Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 87 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

87 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

87 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
26
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 stars
10
1-20 of 72 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews
Best value i could find
8/26/2010

Customer review by Drizzol

5.0 stars 8/26/2010 by Drizzol
by Drizzol

Overall this is the best value i could find, i have sold sprint and at&t phones along with net 10, trac phone and boost. I was also a verizon member for 4yrs and i tried out net 10. I'm not very big on cell phones, but i feel they are pretty necessary nowadays. I have had this service since November '09 and have not had any issues with it. "CONS" The web browsing is slow, but for the price its better than dial up. The phone doesn't record video, which makes sense because it doesn't have an sd slot but it was expected since it has a camera. Also at the beginning of every call it says the balance, which is very annoying especially when one knows they have plenty of minutes ( last month i was at over 70hrs of talk time). Pros: cheap, works almost everywhere, minutes, text and web all rolled over (except when i got over 80hrs i think it reset.) Can record my voice as a ring tone. Verdict: The service is well priced for those who don't need unlimited but use over 400min/month and 200texts, nothing out there comes close. The web browsing is cool if only for the fact that it doesn't cost extra.

Was this review helpful? (128) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Drizzol
Eureka, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Value
10/16/2010

Customer review by Outcast

4.0 stars 10/16/2010 by Outcast
by Outcast

The numbers are large, the setup is very much like other phones which make it easy to change over to. The monthly charge is a great value. I'm saving $86.00 a month...goodbye Sprint!!!

Was this review helpful? (74) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Outcast
Picayune, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT VALUE!
9/19/2010

Customer review by wvcop

4.0 stars 9/19/2010 by wvcop
by wvcop

I received my LG 290C on time. The online setup was easier than expected and setting up voice mail was a breeze. The features included on this phone are a great value for the price. I use Straight Talks option to purchase 3 month unlimited talk cards. The per month charge is the same but you don't have the hassle of recharging time each month. The only down side is that the browser is slow and knocks you off often but for the price of the phone and monthly cost, you can't beat it.

Was this review helpful? (66) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wvcop
Logan, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good cellphone
8/18/2010

Customer review by mgsmith

5.0 stars 8/18/2010 by mgsmith
by mgsmith

The phone seems to be a good phone. It has a lot of good options on it and we are pleased with it so far.

Was this review helpful? (54) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mgsmith
Gassville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Phone with Straight Talk package
12/10/2010

Customer review by ACSCO

5.0 stars 12/10/2010 by ACSCO
by ACSCO

good phone for the basics...battery life is decent, ease of use is good, the Smart Talk package works for me and this phone uses the Verizon towers/network which seems to have better coverage in my area. The $30.00/mo. for 1000 minutes/1000 texts beats my old AT&T package. I'm very satisfied with the deal.

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ACSCO
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice looking phone with some issues
11/23/2010

Customer review by GoofyGirl3

3.0 stars 11/23/2010 by GoofyGirl3
by GoofyGirl3

I have only had the phone for about a week, and at least 3 people have complained of me cutting out during our conversations. I'm not sure if it is the phone or the service, but I will be returning the phone and trying out a different one. Besides that, I really like the look of the phone, and it has alot of nice features. But since this is my main phone (no home phone) I would like to have decent conversations on it.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoofyGirl3
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best cell I ever had
9/3/2010

Customer review by RetiredAFSarge

5.0 stars 9/3/2010 by RetiredAFSarge
by RetiredAFSarge

Great phone, clear, distinct voice, easy web access, and one of the great things is I normally only have to charge it after 3 days of use. My last LG phone had to be charged almost every evening, and would squeel in my ear on incoming calls. You'll like it!!

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RetiredAFSarge
Austin Area, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not worth the money I paid for it
8/9/2010

Customer review by Cowgirl213

1.0 stars 8/9/2010 by Cowgirl213
by Cowgirl213

I do not like this phone because it keeps dropping all my calls and when you speak it gets blurby and I can hear my own voice come across the phone when I am speaking to someone. This makes two of the same phones I have had. The first one done the same thing

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cowgirl213
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome Phone
3/22/2011

Customer review by takeapic3

5.0 stars 3/22/2011 by takeapic3
by takeapic3

This is a great phone gets great service it runs off of verizon towers so it gets bout the same signal that a verizon phone would get. In our area we have a hard time finding phones that get good service and this one gets great service!!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
takeapic3
woodville,fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LG 290 Fails the most simple expectations
3/24/2011

Customer review by DissappointedIdaho

1.0 stars 3/24/2011 by DissappointedIdaho
by DissappointedIdaho

I purchased an LG 290 with Tracfone service from my local Walmart about a year ago. My expectations were not high, all I needed was a simple phone that would make and take calls. I chose an inexpensive phone (LG290) that had good reviews at the time and was attracted by the prepaid / pay when you need it plan. At first I was just a little disappointed in the phone. I had trouble hearing people and vice versa, calls would randomly drop even when the battery was full and the signal was strong. After using the phone for approx. 3 weeks it started to reset itself about once a minute. I went through the proper channels to get it fixed, (the worst customer service experience I've ever had, but that will be addressed on the proper forum.) Two weeks later I finally get a replacement phone, a brand new shiny LG 290. I had good hopes for this second phone thinking the first one was just a bad apple. Then after two months of dealing with bad audio and dropped calls the second phone developed the same failure as the first... It resets itself at least one a minute. Two more weeks of waiting and I got my 3rd LG 290. This one still had bad audio and dropped a lot of calls but it did last longer. 8 months later I'm watching my latest replacement LG 290 as it refuses to stay on a full minute. Thanks for the quality product! RJ

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DissappointedIdaho
Idaho Falls, ID
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
It's An Alright Phone
8/15/2010

Customer review by TxtrGirll

4.0 stars 8/15/2010 by TxtrGirll
by TxtrGirll

There are pro's & con's to this phone: PRO'S: Fast internet Fast pix messaging Easy to use CON'S: I got this phone in april, and at the end of june, it started acting wierd. it kept turning itself off and wouldn't let me use it at all. It wouldn't let me recieve texts or anything. I had to keep it turned off for 3 or 4 days for it to work again. And then it did it again the next month. I know of 3 other people who have the same phone and it did the same exact thing to them. I would not recommend getting this phone.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TxtrGirll
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Very Reliable Product
5/3/2011

Customer review by xWilyKitx

4.0 stars 5/3/2011 by xWilyKitx
by xWilyKitx

I've had this phone for almost a year, and am very pleased with its performance. I do not reccommend dropping it into the ocean, for it will cause it to glitch, but other than that incident I am very pleased with this phone's durability and its dependability. I took a trip to Florida, and I had service the entire trip, except in Tennessee. StraightTalk in general is a wonderful idea and I am very pleased with the service I have had in the 10 1/2 months I've been with StraightTalk.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xWilyKitx
Mount Washington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This is my second LG 290C Phone
6/10/2011

Customer review by rebeinc

5.0 stars 6/10/2011 by rebeinc
by rebeinc

This is my 2nd LG 290C Phone as I needed to replace my first one. It has great features and the 30$ per month card which has plenty of minutes and 30 mega bytes of browser. It also has 1000 text messages available. It is a very good phone and probably would get this phone again unless something better becomes available for straight talk plans.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rebeinc
Albany New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome
12/27/2010

Customer review by suzset

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by suzset
by suzset

I have had this phone for a year. Still works great. The service, excellent. Allows me to make the calls and text. And great photos of my children.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
suzset
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
One headache afte another
9/21/2010

