Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

25 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

25 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 23 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
11/27/2012

Customer review by LorienIluvatar

3.0 stars 11/27/2012 by LorienIluvatar
by LorienIluvatar

I have been a long time Kensington trackball user going back to the early 90's and their first Expert Mouse (white two button). I use the current generation of Expert Mouse (see recommendation below) both at home and work. Compared to that product, the SlimBlade Trackball has a much lower profile with almost no elevation. For me, the lower profile became uncomfortable after a short period of time, and I returned the product. On the positive side, the ball moves freely, and the open bottom makes for easy cleaning compared to other models. The twist to scroll feature is a nice touch that is easy to get used to. If the base was sloped like the Expert Mouse series, then I believe that this would have been a great replacement. Unfortunately, for me, this trackball was just too uncomfortable to use for any extended period of time.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LorienIluvatar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great alternative to a mouse
4/26/2011

Customer review by conc2steel

5.0 stars 4/26/2011 by conc2steel
by conc2steel

I realy like having this tracball. There are 4 buttons on the module, each is programable. The hardes adjustment I needed was learining to use my pinky and thumb as my clicking fingers. It's great to be able to manouver between two screens without needing 2 feet of clear desk space to move a mouse.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
conc2steel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
best trackball ever
10/5/2010

Customer review by rawood11

5.0 stars 10/5/2010 by rawood11
by rawood11

I had to uninstall the software for controlling the buttons since it kept crashing windows 7. even with that limitation I love this trackball.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rawood11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Only thing missing is GNOME integration.
12/14/2014

Customer review by microcode

5.0 stars 12/14/2014 by microcode
by microcode

I love using my slimblade, I use it far more than the six other pointing devices I have. The one thing that bothers me, however, is that there doesn't seem to be a reasonable noob-friendly way to configure it on a GNOME system. I'm a computer programmer, so it's not such a big deal for me to configure it, but for the average user, I'm sure it would be nice to have a panel in gnome-control-center; Kensington surely has it in its budget to have somebody develop something that simple and get it upstream.

microcode
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Handicapped person
8/29/2014

Customer review by Fast

5.0 stars 8/29/2014 by Fast
by Fast

With my disability I need a tract ball to run my computer. This is by far the best product I've found.

Fast
Minneapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Smooth scrolling and great control!
12/15/2014

Customer review by Dublinkim

5.0 stars 12/15/2014 by Dublinkim
by Dublinkim

This is a great trackball that I've been using for about 2 months. I had to replace the older Kensington trackball because it just wasn't accurate enough for my Photoshop work. I love the scrolling feature of rotating the ball and how accurate I can get the mouse to work in small places. The only issue I have (which I saw another reviewer have as well) is the accidental right-click which happens quite a bit. I need to find a way to turn that entire lower right section "off" so that nothing happens when I click it because I do it so often. Otherwise, this is a winner!

Dublinkim
Long Beach, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Best Trackball By Far
9/11/2014

Customer review by Ryan

5.0 stars 9/11/2014 by Ryan
by Ryan

I love this trackball. I've bought 3 of them. I broke the first one, and loved it so much, I immediately ordered the 2nd one. I bought the 3rd one for my wife. The only thing that could improve this product would be if it could connect via bluetooth. Other than that, this product is superior to all other trackballs.

Ryan
North Carolina, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pain free mousing!
8/28/2014

Customer review by BagboBilgins

5.0 stars 8/28/2014 by BagboBilgins
by BagboBilgins

I bought this about a year ago because I had developed pains in my wrist and hand from years of using a conventional mouse... immediate relief and no return of symptoms since!

BagboBilgins
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Smile on my Face! :)
8/29/2014

Customer review by ecomcon1

5.0 stars 8/29/2014 by ecomcon1
by ecomcon1

If your looking for the best GET the BEST! This trackball feels and works amazing...

ecomcon1
Pine River, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great engineering tool
9/2/2014

Customer review by MesserschmittMatt

5.0 stars 9/2/2014 by MesserschmittMatt
by MesserschmittMatt

I love this trackball. I use it to operate solidworks, a 3D modeling engineering program at my work. The large ball makes it very accurate and the 4 buttons surrounding it are very programmable, even when hit in pairs. I have multiple solidworks shortcuts set up on this trackball. Above all, when my first one stopped working Kensington quickly sent me a new one, I got it within 5 days. The great customer support was a life saver.

MesserschmittMatt
Pittsburgh, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Smooooth, gumless, and LINUX compatible!
12/11/2014

Customer review by Callak Skytower

5.0 stars 12/11/2014 by Callak Skytower
by Callak Skytower

I bought this a couple of days ago to replace a very old Kensinton Mouse Pro trackball because I was tired of the rollers gumming up. I LOVE IT. It's both visually pleasing and functional. Kensington trackballs have always been expensive, but in this case you DO get what you pay for. It's very sensitive though, you will want to crank the mouse acceleration down for both your desktop and games to get a less slippery feel. The rotation is smooth as silk, and the twist for mouse-wheel functionality is ingenious! I use LINUX kubuntu 14.04 and I simply had to plug it in, worked perfectly without a fuss.

Callak Skytower
Eau Claire, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great accessory
11/21/2014

Customer review by Big T

5.0 stars 11/21/2014 by Big T
by Big T

I have always had a Kensington trackball, but my new SlimBlade is "second-to-none." Lowe profile, looks great and ease of use. Great product.

Big T
Virginia Beach, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Top Quality Trackball
4/13/2015

Customer review by Andy M

5.0 stars 4/13/2015 by Andy M
by Andy M

I purchased the Slimblade Trackball to replace my old Kensington Expert Pro Trackball and overall it is a great improvement.. The ball is much smoother and being laser rather than the older optical sensors for trackball movement, it works perfectly under a bright light and it also does not suffer from the sensors being blocked by fluff. The buttons are also improved by having a firmer "click" action although this could cause a distraction to others in a quiet workplace. I have no movement in my right hand so I cannot use a mouse so a trackball is essential. the Slimblade is easy to use by resting you wrist on the ball, and the large buttons easy to press with your wrist. The added bonus is Kensington have introduced the scroll disc. Simply twist the ball to scroll up or down or in my case Irest my wrist on the silver circle and it is easy to twist the ball to get the scroll effect. This is a good looking Trackball with several options for the buttons and a long warranty period so I have no reservations in recommending this trackball

Andy M
New Alresford, United Kingdom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
New twist
10/26/2012

Customer review by Ledpaddle

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Ledpaddle
by Ledpaddle

Very smooth running ball. Twisting the ball is a unique capability that can run the scroll operations. The twisting of the ball registers audible clicks so as to alert you of what you are doing. The software is programable to suit most any needs. The low pad is comfortable for my large hand.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ledpaddle
Paris, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fast and easy to use
3/18/2015

Customer review by Ghostboy

5.0 stars 3/18/2015 by Ghostboy
by Ghostboy

In the Music recording Industry the type of tools we use on a day to day basis need's to be fast ,Responsive and comfortable when under pressure   

Ghostboy
New York, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great design!
8/5/2015

Customer review by Zeiter

5.0 stars 8/5/2015 by Zeiter
by Zeiter

I just love this trackball! I love its design. Its very nice, elegant, ergonomic, works great!

Zeiter
Mexico City, Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best company of it's kind, terrible demo video
8/26/2015

Customer review by Sitnonthedock

5.0 stars 8/26/2015 by Sitnonthedock
by Sitnonthedock

I've been using a Kensington Expert Mouse for many years as a supervising graphic designer and continue to now that I'm retired. I started purchasing Kensington's Trackballs when they first came on the market about 25 years ago. I give them direct credit for saving mine and my co-workers arms, wrists, and hands from years of pain. I was interested in seeing the differences between my Expert and the new SlimBlade. Being a visual person I naturally went to the demo video first. What should have been a pleasant voice explaining the many programable functions and ease of use, was instead a horrible tract of "music" with a much too fast slideshow of blurring swirls and spins. I learned nothing! For a class 1 company like Kensington, it doesn't represent them well. One of the reviewers suggested adding a way to tilt the base. Early on I made my own wedge under the base of about 20° which created a better ergonomic position for a more natural wrist angle. Kensington would be wise in creating an "adjustable" wedge and add it to their product line. I might even buy one ;)

Sitnonthedock
Siesta Key, FL
Gender:Male
It's quite nice but...
3/9/2015

Customer review by qweawd

4.0 stars 3/9/2015 by qweawd
by qweawd

It's good and fun to use. 6 functions are useful but noisy when scrolling. This trackball has some squawk noise with original scroll sound. Maybe bearings are the problem. This makes me annoying. Except the noise, this is good.

qweawd
South Korea
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
So smooth and awesome!
11/21/2014

Customer review by Spie55

4.0 stars 11/21/2014 by Spie55
by Spie55

Best trackball I have ever owned. Boss wasn't too happy I spent that much money on a mouse but oh well. This thing is so smooth, scrolling ball is the best and feels good to keep your hand on. Only buggaboo that didn't get a 5th star is the click noise. I bought a keyboard with soft keys and is very quite when I type. However when using the mouse, the click is pretty loud and I know everyone can hear it so if they can muffle the clicks then it would get 5 stars all day. Also, maybe have a setting to adjust the direction of scroll for zoom vs up/down. Other than that it top notch!

Spie55
Scottsdale, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
So far Love it
9/2/2014

Customer review by Initsurf

4.0 stars 9/2/2014 by Initsurf
by Initsurf

Love the precision and feel. Especially how the ball is weighted so it rolls smoothly! JUST SWITCH THE TOP RIGHT BUTTON AS THE RIGHT CLICK AND IT WORKS EFFORTLESSLY.

Initsurf
Long Beach, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews