Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 35 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
I should have done it sooner.
7/23/2016

Customer review by Kroew

5.0 stars 7/23/2016 by Kroew
by Kroew
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

87 bucks ..... worth every penny. high quality good design. everything is adjustable. Best i have had since the Microsoft trackball explorer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kroew
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/27/2012

Customer review by LorienIluvatar

3.0 stars 11/27/2012 by LorienIluvatar
by LorienIluvatar

I have been a long time Kensington trackball user going back to the early 90's and their first Expert Mouse (white two button). I use the current generation of Expert Mouse (see recommendation below) both at home and work. Compared to that product, the SlimBlade Trackball has a much lower profile with almost no elevation. For me, the lower profile became uncomfortable after a short period of time, and I returned the product. On the positive side, the ball moves freely, and the open bottom makes for easy cleaning compared to other models. The twist to scroll feature is a nice touch that is easy to get used to. If the base was sloped like the Expert Mouse series, then I believe that this would have been a great replacement. Unfortunately, for me, this trackball was just too uncomfortable to use for any extended period of time.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LorienIluvatar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Terrible scrolling performance
4/15/2016

Customer review by Mick Shrimpton

3.0 stars 4/15/2016 by Mick Shrimpton
by Mick Shrimpton

The good - it looks nice. The rotating of the ball is very smooth. It better be for the huge $130 premium (I got it for a bit less but it's usually close to $100.) No wrist rest like the expert mouse. I could live with all that if the scrolling speed was acceptable - and it's far from it. The Expert Mouse has a ring which could easily be rotated. I bought mine many years ago and it was the best, bar none, to easily go up and down a web page with one smooth swing of the wheel with your third or fourth finger. No such luck here. The ring is still there but smoothed over and not used. Rotating the ball by twisting your hand is terribly inconvenient and awkward. Most use the inside of their finger to rotate the ball - also awkward but doable. But you get a fraction of the scroll, even at fast scrolling speed set in Trackballworks. It takes numerous rotations to get down the average news page with 5-6 articles. For example, scrolling down this page took me over 20 rotations. And the cursor doesn't stay perfectly still like it does with the scroll wheel. And to be honest, if it wasn't for the much cheaper parts now being used for the scroll wheel which are no longer smooth, I'd be using the Expert Mouse. Hopefully you can do something in the software.

Mick Shrimpton
New York, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Top Quality Trackball
4/13/2015

Customer review by Andy M

5.0 stars 4/13/2015 by Andy M
by Andy M

I purchased the Slimblade Trackball to replace my old Kensington Expert Pro Trackball and overall it is a great improvement.. The ball is much smoother and being laser rather than the older optical sensors for trackball movement, it works perfectly under a bright light and it also does not suffer from the sensors being blocked by fluff. The buttons are also improved by having a firmer "click" action although this could cause a distraction to others in a quiet workplace. I have no movement in my right hand so I cannot use a mouse so a trackball is essential. the Slimblade is easy to use by resting you wrist on the ball, and the large buttons easy to press with your wrist. The added bonus is Kensington have introduced the scroll disc. Simply twist the ball to scroll up or down or in my case Irest my wrist on the silver circle and it is easy to twist the ball to get the scroll effect. This is a good looking Trackball with several options for the buttons and a long warranty period so I have no reservations in recommending this trackball

Andy M
New Alresford, United Kingdom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
It works fine.
10/25/2015

Customer review by Clay23

5.0 stars 10/25/2015 by Clay23
by Clay23

Recently upgraded to Mavericks 10.9.5 (waiting until the bugs are worked out of El Capitan) on my early 2008 Mac Pro. My old Turbo mouse Pro no longer worked due to the software so I decided to purchase the SlimBlade. Was somewhat hesitant to do so based on some of the negative reviews. I am glad I didn't pay that much attention to those reviews! The SlimBlade works flawlessly. Initially, the ball did not rotate smoothly but after about one hour of use it began to work great. The scrolling feature is very easy to get used to. Absolutely no regrets on purchase. Would not hesitate to purchase again. I have been using Kensington trackballs for years. This is my third one. The one it replaced is being used on my old G-4 Mac without any issues. Managed to purchase it for $89 w/tax. Less than other places but still a little higher than I would like to pay. But since I like using a trackball I had little choice.

Clay23
Charleston, SC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great, but SHOULD include wrist rest like Expert M
5/11/2016

Customer review by Music_Producer

4.0 stars 5/11/2016 by Music_Producer
by Music_Producer

I've had this trackball for over 2 years. The customizable buttons are great, it runs really smooth, but it is unbelievable that it doesn't come nor you can buy a wrist rest like Expert Mouse has. It really is a huge down side!!!

Music_Producer
Madrid, España
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best company of it's kind, terrible demo video
8/26/2015

Customer review by Sitnonthedock

5.0 stars 8/26/2015 by Sitnonthedock
by Sitnonthedock

I've been using a Kensington Expert Mouse for many years as a supervising graphic designer and continue to now that I'm retired. I started purchasing Kensington's Trackballs when they first came on the market about 25 years ago. I give them direct credit for saving mine and my co-workers arms, wrists, and hands from years of pain. I was interested in seeing the differences between my Expert and the new SlimBlade. Being a visual person I naturally went to the demo video first. What should have been a pleasant voice explaining the many programable functions and ease of use, was instead a horrible tract of "music" with a much too fast slideshow of blurring swirls and spins. I learned nothing! For a class 1 company like Kensington, it doesn't represent them well. One of the reviewers suggested adding a way to tilt the base. Early on I made my own wedge under the base of about 20° which created a better ergonomic position for a more natural wrist angle. Kensington would be wise in creating an "adjustable" wedge and add it to their product line. I might even buy one ;)

Sitnonthedock
Siesta Key, FL
Gender:Male
Great trackball
4/27/2016

Customer review by audiounit

4.0 stars 4/27/2016 by audiounit
by audiounit

Great trackball accurate fast love I can trow the ball and spin the curser across the screen. Downsides: Like old ball mouses needs cleaning, silver ring around track ball flakes off after use, turns to while plastic.

audiounit
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Smooth!
12/13/2015

Customer review by Fotoheart

5.0 stars 12/13/2015 by Fotoheart
by Fotoheart

I fell in love with trackballs when a friend gave me one of your old ADB Turbo Mouse trackballs. It's still hooked up & working on an old Mac. I almost bought an expensive ADB to USB adapter to use it with my MacBook Pro. Then thought, why not put the money towards a new trackball. I'm so glad I did! The SlimBlade Trackball is not only beautiful, the action is so smooth it makes the old Turbo Mouse feel real clunky. I also really like the cloth covered USB connecting wire. It adds to the SlimBlades elegance. Reminds me of 'the old days'. Yes, I'm a bit old. Twisting the ball to scroll took some getting used to, but with tweaking the settings in TrackballWorks, it's great. Reaching over the ball for the 2 top buttons is a little awkward for me, but then I've never had a 4 button mouse either. Overall, I love it!

Fotoheart
Olympic Valley, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Love the mouse.
2/9/2016

Customer review by naryfa

4.0 stars 2/9/2016 by naryfa
by naryfa

I love how the ball handles, I totally love the spin-scrolling. What I can't get over is the loud clicks and the sheer size of the base. I can live with it though. The software it comes with is very good too, lots of options to configure the buttons. I just hope this unit is built to last. Time will tell.

naryfa
New Jersey, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
TERRIBLE BUTTONS THEY GET STUCK AND HAVE TO BE PRE
1/10/2016

Customer review by RUDLER

3.0 stars 1/10/2016 by RUDLER
by RUDLER

I BOUGHT THIS TRACKBALL A MONTH AGO AND IT IS KIND OF NEAT BUT DEFINATELY NOT WORTH THE 129 I PAID AND WITH A RECENT WINDOWS 10 UPDATE IT ISNT EVEN RECOGNIZED BY THE KENSINGTON SOFTWARE SO I CANNOT EVEN USE THE "SPECIAL FEATURES"

RUDLER
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Good, usually useful trackball
12/25/2015

Customer review by gbdoc

4.0 stars 12/25/2015 by gbdoc
by gbdoc

Good, useful trackball, had it for a year or two. The scroll ring doesn't work as well as I'd expected, but it's OK. HOWEVER, BIG NEW PROBLEM: The newest TrackballWorks, dated summer 2015, doesn't play well with Mac OS El Capitan 10.11.2 update, and for some, like me, it blocks the update (and the Mac) from booting up. Don't get this hardware until the software's fixed.

gbdoc
Gender:Male
Great, except the wire
11/3/2015

Customer review by Them

4.0 stars 11/3/2015 by Them
by Them

It's the best trackball ever but the wire is messing my ergo setup thus i give 4 stars only. I hope kensington will release a wireless version soon. The wires are so

Them
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good unit, but lack of programmability hurts it
9/24/2014

Customer review by Clint

3.0 stars 9/24/2014 by Clint
by Clint

Over the last 16 years, I've owned a minimum of 25-30 of your original white trackball (7), Expert Mouse (12)Trackball, and slimblades.(8) I immediately ordered 8 of these when they were introduced. 1 has died. and I shelved the other two because of the lack of programmability for the upper two buttons. What I always wanted from a Kensington device was the ability to reprogram one of the top 2 buttons to serve as something like a middle-click, or another key of my choice. This is extremely important when using CAD Programs. The lack of key programability became even more pressing once I got my 3D Printers and got more heavily involved in 3D Design. Gaming has also been one of the main ways I relieve my daily stress, but the lack of programmability with your trackballs has always been a source of continued frustration. So, why did I finally decide to go elsewhere after 16 mostly happy years as a Kensington customer? I guess what it comes down to is, Kensington has had 16 years to answer the numerous requests of your vast community of Trackball customers to make the buttons reprogrammable, yet your company is either unable or unwilling to do so. I've simply reached the point where I'd rather spend $140+ on a competitor's product than continue using a Kensington branded trackball due to it's lack of customization.

Clint
Memphis, TN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great alternative to a mouse
4/26/2011

Customer review by conc2steel

5.0 stars 4/26/2011 by conc2steel
by conc2steel

I realy like having this tracball. There are 4 buttons on the module, each is programable. The hardes adjustment I needed was learining to use my pinky and thumb as my clicking fingers. It's great to be able to manouver between two screens without needing 2 feet of clear desk space to move a mouse.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
conc2steel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Smooooth, gumless, and LINUX compatible!
12/11/2014

Customer review by Callak Skytower

5.0 stars 12/11/2014 by Callak Skytower
by Callak Skytower

I bought this a couple of days ago to replace a very old Kensinton Mouse Pro trackball because I was tired of the rollers gumming up. I LOVE IT. It's both visually pleasing and functional. Kensington trackballs have always been expensive, but in this case you DO get what you pay for. It's very sensitive though, you will want to crank the mouse acceleration down for both your desktop and games to get a less slippery feel. The rotation is smooth as silk, and the twist for mouse-wheel functionality is ingenious! I use LINUX kubuntu 14.04 and I simply had to plug it in, worked perfectly without a fuss.

Callak Skytower
Eau Claire, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
15 Years no problems!
9/30/2015

Customer review by Qbert

5.0 stars 9/30/2015 by Qbert
by Qbert

I have been using the trackball and specifically the Slimblade trackball for over 5 years. Never once have I had wrist problems or finger problems. It still tracks expertly and works great.

Qbert
Murrieta, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Really nice trackball
10/3/2015

Customer review by Dan_

5.0 stars 10/3/2015 by Dan_
by Dan_

Would get 5 stars if the scroll functionality were a bit better. The trackball can scroll by twisting the ball clockwise or counterclockwise. The promo video shows this, a hand using four fingers to twist it. Doing this is pretty tiresome on the wrist. As noted, the scroller does make a pretty loud click noise, like a dial on a watch being rotated. I thought it was a new sound effect at first to then realize it was coming from the mouse. A person can get used to it pretty quickly. It didn't take long to learn to use the scroller functionality more effectively. After a day I naturally started using the pointer finger to hold the ball in place and used the middle and ring fingers to twist the trackball. A much more natural motion, after a *lot* of scrolling though you could still build up some hand/wrist fatigue. It's not terrible at, not at all, but could be improved a bit - drops the product one star on value. A minor comment, the rubber tab that is sticking off the left side purely for an extra branding label is annoying. The aesthetic would be a tiny bit cleaner if that were not there. If all you do is move the mouse around and click, you could use this mouse all day long with no hand/wrist fatigue. If you scroll a lot, take some breaks here and there. Otherwise every other feature of the mouse is perfect. The feel of the trackball is great in the hand. Smooth, buttons in great position, all are easily reached and don't suffer from accidental clicks. The wrist and hand position while neutrally holding the mouse is comfortable, and rolling the trackball around is quite effortless. I got this trackball partly to avoid the wrist strain of moving a mouse around a bunch. For the most part it helps a lot, but doesn't go quite as far as I would have hoped given the scroll functionality. Overall, excellent product.

Dan_
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Slimblade best for Solidworks
10/9/2015

Customer review by Soldwork

5.0 stars 10/9/2015 by Soldwork
by Soldwork

I use this trackball with doing my Solidworks 3d, so easy and comfortable to use. Easy installation.

Soldwork
Dana Point, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Not fullycompatable with Windows 10
8/15/2015

Customer review by Tequila Jack Gunn

1.0 stars 8/15/2015 by Tequila Jack Gunn
by Tequila Jack Gunn

Bought this to replace my Microsoft Trackball Explorer because the Windows Compatibility page says it is Windows 10 compatible. It will operate in Windows 10 but without most of the advanced features. Additionally, it is very buggy and causes frequent system lockups. It's a nice mouse, but Kensington has to update its software to make it worth the money

Tequila Jack Gunn
Mesa, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews