Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 477 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

477 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

477 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
308
4 stars
105
3 stars
16
2 stars
10
1 stars
38
1-20 of 409 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 409 total reviews
1-20 of 409 reviews
Saved the day
1/18/2011

Customer review by xverl

5.0 stars 1/18/2011 by xverl
by xverl

Jump started my totally dead Chicago wintered van battery twice in one week. Also used the compressor to inflate my hand truck tires. After starting my van this jump starter still measured 13 volts. Won't leave home without it. Bought a second one for my lady.

Was this review helpful? (257) (46)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xverl
Chicago, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
24x7 Roadside Assistance Provider...
11/25/2012

Customer review by ChadRT

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by ChadRT
by ChadRT

I bought this unit thinking it was a cheaper unit to get me by that was in Denver, CO nearly 2 years ago now! I am still using this unit to provide jump starts to my customers and have since moved over 1200 miles away to north Idaho. I refer to this little guy as my "Miracle Box" it almost never fails me! I jump a customer's car and then leave the unit hooked up to my customer's vehicle while I fill out the paperwork and chit chat with them. By the time I unhook the unit from their vehicle my little Stanley is back to fully charged. Ready for the next time it needs to be used to help someone out. If this little guy can stand my heavy 5-10 jump starts per week for the past 2 years then it will most definately be a solid performer for any residential users needs or for an emergency unit.

Was this review helpful? (296) (56)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChadRT
Post Falls, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/19/2012

Customer review by AircraftMechanic

1.0 stars 9/19/2012 by AircraftMechanic
by AircraftMechanic

I also had problems with my Stanley 500 amp unit discharging completely and it will not recharge. The unit is top heavy and tips over easily. The problem is that the compressor switch sticks out on the back so any movement will turn it on. It would not be a problem if the switch was recessed. Once the battery has been discharged completely it will not recharge.

Was this review helpful? (53) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AircraftMechanic
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Does not charge after one use
7/7/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 7/7/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this product with high expectations after seeing mostly positive reviews. I followed all instructions, charged for 24 hours after receiving the item and then every 30 days following. After owning it for four months, a friend needed a jump. The unit jumped her car no problem. Then when I went to charge it afterwards, the charge lights would not illuminate. I plugged it in an nothing happens. No clue if it's receiving a charge or not. The time to return to Wal-Mart has passed and after a call to the manufacturer they want me to return the item at my expense. That's literally half the cost of the item. The warranty becomes worthless at that point. Why should I incur 150% cost just because their product is not up to par? Very dissatisfied.

Was this review helpful? (48) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worked Great... for a day
5/1/2011

Customer review by Campingisawesome

1.0 stars 5/1/2011 by Campingisawesome
by Campingisawesome

It worked great for a day.... I used it to pump up kids bikes and it worked great, but when I tried to pump up my small trailer tire 50 psi and it stopped working. At first I thought it overheated so I left it overnight and tried again the next day and it did not work.. O well.. Walmart returned it with no problem at the store.

Was this review helpful? (54) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Campingisawesome
Would recommend to a friend? No
Enough amps to do my job
12/6/2013

Customer review by cpufrier

4.0 stars 12/6/2013 by cpufrier
by cpufrier

This came unexpectedly soon, about 4 days after order placed. Packaged well. I gave it a 24 hour charge before testing. I purchased this as both an emergency jump starter and to run a Christmas float powered by a 500 watt inverter for 2 hours. Most of the less expensive jump starters only have 8 reserve amps, a figure frequently hard to discover, whereas I needed about fifteen. This one is rated for 22. I ran my system that the meter ( a separate tool, this unit has no meter) says was drawing 3.5 amps for 2 hrs ok. My only knock is the built in charger. I would prefer a separate wall wart charger but I suppose having the ability to always charge with only a regular extension cord is good too. The instructions suggest a recharge every month even if not used. Good luck on me remembering to do that. I hope that's just Stanley being extra cautious and not a reflection of some high self discharge characteristic of this unit. An aside, it is a shame how underpowered most of the jump starters are.

Was this review helpful? (68) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cpufrier
Hendersonville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Everyone should have this unit.
7/30/2012

Customer review by Bummiesue

5.0 stars 7/30/2012 by Bummiesue
by Bummiesue

I found this unit to perform as advertised. I started a battery in a matter of seconds. I inflated two vehicles (8 tires) to the tire manufactures specifications.

Was this review helpful? (49) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bummiesue
Estero, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Lot's of features!
2/3/2014

Customer review by Scnickers

5.0 stars 2/3/2014 by Scnickers
by Scnickers

The Stanley 500 has: lots of power to jump start your vehicle; an air compressor with a built in pressure gauge; a light to illuminate what you are doing which is attached so it can't be misplaced; a DC power socket like your car has and a usb port - both great in a pinch for charging things like a cell phone without turning on your car.Your phone's car charger fits in the power socket and the usb port is for items that can charge via a usb cable. It takes up about as much space as a paper grocery bag. I have used the DC power socket to charge my phone. It was so convenient when I was away from home and forgot my AC charger. I was able to charge my phone without turning on the car. Have not used the jump starter, hope I never do. Remember to charge it once a month. I have my phone calender set to remind me to "Charge Stanley" on the first of every month because "Stanley" will be useless if he is dead!

Was this review helpful? (71) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Scnickers
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Rugged, works as expected, good features
3/10/2010

Customer review by dclark61

5.0 stars 3/10/2010 by dclark61
by dclark61

I got this jumpstarter and unexpectedly got a chance to use it a few days later, when I found my battery dead (as in, completely drained) due to a broken alternator. I actually used it three times, and it jumpstarted my car without a problem each time. The on/off switch for the jumpstarter itself is nice ... means no sparks which can scare folks (I was thinking about my wife, but I appreciated it too). This thing is very solidly built, feels tight and tough. I like the features even though I've only used the jumpstarter itself. When first jumpstarting my battery, I connected the cables in reverse and the "reverse polarity" light didn't light up, but I'm not sure if that wasn't my fault ... possibly because the battery was completely drained, but possibly because I didn't have the ground cable actually grounded. The ability to just charge it via a built-in AC plug, versus a proprietary charger, is a nice feature also. Definitely a recommended product.

Was this review helpful? (196) (108)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dclark61
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mine was a lemon
8/8/2014

Customer review by Ta98

1.0 stars 8/8/2014 by Ta98
by Ta98

I was excited about buying the Stanley Jump Starter with all the rave reviews. I thought it would a great tool to have for keeping my auto tires inflated and jump starting dead batteries. I purchased online and the transaction went great in late July 2014. It came partially charged and I charged it overnight until the battery status indicator showed it was fully charged. I decided to use the tire inflator on August 6, 2014 to add air to the tires of my Ford Focus. I hooked the air connector over the stem of the tire and turned the compressor on. it ran about 3 minutes and the compressor died. I could not get the compressor or the charger to work at all. Tried to recharge it, but it wouldn't charge. I returned it to the local Walmart for a refund. I haven't decided on ordering another one or not. I had no problems from Walmart, but wish it had lived up to all the good reviews.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ta98
Maysville, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/28/2012

Customer review by peotis

1.0 stars 1/28/2012 by peotis
by peotis

WORKED GREAT OUT OF BOX. WOULD NOT RECHARGE. TOOK IT BACK FOR A REFUND. WILL TRY ANOTHER ONE. ONE CONCERN IN ORDERING FROM WALMART.COM. PACKING INSIDE SHIPPING BOX IS VERY POOR AND ALMOST NON EXISTANT. THIS NEEDS TO IMPROVE, ESPICALLY WITH ELECTRICAL DEVICES.

Was this review helpful? (45) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
peotis
richmond,virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Handy - Reliable
3/8/2011

Customer review by RetiredNavyChief

4.0 stars 3/8/2011 by RetiredNavyChief
by RetiredNavyChief

Have used this starter twice now with no problems. The only drawback is the short cable length, it's hard to find a place to set the unit while connected and jump in the vehicle to start it. If the cables were long enough to set it on the ground it would be much safer than setting it somewhere in the engine compartment.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RetiredNavyChief
North Berwick,ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Just When You Need It!
9/6/2013

Customer review by BJewelsbyNashel

5.0 stars 9/6/2013 by BJewelsbyNashel
by BJewelsbyNashel

My husband and I recently bought this good second hand car, well, its a German car, well maintained, low mileage, nothing wrong with it. But then, its a second hand car, so I decided to buy a back up -- this is my back up emergency plan. Without asking my husband, I just bought it, for the price, what the heck! When it arrived, my husband got so upset! He said we have a nice and good car.... maybe I am wrong??? So, this Jumpstarter was stuck inside our apartment. A good two months, our car won't start, I was at work, and so my husband took the unit from our apartment and he was relieved! Our car needs a new battery, and for a good one night, we have to use this unit no problem at all! The car starts right away, and to put it the cables at night is just no hassle cause of the light that comes with it! And the history of having this unit being in the car just begun! I am so in love with this unit and you will just never know when you need it!

Was this review helpful? (32) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BJewelsbyNashel
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Awful
4/21/2013

Customer review by kk2fun

1.0 stars 4/21/2013 by kk2fun
by kk2fun

I was pretty impressed when I pulled it out of the box and charged it up. However, after adding 3 pounds of air to my tire it died like it needed to be be recharged. But, it will not recharge, it's basically a very expensive door stop and I've been calling the 800 # provided for days and just get a busy signal. I tried emailing and was told I have to call customer service at the 800# I've been calling (in spite of telling them in the email that I've had no luck on the phone for days) Maybe I'm just a one off with regard to how this performs but the lack of customer service means I won't be buying another product from them.

Was this review helpful? (28) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kk2fun
Ludington, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great Buy
2/17/2010

Customer review by chinochink

5.0 stars 2/17/2010 by chinochink
by chinochink

I just received my Stanley Jump Starter and I checked out all the features like the LED light the compressor jump starter its really more than what I expected. Compared to the other similar products I feel this is a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (121) (75)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chinochink
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Great Value
6/3/2010

Customer review by LordElgin

5.0 stars 6/3/2010 by LordElgin
by LordElgin

I have owned two other "no name" brand starter/compressors which broke in short order. The first one the compressor stopped working, the second the starter wouldn't work. This one seems really solid and compact. Easy to charge, easy to use. It does require an extension cord to charge the battery or you can use the cigarette lighter adapter that comes with the unit. I used it this weekend to jump start my ATV that had been sitting for over a year. It worked really well. The only negative, the cables for positive and negative are a bit on the short side, but should be okay on a car when the unit is sitting on the engine block. They won't reach from the ground.

Was this review helpful? (87) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LordElgin
Fresno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
GREAT PRODUCT TO HAVE WHEN ALONE
1/10/2011

Customer review by DONWSR

5.0 stars 1/10/2011 by DONWSR
by DONWSR

STARTED MY CAR WHEN BATTERY WAS DEAD AND INFLATED ALL MY TIRES UP TO 36LBS EASILY AND QUICKLY. I KEEP IT CHARGED UP AND WITH ME AT ALL TIMES. IT HAS ALREADY PAID FOR ITSELF

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DONWSR
OCALA, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great product - so far!
11/24/2013

Customer review by Pelkman

5.0 stars 11/24/2013 by Pelkman
by Pelkman

A product everyone must have. I just received this product and everything checked out just fine. Tested the air compressor and on my SUV with a tire a little low on air. Worked quite well. The USB Port works just fine with my cell phone and android smartphone. Have not tested the jump starter just yet. I bought this specifically for my V8 2006 Dodge RAM 1500 truck which I drive infrequently the battery dies during the cold winter. It hasn't died just yet to test my new Stanley Jump Starter but I am sure it will handle it. If it doesn't, I will post an updated review. I also will pickup a Power Bright 200 watt power inverter to plug into the cigarette lighter port when the power goes off. The manuals says the Stanley Jump Starter can handle 5 amps or 600 watts (120 x 5 amps). I won't even come close to 5 amps but a laptop, monitor, and a few low power CFL lights during a power outage is likely.

Was this review helpful? (32) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pelkman
Anacortes, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Tool
6/3/2012

Customer review by applebeezy

5.0 stars 6/3/2012 by applebeezy
by applebeezy

Grabbed this jump box w/ compressor while on sale. Couldn't pass on the price. Been searching for a new one for some time. My old vector box was 10+ years old & just wasn't doing it anymore. Main purpose was for gold prospecting. To run a 12v bilge pump with my highbanker. Can run the 1200gph 3.5 amp pump for a solid 5+ hours before I need to worry about switching batteries. But normally I shut it off while digging then turn back on when I run material. I can get all day run time this way. The on/off switch is sweet for this. As a jump box, it works great. I've jumped multiple cars before needing to recharge even though they suggest to charge after each jump. The compressor works fairly well for the size. Can take a few minutes to fill a completely flat tire, but it will fill it. Comes in handy for my atc that has a slow leak on one tire. The light is bright enough, just worry that I will break it off before too long. Haven't had to use the usb charger yet. The only think I wish it had was a built in converter to run 110v & the ability to charge batteries & check the alternator status like my old vector did. Other than that, very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
applebeezy
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice to have in the trunk
1/11/2011

Customer review by tpcar

4.0 stars 1/11/2011 by tpcar
by tpcar

Sadly, I didn't get this until after I needed a jump start from AAA. It charged up nicely and the compressor is fine, it inflated my donut spare in about 2 minutes (had about 10 lbs of pressure - oops). Checked the USB operation and that seemed fine. Haven't had to use it yet to start my car. It is a heavy piece of equipment, I have an SUV so I bungeed it in the cargo area. Go it as a Black Friday deal, so at $54.00 it is well worth it, $74.00 might be on the pricey side. Sams has a slightly smaller unit for about $50.00.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tpcar
Phoenix
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 409 total reviews
1-20 of 409 reviews