Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 42 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

42 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

42 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
34
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 35 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
A very excellent product.
12/17/2009

Customer review by stevenT1976

5.0 stars 12/17/2009 by stevenT1976
by stevenT1976

I've had this meter for about a month and its the best one that I've ever owned. I like the bright screen and the light up test strip port. i like the fact that you can plug it in and the software starts up and you can see how your doing and even print reports or save reports and send them to your drs. its sleek and a accurate.

Was this review helpful? (94) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stevenT1976
heath,ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Glucose Monitor
12/29/2009

Customer review by GaryMcF

5.0 stars 12/29/2009 by GaryMcF
by GaryMcF

The Bayer Countour monitor works wonderfully. Being able to download my daily readings periodically to my computer is wonderful. This function saves me a great deal of time, i.e., not having to record my readings 3 to 4 times daily. Plus, I no longer have to carry my glucose record with me at all times. The software has fantastic reporting abilities. I prepare the reports before seeing my doctor. All of this information is readily available on my PC. This device makes handing this disease much easier.

Was this review helpful? (58) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GaryMcF
Omaha, Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works Great!
6/28/2010

Customer review by RoqDawg

5.0 stars 6/28/2010 by RoqDawg
by RoqDawg

I've been using my meter for one month now. When I received the meter I read the instructions, charged the meter, took a blood sample, selected "After Meal" on the meter, the meter gave me the reading, simple. I then registered my meter, I then downloaded the latest version of GLUCOFACTS Deluxe to my computer. I manually entered a few older readings from another meter. I've continued taking readings and downloaded the readings to my computer when I get around to it. I never liked logbooks, too little space, couldn't get trends, etc. I took my reports into my primary care and when he saw the reports he said "WOW". I was able to give him the info he needed by quickly looking at my reports. He could easily see my trends by looking at the trends graph. I use my meter with Windows 7.

Was this review helpful? (39) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RoqDawg
Coarsegold, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2 Star Review Wrong
1/26/2010

Customer review by CRendo

5.0 stars 1/26/2010 by CRendo
by CRendo

The two star review dated 1/9/10 is wrong. Here is a quote from Bayer's Tech Spec page on this device: "Bayer’s CONTOUR® USB Blood Glucose Monitor is currently compatible with Window® 7, Windows® XP (SP3) and Vista® (SP2) as well as Mac OS X® 10.5.7 and 10.5.8 (Intel® 64 bit processors) Please register your CONTOUR® USB Meter. After registration we will notify you of software updates including news / updates concerning operating system compatibility." If it is not working, you need to perform the software upgrade (of course you registered it) and if you still have problems, either contact support or return the product under warranty.

Was this review helpful? (31) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CRendo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Newly Diagnosed
12/5/2009

Customer review by Voxie

5.0 stars 12/5/2009 by Voxie
by Voxie

My first glucose meter and I have no complaints. It is a bit pricey but the high tech features and ease to use right out the box is so worth it. You get what you pay for shines true with this meter. I Love it!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Voxie
So Cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Super Meter!
3/9/2010

Customer review by NC82

5.0 stars 3/9/2010 by NC82
by NC82

This meter is simple and straightforward while offering useful options that are easy to access and manage. Being that it has a built in USB (the reason I purchased this meter) it simply slides into a USB port on your PC and you can access all your numbers. You have the option of downloading the GLUCOFACTS® Deluxe Diabetes Management software to your PC which makes reading your numbers very nice. This software is available from the Bayer simplewins™ website and is free. Another plus is that the meter uses Bayer's Contour® test strips. These strips require a very small amount of blood and use No Coding™ technology.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NC82
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
2/21/2011

Customer review by NewHamburg15

5.0 stars 2/21/2011 by NewHamburg15
by NewHamburg15

This unit plugs directly into your computer's usb port which eliminates the need for the log book. Software is available to analyize the gluclose levels. User friendly.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NewHamburg15
New Hamburg, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not Connected
4/25/2010

Customer review by BillyBob88

5.0 stars 4/25/2010 by BillyBob88
by BillyBob88

It is a good meter, but it does not connect to health vault yet, my main reason for purchasing it. Just because it is usb, does not mean it is computer friendly. The regular contour connects with a cord, and does work with health vault.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BillyBob88
Las Vegas, Nv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
The best ever product
2/16/2011

Customer review by ShopaholicGrams

5.0 stars 2/16/2011 by ShopaholicGrams
by ShopaholicGrams

For a diabetic this product is the best ever so far. I've been a Type 2 diabetic for 28 years, gone through a few glucose meters over the years, till I heard of the Bayer Contour USB. I've had mine for about three weeks and must say this is by far the best meter I've ever owned. I highly recommend this glucose meter to new diabetics and to those who have been diabetics for years. The features are unbelievable, just go to BayerContour USB.com and see for yourself. The price is right too.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopaholicGrams
Fort Mill, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Useful Meter
2/23/2011

Customer review by MadcapMom

5.0 stars 2/23/2011 by MadcapMom
by MadcapMom

First, let me say, thank you, Walmart for making this meter affordable for my family. It was between $40 to $50 less than other stores I checked. The meter is easy to use and uses the same strips as the Bayer Contour meter, which we were using before. It has a strip light feature for nighttime use, but I take a little too long to get my sleeping child prepared and the light turns off. The screen is backlit and full color, easy to read. The design is sleek. The case is a bit too small to carry any extras, like needles, but all the meter necessities fit in nicely. On the computer end of it, it took me a few times to get used to the way it downloads data, but the reports are useful. One complaint would be that if you test for breakfast after 8 a.m., it goes into the lunch category and I don't see any way to change that setting. The meter settings can be done on the meter itself or on the computer...like blood glucose range. There is a PDF option so you can email your reports to your medical team directly. Overall, this is the best meter I have seen available so far and I hope Bayer continues to improve upon the basic meter to make it a more useful tool to the diabetic person. As a side, our diabetic family member is a child under 7 and I would recommend this meter to other parents of diabetic children out there because of the ease of use and the wicking feature of the strips and the small amount of blood sample needed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MadcapMom
Hoquiam, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Timesaver
4/4/2010

Customer review by NinjaDeathMonkey

4.0 stars 4/4/2010 by NinjaDeathMonkey
by NinjaDeathMonkey

One of the most time consuming parts of tracking blood sugar is entering it in a spreadsheet to report on it... This will save you time as it has its own software to track it for you. It needed some technical ssistance to get setup on a Windows 7 machine with the latest Java release, but it is well worth it. The compact size of the unit is also a bonus

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NinjaDeathMonkey
Roanoke, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works really nice
3/30/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 3/30/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The Bayer Contour USB is a nice compact device that only takes but a few minutes to take a reading, software loaded very easily and updated without a problem from Bayer's website. Comes with a portable carry pouch, USB connecting cord, sampling strips, Microlet lancets and lancet deliverer. Software is easy to set up and gives a wide range of reports that you can use to track your blood glucose and notice any trends, also I use it for noticing any foods that seem to spike my blood sugar. All in all I think it is a very nice product and have no need to search any further for a monitoring device.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Size great and easy to use
6/14/2011

Customer review by BirdLoverinYakima

5.0 stars 6/14/2011 by BirdLoverinYakima
by BirdLoverinYakima

This is a great tool. It is easy and quick to use, small enough to fit in my purse without loading it down. All the info will download into my computer to keep on record and help me keep tabs of where I am at, prints reports to take to my doctor or just to examine.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BirdLoverinYakima
Yakima, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Compact meter
7/16/2010

Customer review by Castit42

5.0 stars 7/16/2010 by Castit42
by Castit42

I have used meters far a number of years now. I wanted a compact meter. I also wanted a meter that could connect to a pc easily. This meter is very nice and fits all my requirements. If you like a meter that takes cartridges this meter is not for you. One thing I particularly like about the Compact test strips is when sampling, you can see the sample being drawn in and know it is working. Results are fast and in comparison to my other meter look to be accurate. Hooking up to my pc is straight forward and reports are intuitive. I am very happy with this meter

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Castit42
Central Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent monitor for blood sugar.
8/2/2011

Customer review by Icandothis

5.0 stars 8/2/2011 by Icandothis
by Icandothis

This monitor is great finally something that is current with the times. I love it. The readout is large the set up is guided all the way no guess work to this set up. Buy it while the price is right...I couldn't believe what a value I got. I have an iMac & the program on my computer is ready to go it's included within your Mac. I love that it has a rechargeable battery so I no longer have to buy new batteries just hook it up to the computer or a wall charger that is included with the monitor.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Icandothis
Collinsville, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Buy
7/16/2010

Customer review by rjd1247

5.0 stars 7/16/2010 by rjd1247
by rjd1247

I have used many glucometers in the 13 years that I have been diabetic. This one is better than any of the others and well worth the price. The software is easily understood and easy to use, just plug the USB in and the computer does the rest.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rjd1247
Woodville, Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/30/2011

Customer review by RBCinTexas

5.0 stars 10/30/2011 by RBCinTexas
by RBCinTexas

This is a God send for diabetics. After using it for a few weeks, I have found myself testing more often and more accurately managing my diabetes. When used with the software, you begin to see exactly how your blood sugar levels respond to your diet and you are able to make much more educated decisions. Since using this meter and software, I have been able to adjust my insulin levels to where I able able to hit my target levels within a point or two. Before, it was more as a guess and not realizing it and I was running 200-300 points above my target. Those days are now gone and I feel great! I previously used a One Touch but the additional cost of cables, software and such provided absolutely no benefit, with this one, test your level and stick into your computers USB drive and you are done. The only drawback is that I would like to have more area to write notes. It is limited to approximately 100 characters. The reports produced are providing my doctor with information that he has never had in managing my condition. I would highly recommend that anyone with diabetes use this meter and throw your old one out.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RBCinTexas
Richmond, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Contour USB
3/1/2012

Customer review by Toadstool101

5.0 stars 3/1/2012 by Toadstool101
by Toadstool101

Great unit, attach it to your computer and you get an instant reout of your blood sugar levels since you first started using the unit. Great to give to doctor who can download the information so they can have it and work with you on controlling your level. Really easy to use and very reliable. Thanks Bayer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Toadstool101
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awsome product
8/26/2011

Customer review by smilieshopper

5.0 stars 8/26/2011 by smilieshopper
by smilieshopper

Wonderful easy to use even comes with srips...A great buy!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smilieshopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Nice looking but still pretty basic.
11/1/2010

Customer review by Bi11

3.0 stars 11/1/2010 by Bi11
by Bi11

I got this mainly for it's looks. Otherwise it's basically just a Contour. Pros: Small, bright color screen, built in USB, rechargeable, software included which is probably the best thing about Bayer meters even though the software is also pretty basic. Cons:Case isn't very well designed. Hard to zip closed with large test strip container. very clunky lancing device. I replaced mine with one from my old Freestyle Tracker. I really wish one of these companies would make a meter as advanced as the Freestyle Tracker which let me enter carb & meds info so I could easily graph and view correlations between diet and meds. Meters these days are just getting dummer and dummer.

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bi11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews