems the burners still work. There are no rust spots, our food cooks evenly. The only draw back to this grill is that there are no cut outs for a rotisserie, but with the help of my husbands' power tools we made ours work.

Was this review helpful? (94) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AmyBooBoo
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Get your grill on!
4/26/2010

Customer review by walmartismypantry

5.0 stars 4/26/2010 by walmartismypantry
by walmartismypantry

My fiance and I chose this grill because of it's price. The assembly was a bit discouraging, but once we got it put together, we've been using it ever since! Great value for the price, and the size. Perfect for a small gathering. A side burner would be a plus, but other then that it's been wonderful! I love the tool rack!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walmartismypantry
Parkesburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent gift
5/13/2010

Customer review by Asahel

5.0 stars 5/13/2010 by Asahel
by Asahel

We gave this to my Mother-in-law for Mother's Day and she loved it! It's just the right size for her. We would highly recommend this product to anyone with a small space. You can't beat the price either!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Asahel
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
good for the $$$$
6/10/2010

Customer review by boobert

4.0 stars 6/10/2010 by boobert
by boobert

Only needed a small grill and this works well. I wished it had a built in thermometer, though. Much much better than the piece of garbage, "George Foreman" stand up cooker (not grill).

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
boobert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Assembly so easy a grandma can do it
3/21/2010

Customer review by nitahoo

4.0 stars 3/21/2010 by nitahoo
by nitahoo

I wanted a small simple grill that I could put together and handle by myself. I put this grill (in the box) in the back of my PT Cruiser, brought it home and put it together myself. The instructions were clear and easy to follow. It is easy to clean after use. You don't need all the bells and whistles to cook a good steak or burger.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nitahoo
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Its A Good Little Grill
6/7/2010

Customer review by davfor

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by davfor
by davfor

We purchased the grill with free home delivery. It arrived within about a week of when the order was placed. The method of packing and the assembly instructions were both excellent. A person should be comfortable with basic assembly procedures and basic tool useage to purchase it unassembled. It took about 2 1/2 hours to assemble. But, again, the instructions were excellent...one step logically followed another until the assembly was complete...with no need to do anything twice. The grill was quite solid once assembly was completed. You need to buy the propane tank separately. The main grilling surface is quite adequate for the main meat dish for four to six people. Larger groups may need a larger grill. (The box says the grill will cook up to 22 burgers as I recall. But that would be tight.) There is also a smaller upper grilling surface. The grill heats up quickly, has two burner controls, and a push button burner lighter. It is easy to adjust the temperature. We have been using it for a couple of weeks now...maybe 6 uses so far. We are quite pleased with the grill.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
davfor
Oregon Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
time saving product
3/11/2010

Customer review by Grillman42

5.0 stars 3/11/2010 by Grillman42
by Grillman42

Will use this grill to prepare quick healthy meals. It is the right size for a single person or a small group.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grillman42
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Serves It's Purpose
10/10/2010

Customer review by mgourley

3.0 stars 10/10/2010 by mgourley
by mgourley

I bought this for a tailgate because the old, cheap grill was past it's last legs. Assembly instructions are not very good but anyone that has put a grill together before won't have a problem. It's sturdy enough and all parts fit together correctly. Works well for dogs and burgers for a crowd. I certainly would not recommend it for a "main grill" though. A little underpowered on BTU's if you want to do some thick steaks with a good char and medium-rare. Used occasionally and kept out of the weather, this thing should last for quite a few years. It's a $100 grill. With that in mind, it certainly serves it's purpose.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mgourley
Youngstown, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Perfect for a single person or a couple
4/14/2011

Customer review by tlwhitford

5.0 stars 4/14/2011 by tlwhitford
by tlwhitford

Nice gas grill for the thrifty. If you don't need to cook 50 burgers(this one says 20 and that would be a stretch) you dont need a temp gauge side burners shinny chrome or a catch tray (this one has a grease cup)this is your grill. Cooks good and even and my fav feature it's easy to clean. Weighs about 50 lbs w/o full gas tank. Take your time and really pay close attention to the instructions. Right and left side legs are important to get correct and dont forget to put the 4 screws into sides of the bottom bowl for the heat tent when hooking up the burner. The grill serves me very well.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tlwhitford
terre haute, in
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Big Disappointment
3/7/2010

Customer review by golfchap

3.0 stars 3/7/2010 by golfchap
by golfchap

I bought this grill to replace a CharBroil of similar design that I had used a lot over a few years. I am very disapponted with it. The one review I read indicated it was top notch but a closer read idicates that the review is for an earlier model, so be careful. This unit was simply awful to assemble. I have assembled several gas grills over the past 50 years and this one is by far the worst. The instructions left a lot to be desired in that photographs are used that did not show necessary detail as drawings would. Some parts, such as the shelves were installed out of sequence, making them difficult to install with other parts in the way. However, the absolute worst is the design for holding the propane tank. With the left-hand shelf in place, you have to sit on the floor and work under the left shelf to get the tank oriented as described. But then, the regulator did not line up with the tank valve. The gas line had to be loosened from the manifold under the control panel to re-align it. You can only do this by lying down as if you were working under a car! Once the tank was properly installed and connected, you have to be a contorsionist to get at the valve to turn the gas on and off from the front of the grill. I ended up removing the left shelf and leaving it off! Even then it is necessary to go to the back of the grill to get access to the valve. What a piece of junk!! The Char Broil grill it replaces ( $119 at Walmart a few years ago) used wood slats for shelves and was sturdier and much easier to assemble. The firebox was a metal casting rather than the cheap stamped metal used in the current model. The tank was very easy to replace using a simple metal spring bracket and the tank valve was easily accessible. While Walmart will assemble the grill for free you still have to turn the gas on and off and replace the tank from time to time. Not a pleasant outlook. My advice: Don't buy this model!

Was this review helpful? (17) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
golfchap
Sun City Center, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Nice grill!
7/1/2010

Customer review by ReggiesMom

4.0 stars 7/1/2010 by ReggiesMom
by ReggiesMom

I chose this grill as I wanted a little smaller to fit on my not so huge deck. The size is perfect. Putting it together though was time consuming! It took about 3hrs - directions aren't so great...b&w pictures are blurry so when you're looking to see the difference in the side frames, you can't tell them apart. I had them on backwards and had to take quite a bit apart to switch them around. Whatever man put this together in 35-40 min - marry me?? I did grill BBQ ribs the other night and they were fabulous! Great heat distribution.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ReggiesMom
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Cheap price for decent grill.
7/3/2010

Customer review by OU81Ni812

4.0 stars 7/3/2010 by OU81Ni812
by OU81Ni812

I saw this grill on sale for $88 on the Walmart site so I decided to pick it up. I was going to buy a Uniflame off of Ebay for around the same price but the Uniflame reviews recommended not to buy it. The CharBroil came with all the parts needed, it took me over 2 hours to put together but that's me, it might take you less time. The cooking surface is porcelain and very easy to clean with a rag, soap and hot water. It is not recommended to use a wire brush since you will break up the porcelain coating. The ignitor worked well. No gas leaks anywhere. But the grilling box itself is not made of cast iron and the bottom is not pitched at a good enough angle to drain all the fat, so I recommend putting aluminun foil along the bottom and when that gets dirty just remove it and put new pieces in. I kind of made a flanged pan out of the aluminum foil so the fat wouldn't drip out into the drain cup. Otherwise this product meets expectations for the price. The two burners work well, plenty of heat, there are some cool spots though just like any grill. You will find yours by moving the meat around and seeing how fast it cooks in certain spots. This could also be a benefit. The secondary grill area that is elevated above the other grill area still gets plenty hot while the lid is closed. It seems the propane burns clean too so the jets are doing the proper job. I expect this to last me a few seasons, for $88 you can't go wrong, but I do suggest if you have a big enough vehicle to have the store put it together for you. They usually do it for free.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OU81Ni812
Monmouth County, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Value!!
6/17/2010

Customer review by CritterNurse

5.0 stars 6/17/2010 by CritterNurse
by CritterNurse

I purchased this online for my husband's birthday. It arrived promptly and with free shipping! It did take some time to put together but it is a solid little grill and I see why it was rated a best buy. Couldn't be happier with it. We had plenty of room to grill burgers and brats for about 25 people. It's also easy to clean.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CritterNurse
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than I expected
6/17/2010

Customer review by roman1654

5.0 stars 6/17/2010 by roman1654
by roman1654

For the price this grill was way better than I expected. As I put it together following the precise directions I was surprised just how nice this grill was. I am single and just wanted something inexpensive until I settled in. This grill was way over my expectations and works just great.I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
roman1654
Altoona Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
BB-Q
6/23/2010

Customer review by USMCcryptographer

4.0 stars 6/23/2010 by USMCcryptographer
by USMCcryptographer

Easy to assemble. Make sure to follow instructions. Easy to use, light, cook and clean. Good buy for the product. I, BB-Qed some BEAR meat and it came out fantastic. However, I have only used it three times. But as far as I can see, all is good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
USMCcryptographer
Gold Beach, Or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Grill for the Price
7/5/2010

Customer review by Brandy961

5.0 stars 7/5/2010 by Brandy961
by Brandy961

Walmart assembled the grill, which made it so much easier for me. The grill itself cooks very well and you cannot beat the price. I had a very high priced Weber grill for years and I would recommend this Charbroil for singles or couples.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brandy961
Manchester, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
DO NOT BUY Took 3 hours to assemble
6/20/2010

Customer review by pluto459

3.0 stars 6/20/2010 by pluto459
by pluto459

Buy only if already assembled. I gave 3 stars since the grill does work. I bought this since it was cheap. I had read the reviews that assembly was horrible and was like, hmm how bad can it be. WELL, it took me 3 hours. Instructions are horrible. Sad thing is I can put things together without instructions so reading them made is so much worse. I have cooked on it twice so far. Compared to other grills I have used, it feels cheesy and flimsy. There was a sticker on the pieces that looked like store display info, that said free assembly available. For the money if it was assembled would be a great starter grill. Knowing now, I might have spent 50.00 more and bought a beefier, already assembled grill in a real store.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pluto459
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Disatisfied
1/23/2011

Customer review by renadc01

2.0 stars 1/23/2011 by renadc01
by renadc01

Basically you get what U pay for. After buying this grill, the top rack broke after using it about 4 times, the metal melts/bends so you have to keep adjusting it everytime B4 U cook on it again. Very fustrating cause it just falls again while cooking. The ignitor gave out too. So we will definatley be getting a much better grill. My husband is very disatisfied with this grill peroid.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
renadc01
Fresno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
it's a real champ!
6/16/2014

Customer review by bags

4.0 stars 6/16/2014 by bags
by bags
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

i've had this (my third) grill for at least 6 years & it's never failed me. only thing bad that happens is when i run out of gas on a rainy night - but that has nothing to do with the grill. as long as i can light a match it does it's thing - sizzling up a mean dinner!

bags
Florida, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 82 total reviews
1-20 of 82 reviews