Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 156 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

156 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

156 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
104
4 stars
31
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 stars
9
1-20 of 135 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 135 total reviews
1-20 of 135 reviews
Perfect for me
4/19/2011

Customer review by Walmartfirst2

5.0 stars 4/19/2011 by Walmartfirst2
by Walmartfirst2

Bought this when the engine light went on in my 97 Mountaineer. Was able to pull the codes that caused it, fix the problem, and reset the engine light. Spend the extra money to get this instead of the cheapest one because it gives you a code and a description of the problem and the cheaper model just gives the codes. The manual was very informative so read it before you even use the unit. Didn't try to hook it up to any computer so I don't know what that is all about. Now when I shop for my next used vehicle I can hook this up to it before I buy so I can see if there is any thing going on that I should know about. Good Luck and get this item.

Was this review helpful? (139) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Walmartfirst2
Jersey City, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great features at the price
5/1/2011

Customer review by PeteC2

5.0 stars 5/1/2011 by PeteC2
by PeteC2

OBD2 scanners are very useful tools for anyone owning a 1996 or later car, whether you are a home mechanic, or just someone who wants to maintain their vehicle after the warranty is up. What I like about this model is that for the price, the feature set is very strong. Not only do you get the error (DTC) codes, but also the basic explanation of what is indicated. An added bonus, is that you can upload the data to your computer, and get an enhanced explanation, and if needed, you can (for a fee), get a very in-depth explanation including expected parts and repair costs. I would not use that feature often, but for a potential major needed repair, that may well save najor costs, and give the owner a better idea how to proceed.

Was this review helpful? (82) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PeteC2
Bristol, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Reveals your vehicle's mysteries
1/23/2011

Customer review by AZperfectionist

4.0 stars 1/23/2011 by AZperfectionist
by AZperfectionist

Although some auto parts stores will scan your trouble codes for free, they often won't erase them due to laws. This tool accurately diagnosed problems and cleared the codes after I made the repairs. Remember the phrase "trust, but verify"? Well, this tool helps keep mechanics honest when you can prove you know what the problem is. Wish it didn't cost quite as much extra to get an online detailed print-out of a problem, but the scan tool itself often gives you enough to go on anyway. Works easily as long as you follow the simple instructions.

Was this review helpful? (36) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AZperfectionist
Casa Grande, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
very awesome 'toy'
2/13/2010

Customer review by keith1984

5.0 stars 2/13/2010 by keith1984
by keith1984

I bought this because I plan to do all my own work for my vehicles and its already paid for itself in just a matter of weeks... My check engine light came on and so did the check engine lights in my neighbors two vechicles. Its already worked perfectly and accurately on a '03 chevy, a dodge and a porsche! It even comes with some software too.

Was this review helpful? (117) (46)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
keith1984
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent Tool For The Shade Tree Mechanic
10/11/2011

Customer review by Woobergoober

5.0 stars 10/11/2011 by Woobergoober
by Woobergoober

This was kind of a last ditch effort, to attempt to troubleshoot my car, before having to put it in the shop. After a car that I own, began running rough, I bought this code scanner, in the hopes of figuring out the problem, myself. After plugging it in, several codes were shown. It indicated that a specific cylinder was misfiring, so I pulled the plug and replaced it. Problem solved. For a little over $80.00 I was able to fix my own problem, and instead of paying somebody else to do it, I probably saved money, as well as added a new tool to my garage, which I am sure will be used again. Wal Mart had the best price, bar none. Make sure that you pay for it through Walmart.com and pick it up at the store you choose. They have this item in stock, but it is almost $20.00 more, if you do not go through the website. Don't ask me why, but play the game, and you save a bunch of money.

Was this review helpful? (34) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Woobergoober
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great diagnostic tool for saving time and money
7/12/2011

Customer review by lakeresortlady

5.0 stars 7/12/2011 by lakeresortlady
by lakeresortlady

The Check Engine light came on in our 2006 Tahoe. I felt sure it was the fuel sensor in the gas filler tube, since it caused the light to come on about 2 years ago. I took it to the local Chevrolet dealer and they wanted $85 to hook up their small diagnostic tool to it just to get a read out. I felt that was robbery so I went to an auto parts store and asked them to turn off the light with their diagnostic tool and theirs wouldn't or couldn't. I ordered this CanOBD2 from WalMart and it arrived promptly. I plugged it in, got the detailed readout and turned the light off. Now my remote start will work again and the problem is corrected as well. I have since used it on our son's vehicles and feel it was money well spent. It would also be wise to have it if one was going to purchase a used vehicle.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lakeresortlady
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
not bad
3/19/2010

Customer review by bruinsfanski

4.0 stars 3/19/2010 by bruinsfanski
by bruinsfanski

A good product if you have access to pinpoint exactly what the problem is, ex.- you receive a dtc code and there could be multiple reasons that code was triggered .Otherwise you will be paying $9.99 everytime you want a precise answer from Repair Solutions

Was this review helpful? (26) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bruinsfanski
Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Equus 3100 Innova Diag tool
11/6/2010

Customer review by Neatoer

5.0 stars 11/6/2010 by Neatoer
by Neatoer

This is an awesome product I been in the maintenance field for many many years and have millions of dollars in tools and test equipment under my control but I have not seen such a high quality full featured code reader like this one, finally I can depend on a test tool that do more than what I had expected and the best part at a fraction of the cost. Thanks Walmart for providing us the customers with high quality products at a very very economical price, I really appreciate you folks. Thanks again.

Was this review helpful? (57) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Neatoer
El Paso
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Product and Value
4/18/2010

Customer review by MechanicWannabe

5.0 stars 4/18/2010 by MechanicWannabe
by MechanicWannabe

Innova 3100e has all features the home mechanic needs. USB cord included in price. It paid for itself the first time I used it. My daughters 1999 vehicle's "Check Engine Light " came on and car running "rough" with less power. Hooked up the Innova 3100 as instructed and "#4 cylinder misfire" came up on screen. #4 Spark plug tip was black and the cause was the plug wire was cracked and shorting. Simple fix. And then with the Innova 3100 I could erase the trouble code and the "check engine light" goes away. I feel like a real auto mechanic!!

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MechanicWannabe
Bay Area, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great Diagnostic Code Reader
6/8/2011

Customer review by kiyorusty

4.0 stars 6/8/2011 by kiyorusty
by kiyorusty

Great code reader, handy and looks nice and durable, I think is reasonably price. It just it turned out when digging more info or specifications about this particular model, it does not read engine and transmission fault codes, that there are other more models of the same brand that does.

Was this review helpful? (24) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kiyorusty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very good product
2/13/2010

Customer review by sixgill132

5.0 stars 2/13/2010 by sixgill132
by sixgill132

This has the extras that you need. The cheaper models are a waist of money. In one month I have been able to answer many questions and trouble shoot a problem that saved me 10 times the cost of this unit. If this ends up being something that you cannot use, you should not be working on your own vehicle.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sixgill132
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Does exactly what is needed for DIY repairs
7/2/2011

Customer review by EWTech

5.0 stars 7/2/2011 by EWTech
by EWTech

This fixed two issues the day it was bought. A bad plug wire and a bad gas cap without going to the dealer. Don't expect the device to give you all the answers as it may very well not but the direction and understanding with a small idea of where to look for someone fairly well aware of current technology can use this thing quickly and make things work. Think of it as a test set for your car that used to cost tens of thousands back in the day. The directions are clear enough and the display is fairly clear as to what errors there are. If you need help the enclosed software (Win XP, 7 or Vista) should send you in the right direction.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EWTech
Columbia. MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Very Disappointing
4/8/2014

Customer review by Oldgreasemonkey

2.0 stars 4/8/2014 by Oldgreasemonkey
by Oldgreasemonkey

Bought this as a more advanced diagnostic tool based on the packaging which turned out to be very misleading. There is no software included with this. It needs to be downloaded from the website. Without the software this does not 'automatically open a browser and connect' when plugged into a laptop or PC and limits it's information. The software is also Windows only so I couldn't load it on a Macbook. And as reported by other buyers there is a charge per report from the website to analyse the data from the scanner for the RepairSolutions feature. You can't upload a report without a Windows PC anyway so I couldn't check that. The scanner doesn't do reports on it's own. It also doesn't print without the PC software. Customer service is poor and hard to contact. In the end this is no more useful than an under $20 code reader that does no more than show a code number and let you turn off the MIL If you don't already have a Windows PC or don't want to set up a charge account with them to pay over $10 per report stay away from this brand.

Was this review helpful? (14) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Oldgreasemonkey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent value for the price
9/7/2010

Customer review by dxc02

5.0 stars 9/7/2010 by dxc02
by dxc02

Product met and surpassed my expectations. A great value for the price. Not only does the diagnostic tool scan auto sensors for cars built after 1996 but it allows one to erase the 'check engine' light without going to a dealer shop (not flashing 'check engine' lights however). You can also connect to the internet for more advanced feed back on related problems More advanced models are available which measure ABS brake systems, etc..but they can cost up to $400 and more. So it depends what your needs are.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dxc02
Modesto, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Saved BIG
11/11/2010

Customer review by stillfixen

5.0 stars 11/11/2010 by stillfixen
by stillfixen

I had a long term problem that was buggging me for almost 1 year - it was an intermittant problem with one of the ignition coils. This product solved the problem of: what, where and why, almost instantly.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stillfixen
Destin FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
Fantastic Diagnostic Tool
11/1/2013

Customer review by DWKAP

5.0 stars 11/1/2013 by DWKAP
by DWKAP

I was unsure of which review to believe on this product. Nevertheless I went ahead and purchased this product. I am so glad I did.. this is an excellent product for the do it your self mechanic. It provides everything you need to determine what is wrong with your vehicle OBD2 system. It has already paid for itself in less than a month. You will not be disappointed with this device. Oh! and I don't like complicated electronics...so rest assured. This device is extremely simple to use so don't be intimidated. In addition, I highly recommend taking a look at the You Tube video on how to use this product it walks you through it in case you need a brief tutorial. I don't why I was so hesitant to buy it fantastic product the dealers really don't want you buying this.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DWKAP
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good buy for the more advanced technician
11/10/2010

Customer review by dudedean

4.0 stars 11/10/2010 by dudedean
by dudedean

This diagnostic tool is great for the technician who will use all of the features that are in the Innova 3100e. The printout features and Repair Solutions is great

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dudedean
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Terrible instructions and poor phone support
1/16/2011

Customer review by Builtforspeed

1.0 stars 1/16/2011 by Builtforspeed
by Builtforspeed

I purchased this product online at Walmart.com. After reading the instructions I retrieved the diagnostic code from my vehicle without any problems. Then I tried for and hour to download the codes to my computer and use the internet service. I never was able to get the information to download. The Customer support center answered my call but was unable to help. I ended up using Google to get the problem identified and parts needed to repair the vehicle. The instructions for using the software is terrible. Don't waste your money on this product.

Was this review helpful? (27) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Builtforspeed
Gainesville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Did not work for me
9/21/2013

Customer review by Js942

1.0 stars 9/21/2013 by Js942
by Js942

I've used several different code scanners before. This one is so far the most complicated. The device screen reads and erases codes, but it would not link to either of my computers, which is the way to determine what the repair solutions are. The repair solutions are NOT free. It will cost 19.95 per month or 59.95 per year I registered my info, but there is nowhere to register my device. Another problem FOR ME is that the device is bulky and made of a hard plastic that can very easily break if you drop it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Js942
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great Bang for your Buck!
11/14/2013

Customer review by FrankfromBellingham

5.0 stars 11/14/2013 by FrankfromBellingham
by FrankfromBellingham

I have used the $300 version of this device, and except for a few differences (only a pro at a garage would notice) this scanner is just like it. It is easy to use and understand. I had it out of the package, scanning, and clearing the check engine light on my car in 5 minutes. Best of all, the check engine light was on for a silly reason and I was able to find out and clear it myself instead of paying a shop $100 to do it for me (they would have also probably tried to sell me on some service I did not need too). For the "Do It Yourself" auto mechanic, this is great!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FrankfromBellingham
Bellingham, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 135 total reviews
1-20 of 135 reviews