Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.3out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 | 123 reviews
5 stars
73
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
9
Sort by: 
1-20 of 102 reviews
1-20 of 102 reviews
Great basic on-board-diagnostic (OBD) tool
2/24/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This tools just provides a simple error code via OBD (on-board-diagnostic) port (available on 1996 or newer cars). Once you have the error code, just go on the web and google the error code for your particular car. Auto repair shops charge anywhere between $20 - $70 for reading the error code so this tool pays for itself in no time. But, you must go the website (www.innova.com) to download an installation software on your computer to get the full explanation of the error code by plugging the device into a USB port on your computer. For now, the 1st month is free but you must pay for subscription after the 1st month. You can get around this by googling for the error code. The scan took about 1-2 minutes on my BMW (I've variable valve timing error as well as oil temperature / pressure errors). If you have the error code, a red light comes on. You can erase the error code by pressing one of the few buttons on the device (I've the 3030f model) - this takes just a few seconds.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
OBDII code reader for the masses
4/5/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This OBDII code reader did everything it was promissing. Its very affordable and worked with no setup or modification. Plugging the unit into your computer the software will already know your vehicle make and model so the solution comes up automatically with no code input on the keyboard in fact I didnt have to type anything. The software also helped in narrowing the problem down to a specific part. Which if you take to your mechanic its a printout showing everything including voltages that the part is reporting, temperatures, status. One downside is it does try to upsell you more detailed information at a cost. The free information is enough though to help solve the problem and even when two parts make up the problem it was able to narrow it to the left side part which in this case saved me $40. It will not change any programs but will allow you to zero out trouble codes. It works and its very easy to use.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Helpful Money Saver
9/24/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product works quickly...just plug it in, turn the key to "On" (don't start engine!), and the Equus 3030 will have all your car computer's data. Then you just take it to your computer, plug it into your USB port, and it will open the software (you must install it from CD) that shows you what the numeric codes mean. For instant detailed instructions on how to fix it, it costs US$14.99 (a bit more than the videos and info available "before my purchase" had said). You can use the software for up to 3 cars you register into their system, and use it up to 6 times per month for free. You can use this device to clear your "Check Engine" light once the problem is fixed, and if the problem reappears, you'll know you still have the problem (sometimes it takes several days for the light to come back on).
Was this review helpful?
Yes (104)No (29)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good for the money!
2/19/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Does multiple things in diagnosing check engine light problems. I don't use their software because you have to pay to get code meanings. Go online and find those for free.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (104)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
If you own a car you need this
9/23/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought my dad this CANOBD2 Car Reader for my dad as a Christmas present a few years ago and he was so impressed that I purchased one for myself too. It has been the best money i have ever spent. It helps in so mant ways... It comes with easy to follow instructions for ANY make & model vehicle and even though there are a few different buttons and icons on the device, it never is confusing to read. Very simple once you read instructions. The screen is bright and easy to see/read. I have an old 2004 Ford truck so I have put this device to good use. It shows the code which you can look up online (I think they supply a site to look up the codes but I forget. I either just google the code or call my father in law who's a former mechanic). Anywho over the 30 plus times ive used this since i got it (ive even used it on other people's cars for them) not once has it failed me. It never gave me an incorrect code. By having this device and knowing ahead of time what the problem may be, has saved me time & money. Mechanics use the same kind of devices and now you'll know exactly what they know. I have even skipped going to the mechanics altogether at times and just buy the parts and do it myself now that I know exactly what the issue would be. It is a lifesaver!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Full function product
11/3/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This code reader is fully functional for the average DIY mechanic. Instructions are clear and it performs exactly as indicated. The cost of this product is less than having one diagnostic hook-up at a dealer! The ability to diagnose and get information to fix issues is invaluable for newer computer controlled vehicles.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works perfect
10/28/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
have an 01 nissan pathfinder, had some little sensor going off putting on the check engine light so i could not pass my smog/emission tests here in Arizona. plugged it in, hit the reset and everything worked like a charm. Much cheaper than dropping the car off all day paying over $100 for them to "Think" they found the problem. well worth it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just as advertised
2/27/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Owned a more expensive code reader previous to this purchase and am pleasantly surprised at how much this reader does. Remember, do not turn on the engine to test codes. The PC download is very useful as well. Light weight and very easy to use. Great handbook as well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fantastic, great product
5/26/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
No knowledge about cars, but I have a Lexus with a check engine light. Problem is diagnosed as a carbon filter for evaporative system (mainly used for emissions) that will set us back $650 + labor, diagnosis from garage. Car will work without a problem, but the check engine light will mask other diagnosed problems that could possibly be far worse. The code reader allows us to reset the light, and check from time to time if any problems will arise. It is a far cheaper and hassle free alternative than going to the garage on a weekly basis. Off note, code are easy to read and to find for your car on the internet.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Money Saver
2/24/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought the code reader to get an idea what I was going to have to pay for repairs. The code and report gave me the leg up I needed when I took the car in. I showed the report to the service writer and saved the fee for them to put the car on their code reader. Far and away paid for itself with the first use. Wish they told me about the fee to get the detailed report, but the summary was enough for the service tech.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product!
4/9/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Although you have to look up the code on the CD, this product is super helpful!! My husband loves it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (61)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/3/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this code reader from Wal mart with free shipping and it arrived on a timely manner. The reason for the code reader we have a 97 Astro van that is not running good, so we bought this Innova hoping to find the problem. One thing I didn't like about it is that once it reads the code it doesn't display the code again until you hook it up to your computer and download it. If it would keep the code on the screen longer it would be easier to look it up in your manual instead of waiting to download it onto your computer. I may be just to old fashion for all the computer stuff. It did find a possible problem that we are looking into. Otherwise it is a good tool for the newer computerized cars with all the sensors that cause big problems.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good product for the money
11/28/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The OBD2 code reader works very well. It's only shortcoming is that you have to connect it to your laptop computer with the provided software to get a complete description of the problem. But, a code reader that will give a complete readout will cost about twice as much so I believe this is well worth the money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Product
1/2/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Using the Equus 3030 Innova, I found PO440 code on my Jeep. It was nothing but a bad gas cap. Bought a new one for less than $20.00. Saved me the time and the cost of going to an auto shop to have my vehicle checked when the MIL light comes on.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
9/28/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product is well worth the money. Very easy to use and you can get the fault code explanations on the internet at http://www.check-engine-light.com/trouble-codes
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worked good
9/20/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Worked like it's supposed to. You could also buy an online manual thru the company for $15 but I didn't it need to at the time.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good OBDII CAN compliant scanner for the mone
9/18/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I did my research and I don't think you'll find a better featured OBDII compliant code scanner for the money. Comes with complete instructions and a bonus CD with more information. It plugged right in and ran its diagnostics without any problems. This unit will probably pay for itself after one or two uses to check stored codes if your vehicle's MIL comes on. Even if you don't do the repairs yourself, you'll be in more of a position to know and understand what needs to be done when you take it in for service. Certainly less chance of being misled as well. Highly recommended. Obviously, before you buy, make sure you are buying it for use on OBDII compliant vehicle(s)-generally 1996 and later. Otherwise it won't do you any good.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Tool
12/31/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a great tool for the do it your self guy.. easy to use and does it all
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Code Reader. Easy to use.
8/2/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
A week after receiving this code reader our SUV suddenly thew a P0305 code for a misfire in cylinder #5. We checked online for troubleshooting procedures and found that switching coil packs between the bad cylinder (#5) and a good cylinder (eg. #6) will tell us if the coil pack is bad if the code reader shows a misfire on cylinder 6 after the switch (P0306). It is convenient not having to go to the local auto store the get the code read, especially when you are trouble shooting the problem. One trip to the auto store and a coil pack later the problem is fixed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Everyone should have one
11/16/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
You don't need to be a mechanic to save money with this. I'm no mechanic and I saved money. I had been thinking about getting one because I bought my kid an old chevy s10. Thought I might try to do some things myself to save some money (which remains to be seen). But... my 2006 Toyota automatic started shifting really hard. I thought I would have to have the transmission replaced. I order this online from Walmart, I think Sunday evening, and had it hand by Thursday. (The shipping must have been a mistake because it was almost nothing and shipped right to my house. But I digress.) I immediately stuck this scanner on my Toyota and got the code, which turned out to be some solenoid in the engine oil pan area, inside of course. I kept searching for the code and “hard shift” etc, on the internet until found an issue with the Toyota PCM/ECM module (whichever it is). It turns out that that the code from the scanner along with the hard shift issue was in a Toyota bulletin and they were replacing this module up to 96 months under warranty because it had to do with emissions and the gov’t was involved I believe (I don’t think they would do it for free otherwise. I saved myself several hundred dollars, I betting well over 500 bucks because the knock-offs online were going for $300, just for the part. This is why I say everyone should have one. Oh, not to mention that Toyota charges $89 just to “diagnose” the problem, which took all of 3 minutes to get the code. Any scanner tool would give me the code, but for the price and the features (which includes internet firmware upgrade via the supplied USB cable), you can’t go wrong with this model. I put it on my kid’s “new” s10 and it told me I have an issue with an air intake temperature thingy, which I have located. and will be replacing. It also lit the red LED saying this car will not pass emissions testing. Nice to know before going to get tested. There is a freeze frame feature that I am going to try on my kid’s truck and see what I can figure out. Seems to have a lot of features for the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (45)No (20)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641744, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-10.1.1, SHA-cd91c60c037ec69024941e99664518ad4edafe94, CID-