Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 429 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

429 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

429 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
181
4 stars
108
3 stars
54
2 stars
26
1 stars
60
1-20 of 371 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 371 total reviews
1-20 of 371 reviews
ONE OF THE BEST!!
9/26/2011

Customer review by misterwade

5.0 stars 9/26/2011 by misterwade
by misterwade

I have owned the R451C for almost 2 years and have been more than satisfied I have been amazed. The phone I have dropped more than once and the durability surprises me and it has all the features of the big money phones and NO CONTRACTS OR HIDDEN FEES, CONNECTIVITY CHARGES, SURCHARGES OR SCRATCH YOUR NOSE SURPRISE CHARGES. That is the greatest feature and I can have unlimited facebook, sports/ football scores with pictures and headlines, news and up to date weather reports. I was not a text person till I got this phone with the qwerty keyboard and now all I do is text. I can switch from the $45 to $30 if I do or don't plan to use more minutes and most of the time the $30 plan is enough. GREAT PHONE AND SERVICE! WOULD RECOMMEND TO MOMS AND DADS TOO, FOR THE KIDS. The only problem I found was the keyboard lock feature is too easy too operate and my phone sometimes calls people while in my pocket. takes great pictures but the ringer is very low for my deaf ears other than that its great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
misterwade
alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Value
11/12/2010

Customer review by hardane

4.0 stars 11/12/2010 by hardane
by hardane

I've had my phone for almost a full year. It has worked very well even though I fell and landed on it the first week I had it. The phone part works fine, and it's great for texting. The camera is OK, but not that great compared to what most phone cameras will do. However, it has delivered some very nice pictures. The web browser is minimal, but OK for checking email. Overall, I'm very pleased with this phone.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hardane
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
HORRIBLE HORRIBLE PHONE
7/18/2011

Customer review by RuD3B01

2.0 stars 7/18/2011 by RuD3B01
by RuD3B01

THIS IS A HORRIBLE PHONE. DO NOT BUY. EVEN THOUGH THIS PHONE MAY LOOK ALL HANDY AND DANDY, ITS NOT. YOU SEE ALL THE REVIEWS ON THIS PHONE ALL NICE AND STUFF. WELL THATS AFTER A WHILE IS WHEN ALL THE TROUBLE STARTS. THIS PHONE WAS GREAT WHEN I FIRST GOT IT. I THOUGHT IT WAS THE PERFECT PHONE FOR ME. THIS PHONE DID NOT MEET ALL MY EXPECTATIONS. IVE HAD THIS PHONE FOR OVER A YEAR AND IVE HAD 2 REPLACEMENT PHONES. THE KEYBOARD IS COMING APART AND THE BLUETOOTH CAPABILITY STARTS TO ACT UP AFTER A WHILE. DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE. IVE HAD TO CALL STRAIGHTTALK TECH SUPPORT OVER 100 TIMES DURING THE PAST YEAR. I HATE THIS PHONE. I KNOW 3 PEOPLE THAT HAVE HAD THIS PHONE AND THEIR SLIDER HAS BROKEN TOO. I THOUHGT IT WAS JUST BECAUESE THEY WERENT TAKING CARE OF THEIR PHONE AND IT WAS JUST COMING APART BUT THIS WAS A MANUFACTERUER PROBLEM. THIS IS A HORRIBLE. DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RuD3B01
Artesia,MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome connection but the telephone is 2nd rate.
7/8/2011

Customer review by ConservativeDan

4.0 stars 7/8/2011 by ConservativeDan
by ConservativeDan

I have several friends with this exact phone and plan and they all love it. When I found out that if I buy a CDMA mode phone I would still keep using Verizon network I was previously using I was sold. First off, activating the phone and switching my phone number could not have been much easier. I call Straight Talk and 20 minutes later, it was complete. I love using the Verizon network as I always have a great connection. However that is where my praise ends. The phone itself is lacking the same quality that I am used to with my previous phones. When I make a call, I hear a lot of crackling that I did not have before with my old phone. The ring volume is only about 60% as loud as my previous LG phone. When I use the speakerphone, there is a lot of rattle noise in the speaker. The internet menus are old school quality from what I am use to with my old LG phone, I guess I was spoiled by Verizon. You will also have a very hard time finding any phone specific accessories for this phone beside chargers in your local store. Checking your usage is not easy as it should be either. I do like the keyboard, even though I am not one to text much. I also like the display as I can read it without my reading glasses which I could not do with my older LG phone. I also loved not having a contract or having to pay an activation fee. I guess when you use a discount service provider such as Straight Talk, you get phones that are geared for a discount price market. Would I recommend this phone and service? Yes! I love the fact that I can still use the Verizon network without paying their premium pricing. Straight Talk made switching over easy and quick. I just don't care for this Samsung phone, to be honest, I expect higher quality from them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ConservativeDan
Central Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Phone
8/20/2010

Customer review by MomOf2gIrls710

4.0 stars 8/20/2010 by MomOf2gIrls710
by MomOf2gIrls710

My boyfriend and I both have this phone. This phone works great. The first one I bought from the store fell off of my couch while charging, while keyboard was open, and the Qwerty keyboard didn't work after that. I returned that phone to WalMart, no hassles and I got another one. Not had a problem since. My only complaint is that the ringer is extremely low when someone is actually calling. When you preview the ringtones it is louder. A word of advice for anyone not yet in the Straight Talk network. If you have any issues that arise, DO NOT CALL THE CUSTOMER SERVICE NUMBER. Google the corporate office number in Miami. The regular customer service number support is horrid. They outsource these calls to India, and you will be on hold forever. Ever since I read online to call corporate, any issue I have ever had was resolved immediately with almost no wait time. I am extremely happy with my service and phone. I do not plan on switching any time soon!

Was this review helpful? (404) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomOf2gIrls710
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Talk about a "smart" plan
6/25/2011

Customer review by Reangered001

5.0 stars 6/25/2011 by Reangered001
by Reangered001

I have had my R451C and the 45$ a month unlimited plan for 6 months now. The plan is awesome and works exactly as advertised. I can text, call, and access the internet unlimited. It's rare you find a deal that is true advertising. Now, is my R451C a smart phone that can truly utilize unlimited internet access? Nope. But I can access all the internet features I need from my phone. I have 4 teenagers who's lives revolves around texting. I have not only found a new way to make sure that I at least have the opportunity, but also the means with which to stay in my teen's lives 24/7. This is not the fastest program you CAN find. This is not a SMART phone. This is a great phone, with a great plan, at a great price. Ive never been late for a refill and as such Ive never had a problem. I recommend this plan(and phone) to all my friends and co-workers and to anyone who reads this review. The camera is good, the options are good, and the plan is fantastic. Thank you Walmart from a truly satisfied customer.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Reangered001
Loretto, Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Phone & Good Service
12/14/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/14/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The phone is good enough, but not great. I got my phone for free. I wouldn't pay $99 for this phone or any phone. All the phone functions work well. Pro: I had a problem scratching the Phone Card pin numbers off and lost a few of the pin numbers needed to activate the service, so I had to contact Straight Talk Customer Service. Straight Talk Customer Service did an excellent job in solving the problem quickly. Yes, Customer Service sounds like they are from India, but I could understand them, they were very polite and efficient and I was only on hold for 5 minutes. Cons: Camera button engages camera too easily resulting in unwanted camera function. The Web function works in a limited way. I can't fully access any web page and moving around web pages is awkward at best and on some pages impossible. So, it's OK for checking my yahoo email and real simple stuff. Maybe the Web service will improve or I will improve. For the money it's a way better deal than I had with Verizon or Sprint.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Indianapolis, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great phone and service for the price
9/9/2010

Customer review by YahooMTDew

5.0 stars 9/9/2010 by YahooMTDew
by YahooMTDew

I live in a rural area and my other carrier had severe service problems. I debated about switching because even though I did not have great home service, I carried the phone for safety reasons. The Samsung phone is very functional, works just as good as my Razr with a few more features. I won't say that I don't miss my Razr, as it did a few things that the Samsung did. They keys are a little small for us big fingered people. The slider keyboard is great!!!! I wish I had gotten one much earlier. The value was great. If your with a major carrier and buy a phone outright, they take you to the cleaners or lock you into a two year contract to get a "free" or reduce cost phone. If Straight Talk can sell a phone this cheap, why can't the major carriers? If you hesitant about switching as I was, buy the cheap phone and card and try it for a month, and you will be switching!!!!

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YahooMTDew
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
INDESTRUCTABLE
11/27/2010

Customer review by besttvintheworld

5.0 stars 11/27/2010 by besttvintheworld
by besttvintheworld

This is a great phone, it is off of Verizon towers so you know it has great service. This phone is an amazing phone not only because of the features, but because it can take a beating. I am not the type of person to abuse expensive electronics, but accidents do happen. I dropped this phone in a toilet, up until this day I still can't believe that it still works, but a few weeks ago I was outside and it fell out of my case. I didn't realize it until I went to make a call. The next morning I found it because it was already dark when I lost it. this phone has been sitting out in the rain all night, still works, no problems. Just like a brand new phone. However I do recommend looking at the service carrier under specifications because some phones are Tracfone, AT&T, T-Mobile, and Verizon, this phone is Verizon. I am happy with it. I couldn't be happier.

Was this review helpful? (37) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
besttvintheworld
Midland, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy Phone To Work!!
1/21/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/21/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

If you already have a phone similar to this one, like I did previously with Sprint,.. you will LOVE this phone. There are no extra steps to do to add a contact or to send an email. This phone is sooo easy to use. It's a little sensitive though.. and maybe i haven't figured out how to turn it completely off, so you don't make a butt call, but this phone is soo amazing. It's like a phone for dummies. So easy to pull the qwerty keyboard out and use and the picture flips. It's also a great camera and easy to take photos. I can't say enough good things about this phone.. you won't regret it.. and especially to be on such a lower payment plan for unlimited texting and talking.. who can even come close to the $45 a month plan. Ends up being $51 after tax.. I was paying over $70 a month with Sprint.. and only if I didn't go over my minutes.. such a relief to have one price that i know will never change.. YEAH WALMART STRAIGHT TALK!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Nasshville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The everyday cell phone
10/17/2010

Customer review by 60monies

4.0 stars 10/17/2010 by 60monies
by 60monies

I'm finished with giving away my hard earned cash and being chained to a contract. This phone is not an iphone but it's everything I needed without the frills. It is thicker that most cell phones but if holding on to a tiny, thin phone and locating it in your purse was difficult, this is the phone for you! It takes good pictures, the speaker phone is clear, and it is easy to use. If you do decide to use an existing cell number, it will take several hours for the service to transfer your number. $45 a month is a small price to pay to have unlimited minutes, text, and internet. Why pay a service provider who dictates when & how you can use your cell phone anyway? It's a great deal!

Was this review helpful? (352) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
60monies
Northport, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value for the money!
8/7/2010

Customer review by musicman707

5.0 stars 8/7/2010 by musicman707
by musicman707

This is a great phone! I've had it about 2 weeks so far but am really enjoying it. The sliding QWERTY keypad makes texting simple and and yet keeps the phone compact. The sound quality of the earpiece is excellent, and I've been told by those I talk to on the other end that the phone mic works well, too. The camera takes great pics. The phone works pretty well with the internet, too. So far the only negative I've found is that the keys on the QWERTY keypad are a little difficult to push. But the good side is this makes it harder to accidentally type the wrong characters. I haven't tried the mp3 player yet but am looking forward to giving that a try soon, too. Overall I am extremely satisfied with this phone.

Was this review helpful? (265) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
musicman707
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome cell phone
5/15/2011

Customer review by Watchingeverydollar

5.0 stars 5/15/2011 by Watchingeverydollar
by Watchingeverydollar

I was very pleased with my cell phone purchase. Set up and transport of my old number to my new phone was a breeze. Having connectivity to the outside world no matter where I am at - PRICELESS. Previously, I used a cell phone for emergency purposes only and bought minutes every 2 months. As my minutes started to get down, I would stop using the phone. With Straight Talk, the $30/month plan for 1,000 minutes is all that I need. Yes - I use the phone for more than emergencies - it is my main contact number now since anyone can reach me any time of the day - PRICELESS when you have kids and aging parents. Thanks Walmart for offering an AWESOME product at an affordable price. A++++++

Was this review helpful? (59) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Watchingeverydollar
New Castle, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Surprisingly Nice Phone
8/7/2011

Customer review by nanahoney56

5.0 stars 8/7/2011 by nanahoney56
by nanahoney56

I went from a touch screen smartphone to this... wasn't thrilled about it but now that I have it, I LOVE it! Was tired of paying so much to have Verizon drop calls at my house, but thought for $30/month, I would get a CDMA Straight Talk phone and live with it. This phone is a breeze to text on (I have fat thumbs and short nails), the display is beautiful, and I haven't dropped a call in the several days I've had it- unheard of with my old smartphone. If you need a phone you can play on for hours, this isn't the phone for you (personally, I use my Nook Color for that), but if you want a solid phone that's nice for texting and don't want a huge bill every month, I would highly recommend this phone!!! For those who may not know, you will need a CDMA phone for Verizon tower service and GSM phone for ATT tower service.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nanahoney56
Ithaca, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
AMAZING PHONE!!!
12/28/2010

Customer review by iloveeyouuu

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by iloveeyouuu
by iloveeyouuu

This phone is amazing. Im what they call a technology nerd, so when i seen this phone i new i had to have it. I usually went for nokia because they are the best phone but this phone is wayyy better! Its so easy to use and its worth the money. I have had mine for almost a year and i haven't had any trouble with it at all. The internet is supper fast and the pictures are great! It took some time getting used to it buttt once you do its sooo easy. I get service anywhere and everywhere and i never have a drop call! i definitely say this is the phone you should choose!

Was this review helpful? (70) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iloveeyouuu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
Great phone at a great price
8/10/2010

Customer review by T0nyNder

5.0 stars 8/10/2010 by T0nyNder
by T0nyNder

This phone sells for around $100 but when I bought it online as opposed to the store it came with the first 30 days included (in the form of a 1,000 minute 30 day card) so really, the phone only cost $70. I love this phone. I also love Straight talk. I used to use BoostMobile and I got so sick of the pitiful network, minimal internet, slow and unreliable messaging, and the junky phone (the good phones were expensive). After switching, all the places I had no signal with Boost I get great signal with StraightTalk. I am very happy I switched.

Was this review helpful? (85) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
T0nyNder
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Great Solid Phone!!
9/28/2010

Customer review by allewell

5.0 stars 9/28/2010 by allewell
by allewell
Top 1000 contributor

I had my doubts when I first purchased this phone, but once I got it I realized I should have bought this a while ago!! What I love most about this phone (and the whole reason why I bought it) is because of the QWERTY Keyboard. At first it was something new to get used to, but now I've got the hang of it. The buttons require a bit of effort to push, but I think of it as a good thing, because there are definitely a lot less errors in my texts. Secondly, it has a nice good sized screen, I mean it's no Droid or anything, but it's enough to do what you go to do. When pulling out the keyboard, the screen flips automatically. The camera works great! It takes really nice, crystal clear pictures which can be sent via pix message to anyone. I was a little sad to find that the phone couldn't send or even take videos. That was definitely a bummer :( . Another thing that kind of bummed me out is that the phone doesn't seem to have a lot of internal memory for text messages. Right around the time I hit about 70 messages in my inbox and outbox (about 125-140 total) my phone prompts me to delete everything. But when you think about it, do you really need old text messages anyway? The ringtones on the phone are nothing special, but you can always buy ringtones from Straight Talk online. I, however tried to do that, but it didn't seem like it was a secure place for a credit card, so I opted out. Phone call quality sounds good and clear, and I am told by others that I sound clear from their perspective. The internet works on it pretty good, connections are relatively fast, and you can get on facebook, or wherever you need to to check your email. So overall I think it's a good solid phone. It's a little bulky, but that's what I personally like about it. Talking on it is comfortable, it doesn't get too hot, it's nice and sturdy for texting. I really love this phone and I wish I would have bought it a while ago! I currently have the $45 a month plan from Straight Talk and it works great! I can text/call anyone at anytime and get on the internet whenever I want. I highly recommend this to anyone that wants a stylish reliable phone, and a great phone plan. Thanks for reading!! :)

Was this review helpful? (708) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
allewell
Lock Haven, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Nice keyboard & functions
5/27/2011

Customer review by aleash

4.0 stars 5/27/2011 by aleash
by aleash

This is my first slider phone and I love it. I can lock & put on vibrate with the touch of a button and if Im talking & I slide it open it automatically goes to speaker - awesome. The only downside I can think of is that it doesnt hold many text messages. That said I just lock the ones I might want for later and then use the erase messages option to clean it out daily with a few clicks, no biggie. It takes pretty good pics too. I like that the side button is easy to take self pics.

Was this review helpful? (41) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aleash
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Signal Strength
5/15/2011

Customer review by TaxedOut

4.0 stars 5/15/2011 by TaxedOut
by TaxedOut

I have owned this phone almost 2 years now. One of the first things I noticed when I got it was the signal strength was better than all of my previous phones, I have signal where I had none before. As far as internet goes, it has mobile web which is really slow and text based, so i don't use the web on it. But on the other hand, it is great for making and receiving calls that I cant afford to miss, and texting is great on this phone, Slide out keyboard is easy fun and easy to use. I been wanting to replace this phone with a smartphone like android based but can't find one with any signal. So I now own 2 phones, this one that I use for calls and texting and an android phone for web. Anyway, this phone does get a great signal, thats why I use it for my main phone line. I have been out in the middle of nowhere and surprisingly still getting texts where my smartphone had nothing. Also, this phone has a 1.3mp camera that's not too bad, just make sure to wipe the lens off before taking picture and hold phone really still when taking pic. I use the camera often as well. It takes a micro SD card and is required for music player. I have a 8 gig card in mine but I don't believe it's made for that big of a card cause if I put too much music on the card the phone gets slow when loading music and sometimes restarts. I would suggest a 2 or 4 gig card. Overall, I would differently recommend this phone to anyone that's fighting a signal problem and can live without the internet on the phone.

Was this review helpful? (36) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TaxedOut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT PHONE buttt...
5/28/2011

Customer review by newleashonlife30

1.0 stars 5/28/2011 by newleashonlife30
by newleashonlife30

I am in love with the straight talk service itself and I will never go through another service. However, there are two choices with this phone. You either get service from the verizon towers, or at&t. Well, my suggestion to everyone is STAY AWAY FROM THE AT&T ones. I purchased the phone with a warning from the sales associate that customers were coming back in complaing about the service; that they could never recieve a signal. (I wish I would have listened to her) So, just a friendly heads-up :)

Was this review helpful? (64) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
newleashonlife30
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 371 total reviews
1-20 of 371 reviews