Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 663 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

663 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

663 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
430
4 stars
144
3 stars
21
2 stars
15
1 stars
53
1-20 of 594 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 594 total reviews
1-20 of 594 reviews
Looks Strong and Built but, it is Weak and Cheap
3/7/2016

Customer review by Bobby

2.0 stars 3/7/2016 by Bobby
by Bobby

After using it a few times to fill bicycle tires, the self lock air chuck clip broke off. The thing is made of cheap plastic and it just snapped off at the end of the hose. I contacted customer support. I was told that it was under warrantee but, it would cost me about $35 to return it by UPS. I was advised to buy a replacement metal self clipping air chuck and a hose clamp as a fix (they could not supply it). I elected to send it in and have for a replacement. It took about 3 weeks and $35 but, I did get it back. Apparently, the cheap plastic part had been a problem. What I got back was what I sent but, with a cheap screw on air connector. Now, instead of just clipping the chuck to a tire full valve, you have to sit and screw it on and off.... that is just a cheap junky fix. So far, the battery works fine. but, now I have invested a total of about $160 including tax and shipping for a product that looks like a heavy duty device but, in reality is a little more than a toy.

Was this review helpful? (28) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bobby
Would recommend to a friend? No
Enough amps to do my job
12/6/2013

Customer review by cpufrier

4.0 stars 12/6/2013 by cpufrier
by cpufrier
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This came unexpectedly soon, about 4 days after order placed. Packaged well. I gave it a 24 hour charge before testing. I purchased this as both an emergency jump starter and to run a Christmas float powered by a 500 watt inverter for 2 hours. Most of the less expensive jump starters only have 8 reserve amps, a figure frequently hard to discover, whereas I needed about fifteen. This one is rated for 22. I ran my system that the meter ( a separate tool, this unit has no meter) says was drawing 3.5 amps for 2 hrs ok. My only knock is the built in charger. I would prefer a separate wall wart charger but I suppose having the ability to always charge with only a regular extension cord is good too. The instructions suggest a recharge every month even if not used. Good luck on me remembering to do that. I hope that's just Stanley being extra cautious and not a reflection of some high self discharge characteristic of this unit. An aside, it is a shame how underpowered most of the jump starters are.

Was this review helpful? (138) (55)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cpufrier
Hendersonville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Multiuse Reliable Tool
1/2/2016

Customer review by harrisdm

5.0 stars 1/2/2016 by harrisdm
by harrisdm

This is my fourth Stanley jump starter( JS) I have purchased. I had 3 other manufacturer's JS before the Stanley units. The Stanley has performed by far the longest. I use it for jump starting, a DC power supply for a variety of items including operating water pumps, diagnosing auto and boat component , continuous power to vehicles when disconnecting batteries during replacement. I also use it to pump up tires at remote locations, a DC sump pump backup, for USB battery charging (Drone and phone batteries), and to power low current AC converters. I keep it in any vehicle I take to the airport for trips longer than a week just in case the car drains the battery. I keep them for three years and then give them to my son and he gets another couple years of use. I have also bought one for a friend and he has had the same experience of reliability as I have had.

Was this review helpful? (78) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
harrisdm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Broken upon arrival
4/18/2016

Customer review by DanS

1.0 stars 4/18/2016 by DanS
by DanS

I never got a chance to use the Jump Starter because it was broken out of the box. I only gave it a Poor rating because of this. One of the screw mounts that holds on the front faceplate was broken so the faceplate was not secure. It has good ratings and had I been able to do a walk in exchange of the item at the store I probably would have, but it isn't carried in any of the Walmart stores. I am tired of placing an order, waiting days for it, then if the order is not right, waiting again for an exchange. If I need or want something, I don't want to wait a week or two to get it...I prefer to walk in and walk out with it. So, the bottom line; I didn't get a replacement. I will buy it from a retailer that carries the item I want IN THE STORE.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DanS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Product
4/3/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/3/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I wasn't sure about this, but I needed something to get my boat started this spring. It sits at the marina during the winter, normally December through March. Once I backed the trailer with the boat into the water, I kept the boat hooked to the trailer while I tried to start it, figuring I'd probably have to tow it out again and take it somewhere. Much to my suprise (and joy) it turned the engine over with no problem at all. Of course, if you own a boat, you know it takes 3 or 4 times to get it going after sitting all winter, but the product kept turning over the engine with no problem. The battery was so dead, once I unhooked the product from the boat battery, the engine immediately died; however, I hooked the charger back up and it started again with no problem. I keep it in the boat now, and plan on charging it about once a month. Very comforting knowing if I have problems while out on the lake starting the engine, I have the jump starter with me. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (140) (113)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Rugged, works as expected, good features
3/10/2010

Customer review by dclark61

5.0 stars 3/10/2010 by dclark61
by dclark61

I got this jumpstarter and unexpectedly got a chance to use it a few days later, when I found my battery dead (as in, completely drained) due to a broken alternator. I actually used it three times, and it jumpstarted my car without a problem each time. The on/off switch for the jumpstarter itself is nice ... means no sparks which can scare folks (I was thinking about my wife, but I appreciated it too). This thing is very solidly built, feels tight and tough. I like the features even though I've only used the jumpstarter itself. When first jumpstarting my battery, I connected the cables in reverse and the "reverse polarity" light didn't light up, but I'm not sure if that wasn't my fault ... possibly because the battery was completely drained, but possibly because I didn't have the ground cable actually grounded. The ability to just charge it via a built-in AC plug, versus a proprietary charger, is a nice feature also. Definitely a recommended product.

Was this review helpful? (228) (128)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dclark61
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just When You Need It!
9/6/2013

Customer review by BJewelsbyNashel

5.0 stars 9/6/2013 by BJewelsbyNashel
by BJewelsbyNashel

My husband and I recently bought this good second hand car, well, its a German car, well maintained, low mileage, nothing wrong with it. But then, its a second hand car, so I decided to buy a back up -- this is my back up emergency plan. Without asking my husband, I just bought it, for the price, what the heck! When it arrived, my husband got so upset! He said we have a nice and good car.... maybe I am wrong??? So, this Jumpstarter was stuck inside our apartment. A good two months, our car won't start, I was at work, and so my husband took the unit from our apartment and he was relieved! Our car needs a new battery, and for a good one night, we have to use this unit no problem at all! The car starts right away, and to put it the cables at night is just no hassle cause of the light that comes with it! And the history of having this unit being in the car just begun! I am so in love with this unit and you will just never know when you need it!

Was this review helpful? (68) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BJewelsbyNashel
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Jump Starter Works Great, Useful Unit to Have
12/4/2014

Customer review by lrsowa

5.0 stars 12/4/2014 by lrsowa
by lrsowa

I purchased two of these last month (have 2 family cars) to keep in the trunks for emergencies. Followed the directions & charged them for 24 hours even though 1 showed a full charge out of the box (manual says the unit cannot overcharge). The other had a partial charge as advertized. A week later my Mazda 3 wouldn't start due to a dead battery so I hooked this up let it sit for a couple of minutes & it started right up. I did not ground the negative cable as recommended (never had much luck jump starting that way) I connected the positive to positive & negative to negative no problems. I then topped off all 8 tires with the same unit & it still shows a full charge. Ignore the reviews that claim the compressor connector is flimsy. You just have to be careful/gentle with it. It uses the same connector that most portable compressors have (I have used several so I have experience). This is definitely worth it to keep in the trunk for emergencies. Just remember to charge it once a month as recommended so it's ready when you need it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lrsowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Stanley 1000-Amp Peak Jump Starter with Compressor
5/15/2016

Customer review by jdavis31647

5.0 stars 5/15/2016 by jdavis31647
by jdavis31647

I did a fair amount of shopping and reading reviews prior to making this purchase. The Stanley 1000-Amp Peak Jump Starter with Compressor was well withing the top three for being the best 1000 amp with attachments on the market. The price from Walmart made the decision easy. Where I live this tool keeps me out of trouble. It turned over an engine with a dead battery that my older Craftsman would not. Very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jdavis31647
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good
5/17/2016

Customer review by Elwaino82

5.0 stars 5/17/2016 by Elwaino82
by Elwaino82

I like it good for everything I recommend everybody

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Elwaino82
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Jump Starter!!
5/16/2016

Customer review by stratmantex

5.0 stars 5/16/2016 by stratmantex
by stratmantex

Great jump starter for the price! Also convenient to have the air compressor to inflate low tires. Can be used for so many applications.....

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stratmantex
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works Great
4/18/2016

Customer review by Agnews53

5.0 stars 4/18/2016 by Agnews53
by Agnews53

It arrived earlier then I thought. I charged it for about 8 hrs then used it to chump start my car that had not been driven/started for almost 2 years. Filled all my tires and was back on the road again.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Agnews53
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
STANLEY 1000 amp
4/16/2016

Customer review by YankeeDevil

5.0 stars 4/16/2016 by YankeeDevil
by YankeeDevil

I had purchased the Stanley 700 amp and it could not do the job the way I wanted it to. I purchased the 1000 and it is excellent for my Camper and Truck.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YankeeDevil
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lot's of features!
2/3/2014

Customer review by Scnickers

5.0 stars 2/3/2014 by Scnickers
by Scnickers
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Stanley 500 has: lots of power to jump start your vehicle; an air compressor with a built in pressure gauge; a light to illuminate what you are doing which is attached so it can't be misplaced; a DC power socket like your car has and a usb port - both great in a pinch for charging things like a cell phone without turning on your car.Your phone's car charger fits in the power socket and the usb port is for items that can charge via a usb cable. It takes up about as much space as a paper grocery bag. I have used the DC power socket to charge my phone. It was so convenient when I was away from home and forgot my AC charger. I was able to charge my phone without turning on the car. Have not used the jump starter, hope I never do. Remember to charge it once a month. I have my phone calender set to remind me to "Charge Stanley" on the first of every month because "Stanley" will be useless if he is dead!

Was this review helpful? (88) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Scnickers
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
24x7 Roadside Assistance Provider...
11/25/2012

Customer review by ChadRT

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by ChadRT
by ChadRT

I bought this unit thinking it was a cheaper unit to get me by that was in Denver, CO nearly 2 years ago now! I am still using this unit to provide jump starts to my customers and have since moved over 1200 miles away to north Idaho. I refer to this little guy as my "Miracle Box" it almost never fails me! I jump a customer's car and then leave the unit hooked up to my customer's vehicle while I fill out the paperwork and chit chat with them. By the time I unhook the unit from their vehicle my little Stanley is back to fully charged. Ready for the next time it needs to be used to help someone out. If this little guy can stand my heavy 5-10 jump starts per week for the past 2 years then it will most definately be a solid performer for any residential users needs or for an emergency unit.

Was this review helpful? (476) (77)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChadRT
Post Falls, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
12/29/2015

Customer review by GTBob

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by GTBob
by GTBob

I bought this for a son-in-law as a gift. I've had one just like it for several years and have found it to be a valuable tool. I've mostly used the air compressor part to fill a tire or two so I didn't need to start up the big compressor. To adjust a few pounds of pressure - it's the best! It takes longer but since it runs on its own power, it's easy to just take it to the tire. The few times I've needed it to start a vehicle or the garden tractor, it's been great, too. During a power outage, I used it to charge my cell phone. All-in-all, I'm quite pleased with the Stanley 1000-Amp Peak Jump Starter with Compressor.

Was this review helpful? (30) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GTBob
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Limited experience
4/25/2016

Customer review by WmtSHOPPER

4.0 stars 4/25/2016 by WmtSHOPPER
by WmtSHOPPER

I havent used this to jump my car but im sure it could accomplish that easily. However I did use this as a charger while camping. Had a phone charging for about 2 days straight and the cellphone barely put a dent in the charge of the jumpbox. I am happy so far. I liked purchasing from walmart over amazon cuz the prices were the same but I like being able to call or being able to go to a box store to exchange or to explain an issue that may arise months later.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WmtSHOPPER
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Tool
6/3/2012

Customer review by applebeezy

5.0 stars 6/3/2012 by applebeezy
by applebeezy

Grabbed this jump box w/ compressor while on sale. Couldn't pass on the price. Been searching for a new one for some time. My old vector box was 10+ years old & just wasn't doing it anymore. Main purpose was for gold prospecting. To run a 12v bilge pump with my highbanker. Can run the 1200gph 3.5 amp pump for a solid 5+ hours before I need to worry about switching batteries. But normally I shut it off while digging then turn back on when I run material. I can get all day run time this way. The on/off switch is sweet for this. As a jump box, it works great. I've jumped multiple cars before needing to recharge even though they suggest to charge after each jump. The compressor works fairly well for the size. Can take a few minutes to fill a completely flat tire, but it will fill it. Comes in handy for my atc that has a slow leak on one tire. The light is bright enough, just worry that I will break it off before too long. Haven't had to use the usb charger yet. The only think I wish it had was a built in converter to run 110v & the ability to charge batteries & check the alternator status like my old vector did. Other than that, very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
applebeezy
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
It doesn't get any better than this!
12/29/2015

Customer review by jacquieT

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by jacquieT
by jacquieT

I am an older woman, single, no man around to fix stuff. A couple-a times I've left the lights on, on the car, let the battery's run down in the camper and had a flat! However, no problem! Since I had purchased this handy-dandy charger, I have used it when I left the lights on and ran the battery down, let the battery run down in the truck and to air up a flat tire. I don't know about anyone else but I can't live without it.

Was this review helpful? (42) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jacquieT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Saved My Bacon
3/18/2016

Customer review by Merlin

4.0 stars 3/18/2016 by Merlin
by Merlin

Keeping this in my old pickup truck, it has saved my bacon several times. While the air compressor might take a while to pump up a regular tire, it's been used for this twice and did the job. I've had to jump an errant battery with it a few times too, so it was well worth the money. Whether or not I use it, I charge it up in the garage once a month to make sure it's available to me when I'm out away from the house. Even if in a different vehicle, I take it with me on every road trip -- just in case.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Merlin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 594 total reviews
1-20 of 594 reviews