Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 122 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

122 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

122 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
73
4 stars
31
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
9
1-20 of 101 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews
Very good for the money!
2/19/2011

Customer review by shadmaster3

5.0 stars 2/19/2011 by shadmaster3
by shadmaster3

Does multiple things in diagnosing check engine light problems. I don't use their software because you have to pay to get code meanings. Go online and find those for free.

Was this review helpful? (93) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shadmaster3
GOODVIEW,VA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Helpful Money Saver
9/24/2010

Customer review by IslandWarren

5.0 stars 9/24/2010 by IslandWarren
by IslandWarren

This product works quickly...just plug it in, turn the key to "On" (don't start engine!), and the Equus 3030 will have all your car computer's data. Then you just take it to your computer, plug it into your USB port, and it will open the software (you must install it from CD) that shows you what the numeric codes mean. For instant detailed instructions on how to fix it, it costs US$14.99 (a bit more than the videos and info available "before my purchase" had said). You can use the software for up to 3 cars you register into their system, and use it up to 6 times per month for free. You can use this device to clear your "Check Engine" light once the problem is fixed, and if the problem reappears, you'll know you still have the problem (sometimes it takes several days for the light to come back on).

Was this review helpful? (97) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IslandWarren
Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great product!
4/9/2010

Customer review by mopargirl02

5.0 stars 4/9/2010 by mopargirl02
by mopargirl02

Although you have to look up the code on the CD, this product is super helpful!! My husband loves it!

Was this review helpful? (58) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mopargirl02
Livermore, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Everyone should have one
11/16/2010

Customer review by DuaneFromTucson

5.0 stars 11/16/2010 by DuaneFromTucson
by DuaneFromTucson

You don't need to be a mechanic to save money with this. I'm no mechanic and I saved money. I had been thinking about getting one because I bought my kid an old chevy s10. Thought I might try to do some things myself to save some money (which remains to be seen). But... my 2006 Toyota automatic started shifting really hard. I thought I would have to have the transmission replaced. I order this online from Walmart, I think Sunday evening, and had it hand by Thursday. (The shipping must have been a mistake because it was almost nothing and shipped right to my house. But I digress.) I immediately stuck this scanner on my Toyota and got the code, which turned out to be some solenoid in the engine oil pan area, inside of course. I kept searching for the code and “hard shift” etc, on the internet until found an issue with the Toyota PCM/ECM module (whichever it is). It turns out that that the code from the scanner along with the hard shift issue was in a Toyota bulletin and they were replacing this module up to 96 months under warranty because it had to do with emissions and the gov’t was involved I believe (I don’t think they would do it for free otherwise. I saved myself several hundred dollars, I betting well over 500 bucks because the knock-offs online were going for $300, just for the part. This is why I say everyone should have one. Oh, not to mention that Toyota charges $89 just to “diagnose” the problem, which took all of 3 minutes to get the code. Any scanner tool would give me the code, but for the price and the features (which includes internet firmware upgrade via the supplied USB cable), you can’t go wrong with this model. I put it on my kid’s “new” s10 and it told me I have an issue with an air intake temperature thingy, which I have located. and will be replacing. It also lit the red LED saying this car will not pass emissions testing. Nice to know before going to get tested. There is a freeze frame feature that I am going to try on my kid’s truck and see what I can figure out. Seems to have a lot of features for the price.

Was this review helpful? (39) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DuaneFromTucson
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Fantastic, great product
5/26/2011

Customer review by Mark2m

4.0 stars 5/26/2011 by Mark2m
by Mark2m

No knowledge about cars, but I have a Lexus with a check engine light. Problem is diagnosed as a carbon filter for evaporative system (mainly used for emissions) that will set us back $650 + labor, diagnosis from garage. Car will work without a problem, but the check engine light will mask other diagnosed problems that could possibly be far worse. The code reader allows us to reset the light, and check from time to time if any problems will arise. It is a far cheaper and hassle free alternative than going to the garage on a weekly basis. Off note, code are easy to read and to find for your car on the internet.

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mark2m
Melbourne Beach, FL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
OBDII code reader for the masses
4/5/2011

Customer review by ocgamer

5.0 stars 4/5/2011 by ocgamer
by ocgamer

This OBDII code reader did everything it was promissing. Its very affordable and worked with no setup or modification. Plugging the unit into your computer the software will already know your vehicle make and model so the solution comes up automatically with no code input on the keyboard in fact I didnt have to type anything. The software also helped in narrowing the problem down to a specific part. Which if you take to your mechanic its a printout showing everything including voltages that the part is reporting, temperatures, status. One downside is it does try to upsell you more detailed information at a cost. The free information is enough though to help solve the problem and even when two parts make up the problem it was able to narrow it to the left side part which in this case saved me $40. It will not change any programs but will allow you to zero out trouble codes. It works and its very easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ocgamer
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Good Product
1/2/2011

Customer review by Joparks

4.0 stars 1/2/2011 by Joparks
by Joparks

Using the Equus 3030 Innova, I found PO440 code on my Jeep. It was nothing but a bad gas cap. Bought a new one for less than $20.00. Saved me the time and the cost of going to an auto shop to have my vehicle checked when the MIL light comes on.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Joparks
Poplar Bluff, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Great tool for the money
8/9/2010

Customer review by ToolManDA

5.0 stars 8/9/2010 by ToolManDA
by ToolManDA

This is an excellent product. Very easy to use I paid $52 and it diagnosed the check engine light and also cleared the light. I went to the website to obtain the information for the code. It was very easy to naviagte the website. If you have access to a computer then this is a great device.

Was this review helpful? (16) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ToolManDA
Hatfield, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Good product for the money
11/28/2010

Customer review by DieselMan34

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by DieselMan34
by DieselMan34

The OBD2 code reader works very well. It's only shortcoming is that you have to connect it to your laptop computer with the provided software to get a complete description of the problem. But, a code reader that will give a complete readout will cost about twice as much so I believe this is well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DieselMan34
Denison, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Full function product
11/3/2010

Customer review by rcodejoe

5.0 stars 11/3/2010 by rcodejoe
by rcodejoe

This code reader is fully functional for the average DIY mechanic. Instructions are clear and it performs exactly as indicated. The cost of this product is less than having one diagnostic hook-up at a dealer! The ability to diagnose and get information to fix issues is invaluable for newer computer controlled vehicles.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rcodejoe
Topeka, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Works perfect
10/28/2010

Customer review by AZCat2012

5.0 stars 10/28/2010 by AZCat2012
by AZCat2012

have an 01 nissan pathfinder, had some little sensor going off putting on the check engine light so i could not pass my smog/emission tests here in Arizona. plugged it in, hit the reset and everything worked like a charm. Much cheaper than dropping the car off all day paying over $100 for them to "Think" they found the problem. well worth it!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AZCat2012
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/28/2011

Customer review by Fredt

5.0 stars 9/28/2011 by Fredt
by Fredt

This product is well worth the money. Very easy to use and you can get the fault code explanations on the internet at http://www.check-engine-light.com/trouble-codes

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fredt
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Money Saving Product
12/4/2010

Customer review by icehole1

5.0 stars 12/4/2010 by icehole1
by icehole1

Works as adverdised and paid for itself already, I have used it and my son used it on his truck and a friends car. Saved a lot of money to have the dealer put the vehicle on their tester for $80 at a time to find out it's just a loose gas tank cover.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
icehole1
ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent... outtadabox
8/1/2010

Customer review by VinRin

5.0 stars 8/1/2010 by VinRin
by VinRin

I'm a novice with cars.. this unit, right out of the box, read the codes with my 2k Volvo. The software/website diagnosed the problems and within 10 minutes, I had my car fixed, light reset, problem solved. Easily reads our Prius and Santa Fe, so one unit, at an incredibly low price, really does the job and does it well. Paid for itself with it's first diagnosis.. Highly recommended for novice and mid-users. Pros might prefer 'live' data, which this unit does not provide...

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VinRin
Freehdold, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Just as advertised
2/27/2011

Customer review by Vanny2

5.0 stars 2/27/2011 by Vanny2
by Vanny2

Owned a more expensive code reader previous to this purchase and am pleasantly surprised at how much this reader does. Remember, do not turn on the engine to test codes. The PC download is very useful as well. Light weight and very easy to use. Great handbook as well.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vanny2
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Plug it in and it works
12/6/2010

Customer review by DPboss

5.0 stars 12/6/2010 by DPboss
by DPboss

Bought this because my "Service Engine Soon" light came on and checking shops to have them do it was well over $60 - far more than what this item costed. However the light went out prior to me getting the code reader. I still plugged it in and it went thru the diagnostic and no error came up. Still worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DPboss
Massena, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Very good OBDII CAN compliant scanner for the mone
9/18/2010

Customer review by SkippyOrlando

5.0 stars 9/18/2010 by SkippyOrlando
by SkippyOrlando

I did my research and I don't think you'll find a better featured OBDII compliant code scanner for the money. Comes with complete instructions and a bonus CD with more information. It plugged right in and ran its diagnostics without any problems. This unit will probably pay for itself after one or two uses to check stored codes if your vehicle's MIL comes on. Even if you don't do the repairs yourself, you'll be in more of a position to know and understand what needs to be done when you take it in for service. Certainly less chance of being misled as well. Highly recommended. Obviously, before you buy, make sure you are buying it for use on OBDII compliant vehicle(s)-generally 1996 and later. Otherwise it won't do you any good.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SkippyOrlando
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Impressive Code Reader
8/11/2011

Customer review by Canedive

5.0 stars 8/11/2011 by Canedive
by Canedive

Read the instructions, plugged it in, took the reading, put the Disc in my PC and what do you know? It told me exactlyl what my problem was and I fixed it. I also like the fact that with the push of a button you can get rid of your check engine light! Awesome!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Canedive
Cornelius, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
what was expected
9/28/2010

Customer review by snarfbaby

5.0 stars 9/28/2010 by snarfbaby
by snarfbaby

I did the research and found this product would meet my needs. I t did exactly what it said. I didn't mind having to look up on the computer the codes meanings as I was able to also research what I needed to do to fix it. I think it was a great value. I'm not paying a mechanic $80 an hr. to do what I did in 15 mins.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snarfbaby
san diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Money Saver
2/24/2011

Customer review by ghostryder63

5.0 stars 2/24/2011 by ghostryder63
by ghostryder63

I bought the code reader to get an idea what I was going to have to pay for repairs. The code and report gave me the leg up I needed when I took the car in. I showed the report to the service writer and saved the fee for them to put the car on their code reader. Far and away paid for itself with the first use. Wish they told me about the fee to get the detailed report, but the summary was enough for the service tech.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ghostryder63
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews