Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 864 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

864 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

864 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
559
4 stars
183
3 stars
25
2 stars
21
1 stars
76
1-20 of 795 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 795 total reviews
1-20 of 795 reviews
Bought 2 as gifts
12/6/2016

Customer review by Pops

5.0 stars 12/6/2016 by Pops
by Pops
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have not used these because they are gifts as stated in the title. However, I have owned and use a 700-Amp version of the jumper for over 5 years now and it is still going strong. The only complaint or problem I have ever had with mine was with the plastic air hose connector (ref pic). This old style locking connector broke the first time I used it. Thankfully, Stanley has upgraded this connector with a better design. In fact, I am planning to replace the air hose on my unit with one of similar design. I purchased the higher output units for my children because I am a frequent user of my jumper and it struggles with extremely drained (dead) batteries or when jumping several cars one after another ( I have a car lot).

Was this review helpful? (23) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pops
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Power 2 spare
2/22/2017

Customer review by JBkr

5.0 stars 2/22/2017 by JBkr
by JBkr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I use this as a power source for the clock drive mount on my astronomical telescope and the USB port powers the autoguide (camera) providing periodic error corrections to the clock drive motors on the mount. Winter nights will find me out for 8-12 hours at a stretch in 15-25° temperatures. My previous tank(s) were rated @ 7 A-h and croaked after 3-4 hours. Did not fancy draining my automobile battery so this unit was an obvious choice. I'm thinking, now, about adding heater units (for the scope optics, not for the operator) with all the reserve power thisd gives me. :)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JBkr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Stanley Jump Starter
12/13/2016

Customer review by OTOT

1.0 stars 12/13/2016 by OTOT
by OTOT
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This unit seems like it's won't fully charge, its been on charge from Friday evening 24 hours a day and this is Monday evening and the two red lights are on but the green light has never come on. The instructions say to charge for 40 hours on the initial charge however this is longer than 40 hours and no green light indicating a full charge.

Was this review helpful? (29) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OTOT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Enough amps to do my job
12/6/2013

Customer review by cpufrier

4.0 stars 12/6/2013 by cpufrier
by cpufrier
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This came unexpectedly soon, about 4 days after order placed. Packaged well. I gave it a 24 hour charge before testing. I purchased this as both an emergency jump starter and to run a Christmas float powered by a 500 watt inverter for 2 hours. Most of the less expensive jump starters only have 8 reserve amps, a figure frequently hard to discover, whereas I needed about fifteen. This one is rated for 22. I ran my system that the meter ( a separate tool, this unit has no meter) says was drawing 3.5 amps for 2 hrs ok. My only knock is the built in charger. I would prefer a separate wall wart charger but I suppose having the ability to always charge with only a regular extension cord is good too. The instructions suggest a recharge every month even if not used. Good luck on me remembering to do that. I hope that's just Stanley being extra cautious and not a reflection of some high self discharge characteristic of this unit. An aside, it is a shame how underpowered most of the jump starters are.

Was this review helpful? (202) (77)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cpufrier
Hendersonville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks Strong and Built but, it is Weak and Cheap
3/7/2016

Customer review by Bobby

2.0 stars 3/7/2016 by Bobby
by Bobby

After using it a few times to fill bicycle tires, the self lock air chuck clip broke off. The thing is made of cheap plastic and it just snapped off at the end of the hose. I contacted customer support. I was told that it was under warrantee but, it would cost me about $35 to return it by UPS. I was advised to buy a replacement metal self clipping air chuck and a hose clamp as a fix (they could not supply it). I elected to send it in and have for a replacement. It took about 3 weeks and $35 but, I did get it back. Apparently, the cheap plastic part had been a problem. What I got back was what I sent but, with a cheap screw on air connector. Now, instead of just clipping the chuck to a tire full valve, you have to sit and screw it on and off.... that is just a cheap junky fix. So far, the battery works fine. but, now I have invested a total of about $160 including tax and shipping for a product that looks like a heavy duty device but, in reality is a little more than a toy.

Was this review helpful? (113) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bobby
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Product
4/3/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/3/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I wasn't sure about this, but I needed something to get my boat started this spring. It sits at the marina during the winter, normally December through March. Once I backed the trailer with the boat into the water, I kept the boat hooked to the trailer while I tried to start it, figuring I'd probably have to tow it out again and take it somewhere. Much to my suprise (and joy) it turned the engine over with no problem at all. Of course, if you own a boat, you know it takes 3 or 4 times to get it going after sitting all winter, but the product kept turning over the engine with no problem. The battery was so dead, once I unhooked the product from the boat battery, the engine immediately died; however, I hooked the charger back up and it started again with no problem. I keep it in the boat now, and plan on charging it about once a month. Very comforting knowing if I have problems while out on the lake starting the engine, I have the jump starter with me. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (170) (132)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Jump Starter Works Great, Useful Unit to Have
12/4/2014

Customer review by lrsowa

5.0 stars 12/4/2014 by lrsowa
by lrsowa

I purchased two of these last month (have 2 family cars) to keep in the trunks for emergencies. Followed the directions & charged them for 24 hours even though 1 showed a full charge out of the box (manual says the unit cannot overcharge). The other had a partial charge as advertized. A week later my Mazda 3 wouldn't start due to a dead battery so I hooked this up let it sit for a couple of minutes & it started right up. I did not ground the negative cable as recommended (never had much luck jump starting that way) I connected the positive to positive & negative to negative no problems. I then topped off all 8 tires with the same unit & it still shows a full charge. Ignore the reviews that claim the compressor connector is flimsy. You just have to be careful/gentle with it. It uses the same connector that most portable compressors have (I have used several so I have experience). This is definitely worth it to keep in the trunk for emergencies. Just remember to charge it once a month as recommended so it's ready when you need it.

Was this review helpful? (29) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lrsowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Rugged, works as expected, good features
3/10/2010

Customer review by dclark61

5.0 stars 3/10/2010 by dclark61
by dclark61

I got this jumpstarter and unexpectedly got a chance to use it a few days later, when I found my battery dead (as in, completely drained) due to a broken alternator. I actually used it three times, and it jumpstarted my car without a problem each time. The on/off switch for the jumpstarter itself is nice ... means no sparks which can scare folks (I was thinking about my wife, but I appreciated it too). This thing is very solidly built, feels tight and tough. I like the features even though I've only used the jumpstarter itself. When first jumpstarting my battery, I connected the cables in reverse and the "reverse polarity" light didn't light up, but I'm not sure if that wasn't my fault ... possibly because the battery was completely drained, but possibly because I didn't have the ground cable actually grounded. The ability to just charge it via a built-in AC plug, versus a proprietary charger, is a nice feature also. Definitely a recommended product.

Was this review helpful? (257) (144)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dclark61
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Stanley Jump Starter
11/26/2016

Customer review by OneMAC

5.0 stars 11/26/2016 by OneMAC
by OneMAC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a quality product with 1000-amps. It can be used to start vehicles, tractors, mowers, and even charge cell phones. Holds a long charge. Good product.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OneMAC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just When You Need It!
9/6/2013

Customer review by BJewelsbyNashel

5.0 stars 9/6/2013 by BJewelsbyNashel
by BJewelsbyNashel

My husband and I recently bought this good second hand car, well, its a German car, well maintained, low mileage, nothing wrong with it. But then, its a second hand car, so I decided to buy a back up -- this is my back up emergency plan. Without asking my husband, I just bought it, for the price, what the heck! When it arrived, my husband got so upset! He said we have a nice and good car.... maybe I am wrong??? So, this Jumpstarter was stuck inside our apartment. A good two months, our car won't start, I was at work, and so my husband took the unit from our apartment and he was relieved! Our car needs a new battery, and for a good one night, we have to use this unit no problem at all! The car starts right away, and to put it the cables at night is just no hassle cause of the light that comes with it! And the history of having this unit being in the car just begun! I am so in love with this unit and you will just never know when you need it!

Was this review helpful? (83) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BJewelsbyNashel
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Jump Starter = Yes, Compressor = NO
1/18/2017

Customer review by AlohaBob

2.0 stars 1/18/2017 by AlohaBob
by AlohaBob

Note that I had little knowledge of compressors when my saga began. I replaced a 750 amp Fat Max with a Stanley 1000 after the Fat Max compressor stopped working. Thought the newer product would perform better. Primarily used both to air up bicycle tires, but also liked the convenience for topping off my car tires. Well, it died yesterday, 01/17/2017. Since I purchased it 11/12/2015, it is past its one year warranty ....................................................................... Nowhere in the instructions does it say anything about how long the compressor can be run before letting it rest/cool. So, if you are considering purchasing one of these and will only use the compressor feature for bicycle tires, inflatable balls, and other items having low volume, it will probably work fine. But if you want to add a few pounds of air to all four of your tires periodically, don't count on that function lasting longer than a year. Today I bought a Husky 4 gallon dedicated air compressor for $88. I've used it once to air up a car tire and two bicycle tires. I'm happy with its operation and expect it will serve me for MANY years. And can still use the Stanley for jump starts, etc.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AlohaBob
Would recommend to a friend? No
product 's description in advertisement too modest
12/13/2016

Customer review by drsam

5.0 stars 12/13/2016 by drsam
by drsam
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this electronic tool to jump start my motor home cranking batteries (two in series) in an emergency condition. To my delight, this jump start feature had no problem with cranking my 400 HP diesel engine. I am delighted with this product and recommend it to motor home owners.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
drsam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works as advertised
12/14/2016

Customer review by Andrew

4.0 stars 12/14/2016 by Andrew
by Andrew
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Has jump started my 98 v8 magnum durango 3x on a single charge, no problem. I havent used the compressor yet.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Andrew
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Multiuse Reliable Tool
1/2/2016

Customer review by harrisdm

5.0 stars 1/2/2016 by harrisdm
by harrisdm

This is my fourth Stanley jump starter( JS) I have purchased. I had 3 other manufacturer's JS before the Stanley units. The Stanley has performed by far the longest. I use it for jump starting, a DC power supply for a variety of items including operating water pumps, diagnosing auto and boat component , continuous power to vehicles when disconnecting batteries during replacement. I also use it to pump up tires at remote locations, a DC sump pump backup, for USB battery charging (Drone and phone batteries), and to power low current AC converters. I keep it in any vehicle I take to the airport for trips longer than a week just in case the car drains the battery. I keep them for three years and then give them to my son and he gets another couple years of use. I have also bought one for a friend and he has had the same experience of reliability as I have had.

Was this review helpful? (114) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
harrisdm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Did not work
11/16/2016

Customer review by Fox1951

2.0 stars 11/16/2016 by Fox1951
by Fox1951
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Tried compressor first time . Did not work. Called manufacturer. Waited 40 mins on hold. They were no help. Told me to return it to Wal Mart. Wal Mart was great.

Was this review helpful? (23) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fox1951
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lot's of features!
2/3/2014

Customer review by Scnickers

5.0 stars 2/3/2014 by Scnickers
by Scnickers
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor

The Stanley 500 has: lots of power to jump start your vehicle; an air compressor with a built in pressure gauge; a light to illuminate what you are doing which is attached so it can't be misplaced; a DC power socket like your car has and a usb port - both great in a pinch for charging things like a cell phone without turning on your car.Your phone's car charger fits in the power socket and the usb port is for items that can charge via a usb cable. It takes up about as much space as a paper grocery bag. I have used the DC power socket to charge my phone. It was so convenient when I was away from home and forgot my AC charger. I was able to charge my phone without turning on the car. Have not used the jump starter, hope I never do. Remember to charge it once a month. I have my phone calender set to remind me to "Charge Stanley" on the first of every month because "Stanley" will be useless if he is dead!

Was this review helpful? (97) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Scnickers
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor
24x7 Roadside Assistance Provider...
11/25/2012

Customer review by ChadRT

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by ChadRT
by ChadRT

I bought this unit thinking it was a cheaper unit to get me by that was in Denver, CO nearly 2 years ago now! I am still using this unit to provide jump starts to my customers and have since moved over 1200 miles away to north Idaho. I refer to this little guy as my "Miracle Box" it almost never fails me! I jump a customer's car and then leave the unit hooked up to my customer's vehicle while I fill out the paperwork and chit chat with them. By the time I unhook the unit from their vehicle my little Stanley is back to fully charged. Ready for the next time it needs to be used to help someone out. If this little guy can stand my heavy 5-10 jump starts per week for the past 2 years then it will most definately be a solid performer for any residential users needs or for an emergency unit.

Was this review helpful? (536) (81)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChadRT
Post Falls, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Specs look good but didn't last
12/11/2016

Customer review by Katarina

1.0 stars 12/11/2016 by Katarina
by Katarina

Really disappointed! Only used it a dozen times, mainly for pumping up bicycle tires about 10 times, jump starts 3 times and and topping up 4 car tires and it's dead and won't recharge. Will not charge at all. Plug it in and it lights up like it is fully charged, unplug it and it's completely dead! And the pressure gauge was defective right out of the box, 0 psi or fully pinned. The most use it ever got was keeping it recharged every 2 or 3 months, if I used it or not. Not reliable.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Katarina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not as advertised
12/28/2016

Customer review by Bubba

1.0 stars 12/28/2016 by Bubba
by Bubba
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this to start my riding lawnmower. It did not do the job. I then read the instructions which told me that I needed to charge the battery for 40 hours prior to first use. I looked for the charging cable and found that it was not part of the package and I needed to order it. I have ordered it and am waiting patiently for the cable to arrive. If the battery needs to be charged prior to first use, wouldn't it be nice if it were included with the battery instead of having to order it and wait for it. The ad did not state that the charging cable was needed. So far the starter has not worked, but I can let you know after my charging cable arrives and I charge it whether it will work or not. I have not tried the compressor as yet. Additionally, there is no warning in the instructions that when I turn the battery on, it's like trying to turn on the ignition, even with the ignition of the lawnmower in the off position. I placed the charger on the engine and it was almost knocked off by the flywheel turning. The instructions say to put the cable on before turning on the battery and I thought this was meant to charge the battery but instead the battery tried to start the engine.

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bubba
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Tool
6/3/2012

Customer review by applebeezy

5.0 stars 6/3/2012 by applebeezy
by applebeezy

Grabbed this jump box w/ compressor while on sale. Couldn't pass on the price. Been searching for a new one for some time. My old vector box was 10+ years old & just wasn't doing it anymore. Main purpose was for gold prospecting. To run a 12v bilge pump with my highbanker. Can run the 1200gph 3.5 amp pump for a solid 5+ hours before I need to worry about switching batteries. But normally I shut it off while digging then turn back on when I run material. I can get all day run time this way. The on/off switch is sweet for this. As a jump box, it works great. I've jumped multiple cars before needing to recharge even though they suggest to charge after each jump. The compressor works fairly well for the size. Can take a few minutes to fill a completely flat tire, but it will fill it. Comes in handy for my atc that has a slow leak on one tire. The light is bright enough, just worry that I will break it off before too long. Haven't had to use the usb charger yet. The only think I wish it had was a built in converter to run 110v & the ability to charge batteries & check the alternator status like my old vector did. Other than that, very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
applebeezy
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 795 total reviews
1-20 of 795 reviews