Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 122 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

122 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

122 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
73
4 stars
31
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
9
1-20 of 101 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews
Great basic on-board-diagnostic (OBD) tool
2/24/2014

Customer review by IanBM

5.0 stars 2/24/2014 by IanBM
by IanBM
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This tools just provides a simple error code via OBD (on-board-diagnostic) port (available on 1996 or newer cars). Once you have the error code, just go on the web and google the error code for your particular car. Auto repair shops charge anywhere between $20 - $70 for reading the error code so this tool pays for itself in no time. But, you must go the website (www.innova.com) to download an installation software on your computer to get the full explanation of the error code by plugging the device into a USB port on your computer. For now, the 1st month is free but you must pay for subscription after the 1st month. You can get around this by googling for the error code. The scan took about 1-2 minutes on my BMW (I've variable valve timing error as well as oil temperature / pressure errors). If you have the error code, a red light comes on. You can erase the error code by pressing one of the few buttons on the device (I've the 3030f model) - this takes just a few seconds.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IanBM
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
OBDII code reader for the masses
4/5/2011

Customer review by ocgamer

5.0 stars 4/5/2011 by ocgamer
by ocgamer

This OBDII code reader did everything it was promissing. Its very affordable and worked with no setup or modification. Plugging the unit into your computer the software will already know your vehicle make and model so the solution comes up automatically with no code input on the keyboard in fact I didnt have to type anything. The software also helped in narrowing the problem down to a specific part. Which if you take to your mechanic its a printout showing everything including voltages that the part is reporting, temperatures, status. One downside is it does try to upsell you more detailed information at a cost. The free information is enough though to help solve the problem and even when two parts make up the problem it was able to narrow it to the left side part which in this case saved me $40. It will not change any programs but will allow you to zero out trouble codes. It works and its very easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (25) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ocgamer
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Helpful Money Saver
9/24/2010

Customer review by IslandWarren

5.0 stars 9/24/2010 by IslandWarren
by IslandWarren

This product works quickly...just plug it in, turn the key to "On" (don't start engine!), and the Equus 3030 will have all your car computer's data. Then you just take it to your computer, plug it into your USB port, and it will open the software (you must install it from CD) that shows you what the numeric codes mean. For instant detailed instructions on how to fix it, it costs US$14.99 (a bit more than the videos and info available "before my purchase" had said). You can use the software for up to 3 cars you register into their system, and use it up to 6 times per month for free. You can use this device to clear your "Check Engine" light once the problem is fixed, and if the problem reappears, you'll know you still have the problem (sometimes it takes several days for the light to come back on).

Was this review helpful? (103) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IslandWarren
Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Very good for the money!
2/19/2011

Customer review by shadmaster3

5.0 stars 2/19/2011 by shadmaster3
by shadmaster3

Does multiple things in diagnosing check engine light problems. I don't use their software because you have to pay to get code meanings. Go online and find those for free.

Was this review helpful? (103) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shadmaster3
GOODVIEW,VA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Full function product
11/3/2010

Customer review by rcodejoe

5.0 stars 11/3/2010 by rcodejoe
by rcodejoe

This code reader is fully functional for the average DIY mechanic. Instructions are clear and it performs exactly as indicated. The cost of this product is less than having one diagnostic hook-up at a dealer! The ability to diagnose and get information to fix issues is invaluable for newer computer controlled vehicles.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rcodejoe
Topeka, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Fantastic, great product
5/26/2011

Customer review by Mark2m

4.0 stars 5/26/2011 by Mark2m
by Mark2m

No knowledge about cars, but I have a Lexus with a check engine light. Problem is diagnosed as a carbon filter for evaporative system (mainly used for emissions) that will set us back $650 + labor, diagnosis from garage. Car will work without a problem, but the check engine light will mask other diagnosed problems that could possibly be far worse. The code reader allows us to reset the light, and check from time to time if any problems will arise. It is a far cheaper and hassle free alternative than going to the garage on a weekly basis. Off note, code are easy to read and to find for your car on the internet.

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mark2m
Melbourne Beach, FL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Works perfect
10/28/2010

Customer review by AZCat2012

5.0 stars 10/28/2010 by AZCat2012
by AZCat2012

have an 01 nissan pathfinder, had some little sensor going off putting on the check engine light so i could not pass my smog/emission tests here in Arizona. plugged it in, hit the reset and everything worked like a charm. Much cheaper than dropping the car off all day paying over $100 for them to "Think" they found the problem. well worth it!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AZCat2012
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just as advertised
2/27/2011

Customer review by Vanny2

5.0 stars 2/27/2011 by Vanny2
by Vanny2

Owned a more expensive code reader previous to this purchase and am pleasantly surprised at how much this reader does. Remember, do not turn on the engine to test codes. The PC download is very useful as well. Light weight and very easy to use. Great handbook as well.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vanny2
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Money Saving Product
12/4/2010

Customer review by icehole1

5.0 stars 12/4/2010 by icehole1
by icehole1

Works as adverdised and paid for itself already, I have used it and my son used it on his truck and a friends car. Saved a lot of money to have the dealer put the vehicle on their tester for $80 at a time to find out it's just a loose gas tank cover.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
icehole1
ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Money Saver
2/24/2011

Customer review by ghostryder63

5.0 stars 2/24/2011 by ghostryder63
by ghostryder63

I bought the code reader to get an idea what I was going to have to pay for repairs. The code and report gave me the leg up I needed when I took the car in. I showed the report to the service writer and saved the fee for them to put the car on their code reader. Far and away paid for itself with the first use. Wish they told me about the fee to get the detailed report, but the summary was enough for the service tech.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ghostryder63
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
Great product!
4/9/2010

Customer review by mopargirl02

5.0 stars 4/9/2010 by mopargirl02
by mopargirl02

Although you have to look up the code on the CD, this product is super helpful!! My husband loves it!

Was this review helpful? (61) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mopargirl02
Livermore, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1/3/2012

Customer review by sadiemuffen

4.0 stars 1/3/2012 by sadiemuffen
by sadiemuffen

I purchased this code reader from Wal mart with free shipping and it arrived on a timely manner. The reason for the code reader we have a 97 Astro van that is not running good, so we bought this Innova hoping to find the problem. One thing I didn't like about it is that once it reads the code it doesn't display the code again until you hook it up to your computer and download it. If it would keep the code on the screen longer it would be easier to look it up in your manual instead of waiting to download it onto your computer. I may be just to old fashion for all the computer stuff. It did find a possible problem that we are looking into. Otherwise it is a good tool for the newer computerized cars with all the sensors that cause big problems.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sadiemuffen
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good product for the money
11/28/2010

Customer review by DieselMan34

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by DieselMan34
by DieselMan34

The OBD2 code reader works very well. It's only shortcoming is that you have to connect it to your laptop computer with the provided software to get a complete description of the problem. But, a code reader that will give a complete readout will cost about twice as much so I believe this is well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DieselMan34
Denison, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Good Product
1/2/2011

Customer review by Joparks

4.0 stars 1/2/2011 by Joparks
by Joparks

Using the Equus 3030 Innova, I found PO440 code on my Jeep. It was nothing but a bad gas cap. Bought a new one for less than $20.00. Saved me the time and the cost of going to an auto shop to have my vehicle checked when the MIL light comes on.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joparks
Poplar Bluff, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
9/28/2011

Customer review by Fredt

5.0 stars 9/28/2011 by Fredt
by Fredt

This product is well worth the money. Very easy to use and you can get the fault code explanations on the internet at http://www.check-engine-light.com/trouble-codes

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fredt
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Worked good
9/20/2010

Customer review by Chearskate198765456789

4.0 stars 9/20/2010 by Chearskate198765456789
by Chearskate198765456789

Worked like it's supposed to. You could also buy an online manual thru the company for $15 but I didn't it need to at the time.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chearskate198765456789
san diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
great diagnostic code reader
7/29/2012

Customer review by bandana1

5.0 stars 7/29/2012 by bandana1
by bandana1

this code reader does everything you can expect except it doesnt give definitions for the codes that it retrieves and displays. but that is ok because you can easily get the definitions for all codes online by simply Google searching the code. this item does emissions testing so it tells you whether or not your vehicle passes emissions. it also tells you whether or not your vehicle is ready to undergo emission testing. it shows you with blinking indicators or icons which inspection or emission monitors are not ready for emissions testing such as evap, o2 sensor, catalytic converter, etc. monitors.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bandana1
atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very good OBDII CAN compliant scanner for the mone
9/18/2010

Customer review by SkippyOrlando

5.0 stars 9/18/2010 by SkippyOrlando
by SkippyOrlando

I did my research and I don't think you'll find a better featured OBDII compliant code scanner for the money. Comes with complete instructions and a bonus CD with more information. It plugged right in and ran its diagnostics without any problems. This unit will probably pay for itself after one or two uses to check stored codes if your vehicle's MIL comes on. Even if you don't do the repairs yourself, you'll be in more of a position to know and understand what needs to be done when you take it in for service. Certainly less chance of being misled as well. Highly recommended. Obviously, before you buy, make sure you are buying it for use on OBDII compliant vehicle(s)-generally 1996 and later. Otherwise it won't do you any good.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SkippyOrlando
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great Tool
12/31/2010

Customer review by Lazygent

5.0 stars 12/31/2010 by Lazygent
by Lazygent

This is a great tool for the do it your self guy.. easy to use and does it all

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lazygent
Long Island NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Everyone should have one
11/16/2010

Customer review by DuaneFromTucson

5.0 stars 11/16/2010 by DuaneFromTucson
by DuaneFromTucson

You don't need to be a mechanic to save money with this. I'm no mechanic and I saved money. I had been thinking about getting one because I bought my kid an old chevy s10. Thought I might try to do some things myself to save some money (which remains to be seen). But... my 2006 Toyota automatic started shifting really hard. I thought I would have to have the transmission replaced. I order this online from Walmart, I think Sunday evening, and had it hand by Thursday. (The shipping must have been a mistake because it was almost nothing and shipped right to my house. But I digress.) I immediately stuck this scanner on my Toyota and got the code, which turned out to be some solenoid in the engine oil pan area, inside of course. I kept searching for the code and “hard shift” etc, on the internet until found an issue with the Toyota PCM/ECM module (whichever it is). It turns out that that the code from the scanner along with the hard shift issue was in a Toyota bulletin and they were replacing this module up to 96 months under warranty because it had to do with emissions and the gov’t was involved I believe (I don’t think they would do it for free otherwise. I saved myself several hundred dollars, I betting well over 500 bucks because the knock-offs online were going for $300, just for the part. This is why I say everyone should have one. Oh, not to mention that Toyota charges $89 just to “diagnose” the problem, which took all of 3 minutes to get the code. Any scanner tool would give me the code, but for the price and the features (which includes internet firmware upgrade via the supplied USB cable), you can’t go wrong with this model. I put it on my kid’s “new” s10 and it told me I have an issue with an air intake temperature thingy, which I have located. and will be replacing. It also lit the red LED saying this car will not pass emissions testing. Nice to know before going to get tested. There is a freeze frame feature that I am going to try on my kid’s truck and see what I can figure out. Seems to have a lot of features for the price.

Was this review helpful? (45) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DuaneFromTucson
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews