Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 217 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

217 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

217 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
176
4 stars
29
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
3
1-20 of 195 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 195 total reviews
1-20 of 195 reviews
unbelievable
5/31/2010

Customer review by wyonick

5.0 stars 5/31/2010 by wyonick
by wyonick

I was skeptical as to this product's efficiency. I could not believe how easy it is to use, and what good results came out of it. Very simple and straightforward, you use 2 sanding pads in successive order, then a buffing pad, and finally a fine buffing and compound. I was already amazed at step 3 of this process. When the compound was done, it was brand new looking. I used it on a 1996 towns and country that had hazed headlights. It was impossible to see through, and I could not see the light mechanism inside of it. It now looks like new. The drill attachment is a god sent. It made it really easy. It says to use a 1200-1600 RPM. Mine is 5000, I used it at half power and it was just fine. It would be nice to use at full power and not worry about overheating, but oh well. It is NECESSARY to wear mask and goggles, as there is a lot of dust/debris being created in the process. I would highly recommend this product to anyone, be it only for safety reason. I can now see further than 10 feet in front of me ;) Oh, just one negative: the buffing pad was missing. I used a clean rag, and it was fine like that. It might even be better if yours is included. The pack is really easy to pop open, so it could be that someone helped themselves before I bought it. Again no big deal.

Was this review helpful? (241) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wyonick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
3M Headlight Restoration Success
1/24/2011

Customer review by shjones

5.0 stars 1/24/2011 by shjones
by shjones

Like most of the reviews here, I was impressed with the final results of 3M's kit. It does take a while to do but it is well worth the effort. You will see lots of yellowed or frosted headlights on cars these days. I really got sick of mine and how dim they were. I wish I had done this a long time ago. It is a huge savings over replacing the lens. They are like new now and I'm pleased with the additional lighting I get out of them. My restoration was on a 96 Grand Caravan. The plastic lenses on cars really need this restoration process after 10+ years of sun and abrasion. My only criticism, (and it is no doubt in vain), is that they could easily give you more sanding media or enough to do more than a pair of headlights but they don't. If you are careful, you can probably do 4 headlights with the materials in the kit that they give you, (Depending on how bad the lenses are). I do think 3M has developed state of the art sanding and polishing media.

Was this review helpful? (138) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shjones
Smithfield, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Outstanding
1/25/2011

Customer review by JimmysRCourier

5.0 stars 1/25/2011 by JimmysRCourier
by JimmysRCourier

This product stands far ahead of all the others. Plan on about 25 minutes a lens. If your dill is battery operated charge them up before hand and grab a spray bottle (empty Windex container or so forth for spray water). Take you time read the instructions and the lights will shine again.

Was this review helpful? (78) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JimmysRCourier
Gridley California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
VALUE for the money
10/15/2010

Customer review by mporto

5.0 stars 10/15/2010 by mporto
by mporto

I got this product with a free $20 egiftcard I was sent for purchasing another product. Since I recently bought a new car, I thought I'd try this out. Reviews across the web give it a mostly positive rating. I have to say that I agree. It will not make your headlights look brand new, but if you do it right, the clarity that results is very good. If you wax the lenses after treatment, it's even better. TIPS: -When it says "extra sanding at this step will improve final clarity" put in the extra time to do it right. It makes a noticeable difference -Be sure to mask off the surrounding bodywork. An accidental graze will sand through the paint on your car. This may require extra masking tape (you will want to cover 2-3 inches of paint surrounding the headlight). EACH STEP COUNTS. WARNING: this is a sanding-based polishing system. After the first step you may be alarmed at the results, but press on, the end results are quite good.

Was this review helpful? (48) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mporto
Lee's Summit, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
One Great Product
7/31/2010

Customer review by FrankieAZ

5.0 stars 7/31/2010 by FrankieAZ
by FrankieAZ

I bought this Product and used it on my Jeep and Dodge Truck Headlights,The Results are Awesome.My Yellow Glazed Headlights were Restored to clear and I can see more light from my lamps at Night.This Kit really works.I used a standard Dewalt Corded Drill the RPM was little over.But it worked fine.

Was this review helpful? (54) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FrankieAZ
Tucson,AZ,USA,
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Never New Product Existed
7/21/2011

Customer review by LoveGadgets10

5.0 stars 7/21/2011 by LoveGadgets10
by LoveGadgets10

I did not know that a product like this existed. My cousin told me about it & I went online exploring. I found this product. This product is fantastic! It is simple as long as you read the instructions & take your time. My only suggestions are: Make sure you tape your car as shown; read the instuctions carefully ahead of time; take your time you will have enough to do more then one vehicle; also take a before & after picture. I bought this online for $15! Walmart has this cool thing that some items in the stores can be purchased for the online price & picked up in the store the same day. This was one of the items. I saved about $3. This product is definitely worth it no matter which amount you pay. The last thing I would like to mention is do not get scared when you first use this product & the lens becomes cloudy. It's supposed do that...it will eventually become VERY clear after you finish the process.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveGadgets10
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Amazing Results
3/17/2011

Customer review by TheFlyingHillBilly

5.0 stars 3/17/2011 by TheFlyingHillBilly
by TheFlyingHillBilly

What an amazing product!!! New lenses ($130.00) ea. restoration kit (under $20). The headlights look brand new. They were dull, yellow, scratched and now perfect. Don't get alarmed after the first few steps, when it looks worse than when you started, it will transform on the last steps to clear, clear lenses.

Was this review helpful? (28) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheFlyingHillBilly
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Well worth the money
9/5/2010

Customer review by abxyz

5.0 stars 9/5/2010 by abxyz
by abxyz

Just spent $25 on a "so called" much better product that failed to do the job. But I decided to give this MUCH cheaper product a go, and it worked like a dream. Took me longer than I anticipated, but the extra time taken is well worth it for the results obtained. My headlight is not as perfect as new, but you have got to inspect it pretty darn close to tell the difference. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this product. Well worth the $10 you spend.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
abxyz
Cape Coral, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Did the job
5/13/2011

Customer review by pakaya

3.0 stars 5/13/2011 by pakaya
by pakaya

Before I couldn't see the reflectors of my headlights clearly. Now they are like new. Just follow the instructions and don't worry about scratching the surface with sand papers! (I was bit worried whether I would left with ruined headlights). My only complaint is that they should have given at least 2xP3000 sand papers (instead 1). That one is ABSOLUTELY ESSENTIAL for final look and the 1 given gets worn off pretty quickly plus its seems not durable as other sand papers in the kit (that is why I am giving 3 stars for Overall Rating). Otherwise all 5 star product!

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pakaya
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Works As Advertised
8/8/2011

Customer review by fotolearner

4.0 stars 8/8/2011 by fotolearner
by fotolearner

I'm satisfied with the results on my '97 Buick Regal. Although one of the other reviewers is right: it's a function of how much effort that's put into it. I still have some haze left after going through the process once. However, 3M does caveat their instructions with a repeat-as-necesary note if there's still haze left. (See photos below.) I took my time, cleaning lenses and sanding pads frequently as recommended in other reviews. Also, double-taped the body well. I knew after completing the P800 step that I didn't get all the hazing, but by then I just wanted to complete the sanding steps. I agree with another reviewer that another P3000 pad would've been nice. It seems that the single one I had clogged up, despite frequent water sprayings. For sedan lights, the sanding does take a toll on your back after the P800 step - another reason to take frequent breaks. The P500 does skip around at certain pressures, as another reviewer warned. Maybe this fall I'll get another kit to see if I can get the rest of the hazing. I did purchase this using "pickup today" for the cheaper on-line price. Bottom line: the Buick's lights seem brighter and my efforts (not the kit's quality) were 80% effective. I recommend watching 3Mcarecare.com's video at least once (3 times for me). Their directions are good and easy to follow. One caution: when taping (I used 3M's Scotch blue painter's tape) be careful when taking it off at the end: I taped over a chipped area and removed more of the paint when I peeled off the tape. My thanks to other reviewers' warnings and suggestions! - August 6, 2011, Lenexa, KS.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fotolearner
Lenexa, Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Fantastic
7/25/2011

Customer review by papatuzz

5.0 stars 7/25/2011 by papatuzz
by papatuzz

I bought one kit and after reading that you may need two for larger headlights I bought a second kit before starting the repair. It turned out one kit would have been sufficient. I was worried about the need for a 1200 to 1600 rpm drill as all I had was a variable speed drill. I used a pretty low speed because I was worried about damaging the plastic. Then I used a dime sized amount of the polish on each headlight as per the instructions. I did that twice on each headlight and they looked good, but not quite as good as I expected. I still had the complete second kit so I decided to use it on my mothers van as her headlights were worse than mine. I sped up the rpms with the sandpaper and when it came to the polish, I used half the packet on each headlight and they came out looking brand new. Just amazing how great they looked. My headlights needed a bit more sanding and definately more polish, but I didn't want to buy a third kit, so I started looking around. I had plenty of the sandpaper left, so I used that and bought Meguiars PlastX for the polishing and they now look brand new. Some people say 3M should give you more of the polish than they do, but the problem, I think, is the dime size they tell you to use in the instructions. Just put about half the packet on each headlight and don't be afraid to crank up the drill...at least when using the polish and your headlights should come out sparkling new. If you need more of the polish, just get some of the Mequiars PlastX. Had I thought about this review I'd have taken before and after photos. Trust me, you won't be disappointed. Just make sure you get some good automotive painters tape to protect the body of your vehicle from the drill.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
papatuzz
Marion, In.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Great DIY product
12/29/2013

Customer review by scaner76

5.0 stars 12/29/2013 by scaner76
by scaner76

I have used 3M Headlight Restoration Kit on my vehicles and various friends vehicles and I still get amazed by the results. I have use 2 other products but none have gave me the same results. A few Tips: 1: Do this with time to spare, depends on how old and bad are the headlights, it will require time, rushing thru it will not give you the best results. 2: Follow the instructions, skipping steps will not end well. 3: On first step make sure all the yellow/bad stuff is off and sand until white plastic dust comes out; Step 2, dedicate some time to this step it will make surface smoother; Step 3, do not be shy and use to hearts content , this is the one that gives the end result, i personally rinse the pad and the headlight at least three times each before I'm done with it, I spend at least 15 minutes on each headlight on this step. 4: Electric drills work the best, unless you have awesome batteries. It is a money saving option, good luck!

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scaner76
Bartow, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Fantastic product. Easy to use & quick.
6/5/2011

Customer review by CTwalmarter

5.0 stars 6/5/2011 by CTwalmarter
by CTwalmarter

The headlight restoration kit comes with 500, 1000, and 2000 grit sanding pads, along with a polishing pad (and compound). It totally fixed the hazed headlights on two of my cars, although you'll have to buy another bottle of plastic polish to do more than one car. The sanding pads and polish applicator are durable enough to be used on a number of vehicles. It's a great product that absolutely works as advertised, restoring the headlights to 98% as clear as new. TIP You will only need the 500 grit pad on the worst-case, most yellowed, hazed, and opaque headlights. For more moderately hazed headlights, start with the 1000 grit pad, and keep WET sanding until you don't see any traces of the hazing. Move on to the next phase of sanding when the headlight is uniformly cloudy from the sanding process. Wash in between each step.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CTwalmarter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
7/2/2011

Customer review by PosterChild

5.0 stars 7/2/2011 by PosterChild
by PosterChild

Great results - I highly recommend this product. I took me about an hour all together on a 10 year old headlight. It was very faded. I paid $59 at one of those oil change places and the results were half-baked and faded within a year. I followed the directions and kept sanding. It was not until the purple pad and the rubbing compound that the headlight popped out as perfectly clear again. I used the whole kit on one headlight, but mine was pretty badly faded. $15 at Walmart - don't waste your money on "as seen on TV" nonsense. You have to work a bit on this one, but the science makes sense and the results are great.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PosterChild
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWESOME!
6/22/2010

Customer review by Flux1982

5.0 stars 6/22/2010 by Flux1982
by Flux1982

I bought this product after reading the previous review. I too was very skeptical but faced with $160.00 to purchase new lights, I decided i'd give it a try. It exceeded my expectations, the lights honestly look brand new! Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (15) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Flux1982
ocala, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Works as advertised....GREAT!
1/5/2014

Customer review by dskap201

5.0 stars 1/5/2014 by dskap201
by dskap201

Took me about 45 minutes to do both headlights. This product is among the least expensive and really brings your dull, frosty headlight back to new! I was impressed. Here are my "Before & After" photos

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dskap201
south shore Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Well Worth The Money
6/22/2011

Customer review by Jrc3

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by Jrc3
by Jrc3

I was really Impressed with this product. I was kinda worried about the sanding and such but when you hook it up to your drill and just make passes with that it makes it verry easy. The instructions were verry accurate so I would recommend to just read them through every step before you do it. The longer you take on them the Better they will look.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jrc3
KC, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Walmart associate
A fantastic product!
7/8/2012

Customer review by IS2000

5.0 stars 7/8/2012 by IS2000
by IS2000

I used this product on a 2000 Chevy Prizm and the headlights look brand new. I have nothing new to add that the previous reviews on this product haven't mentioned. I do recommend if you plan on using this product on your car I have two pieces of advice: (1) Wear a protective mask! The sanding process will generate a lot of fine particulates that will float in the air. You probably don't want to breathe this stuff in. (2) Be very generous with the recommended body masking tape. I had put a double layer of tape immediately on the body around the headlight assembly, but just used a single width. I should have doubled the width. At one point I let the drill get away from me during sanding and I accidentally messed up some of the paint on the top of the bumper. Since my car is 13 years old it isn't anything I am going to stress out about, but do put on two layers AND double the width around the edges of the headlight assembly.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IS2000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great results.. hard to find in store
11/19/2010

Customer review by agarzon

5.0 stars 11/19/2010 by agarzon
by agarzon

This product works as advertised. I have to confess that at first, when you pass the first disks and thoroughly scratch the headlight is very scary. But following the instructions carefully helps a lot. At the end, the headlights looked great. My one problem with this product was locating it at the store. I went to two different Walmart stores where the product was reported to be in stock, but I could not find it with the other headlight restore kits. I insisted to an associate that the product was there and he checked on-line to verify I was right. So he went, to a total different area, far from car care, and found a corner of 3M only products where the kit was!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
agarzon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Exceeded Expectation
12/2/2010

Customer review by maxdefcon

5.0 stars 12/2/2010 by maxdefcon
by maxdefcon

This product worked as advertised and even exceeded my expectation. Follow the instructions and your project should come out looking great. I was recently given a van and just one of the headlights were fogged (other one was replaced recently due to it getting cracked). Looks brand new again!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
maxdefcon
Perrysburg, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
1-20 of 195 total reviews
1-20 of 195 reviews