Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 40 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

40 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

40 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 stars
4
1-20 of 34 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
Well done, Remington!
4/6/2010

Customer review by ColoradoGardenGirl

5.0 stars 4/6/2010 by ColoradoGardenGirl
by ColoradoGardenGirl

I was very pleased with this product. I couldn't find a barrier that would keep my (extremely) energetic dalmatian at bay in the car in any store. I had bought one of the sliding bar style barriers, and it failed miserably within minutes. This barrier is extremely strong, well made, and was easy to assemble. My dog can't get around it, and hasn't been able to find any weaknesses (and believe me, if it had one, she would find it). I love that this is removable and adjustable so that we can use it in other vehicles as well. I was also thrilled with how quickly and inexpensively it arrived at my house--we had it much sooner than I had anticipated that we would. My only complaint is a very small one and partially due to user error. The bolts that come with the barrier to assemble it with are a bit short, and do not fit all the way through the clamps on the screen when the clamps are oriented one way (I later discovered that they do fit when the clamps are oriented in the other direction). I went to the hardware store and purchased six longer bolts for $.66, and the problem was fixed. Overall, this is a fabulous product, a tremendous value for the price (everything else I looked at, all less useful products, were in the $100.00 range), and I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ColoradoGardenGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Good, but needed tweaking
6/6/2011

Customer review by trolixer

4.0 stars 6/6/2011 by trolixer
by trolixer

First of all, this was for two cats and not for dogs so any type of gap between the barrier and the back seats of my Rav4 would allow them to slip through. I did have a considerable opening between the lower part of the gate and the seats in my car so if you have any small animal that you're trying to keep in the back, this might not work for you unless you rig up a cardboard barrier for the lower part of the gate like I did. The top part of the barrier molded pretty well against the roof of my car and there were no large gaps. I don't find that the gate impairs my rear visibility to any considerable degree. There was quite a bit of rattling, however, that would get very annoying on a long car trip. After a little investigation I realized that it was the two *metal* tension rods rattling against the inside of their *metal* sleeves. So I wrapped a layer of duct tape down the length of the metal rod that went inside of the sleeve and the rattling completely stopped. So my gate, at least, needed a bit of jury-rigging, but the parts seem well-made and sturdy and the barrier was much less expensive than others I have seen, so I am satisfied with the end result.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trolixer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect Solution
1/19/2011

Customer review by grandmaconnect

5.0 stars 1/19/2011 by grandmaconnect
by grandmaconnect

Our 9 month old heeler previously spent his travel time in our Jeep Grand Cherokee constantly trying to sit in our lap while driving. Now he is confined to the back cargo area! The barrier works great!! Very sturdy, fits snugly while not damaging the headliner whatsoever. It was a great purchase, and we would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grandmaconnect
Oregon Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/4/2011

Customer review by chevyramair

5.0 stars 5/4/2011 by chevyramair
by chevyramair

I have two 100lb dogs and this works great in my wifes trailblazer keeps them in the back!! if you are looking to keep your dogs in the back of your car buy this you will be happy and ez to instaill

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chevyramair
harrisburg pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Ok but not great
4/29/2010

Customer review by redrockliving

3.0 stars 4/29/2010 by redrockliving
by redrockliving

This is probably better if you own a large SUV like a Tahoe, Expedition, Suburban, Etc. We use it in our Acura MDX and it is adjusted down to the smallest settings making it difficult to not have the extensions rattle against each other. The construction and quality of materials is very good just be aware if you are using it for a smaller SUV it may be difficult to keep it from being a little noisy.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
redrockliving
Springdale, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Well made product
12/6/2011

Customer review by GeneC2

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by GeneC2
by GeneC2

This vehicle pet barrier is well made very easy to set up and install. It also appears from the labeling to be a USA made product,something I appreciate. I would reccommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GeneC2
West Chester, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
good product, price!
4/5/2012

Customer review by Jaydubayou

5.0 stars 4/5/2012 by Jaydubayou
by Jaydubayou

My English shorthair pointer has not yet found a way to get through this! So far so good! The price was very reasonable, as I have paid more for other barriers that my dog got through. It seems very well made and durable. Was rather easy to assemble and install in about 2o minutes.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jaydubayou
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Remington pet safety barrier
6/4/2012

Customer review by MssKitty

5.0 stars 6/4/2012 by MssKitty
by MssKitty

My initial use to put this together, did not make sense to me, so I used those nylon ties to hold it together. I had cats, so knew they could not break it apart. The nylon straps also kept the cage from making any noise. The best part of this barrier was being able to adjust it so that it fit closely to the side of the car preventing the cats from squeezing through. It worked great for my vacation!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MssKitty
Western NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
11/12/2011

Customer review by sbrsjo

5.0 stars 11/12/2011 by sbrsjo
by sbrsjo

Fairly easy to install, fit well in our 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. We have three med/lg dogs and this product seems sturdy enough to withstand all three of them. They ride fairly well anyhow, and are trained to stay in the back, but the Retriever likes to hang her front paws and chest over the seat and with a baby on the way, that wasn't going to work. As other people have mentioned, it does rattle a little when you are on a rough road, but this is remedied with zip ties and a tight installation. It is what we expected and we are happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sbrsjo
Blairsville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Noisy and not transparent
8/5/2010

Customer review by Back9

2.0 stars 8/5/2010 by Back9
by Back9

I returned this product because it rattles a lot. In addition, it is very hard to see through. The tightness of the mess blocks out too much of the view when looking in the rear view mirror. If you want to rely only on your side mirrors it would be OK. On the positive side it is very sturdy and works well as a pet barrier.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Back9
Southern Calif
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not so good....
12/19/2012

Customer review by sw1127

2.0 stars 12/19/2012 by sw1127
by sw1127
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The product I received was obviously not new, the box was ripped and retaped and the parts were loose in the box. All the parts where there at least, but after assembling found this DOES NOT fit in all wagons. I have a subaru impreza, and neither the height nor width fit. The dimensions should have worked, but the height is only adjustable down to a point. And the side wings would have been left out completely. I brought it back. Probably works fine for larger vehicles, but not a wagon!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sw1127
Dover, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not a great experience
10/27/2012

Customer review by Thatsbullcrap

1.0 stars 10/27/2012 by Thatsbullcrap
by Thatsbullcrap

We received the pkg looking pretty beat up. It was obvious that it had previously been returned. It had tape all over it. After trying to figure out how to put it together I realized major parts were missing. I'm not talking about a few screws. I ended up returning it to the store. And ordering a completely different one from petco. It might have been a good product. Never got a chance to find out.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thatsbullcrap
Mansfield, ma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
12/9/2012

Customer review by agoodwife

2.0 stars 12/9/2012 by agoodwife
by agoodwife
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

chose this product because of cost. cost should not have been why. when product came it was clearly a returned item. all parts were out of torn bags. one of the wing nuts threads was stripped.It is advertised as fitting all.It will- if u take out complete back seats and ridge it. (have a ford escape) It rattles and shakes. best of luck to u if u purchase this.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
agoodwife
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nothing done well
3/10/2013

Customer review by Leemaybe

2.0 stars 3/10/2013 by Leemaybe
by Leemaybe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Like many others, the box I received was trashed. The parts inside were poorly wrapped, and had (surprise) managed to scratch the barrier a fair amount. The "instruction sheet" (and I use the term loosely) was also torn to pieces, not that it mattered much since it was obviously written by someone who is not a native English speaker. Moderate level of difficulty to assemble. May fit a an American SUV, but not a great fit in my Lexus. Rattles like whellbarrow full of scrap metal. Not sure if I'm keeping it. May see if it fits my old Explorer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leemaybe
Colorado, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Need two people
3/21/2010

Customer review by luvslabs

4.0 stars 3/21/2010 by luvslabs
by luvslabs

I just installed this product in my Ford Escape and really struggled getting it together because I was alone. Two sets of hands would make this process very easy. The directions included were ok, but could be more clear for the novice who usually doesn't do much like this. Also, the barrier has to go flesh with the back of the seat otherwise your pet (well mine anyway) will be able to go under the barrier and squeeze through to where you don't want him.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
luvslabs
La Grande, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for a permanent inexpensive option
11/28/2011

Customer review by Rachel101

1.0 stars 11/28/2011 by Rachel101
by Rachel101

If your intentions are to have this installed 90% of the time it's a great inexpensive option. Otherwise it's far too involved & complicated to quickly install on a need be basis. Didn't care for the fit in my Acura mdx and couldn't stabilize it to keep it from falling over. I don't think it works well for SUVs that have three rows of seating. Didn't fit the sides due to the armrests & cup holders.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rachel101
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Barrier.
5/31/2011

Customer review by TheBlackRose

4.0 stars 5/31/2011 by TheBlackRose
by TheBlackRose

The instruction were terrible on how to put together. Black and White pictures that were blurry. I believe the company could put better effort into the instructions. I had to redo it twice to get the item put together. Once ready to install in the SUV, it stayed in place and did not make noise. My dogs were not able to get past it. They don't like that they can't fight over the passenager seat now.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheBlackRose
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
too complicated to install
2/17/2013

Customer review by LivingAloha

1.0 stars 2/17/2013 by LivingAloha
by LivingAloha
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

You almost need two people to install it. You cannot pre-assemble it, because then you cannot get it in the car. Once it is inside, you have to hold two partitions, plus a screw, two plates, and a nut, to put it together. This needs to be repeated five times. It isn't very strong, and it looks like it could damage the roof, especially if the dogs lean against the barrier.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LivingAloha
Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's ok
5/5/2012

Customer review by MeggersK

3.0 stars 5/5/2012 by MeggersK
by MeggersK

This pet barrier has great coverage, but unfortunately we had to trim the bars so it would fit in my Toyota Prius V. Also it says it does not rattle. I have yet to be able to get it to stop rattling over large bumps. I have repositioned and tightened each clamp and also added zip ties in some spots. I would have given it a better rating if I could get it to stop rattling.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MeggersK
A real sanity-saver
5/20/2010

Customer review by GVNana

5.0 stars 5/20/2010 by GVNana
by GVNana

Owning a seasonal home in Arizona and another home in the midwest, we make numerous long trips---with two cats---each year. This pet barrier made it easy, tolerable and even peaceful! No worries about cats under the driver's feet...getting out doors when gassing up/eating/etc. Fit neatly. Was not too difficult to install. I don't know how we ever traveled without it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GVNana
southern Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews