Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 180 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

180 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

180 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
89
4 stars
50
3 stars
16
2 stars
11
1 stars
14
1-20 of 168 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 168 total reviews
1-20 of 168 reviews
Very STURDY and EXTREMELY Beautiful!
3/26/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/26/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is exactly what you want if you're looking for a lateral filing cabinet that doesn't look like a filing cabinet. Mine was undamaged out of the package. They really package it well to avoid shipping damage. It has the look, size, and quality of those ones you see for $500, but the catch is a very tedious build. I took my time and double-checked every measurement and made sure every screw had the same number of turns when tightening...and don't over-tighten anything! If you are handy and patient, the final product is very beautiful and extremely sturdy. And WOW, I mean sturdy...I'm 6'00" 250lbs. and I had trouble lifting the box. The cabinet is VERY STURDY...I see it lasting a lifetime, really. Also, the rods and brackets for the hanging folders are screwed into the drawer, so no more accidentally collapsing folders! YAY! Each drawer is designed to hold two rows of folders front-to-back (not one long row from left-to-right). Buy It!

Was this review helpful? (95) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Florence, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Attractive File Cabinet
2/28/2013

Customer review by KPGM

4.0 stars 2/28/2013 by KPGM
by KPGM
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

As per other reviews...it does take 2-3 hours to assemble. Instructions are not written the best. The top piece of the cabinet arrived damaged, but Sauder immediately sent out the replacement without questions and arrived within five days of contacting them. It does appear that the finish can be scratched easily, but a dark furniture marker would hide this and I have a runner on mine to protect the top as my printer and phone are on it. You probably should'nt put heavy items in the bottom as it is a about 1/4" thick piece in the bottom of the drawers. Though I am using it for some storage such as DVDs and the like. It is a heavy, solid cabinet and looks very nice. I wouldn't say it is black as it has some brown undertones. Definitely worth the cost, unless you prefer to spend $400+ for a real wood file cabinet. BTW, Walmarts price is the best available on this item. Sauder has it for $270 and Amazon for $240.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KPGM
Coconut Creek, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than I expected
2/13/2014

Customer review by Nonnapop

5.0 stars 2/13/2014 by Nonnapop
by Nonnapop

Received this item this afternoon. Put it together without a lot of difficulty, took a couple of hours. Once you have assembled one of these types of pieces, you have a better understanding of the hardware that is used. This piece is much heaver than I anticipated for particle board furniture. All hardware was included, no shipping damage was noted. The drawer runners are a real plus. They work effortlessly. Extremely pleased at the finished product. Would recommend this to anyone looking for a lateral file cabinet.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nonnapop
Suffolk, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great customer service excellent product
8/10/2012

Customer review by ES3004

5.0 stars 8/10/2012 by ES3004
by ES3004

Our unit arrived with a damaged top, but the process to order a new one was VERY easy online and a new undamaged top arrived in 3 days. Customer service was excellent. Assembly for this unit is tedious so be prepared to focus on it for an afternoon. Instructions were sufficient for assembly with no mistakes. Functionality is good and there are no external hints this is a filing cabinet.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ES3004
Alpharetta, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Top shelf broken when I opened the box
8/30/2013

Customer review by dingtoo

1.0 stars 8/30/2013 by dingtoo
by dingtoo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this would be a great file cabinet, but when I got it home, with no obvious outside damage, the top of it was busted. Obviously the box had been manhandled, dropped or whatever. Now it's worthless and I have to go through the hassle of trying to get my $189.99 plus back or a new cabinet. My one day off this week, earmarked to assemble the cabinet, and it's wasted. Don't use Walmart store pickup/Steve

Was this review helpful? (8) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dingtoo
Garland TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks good; difficult assembly
5/14/2013

Customer review by officecabinet

4.0 stars 5/14/2013 by officecabinet
by officecabinet
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product looks nice, like a piece of furniture, rather than a filing cabinet, which is good and just what we wanted. Our friend who put it together said it was the worst item we had him assemble. And, he assembled at least 5-6 items for us. Additionally, this item arrived with minor damage -- some scratches in the wood, in various places. Not a huge deal, just saying. Also, the top drawer sticks at times. I was filing papers yesterday, closed the top drawer, went to the bottom drawer, firmly closed it, to return to the top drawer, and could not get it open. The left side of drawer wanted to open, but the right side was sticking shut. We think it may be off the track. I tried several times and could not open. About an hour later, I tried again and it opened. I'm afraid to close again, as the top drawer is where the majority of my files are. All in all, I would say this looks nice, especially for the money, and if you can deal with an occasional tug-of-war with the drawers, it's a good buy.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
officecabinet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gorgeous Cabinet...Crazy Good Deal!
8/22/2011

Customer review by DealGrabberChicago

5.0 stars 8/22/2011 by DealGrabberChicago
by DealGrabberChicago

I love this filing cabinet! My home office is becoming a mobile office, as we need the room to become a nursery. This cabinet is placed in my dining room and fits beautifully with my decor...does not look like a filing cabinet at all. Another reviewer posted a photo, and I agree this looks like the photo they took rather than the photo on the site. (It is a solid black cabinet, not at all dark brown). I waited for a long time before taking the plunge on this, and when I finally went onto the site to place my order, Walmart had rolled the price back by 25%...and it was a great deal before that! It did take me many hours to put together. The cabinet and directions are a little complicated. My husband helped a bit, but otherwise I was able to do it by taking it slowly. Just know, you will probably not be able to throw this together very fast. It's well worth the time it took, for the value it is and the stunning result!

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DealGrabberChicago
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
File cabinet
4/4/2010

Customer review by Astric44

4.0 stars 4/4/2010 by Astric44
by Astric44

Nice looking. The instructions are a little intimidating and they would do well not only to mark items A & B but Top and Bottom would help. Looks nice put together though and is very solid. Definitely worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Astric44
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent, setup a little confusing
1/16/2014

Customer review by lilmamameehan

5.0 stars 1/16/2014 by lilmamameehan
by lilmamameehan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great value for the price in my opinon. In the $200 range, I only found much smaller cabinets. My husband and I have lots of documents we need to store. Medical, child support, banking, refinances, etc etc. I had a regular 2 drawer file cabinet extremely full plus stacks of papers that needed to be filed but couldn't fit. Once we setup and filled it, it's barely over half full!! SETUP: Fairly time consuming with a few confusing sections. Most of the pieces were not labeled. So when it said Piece A...we're looking at the pieces to try and figure out which is A. My 1 year old was running around trying to help. if he had not been there, it would've been quicker. I would estimate 45 minutes. MATERIALS: Everything came in the box that was supposed to. It's not solid wood but like compressed wood particles or something. Once you have it together, you cant' tell. It's sturdy and looks like a wood cabinet SIZE: This cabinet is extremely deep. I would say the image is a little deceitful on the depth. I would measure the space you're going to put it in to get a better idea of how far it will stick out. It worked for us. but I'd reco a double check before buying. USE: the drawers slide in and out extremely easily. I also don't have the issue with the cabinet falling forward because of the weight of all the files like I did with our previous one. Really happy with this. the finish is a really nice black. Hope these comments helped!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lilmamameehan
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
High quality; low price
6/6/2011

Customer review by LMTA

5.0 stars 6/6/2011 by LMTA
by LMTA

It was hard to find a file cabinet that was both aesthetically pleasing and affordable. This one did the trick. I love it!!!! It was pretty simple to put together as well.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LMTA
Columbia, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Meets My Needs and Expectations
9/29/2011

Customer review by SecretWalMartGreeter

5.0 stars 9/29/2011 by SecretWalMartGreeter
by SecretWalMartGreeter

After reading mixed reviews about this product, I was a bit hesitant to purchase, but took a chance anyhow - as its from Sauder and I reminded myself that you "get what you pay for". I was looking for a filing cabinet, wood, to blend with my decor and I didn't want to spend a lot of money. Knowing this, I know I have to give a little on quality - as I didn't want to spend over $300 for a filing cabinet! I put this together myself. I'm mechanically inclined, but my husband normally does this kind of stuff. I found it easy to assemble. The directions could have been a little bit more clear in places - however, if you look at the pictures and read, it's easy! The look is great... blends right in with my decor - as I wanted it to. I got it on sale so spent even less than I had planned. The only thing I don't like is that the metal bars that hold the file folders in place isn't secured to the drawer - so they can go askew. But again.... you get what you pay for.. and I didn't expect a $400 filing cabinet! Love it..... think it's great for a home office - as mine is... and am so psyched to have all my paperwork organized!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SecretWalMartGreeter
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice piece of furniture vary sturdy
1/12/2016

Customer review by Pookie

5.0 stars 1/12/2016 by Pookie
by Pookie

Takes awhile to put together , sure worth the time when it is finished, hold a lot of files . Glad I purchased it!! Well worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pookie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Nice Looking -Get Furniture Moving Discs
2/2/2013

Customer review by kammscorners

4.0 stars 2/2/2013 by kammscorners
by kammscorners
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am very pleased. This file cabinet looks like a very nice piece of good wood furniture. I also like the lateral file concept. There is so much more room. My only concern was that this cabinet weighs over 100 lbs. I was not sure where in the office I was going to place it and how I could move it around to find the right spot. I bought some furniture moving discs and they worked out great (less than $5) . This cabinet weighs more than I do and I had no problem sliding it around to find the best place for it. The bottom of the back legs are exposed raw particle board and would have scratched any wood floor and would have got stuck on any carpet surface. Got hung up on step # 5 during assembly. Make sure that F is flush with A2 and B2 so the drawer tracks will open for step #6. All said and done, very happy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kammscorners
Cleveland, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decorative yet functional...
12/17/2015

Customer review by Debi

5.0 stars 12/17/2015 by Debi
by Debi

After researching for a nice-looking interior file cabinet this was the best price out there! Can't beat the free shipping either! The cabinet shipped unassembled, which I expected, and was packaged very well as to alleviate any nicks, scratches or dents in the materials. Good job! Assembly was easy, too, and the assembly pictures were clear; there was no missing hardware either :) The only downside to this piece of furniture was the odor as it out-gassed. It smelled almost fishy. It's been about a week since we assembled it and the odor has completely dissipated however be ready to have it smell for about three-four days.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Debi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good for me
12/3/2010

Customer review by doula55

4.0 stars 12/3/2010 by doula55
by doula55

I needed more file space and the top has enough room for my tower , printer , etc. Though not mentioned , I would suggest using a white glue where ever joints or edges meet , including the slot for the drawer bottoms . I have assembled many pieces like this and don't know why this would not be included in the instructions . Also have help when inserting the drawers so you dont nick the front trying to line it up .

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
doula55
St. louis / Metro-East
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Value!
10/21/2011

Customer review by HappyCustomer03

5.0 stars 10/21/2011 by HappyCustomer03
by HappyCustomer03

Love this file cabinet!! My home office is out in the open and I really wanted storage that looked like a nice piece of furniture without blowing my budget. This piece is sturdy, functional, and beautiful. The drawers slide very easily and there is a ton of space to hang files. My husband thought the assembly, while time consuming, was pretty easy and well labeled. The price was great and having it shipped to the store saved us even more money. The only slightly negative aspect is that the drawer bottoms are not very strong, but I knew that before I purchased the cabinet. It really has exceeded my expectations. My next purchase will be the matching desk!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyCustomer03
Jackson, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful Find
11/29/2015

Customer review by SavyShopper

5.0 stars 11/29/2015 by SavyShopper
by SavyShopper

This is a great piece of furniture. Looks just like the picture! It is a heavy piece of good solid wood, no plywood here. Be prepared for heavy lifting. This piece of furniture will last a long time. Do have patience, as the instructions for assembly are very confusing and not easy to follow. But once put together, this is so nice to use and have in a space. There are safeties built into the piece so that both drawers cannot be open at the same time, so it will not tip over.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SavyShopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not exactly what you would call easy assembly
6/20/2012

Customer review by liladair

2.0 stars 6/20/2012 by liladair
by liladair

I have put together many pieces of furniture and I have never had this much trouble with the instructions. Its kind of a hit and miss. When i got it together and moved it the bottom piece fell off. So after taking 3 hours to get it to almost finished I had to take the next night to actually tear it back down and figure out what was wrong with the piece. It doesnt have locking cams on every piece, and theres a couple of places I would expect to be more sturdy, but isnt. Overall piece looks nice after put together but i wouldnt buy another one. This should be about 130.00 file cabinet not 215.00. its not worth that. The instructions dont tell you which side is up as far as the laminant wood cover, and then you mostly have to reference the drawing to put piece by piece... Would not buy this again.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
liladair
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Very happy with my purchase
4/24/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 4/24/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very substantial piece of furniture, which is nice when it's all said and done and set up in my home but difficult when getting home and into the house and up the stairs. Too heavy to lift in the box for me, had to open and take a couple pieces at a time into the house. I was able to put together by myself but needed help getting the drawers in and that's why I deducted one star. At one point as my husband was helping me get the drawers in they got stuck and it was a nightmare getting them to open back up and get them realigned; this caused some minor scratching and wobbliness but overall we finally got it fixed and I'm happy with the value for the price. The unit is quite a bit bigger than expected but thankfully I have lots of room in my new home-at my old house this would have been an issue. Bottom line: I'm happy with the purchase amd would certainly buy again and recommend to friends.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Central CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/14/2012

Customer review by StillSearchingForIt

4.0 stars 11/14/2012 by StillSearchingForIt
by StillSearchingForIt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Overall, this was an EXCELLENT purchase! All steps in ordering, FREE 'ship to store' service, communication from Walmart, help at store loading into my vehicle, & speed of delivery were ALL 'above expectations'. I currently have been using the file cabinel now for about a week in our home office. It looks very nice; I like the 'raised effect' with the 2" legs (easy to clean under); and it seems to be more than sturdy enough for home use. Prior to on-line purchase, I couldn't tell if the support rods/rails inside the drawers were 'plastic' or 'metal' (we found both in office supply stores). Happy to report this cabinet includes the stronger METAL rods & rails. And the drawers have necessary HIGH sides. The only reason I DIDN'T give a 5-STAR rating is "POOR ASSEMBLY INSTRUCTIONS". I was able to identify & inventory all parts prior to assembly; and I've had experience assembling many similar items. *** Some pieces of the cabinet, & some hardware are similar in size / appearance; with POOR pictures, descriptions, & assembly instructions shown! The manufacturer could / should do better! I question if the 'Instruction Writers' have ever tried to use their own directions??! My only advice is to use common sense, logic, and procede slowly. It took me 3 hours.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StillSearchingForIt
Denver, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 168 total reviews
1-20 of 168 reviews