Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 29 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

29 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

29 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 27 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews

Customer review by LorienIluvatar

3.0 stars 11/27/2012 by LorienIluvatar
by LorienIluvatar

I have been a long time Kensington trackball user going back to the early 90's and their first Expert Mouse (white two button). I use the current generation of Expert Mouse (see recommendation below) both at home and work. Compared to that product, the SlimBlade Trackball has a much lower profile with almost no elevation. For me, the lower profile became uncomfortable after a short period of time, and I returned the product. On the positive side, the ball moves freely, and the open bottom makes for easy cleaning compared to other models. The twist to scroll feature is a nice touch that is easy to get used to. If the base was sloped like the Expert Mouse series, then I believe that this would have been a great replacement. Unfortunately, for me, this trackball was just too uncomfortable to use for any extended period of time.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Great alternative to a mouse

Customer review by conc2steel

5.0 stars 4/26/2011 by conc2steel
by conc2steel

I realy like having this tracball. There are 4 buttons on the module, each is programable. The hardes adjustment I needed was learining to use my pinky and thumb as my clicking fingers. It's great to be able to manouver between two screens without needing 2 feet of clear desk space to move a mouse.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
best trackball ever

Customer review by rawood11

5.0 stars 10/5/2010 by rawood11
by rawood11

I had to uninstall the software for controlling the buttons since it kept crashing windows 7. even with that limitation I love this trackball.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Only thing missing is GNOME integration.

Customer review by microcode

5.0 stars 12/14/2014 by microcode
by microcode

I love using my slimblade, I use it far more than the six other pointing devices I have. The one thing that bothers me, however, is that there doesn't seem to be a reasonable noob-friendly way to configure it on a GNOME system. I'm a computer programmer, so it's not such a big deal for me to configure it, but for the average user, I'm sure it would be nice to have a panel in gnome-control-center; Kensington surely has it in its budget to have somebody develop something that simple and get it upstream.

Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fast and easy to use

Customer review by Ghostboy

5.0 stars 3/18/2015 by Ghostboy
by Ghostboy

In the Music recording Industry the type of tools we use on a day to day basis need's to be fast ,Responsive and comfortable when under pressure   

New York, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Handicapped person

Customer review by Fast

5.0 stars 8/29/2014 by Fast
by Fast

With my disability I need a tract ball to run my computer. This is by far the best product I've found.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Smooth scrolling and great control!

Customer review by Dublinkim

5.0 stars 12/15/2014 by Dublinkim
by Dublinkim

This is a great trackball that I've been using for about 2 months. I had to replace the older Kensington trackball because it just wasn't accurate enough for my Photoshop work. I love the scrolling feature of rotating the ball and how accurate I can get the mouse to work in small places. The only issue I have (which I saw another reviewer have as well) is the accidental right-click which happens quite a bit. I need to find a way to turn that entire lower right section "off" so that nothing happens when I click it because I do it so often. Otherwise, this is a winner!

Long Beach, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Trackball By Far

Customer review by Ryan

5.0 stars 9/11/2014 by Ryan
by Ryan

I love this trackball. I've bought 3 of them. I broke the first one, and loved it so much, I immediately ordered the 2nd one. I bought the 3rd one for my wife. The only thing that could improve this product would be if it could connect via bluetooth. Other than that, this product is superior to all other trackballs.

North Carolina, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pain free mousing!

Customer review by BagboBilgins

5.0 stars 8/28/2014 by BagboBilgins
by BagboBilgins

I bought this about a year ago because I had developed pains in my wrist and hand from years of using a conventional mouse... immediate relief and no return of symptoms since!

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Smile on my Face! :)

Customer review by ecomcon1

5.0 stars 8/29/2014 by ecomcon1
by ecomcon1

If your looking for the best GET the BEST! This trackball feels and works amazing...

Pine River, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great engineering tool

Customer review by MesserschmittMatt

5.0 stars 9/2/2014 by MesserschmittMatt
by MesserschmittMatt

I love this trackball. I use it to operate solidworks, a 3D modeling engineering program at my work. The large ball makes it very accurate and the 4 buttons surrounding it are very programmable, even when hit in pairs. I have multiple solidworks shortcuts set up on this trackball. Above all, when my first one stopped working Kensington quickly sent me a new one, I got it within 5 days. The great customer support was a life saver.

Pittsburgh, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Smooooth, gumless, and LINUX compatible!

Customer review by Callak Skytower

5.0 stars 12/11/2014 by Callak Skytower
by Callak Skytower

I bought this a couple of days ago to replace a very old Kensinton Mouse Pro trackball because I was tired of the rollers gumming up. I LOVE IT. It's both visually pleasing and functional. Kensington trackballs have always been expensive, but in this case you DO get what you pay for. It's very sensitive though, you will want to crank the mouse acceleration down for both your desktop and games to get a less slippery feel. The rotation is smooth as silk, and the twist for mouse-wheel functionality is ingenious! I use LINUX kubuntu 14.04 and I simply had to plug it in, worked perfectly without a fuss.

Callak Skytower
Eau Claire, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great accessory

Customer review by Big T

5.0 stars 11/21/2014 by Big T
by Big T

I have always had a Kensington trackball, but my new SlimBlade is "second-to-none." Lowe profile, looks great and ease of use. Great product.

Big T
Virginia Beach, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top Quality Trackball

Customer review by Andy M

5.0 stars 4/13/2015 by Andy M
by Andy M

I purchased the Slimblade Trackball to replace my old Kensington Expert Pro Trackball and overall it is a great improvement.. The ball is much smoother and being laser rather than the older optical sensors for trackball movement, it works perfectly under a bright light and it also does not suffer from the sensors being blocked by fluff. The buttons are also improved by having a firmer "click" action although this could cause a distraction to others in a quiet workplace. I have no movement in my right hand so I cannot use a mouse so a trackball is essential. the Slimblade is easy to use by resting you wrist on the ball, and the large buttons easy to press with your wrist. The added bonus is Kensington have introduced the scroll disc. Simply twist the ball to scroll up or down or in my case Irest my wrist on the silver circle and it is easy to twist the ball to get the scroll effect. This is a good looking Trackball with several options for the buttons and a long warranty period so I have no reservations in recommending this trackball

Andy M
New Alresford, United Kingdom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great design!

Customer review by Zeiter

5.0 stars 8/5/2015 by Zeiter
by Zeiter

I just love this trackball! I love its design. Its very nice, elegant, ergonomic, works great!

Mexico City, Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best company of it's kind, terrible demo video

Customer review by Sitnonthedock

5.0 stars 8/26/2015 by Sitnonthedock
by Sitnonthedock

I've been using a Kensington Expert Mouse for many years as a supervising graphic designer and continue to now that I'm retired. I started purchasing Kensington's Trackballs when they first came on the market about 25 years ago. I give them direct credit for saving mine and my co-workers arms, wrists, and hands from years of pain. I was interested in seeing the differences between my Expert and the new SlimBlade. Being a visual person I naturally went to the demo video first. What should have been a pleasant voice explaining the many programable functions and ease of use, was instead a horrible tract of "music" with a much too fast slideshow of blurring swirls and spins. I learned nothing! For a class 1 company like Kensington, it doesn't represent them well. One of the reviewers suggested adding a way to tilt the base. Early on I made my own wedge under the base of about 20° which created a better ergonomic position for a more natural wrist angle. Kensington would be wise in creating an "adjustable" wedge and add it to their product line. I might even buy one ;)

Siesta Key, FL
15 Years no problems!

Customer review by Qbert

5.0 stars 9/30/2015 by Qbert
by Qbert

I have been using the trackball and specifically the Slimblade trackball for over 5 years. Never once have I had wrist problems or finger problems. It still tracks expertly and works great.

Murrieta, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Really nice trackball

Customer review by Dan_

5.0 stars 10/3/2015 by Dan_
by Dan_

Would get 5 stars if the scroll functionality were a bit better. The trackball can scroll by twisting the ball clockwise or counterclockwise. The promo video shows this, a hand using four fingers to twist it. Doing this is pretty tiresome on the wrist. As noted, the scroller does make a pretty loud click noise, like a dial on a watch being rotated. I thought it was a new sound effect at first to then realize it was coming from the mouse. A person can get used to it pretty quickly. It didn't take long to learn to use the scroller functionality more effectively. After a day I naturally started using the pointer finger to hold the ball in place and used the middle and ring fingers to twist the trackball. A much more natural motion, after a *lot* of scrolling though you could still build up some hand/wrist fatigue. It's not terrible at, not at all, but could be improved a bit - drops the product one star on value. A minor comment, the rubber tab that is sticking off the left side purely for an extra branding label is annoying. The aesthetic would be a tiny bit cleaner if that were not there. If all you do is move the mouse around and click, you could use this mouse all day long with no hand/wrist fatigue. If you scroll a lot, take some breaks here and there. Otherwise every other feature of the mouse is perfect. The feel of the trackball is great in the hand. Smooth, buttons in great position, all are easily reached and don't suffer from accidental clicks. The wrist and hand position while neutrally holding the mouse is comfortable, and rolling the trackball around is quite effortless. I got this trackball partly to avoid the wrist strain of moving a mouse around a bunch. For the most part it helps a lot, but doesn't go quite as far as I would have hoped given the scroll functionality. Overall, excellent product.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Slimblade best for Solidworks

Customer review by Soldwork

5.0 stars 10/9/2015 by Soldwork
by Soldwork

I use this trackball with doing my Solidworks 3d, so easy and comfortable to use. Easy installation.

Dana Point, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It works fine.

Customer review by Clay23

5.0 stars 10/25/2015 by Clay23
by Clay23

Recently upgraded to Mavericks 10.9.5 (waiting until the bugs are worked out of El Capitan) on my early 2008 Mac Pro. My old Turbo mouse Pro no longer worked due to the software so I decided to purchase the SlimBlade. Was somewhat hesitant to do so based on some of the negative reviews. I am glad I didn't pay that much attention to those reviews! The SlimBlade works flawlessly. Initially, the ball did not rotate smoothly but after about one hour of use it began to work great. The scrolling feature is very easy to get used to. Absolutely no regrets on purchase. Would not hesitate to purchase again. I have been using Kensington trackballs for years. This is my third one. The one it replaced is being used on my old G-4 Mac without any issues. Managed to purchase it for $89 w/tax. Less than other places but still a little higher than I would like to pay. But since I like using a trackball I had little choice.

Charleston, SC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews