Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 33 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

33 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

33 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
23
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 31 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews
Love the mouse.
2/9/2016

Customer review by naryfa

4.0 stars 2/9/2016 by naryfa
by naryfa

I love how the ball handles, I totally love the spin-scrolling. What I can't get over is the loud clicks and the sheer size of the base. I can live with it though. The software it comes with is very good too, lots of options to configure the buttons. I just hope this unit is built to last. Time will tell.

naryfa
New Jersey, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
It works fine.
10/25/2015

Customer review by Clay23

5.0 stars 10/25/2015 by Clay23
by Clay23

Recently upgraded to Mavericks 10.9.5 (waiting until the bugs are worked out of El Capitan) on my early 2008 Mac Pro. My old Turbo mouse Pro no longer worked due to the software so I decided to purchase the SlimBlade. Was somewhat hesitant to do so based on some of the negative reviews. I am glad I didn't pay that much attention to those reviews! The SlimBlade works flawlessly. Initially, the ball did not rotate smoothly but after about one hour of use it began to work great. The scrolling feature is very easy to get used to. Absolutely no regrets on purchase. Would not hesitate to purchase again. I have been using Kensington trackballs for years. This is my third one. The one it replaced is being used on my old G-4 Mac without any issues. Managed to purchase it for $89 w/tax. Less than other places but still a little higher than I would like to pay. But since I like using a trackball I had little choice.

Clay23
Charleston, SC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Smooth!
12/13/2015

Customer review by Fotoheart

5.0 stars 12/13/2015 by Fotoheart
by Fotoheart

I fell in love with trackballs when a friend gave me one of your old ADB Turbo Mouse trackballs. It's still hooked up & working on an old Mac. I almost bought an expensive ADB to USB adapter to use it with my MacBook Pro. Then thought, why not put the money towards a new trackball. I'm so glad I did! The SlimBlade Trackball is not only beautiful, the action is so smooth it makes the old Turbo Mouse feel real clunky. I also really like the cloth covered USB connecting wire. It adds to the SlimBlades elegance. Reminds me of 'the old days'. Yes, I'm a bit old. Twisting the ball to scroll took some getting used to, but with tweaking the settings in TrackballWorks, it's great. Reaching over the ball for the 2 top buttons is a little awkward for me, but then I've never had a 4 button mouse either. Overall, I love it!

Fotoheart
Olympic Valley, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
TERRIBLE BUTTONS THEY GET STUCK AND HAVE TO BE PRE
1/10/2016

Customer review by RUDLER

3.0 stars 1/10/2016 by RUDLER
by RUDLER

I BOUGHT THIS TRACKBALL A MONTH AGO AND IT IS KIND OF NEAT BUT DEFINATELY NOT WORTH THE 129 I PAID AND WITH A RECENT WINDOWS 10 UPDATE IT ISNT EVEN RECOGNIZED BY THE KENSINGTON SOFTWARE SO I CANNOT EVEN USE THE "SPECIAL FEATURES"

RUDLER
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Best company of it's kind, terrible demo video
8/26/2015

Customer review by Sitnonthedock

5.0 stars 8/26/2015 by Sitnonthedock
by Sitnonthedock

I've been using a Kensington Expert Mouse for many years as a supervising graphic designer and continue to now that I'm retired. I started purchasing Kensington's Trackballs when they first came on the market about 25 years ago. I give them direct credit for saving mine and my co-workers arms, wrists, and hands from years of pain. I was interested in seeing the differences between my Expert and the new SlimBlade. Being a visual person I naturally went to the demo video first. What should have been a pleasant voice explaining the many programable functions and ease of use, was instead a horrible tract of "music" with a much too fast slideshow of blurring swirls and spins. I learned nothing! For a class 1 company like Kensington, it doesn't represent them well. One of the reviewers suggested adding a way to tilt the base. Early on I made my own wedge under the base of about 20° which created a better ergonomic position for a more natural wrist angle. Kensington would be wise in creating an "adjustable" wedge and add it to their product line. I might even buy one ;)

Sitnonthedock
Siesta Key, FL
Gender:Male
Good, usually useful trackball
12/25/2015

Customer review by gbdoc

4.0 stars 12/25/2015 by gbdoc
by gbdoc

Good, useful trackball, had it for a year or two. The scroll ring doesn't work as well as I'd expected, but it's OK. HOWEVER, BIG NEW PROBLEM: The newest TrackballWorks, dated summer 2015, doesn't play well with Mac OS El Capitan 10.11.2 update, and for some, like me, it blocks the update (and the Mac) from booting up. Don't get this hardware until the software's fixed.

gbdoc
Gender:Male
11/27/2012

Customer review by LorienIluvatar

3.0 stars 11/27/2012 by LorienIluvatar
by LorienIluvatar

I have been a long time Kensington trackball user going back to the early 90's and their first Expert Mouse (white two button). I use the current generation of Expert Mouse (see recommendation below) both at home and work. Compared to that product, the SlimBlade Trackball has a much lower profile with almost no elevation. For me, the lower profile became uncomfortable after a short period of time, and I returned the product. On the positive side, the ball moves freely, and the open bottom makes for easy cleaning compared to other models. The twist to scroll feature is a nice touch that is easy to get used to. If the base was sloped like the Expert Mouse series, then I believe that this would have been a great replacement. Unfortunately, for me, this trackball was just too uncomfortable to use for any extended period of time.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LorienIluvatar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Top Quality Trackball
4/13/2015

Customer review by Andy M

5.0 stars 4/13/2015 by Andy M
by Andy M

I purchased the Slimblade Trackball to replace my old Kensington Expert Pro Trackball and overall it is a great improvement.. The ball is much smoother and being laser rather than the older optical sensors for trackball movement, it works perfectly under a bright light and it also does not suffer from the sensors being blocked by fluff. The buttons are also improved by having a firmer "click" action although this could cause a distraction to others in a quiet workplace. I have no movement in my right hand so I cannot use a mouse so a trackball is essential. the Slimblade is easy to use by resting you wrist on the ball, and the large buttons easy to press with your wrist. The added bonus is Kensington have introduced the scroll disc. Simply twist the ball to scroll up or down or in my case Irest my wrist on the silver circle and it is easy to twist the ball to get the scroll effect. This is a good looking Trackball with several options for the buttons and a long warranty period so I have no reservations in recommending this trackball

Andy M
New Alresford, United Kingdom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great, except the wire
11/3/2015

Customer review by Them

4.0 stars 11/3/2015 by Them
by Them

It's the best trackball ever but the wire is messing my ergo setup thus i give 4 stars only. I hope kensington will release a wireless version soon. The wires are so

Them
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Slimblade best for Solidworks
10/9/2015

Customer review by Soldwork

5.0 stars 10/9/2015 by Soldwork
by Soldwork

I use this trackball with doing my Solidworks 3d, so easy and comfortable to use. Easy installation.

Soldwork
Dana Point, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Really nice trackball
10/3/2015

Customer review by Dan_

5.0 stars 10/3/2015 by Dan_
by Dan_

Would get 5 stars if the scroll functionality were a bit better. The trackball can scroll by twisting the ball clockwise or counterclockwise. The promo video shows this, a hand using four fingers to twist it. Doing this is pretty tiresome on the wrist. As noted, the scroller does make a pretty loud click noise, like a dial on a watch being rotated. I thought it was a new sound effect at first to then realize it was coming from the mouse. A person can get used to it pretty quickly. It didn't take long to learn to use the scroller functionality more effectively. After a day I naturally started using the pointer finger to hold the ball in place and used the middle and ring fingers to twist the trackball. A much more natural motion, after a *lot* of scrolling though you could still build up some hand/wrist fatigue. It's not terrible at, not at all, but could be improved a bit - drops the product one star on value. A minor comment, the rubber tab that is sticking off the left side purely for an extra branding label is annoying. The aesthetic would be a tiny bit cleaner if that were not there. If all you do is move the mouse around and click, you could use this mouse all day long with no hand/wrist fatigue. If you scroll a lot, take some breaks here and there. Otherwise every other feature of the mouse is perfect. The feel of the trackball is great in the hand. Smooth, buttons in great position, all are easily reached and don't suffer from accidental clicks. The wrist and hand position while neutrally holding the mouse is comfortable, and rolling the trackball around is quite effortless. I got this trackball partly to avoid the wrist strain of moving a mouse around a bunch. For the most part it helps a lot, but doesn't go quite as far as I would have hoped given the scroll functionality. Overall, excellent product.

Dan_
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
15 Years no problems!
9/30/2015

Customer review by Qbert

5.0 stars 9/30/2015 by Qbert
by Qbert

I have been using the trackball and specifically the Slimblade trackball for over 5 years. Never once have I had wrist problems or finger problems. It still tracks expertly and works great.

Qbert
Murrieta, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Not fullycompatable with Windows 10
8/15/2015

Customer review by Tequila Jack Gunn

1.0 stars 8/15/2015 by Tequila Jack Gunn
by Tequila Jack Gunn

Bought this to replace my Microsoft Trackball Explorer because the Windows Compatibility page says it is Windows 10 compatible. It will operate in Windows 10 but without most of the advanced features. Additionally, it is very buggy and causes frequent system lockups. It's a nice mouse, but Kensington has to update its software to make it worth the money

Tequila Jack Gunn
Mesa, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great design!
8/5/2015

Customer review by Zeiter

5.0 stars 8/5/2015 by Zeiter
by Zeiter

I just love this trackball! I love its design. Its very nice, elegant, ergonomic, works great!

Zeiter
Mexico City, Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good unit, but lack of programmability hurts it
9/24/2014

Customer review by Clint

3.0 stars 9/24/2014 by Clint
by Clint

Over the last 16 years, I've owned a minimum of 25-30 of your original white trackball (7), Expert Mouse (12)Trackball, and slimblades.(8) I immediately ordered 8 of these when they were introduced. 1 has died. and I shelved the other two because of the lack of programmability for the upper two buttons. What I always wanted from a Kensington device was the ability to reprogram one of the top 2 buttons to serve as something like a middle-click, or another key of my choice. This is extremely important when using CAD Programs. The lack of key programability became even more pressing once I got my 3D Printers and got more heavily involved in 3D Design. Gaming has also been one of the main ways I relieve my daily stress, but the lack of programmability with your trackballs has always been a source of continued frustration. So, why did I finally decide to go elsewhere after 16 mostly happy years as a Kensington customer? I guess what it comes down to is, Kensington has had 16 years to answer the numerous requests of your vast community of Trackball customers to make the buttons reprogrammable, yet your company is either unable or unwilling to do so. I've simply reached the point where I'd rather spend $140+ on a competitor's product than continue using a Kensington branded trackball due to it's lack of customization.

Clint
Memphis, TN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Smooooth, gumless, and LINUX compatible!
12/11/2014

Customer review by Callak Skytower

5.0 stars 12/11/2014 by Callak Skytower
by Callak Skytower

I bought this a couple of days ago to replace a very old Kensinton Mouse Pro trackball because I was tired of the rollers gumming up. I LOVE IT. It's both visually pleasing and functional. Kensington trackballs have always been expensive, but in this case you DO get what you pay for. It's very sensitive though, you will want to crank the mouse acceleration down for both your desktop and games to get a less slippery feel. The rotation is smooth as silk, and the twist for mouse-wheel functionality is ingenious! I use LINUX kubuntu 14.04 and I simply had to plug it in, worked perfectly without a fuss.

Callak Skytower
Eau Claire, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Smooth scrolling and great control!
12/15/2014

Customer review by Dublinkim

5.0 stars 12/15/2014 by Dublinkim
by Dublinkim

This is a great trackball that I've been using for about 2 months. I had to replace the older Kensington trackball because it just wasn't accurate enough for my Photoshop work. I love the scrolling feature of rotating the ball and how accurate I can get the mouse to work in small places. The only issue I have (which I saw another reviewer have as well) is the accidental right-click which happens quite a bit. I need to find a way to turn that entire lower right section "off" so that nothing happens when I click it because I do it so often. Otherwise, this is a winner!

Dublinkim
Long Beach, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
So smooth and awesome!
11/21/2014

Customer review by Spie55

4.0 stars 11/21/2014 by Spie55
by Spie55

Best trackball I have ever owned. Boss wasn't too happy I spent that much money on a mouse but oh well. This thing is so smooth, scrolling ball is the best and feels good to keep your hand on. Only buggaboo that didn't get a 5th star is the click noise. I bought a keyboard with soft keys and is very quite when I type. However when using the mouse, the click is pretty loud and I know everyone can hear it so if they can muffle the clicks then it would get 5 stars all day. Also, maybe have a setting to adjust the direction of scroll for zoom vs up/down. Other than that it top notch!

Spie55
Scottsdale, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great alternative to a mouse
4/26/2011

Customer review by conc2steel

5.0 stars 4/26/2011 by conc2steel
by conc2steel

I realy like having this tracball. There are 4 buttons on the module, each is programable. The hardes adjustment I needed was learining to use my pinky and thumb as my clicking fingers. It's great to be able to manouver between two screens without needing 2 feet of clear desk space to move a mouse.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
conc2steel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Only thing missing is GNOME integration.
12/14/2014

Customer review by microcode

5.0 stars 12/14/2014 by microcode
by microcode

I love using my slimblade, I use it far more than the six other pointing devices I have. The one thing that bothers me, however, is that there doesn't seem to be a reasonable noob-friendly way to configure it on a GNOME system. I'm a computer programmer, so it's not such a big deal for me to configure it, but for the average user, I'm sure it would be nice to have a panel in gnome-control-center; Kensington surely has it in its budget to have somebody develop something that simple and get it upstream.

microcode
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews