Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 107 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

107 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

107 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
85
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 81 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 81 total reviews
1-20 of 81 reviews
2 TB of pure storage and no frills!
6/29/2010

Customer review by Cyberdyne

5.0 stars 6/29/2010 by Cyberdyne
by Cyberdyne

USB 2.0 2 TB external drive works great right out of the box. It's formated for NTFS with no bloated software. Just the drive and ready to go! I'm currently using it to back up my desktop along with incremental back up's. No problems with the drive so far and it work's great! The price is reasonable for 2 TB with out the frills. I recommend it to anyone considering a back up drive or just to store files with out having to worry about running out of space.

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cyberdyne
Los Angeles, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome Backup Potential
5/5/2010

Customer review by bigfanawesome

4.0 stars 5/5/2010 by bigfanawesome
by bigfanawesome

Just took this out of the box and it is working great, took 10 seconds to detect and show up in computer panel, Barely Room Temp to the touch. I should mention that with the filing system it will only have 1.81 tb for your use but it is all worth it. It has a very decent weight to it, will make a good paper weight in 5-10 years when it burns out. I plan on using this to backup all of my itunes videos and music. Also my 20,000 home movies and pictures. Overall a great product I should Mention that the usb cable is extremely short i had to re-arrange my entire workstation just to make the cable reach. My advice is to upgrade to a longer cable. Also the transfer rate is on average 2.8 mb/s which is kinda bad but hey, you get what you pay for

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigfanawesome
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Product
10/30/2010

Customer review by LeesVa

5.0 stars 10/30/2010 by LeesVa
by LeesVa

I bought this to use on my MacBook Pro for the Time Machine. It works flawlessly. You cannot beat the amount of storage space for the price. I am extremely happy with this product.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LeesVa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good unit.
7/26/2010

Customer review by crabboy

5.0 stars 7/26/2010 by crabboy
by crabboy

Wanted a simple storage solution and this is it. No extra software, just lots of room and easy installation.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crabboy
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/29/2010

Customer review by FluteMusic88

5.0 stars 5/29/2010 by FluteMusic88
by FluteMusic88

This is a fantastic hard drive for someone who just wants more space (and lots of it) and doesn't need any frills or programs. I have a backup program that I use and only needed more space, and this more than provided it. I have no idea how I'm going to fill all of it up, but I am able to keep everything backed up easily and completely without ever worrying about running out of space, and that's fantastic. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FluteMusic88
Lewisville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Really good deal
9/7/2010

Customer review by DcFive

5.0 stars 9/7/2010 by DcFive
by DcFive

Easy set up and plenty of storage for all my needs. I back up all my drives and store my digital photos on it too. Does run a little on the warm side though when left on constantly.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DcFive
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best Investment I Could Have Made
10/29/2010

Customer review by Moony

5.0 stars 10/29/2010 by Moony
by Moony

This product is everything I could have wanted in a storage device. It has plenty of storage space, it is easy to use on both laptops and desktops, there is nothing to install, and it was a great value for 2TG. Just plug in and go, I LOVE it! I have had this for several months and it has worked like a charm. It is such a great product I am going to get a second one...

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Moony
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent, well designed product for the money!
8/1/2010

Customer review by PTNDSLR

5.0 stars 8/1/2010 by PTNDSLR
by PTNDSLR

I wanted something simple as most hard drives these days come with their annoying built in software which cannot be deleted (like WD Essential Edition). This is a hassle free drive and is not bundled with any of the extra software which is exactly what I wanted. You simply plug it in and it works. It can easily be formatted to work with macs as well. I've been using WD hard drives for years and I own several models of the "essential" and "passport" editions. They are very reliable. This elements hard drive has a sleek and sexy, minimalist design. It is well built overall and constructed of durable plastic. There is a slot for the USB cable, a slot for the power adapter and a tiny circular white light which blinks when it is in use (the light is not overwhelming as some hard drives can be). All three of these features are on one side/face of the hard drive (as shown in the picture), so if you have this plugged in and it is facing away from you, you won't see the light at all. This doesn't bother me but it may be a turn off for some people. When in operation, it is very smooth and quiet compared to other WD hard drives I own. This may be due to the fact that it is closed entirely and there are no holes for ventilation as in other WD models. But this doesn't bother me because I just use this as a backup and don't need it on all of the time. This could (emphasis on "could") be an issue if you are constantly using your hard drive because it may become hot. I haven't experienced this at all, just speculating. If you are just backing up files and, say, watching a movie on your computer which is stored on the hard drive, I think you'll be fine and there won't be any heating issues.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PTNDSLR
NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 25 contributor
Good Product but not complete
8/6/2010

Customer review by FaridR

4.0 stars 8/6/2010 by FaridR
by FaridR

The disk drive does what I wanted from an external disk drive but there are two things that are missing. One is the on/off power switch. Second is lack of heat circulation mechanism. I cannot leave it ON for long time since the heat cannot escape from any vent. No ventilation.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FaridR
Campbell, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
a very good product
11/19/2010

Customer review by 10donte10

5.0 stars 11/19/2010 by 10donte10
by 10donte10

Before I purchased this product I looked at all the reviews and was concerned about some of the negative ones. But I bought it anyway to give it a try. I easily set it up in under 5 minutes. It has been working flawlessly ever since I turned it on. With USB 2.0 The data rate transfer is very good. I transfered over 50 gigs in one hour with absolutely no heating problems that would have me turn the unit off. So far so good. I am thinking of buying a second one because the value is so good.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
10donte10
Belleville, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/26/2010

Customer review by LuvGreatDeals4Me

5.0 stars 12/26/2010 by LuvGreatDeals4Me
by LuvGreatDeals4Me

This hard drive is VERY quiet and performs as I would expect it to. In the 30 days I've had it, it is working admirably.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LuvGreatDeals4Me
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
AWESOME!
9/9/2010

Customer review by java24

5.0 stars 9/9/2010 by java24
by java24

I looked around for a 2TB and I have always like WD's products so I found this one, and it was the cheapest around and it was free sheeping!! woot woot! Thanks walmart for a awesome transaction!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
java24
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy to use
1/26/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/26/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Recommended highly by company I purchased my computer from. I can see why, price for 2TB not much higher than for 1TB. Easy to connect and install. Loved the fact I could order from Wal-Mart and pick up at the store with no delivery charges. Thanks Western Digital and thanks Wal-Mart! Thanks Apple for the suggestion of both the item and store - you saved me both time and money!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Longwood, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good external HD at a good prcce
12/23/2010

Customer review by eddp

5.0 stars 12/23/2010 by eddp
by eddp

Worked fine right out of the box--just what you expect for a WD HD.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eddp
Newport News, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
12/21/2010

Customer review by TechSavi

5.0 stars 12/21/2010 by TechSavi
by TechSavi

This monster of Hard Drive is as advertised. It is plug and play with nothing to install to get it working and ready to transfer files, movies, pictures etc. to it. I have only had it for a month but so far no issues.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TechSavi
Garwood, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
good product
12/26/2010

Customer review by meetma

4.0 stars 12/26/2010 by meetma
by meetma

This hard drive is fairly easy to use. A manual would be very handy. I'm not sure why they don't include this with the product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
meetma
Charlton, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Why can't I Fix This
11/17/2010

Customer review by waltsgig

3.0 stars 11/17/2010 by waltsgig
by waltsgig

/two days after I picked up the Elements External Hard Drive, I was hard at work moving files from older drives into the new folders that I had created. I had to move the drive so I UNPLUGGED the power cord from the drive and put the drive in it's new location. When I plugged the power back in, the drive failed to respond. I tried everything and it turned out to be the power receptacle on the drive. No way to fix and two whole days of transfer now down the drain. Why not make that part a replaceable part? Drive is sealed and no way of getting into the drive box. Needless to say I was disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
waltsgig
Carrollton, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works Great
10/9/2010

Customer review by myacoach

5.0 stars 10/9/2010 by myacoach
by myacoach

It works just as avertised Simple and quick

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
myacoach
Merrimack, nh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
MEMORY
1/4/2011

Customer review by TSKREAPER

5.0 stars 1/4/2011 by TSKREAPER
by TSKREAPER

ITS cheap helpful ane useful. I need a cheap hard drive and i found this. Thank you wal-mart

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TSKREAPER
Lindale TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WD 2tb
12/27/2010

Customer review by grandpa170

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by grandpa170
by grandpa170

Runs quit, worked right off, runs cool! Wish it got its power frm usb. It would be more protable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grandpa170
wautoma, wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 81 total reviews
1-20 of 81 reviews