Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 125 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

125 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

125 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
67
4 stars
34
3 stars
11
2 stars
6
1 stars
7
1-20 of 121 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 121 total reviews
1-20 of 121 reviews
Overall very satisfied! Just be aware..
2/23/2011

Customer review by CiscoInstructor

4.0 stars 2/23/2011 by CiscoInstructor
by CiscoInstructor

1. Measure your tower PC carefully! The space to hold the computer is only 17 3/4" tall by 8 3/8" wide. Do not forget to include the feet on the botttom of your computer in your measurement! My Dell XPS tower did not fit by 1/8 inch. You may have to place your computer in the space and then mount the door. 2. Consider having to leave the computer door off because it will impede adequate air flow when closed. 3. This unit is not designed to be taken back apart. It will be tedious and you will scuff it up a bit. Think carefully where you will put it. It is very heavy! 4. You will have to use a razor blade to enlarge the access holes in the back panel for the video cable. They are not large enough for a DVI-I video connection. It really is a very good unit... buy it. I'm a computer engineer so I get a little picky!

Was this review helpful? (89) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CiscoInstructor
Jacksonville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sturdy, solid, very nice
2/27/2010

Customer review by BacktoCollegeGirl

5.0 stars 2/27/2010 by BacktoCollegeGirl
by BacktoCollegeGirl

I bought this desk because I needed more desktop space to do homework and then also be able to store my books and school supplies in and around it. I love this desk! Granted, it did take 4 hours to build but the instructions were so easy to follow. And in the end, it was all worth it. We also did site to store which was a piece of cake. No problems at all, just the waiting was hard...it took about a couple weeks. All in all, worth the money...love the look...lots of space..(but very heavy)

Was this review helpful? (45) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BacktoCollegeGirl
Newark, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very nice desk
12/15/2009

Customer review by Bostonlove

5.0 stars 12/15/2009 by Bostonlove
by Bostonlove

We are very happy with this desk. It is a very solid piece of furniture. But it did take 2 people and about 4 hours to put it together.

Was this review helpful? (39) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bostonlove
Mt.Airy N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very happy with this desk!
12/14/2010

Customer review by LMichaels

4.0 stars 12/14/2010 by LMichaels
by LMichaels

As others have said this desk is darker that the photo but it is really nice. It is more like a walnut color that an oak. I ordered this and had it shipped to the store. It arrived in a little over a week. The box is heavy but not that large so it fit perfectly in the back of my dads mini truck. The Walmart employees wheeled it out and loaded it for me. It took my husband and I about 5 hours to assemble but that included the time it took to sort all the pieces. I highly recommend that you do sort all the pieces. There are about 12 types of screws so I used muffin pans to sort. We followed the instructions carefully and took our time and it went pretty smoothly. We did have trouble with adjusting the computer tower door. It was hitting the file drawer when opening and closing and a piece of the door in the front chipped off. I called Sauder, gave them my product number and told them the door was damaged and they sent me a new door right away at NO cost. Very pleased with this purchase. Be aware that the tower compartment is not that wide (8.5 inches). My tower is only 7.5 inches wide but it won't fit once the hinges and the door are on. We had to remove the door first to get the tower in. This is a beautiful desk and surprisingly the granite looks pretty real.

Was this review helpful? (32) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LMichaels
Sun City, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Computer Desk!
9/3/2012

Customer review by Jojo711

5.0 stars 9/3/2012 by Jojo711
by Jojo711

After doing an extensive research on computer desks, I came across this one and fell in love with it! I was ready to purchase until I saw the dimensions for the computer screen area... My iMac would not fit by less than an inch.. I started looking for other options, but none of the other ones beat this Sauder desk. I decided to purchase it and just go with it! The only downside to this item is the weight of the box, it's extremely heavy! It took 3 people and 4 hours to assemble. Once assembled it looked beautiful! The granite on the desk gives it an elegant look and overall it's a sturdy desk. My iMac didn't fit in the hutch area, but regardless of that, it worked for me- the desktop work area is big and it was not a reason to return or exchange this desk. I am very satisfied with this purchase and would highly reccomend to others.. See photo attached. :)

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jojo711
New York City, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Extremely Disapointed
9/4/2011

Customer review by lsfcg

1.0 stars 9/4/2011 by lsfcg
by lsfcg

When I purchased this desk I was very excited due to the fact that I had been looking for a desk like this for some time. I waited 3 weeks (site to store) for the product. When we went to put the desktop on we noticed that the vaneer was cracked! Obviously not a sturdy product. I checked the vaneer before we even started putting the desk together so my guess is that it was between the vaneer and the wood and when we lifted it went the rest of the way through. The only other way a crack that large would show up is if we hit it with a hammer or something which of course didn't happen. I was ready to just contact the maker for a replacement because this desk has a lot of parts and I really thought it was beautiful. I could understand one thing being messed up due to its size and handling during shipping BUT! After getting most of it put together we were about to finish and realized that the holes for the drawers were drilled in the wrong places making them unuseable. No way of knowing this until you are almost done putting it together. The door where your tower goes was too narrow for a normal tower to fit mainly because of the drawers not working. No way to know for sure due to that fact. This is a large desk with a ton of parts. Taking it apart and boxing it back up to return to the store is beyond a major headache. I will NOT! be purchasing this brand of products again of any type. This was not the first item purchased of that brand that I have had problems with. Instead of going through all of the headache again I will be spending my money at a furniture store for something of better quality.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lsfcg
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Awesome Desk!
1/16/2010

Customer review by Emeralds83

5.0 stars 1/16/2010 by Emeralds83
by Emeralds83

Very nice and awesome desk, very sturdy for the money and will highly recommend it. Site to store was great as well!!!1

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Emeralds83
Laredo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beautiful Desk!
2/29/2012

Customer review by Tanya6673

4.0 stars 2/29/2012 by Tanya6673
by Tanya6673

I love my new desk. It is absolutely beautiful and a very solid piece of furniture. I searched high and low for a new desk before settling on this one. I chose this one not only because it is beautiful but the main selling point for me was the scratch resistant coating on the desk top. With that and the desk being solid I look forward to this desk lasting a long time. After reading the other reviews about the difficulty of putting it together I decided to have Wal-Mart put it together. They did terrific job! Cons: There are only a couple of cons I can think of. The shelves across the top could have been done better. The long shelves are pretty useless unless you are storing thick text books there. Notebooks won't stand up there instead they fall down. The other con is the open shelf just below the desktop. It would have been much nicer if there would have been a pull down door or if they had made it a large drawer you could pull out.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tanya6673
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very heavy but nice once done.
7/6/2011

Customer review by luvhorses

4.0 stars 7/6/2011 by luvhorses
by luvhorses

This is a nice desk once you get it together. I've put together lots of stuff like this so the task took about 4 hours. Most of the directions were easy to follow. I was not impressed that you had to finish drilling some holes in the desktop piece. Not everyone has a drill and a 1/4 inch bit. Also when you drill them the top rips more than makes a nice hole so you have to be very careful. A couple spots on mine the top tore bigger than what the upright would cover. The slim cabinate on the side is going to be almost useless. To skinny for anything and too deep that small stuff will be gone forever. This desk is very heavy so plan for help. Also I tried to move it just a couple of inches on my own and the one panel that stabalizes the "lone" leg tore out. Need to get a couple of corner brackets to reinforce the problem. That lone leg is kinda flimsy anyway. The only other complaint that I have is the spot on the desktop above the lower cabinate is not tall enough to put my printer in. It is within a couple of inches. I have a long cord so I just put it on the very top.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luvhorses
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/17/2011

Customer review by computerdude66

2.0 stars 6/17/2011 by computerdude66
by computerdude66

The plastic screw fasteners that hold most of this desk together are not adequate for the weight of the desk. After I got all of it assembled on a carpet floor, I started to pull one side to move it into place, and the plastic fasteners were ripped right out of the particle board crevices that they were mounted and holding together for. This desk is basically not fastened together to accommodate the weight of the desk to move it without picking up both ends (two people). It weighs 204 pounds. I am going to have to get some angle brackets at a hardware store to mount along side the existing pathetic plastic fasteners to keep the desk together. This is a shame, because the desk is very attractive and sturdy, but cannot be moved on a carpet floor without things getting ripped apart on the left leg, etc.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
computerdude66
Monte Vista, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Looks Like Someone Dropped The Box...
8/2/2011

Customer review by blueflamz

4.0 stars 8/2/2011 by blueflamz
by blueflamz

Over 10 pieces including the main Marble looking part of the desk were chipped noticeably. I am by no means a picky person, but I must say the product looks nice even with the flaws and a few metal pieces that were slightly bent (we had to unbend a little). We assembled the whole product in 4-5 hours. If you find broken pieces contact Sauder BEFORE you assemble so they can send the replacement parts. We did not have the luxury of time in this case, but all in all it looks great and the flawed parts are thankfully not on any of the front pieces. Great desk, Poor handling!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blueflamz
Murrieta, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Looks WAY more expensive than it is!
2/20/2013

Customer review by Smoofie65

5.0 stars 2/20/2013 by Smoofie65
by Smoofie65

I couldn't be happier with this purchase. The desk looks much more expensive (if you don't look closely at the cardboard back panel that comes with all of these kinds of desks). Honestly, you can't really tell. I looked and looked to find a desk that had a cubbie for my laptop & docking station versus a PC tower. This works perfect! PS - I did pay someone $50 to put it together for me, took him 4 hours from box to in my home office ready.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Smoofie65
SE Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE THIS DESK!!
10/1/2011

Customer review by Heart2U

5.0 stars 10/1/2011 by Heart2U
by Heart2U

This is an excellent desk, and has exceeded my expectations. Everyone who sees it, comments on how beautiful it is. It looks more expensive than it is. I especially like the "faux granite" writing surface. It is scratch resistant, and easy to keep clean! It holds all my components easily, plus CD's and knick knacks. Only draw-back was how long it took to assemble; but, fortunately, you only do that once. I would highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Heart2U
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice for the price
3/21/2011

Customer review by queenhoneybear

5.0 stars 3/21/2011 by queenhoneybear
by queenhoneybear

This is a nice piece of furniture if you are not looking to spend alot of money. It is darker than the picture appears. I like the color. It gives a good variety of punch out options for cords and such.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
queenhoneybear
Centerville, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Super desk!!!
9/29/2011

Customer review by EmiAbiEthansMom

5.0 stars 9/29/2011 by EmiAbiEthansMom
by EmiAbiEthansMom

We LOVE this desk. We bought the computer desk along with the printer stand, t.v. stand, media center & 6 bookcases & we love them all. They are very handsome & sturdy. They didn't take that long to put together. My husband put everything together in about 5 hours ~ ALL 10 pieces!! The only complaint I have about the computer desk is that the cubby for the harddrive is really tight. We ended up leaving the door off so that the computer could "breathe". Other than that, we absolutely LOVE it. The top makes the desk really sophisticated (and heavy!). We are VERY pleased with it!!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EmiAbiEthansMom
Highland, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very nice desk
4/20/2011

Customer review by yippee7x

5.0 stars 4/20/2011 by yippee7x
by yippee7x

We bought this desk a few months ago and have been quite pleased with it. It is a very nice desk once it is put together, which takes a little while. I was a little concerned with some of the other reviews I had read saying it was difficult with little or no instructions with it, even from people who consider themselves mechanically inclined. I had no problems whatsoever putting it together, but I was a carpenter for 15 years which may have had something to do with it. Overall I think it's a very nice desk with only a couple of very minor faults to it. Ours was missing one screw but it was functional without it. Which reminds me, I need to contact the company about getting one sent to me. lol

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yippee7x
East Central IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/27/2011

Customer review by buckisl

4.0 stars 9/27/2011 by buckisl
by buckisl

It was everything I expected, it is a nice looking pice of furniture you would not know it was a kit unless told. It is very sturdy once assembled. My printer fits nice on top of the desk. It does take quite a long time to put together but the more time you take the better the finish product looks. It fell right in to the price range I was comfortable spending. My only negative is darker than shown in the photo. I had hoped it would be a little more golden but it is a little more on the Walnut side.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
buckisl
NW Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product for your Money
4/21/2011

Customer review by AMF984

4.0 stars 4/21/2011 by AMF984
by AMF984

I recently moved and was going to be working from home. I needed a work space but didn't want to spend a ot of money - this product is definitly worth every penny. Though took a while to put together - the finished product was exactly what i needed - great quality and looks way more expenisve then it was. Definitly would recommend to anyone looking for a solid desk but doesn't want to spend a fortune.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AMF984
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Desk
2/10/2013

Customer review by LarryinNewMexico

5.0 stars 2/10/2013 by LarryinNewMexico
by LarryinNewMexico

Larger than my old desk, lots more space and the Marble top is painted to look like Marble but, it really is nice! Good Quality but, Sauder has been making good stuff for a very long time!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LarryinNewMexico
Rio Rancho New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Simply Beautiful!
9/19/2013

Customer review by AZaces

5.0 stars 9/19/2013 by AZaces
by AZaces

This is the nicest desk I've ever seen. It has tons of storage for everything you could possibly have on a desk. including the computer, printer, fan, light, clock and phone. It took a while to put together but was well worth it. It was shipped very fast and delivered to my door.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AZaces
LAKE HAVASU, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 121 total reviews
1-20 of 121 reviews