Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 590 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

590 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

590 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
363
4 stars
159
3 stars
35
2 stars
12
1 stars
21
1-20 of 507 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 507 total reviews
1-20 of 507 reviews
What a shame...
1/21/2010

Customer review by celloace

1.0 stars 1/21/2010 by celloace
by celloace

I ordered this on December 28, and it finally arrived for pickup on January 18. I was pretty excited to pick it up and assemble it... the finish on the wood looked great out of the box, everything was going fine. Then I got the step one: installing the cam locks on the feet of the two side supports. As I pick up the first piece, with no force other than simply lifting one end off of the floor, the end just snapped off in my hand. After shouting an expletive, I put all the pieces back in the box for their next trip back to the nearest Walmart. Now, this could've been a total fluke. Since this is particle board, any extra amount of humidity in the storage room certainly could have caused this. I gave 5 stars for appearance and features, since from all I understand this has been a great piece for many people. But unfortunately it didn't quite work for me. I think I'll stick to solid wood from now on!

Was this review helpful? (81) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
celloace
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
wanted more height- I stacked them and LOVE it
3/6/2012

Customer review by PlayerOfWii

5.0 stars 3/6/2012 by PlayerOfWii
by PlayerOfWii

I have been needing a multimedia storage but was frustrated how short they all were. This went together easily and was mostly a one woman (yes, I did it) job. I secured the bottom one to the wall into a stud from the inside, not the outside as directed. I secured the top in the same way. I will get a bracket to secure the top and bottom together on the unseen side. This is not the recommended use, however, this is exactly what I wanted!! see picture

Was this review helpful? (54) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PlayerOfWii
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Media Storage for Short Money
8/7/2014

Customer review by mitch1950

5.0 stars 8/7/2014 by mitch1950
by mitch1950
Top 25 contributor

Putting this together took a bit of time, but if you want it to be done right you MUST take your time and go step by step. The finished Storage Center Looks Fantastic. This unit holds all of my DVD's with plenty of room for future DVD's or CD's. I used the top for my 27" Seiki HD TV and it fits perfectly. How can you go wrong for under $40.00. I highly recommend this. Shipment was very fast and the packaging protected the product Very, Very well.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mitch1950
lynn, mass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Top 25 contributor
Looks-Assembly-Price Can't Be Beat
7/28/2014

Customer review by TDown

5.0 stars 7/28/2014 by TDown
by TDown

I have a dvd collection in the 1500 range and I have all Sauder cases as my main storage towers. Nine to be exact with the Sauder O'Sullivan being the 9th tower. All my other towers were black and a different model. Sauder discontinued them, which is typical of them when they have a hot seller, and the closest to them are the current O'Sullivan model. Exact same height, which was very important. They are wider and holds more then my previous model. The cinnamon cherry is so dark that it blends nicely with the black towers. Very, very easy to assemble. All of Sauder's products seem to have great quality control with all drilled holes lining up with each other with no problem. This is the 2nd O'Sullivan I have purchased and it to assembled very easly like the previous one. Some of my Sauder towers are over ten years old and have served it's purpose very well. The O'Sullivan mode, being wider, may in time have a warp problem with the shelves holding the dvds. If it does start to show I plan on simply reversing the shelf (painting the underside black as they are not finished off) before it gets too noticeable. If your using them for dvds you will have two shelves left over as the placement for the dvd height elimanates two of them. So far the first one looks great and I have had that one for over a year. For the on line price and "free site to store" shipping you can't beat the buy. They look awesome. I posted pictures to show you how close the cinnamon cherry matchs a black unit. The wide unit on the left is the O'Sullivan and the ones on ther right are the previous models. Note the exact height of the units. I highly recommend this if you are in the need for a great inexpensive storage tower.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TDown
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Disappointed!
12/5/2010

Customer review by OMGGGGGG

1.0 stars 12/5/2010 by OMGGGGGG
by OMGGGGGG

Got it earlier than expected which was great! Pretty simple and quick to assemble. Raised it up to start loading my DvDs and saw that it was falling apart already! In a matter of seconds after I assembled it! The finished part is breaking off and there's a crack in the side! I didn't even put a nail thru that part. So can't figure out why its about to split! Now I have to take it apart and return it and start all over again! (with a different product of course)

Was this review helpful? (25) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OMGGGGGG
Would recommend to a friend? No
Better than expected!
12/28/2010

Customer review by JenKev

4.0 stars 12/28/2010 by JenKev
by JenKev

We've had old Disney VHS tapes and our DVDs all over the house in different places because we didn't have a proper storage unit...well, this fixed that problem, and didn't break the bank either. Even though it's laminate/faux-wood finish, it looks a LOT better than I expected. I definitely may be buying another one. It would be great if it was just as wide but taller! Some assembly tips: - Be GENTLE and go slow when you're screwing in the Twist Lock fasteners... the particle board can easily split if you are overzealous! - Use 1.5" nails to adhere the back to the frame (they give you puny .5" nails... no wonder people have had problems). I used flathead nails and they worked fine; bullet heads might work OK too. - On that same note, space your nails about every 4" (not the 5.5" written in the manual, unless you want gaps). - When you have the unit face-down to put the back on, place 2 folded towels (1 at the top lip/Part A, 1 at the bottom lip/Part B) for stability, to protect your floor (unless it's carpet), and to prevent scratching/damaging the unit. In all, the unit took me about 30 minutes to assemble, but that's because I was scrounging for better nails. :)

Was this review helpful? (120) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JenKev
McHenry, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect cabinet
12/17/2012

Customer review by KurlyGrl

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by KurlyGrl
by KurlyGrl

This cabinet is perfect to store and display my children’s video games. The dimensions are exactly as described, and it fits perfectly in the space for which I needed it. The process of putting it together was very easy. It took my husband less than a half an hour. The dark “wood” is natural looking and not fake and plastic looking at all. It looks better than I thought it would and I am pleasantly surprised. It holds a ton of games, videos and the like, and you can even throw a few knickknacks on it. It’s sturdy, firm and level and does not wobble at all. You won’t go wrong with this cabinet and you certainly can’t beat the price. It could have cost a lot more, and that would have been justifiable. This cabinet was a great bargain and I am very pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KurlyGrl
White Plains, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
525 CDs
9/14/2013

Customer review by gyrlsyx

4.0 stars 9/14/2013 by gyrlsyx
by gyrlsyx

Arrived 3 days sooner than expected and less than 30 minutes to assemble. I am able to fit 75 CDs on each of the seven shelves for a total of 525 CDs. It is not tall like a bookshelf, if that is what you are looking for. I do notice the slightest sag of the shelves from all the CDs on it, however it s nothing drastic. I noticed because I was expecting some sag. Great product for $35.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gyrlsyx
Douglasville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good value
4/18/2013

Customer review by HappyInOH105

5.0 stars 4/18/2013 by HappyInOH105
by HappyInOH105
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Tower is very easy to assemble and looks great. Took me about an hour with the longest part being the nailing of the back to the frame. I'm handicapped and had to sit on the floor and scoot around. I am very pleased with this purchase and would recommend it to anyone needing extra shelves. My only "bad" comment is: in spacing the shelves to accomodate my DVD's left me with two shelves left over. To stand DVD's upright only four can be used. DVD cases come in varying width sizes and I was able to put approximately 225 on the 5 shelves.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyInOH105
Mansfield, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Nice Dvd Storage Case
1/28/2012

Customer review by TommyBoy1623

5.0 stars 1/28/2012 by TommyBoy1623
by TommyBoy1623

I tried all over to find a another Sauder model dvd storage cabinet to match my other cabinets but to no avail. Sauder discontinued the model I have been buying for years which is typical of them. I decided to go with their Sauder O'Sullivan Multimedia Storage Tower. The height and depth were identical to the ones I've purchased in the past, which was great. The width was wider, holding 53 dvds vs 31 from my previous model. Did not come in black as I had hoped but the Cinnamon Cherry is so very dark in color that it blended in next to my old cases pretty well. I guess I could always paint them but they look fine as is. For the size I was amazed how sturdy it really is. Had two extra shelves that I couldn't use once I set the shelves in place for dvds only. For the price..you sure can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TommyBoy1623
Saginaw, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect for Mangas
3/4/2010

Customer review by Bakamono

5.0 stars 3/4/2010 by Bakamono
by Bakamono

can stored 275 mangas! perfect size for mangas, and great deal :) im about to order 2 more storages!

Was this review helpful? (27) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bakamono
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome price for so much storage space
10/25/2014

Customer review by Jananae

5.0 stars 10/25/2014 by Jananae
by Jananae

Overall, this unit looks and works great. I have my doubts that it will hold as many DVDs as it claims, but I still have space left over to expand my collection. I've never been a fan of the foldable cardboard backings you find on build-it-yourself shelves (they tend to have highly visible creases), but the DVDs on the shelf make it virtually unnoticeable. Speaking of the backing, I followed one reviewer's advice and bought 1 1/2" nails to secure it instead of using the 1/2" nails that come with the shelf. DO THIS INSTEAD! It's far more secure than the tiny nails the manufacture intended to be used. Just be careful to nail these straight so as not to damage the shelf itself. The instructions were very easy to follow; the unit doesn't take much time at all to assemble. As a side note, I have this shelf sitting on a carpeted floor and decided not to attach the four little feet that are included; I think the unit is far more stable without them on this type of floor. I'd definitely buy this shelf again. For the amount of DVDs it can hold, you can't beat the price (and it looks great too).

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jananae
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great shelf in the lower price range
6/10/2014

Customer review by BrainAge

5.0 stars 6/10/2014 by BrainAge
by BrainAge
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It looked liked the largest DVD shelf by far for the low price it costs. I ordered two units and they both arrived in good condition with no damage. I modified them a little so that they were mounted together on top of each other. I had one unit that was 90" tall and barely cleared the ceiling. It works great this way! Just take the top shelf of one unit and drill holes into it so that it screws up into the second unit. Do not use the deepest bottom shelf on the second unit.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BrainAge
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect fit!
8/26/2014

Customer review by CMH1016

5.0 stars 8/26/2014 by CMH1016
by CMH1016
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We ordered two of these to hold our DVDs and Blu-Rays. We have somewhere in the 500 range. The towers were super easy to set up and when placed side by side look like one media center. They look very nice and because they were used for DVDs we have two extra shelves which I plan to buy brackets for and put in my daughters room for knick-knacks. These are a great buy!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CMH1016
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than expected
9/24/2012

Customer review by pumpster

5.0 stars 9/24/2012 by pumpster
by pumpster

I was looking for a small, but durable bookcase for my apartment and when I found this one I decided to give it a try and am very happy with the results. Although its not real wood, it has the looks of real cherry wood. I put it together myself and I found the instructions very easy to follow, unlike many other instruction manuals for furniture. If you are looking for a small, affordable, and durable bookcase/dvd case then I would strongly recommend this one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pumpster
virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great Shelf for DVDs
10/13/2014

Customer review by SailorMoonKat

5.0 stars 10/13/2014 by SailorMoonKat
by SailorMoonKat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For anyone who needs a lot of storage be it for DVDs, Blu-rays, CD's, etc, this product is for you. I chose this product because I needed a shelf to hold all of my DVDs. It was at a great price and the color was what I needed for my decor. I had my husband set it up and it took 20 minutes to complete it. I was able to store more than 250 DVDs, if you have nothing but Blu-Rays then it would hold more. I was left with two extra shelves and used them as frame holders for my insane amount of pictures. i would definitely buy another one to fit the other 100+ DVDs I own.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SailorMoonKat
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value and good looking shelf
3/12/2012

Customer review by NoDivision

5.0 stars 3/12/2012 by NoDivision
by NoDivision

I ordered one of these shelves for displaying some collectibles and LOVE it. Very sleek and modern looking and I love how low profile it is. It was super easy to assemble and seems about as sturdy as I could hope from a piece of flat pack furniture. The price is perfect so I just ordered a second one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoDivision
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Storage!
1/30/2011

Customer review by Jellokel

5.0 stars 1/30/2011 by Jellokel
by Jellokel
Top 1000 contributor

Was a breeze to put together and looks great. Has plenty of shelf space and doesn't weigh much at all.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jellokel
Arcanum, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Terrible
2/9/2016

Customer review by PACANGEL

1.0 stars 2/9/2016 by PACANGEL
by PACANGEL

This is very cheaply made for $50! I will not be purchasing anything like this again!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PACANGEL
Would recommend to a friend? No
DVD stand
8/3/2010

Customer review by CCUZ

5.0 stars 8/3/2010 by CCUZ
by CCUZ

Great product Great color Easy to assemble I only am using this product for DVD's so if that is the case it turns in to a 4 shelf storage rather than 6.. you can put 53 DVD's on all 4 shelves and have room on the top and bottom shelves to lay flat up to 7 DVDs tall and 4 columns wide for a total of 268 DVDs

Was this review helpful? (148) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CCUZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 507 total reviews
1-20 of 507 reviews