Customer review by kateplus1

2.0 stars 9/21/2010 by kateplus1
by kateplus1

I bought this phone in March of 2010 and have used it since then. At first it worked great, but then it started shutting itself off when I would slide it open. It is not just me this is happening to. Two of my friends have the same phone and it does it to them too. The Straight Talk service and plans are a great deal for what I am looking for. I am now looking for a new phone with this plan or switching to a different one. DO NOT buy this phone.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kateplus1
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
the best phone for price and TAKES ABUSE
9/22/2011

Customer review by JUSTME48

5.0 stars 9/22/2011 by JUSTME48
by JUSTME48

I HAVE USED THIS PHONE FOR OVER A YEAR. DROPPED IT A FEW TIMES. NO PROBLEM. I HAVE DROPPED THIS IN WATER X 2. DRIED THE PHONE WITH HEAT. STILL WORKS GREAT

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JUSTME48
ILLINOIS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great phone
11/3/2010

Customer review by anonZ

5.0 stars 11/3/2010 by anonZ
by anonZ

Had a Moto Flip phone...then started to white screen! This LG 290C is just what I need. Not too high-tech, but has great features for common folks!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
anonZ
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good phone value w/ poor documentation
9/1/2010

Customer review by wonderdog55

4.0 stars 9/1/2010 by wonderdog55
by wonderdog55

The LG 290c straight talk phone, with its included 1000 min ph card is well worth the price and functions well for routine calls, texting, web browsing and digital picture taking. BUT, the "User Manual" that accompanies the product, and the electronic version on StraightTalk's website are abysmal. If you're well versed with cell phone operations and setup, etc., it's a good deal. If you need to be able to look up "how to" features that are anything other than basic, however, look elsewhere for a phone with a real users manual, instead of a terse brochure that is called a manual.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wonderdog55
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Definitely worth a try!
5/3/2012

Customer review by funkymusic

4.0 stars 5/3/2012 by funkymusic
by funkymusic

This is the third time I've owned this phone. When I gave up my landline phone last year, I searched for this particular phone because I had owned one previously when I was on a Sprint contract, and I knew it would work well in the rural area where I live. I purchased the first one in Nov 2011, but unfortunately it was damaged beyond repair just a short while ago. I got another phone, (different brand#, but I was very unhappy with it, so I ordered another one of these. The call quality is good, as well as the reception. I live in a heavily wooded area, and it works great for me. #FYI: this phone is a CDMA phone, which means it works off the Verizon network, not AT&T's!) Fortunately for me, it works great due to my area being served largely by Verizon. I have no problem calling from anywhere in my house. I do not have to stand by a door or window or sit in one particular spot to make and receive calls. The speaker phone works good too. I do sometimes have problems hearing on the speakerphone when I am driving due to background noise. But I don't drive and talk on the phone at the same time very often so it's not a problem. The large numbers make it easy to dial. Texting is cumbersome due to not having a QWERTY keyboard, but it's still manageable. This phone comes with quite a few ringtones you can pick from, so you shouldn't have to worry about having to purchase additional ones. The camera picture quality is so-so. You can also access the internet with it, but it's on the slow side. I think the best use for this phone is making/receiving phone calls. If you want bells & whistles, look for something else. The phone serves my purposes, so I would definitely purchase yet another one if necessary.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
funkymusic
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Phone has held up great
10/4/2011

Customer review by bec4

5.0 stars 10/4/2011 by bec4
by bec4

I have had this phone for nearly 2 years now. I am now having some problems with it. It will randomly power down even though the battery is full. Though it has never done that in the middle of a call. It also no longer tells me when I have voicemails, I just have to check occasionally to make sure I'm not missing anything important. BUT I can understand why it would have some problems after all that I have put it through. And really, I can deal with the few problems I have until I have enough to afford one of the new Straight Talk smart phones! Here's what this phone has been through, and why I am AMAZED that it even works at all. It has been dropped a million times, on carpet and concrete. It has been dropped in both the toilet and a running sink. It has been dropped, thrown and smashed into walls. It does of course have many scratches, of which I am at fault. But all of the buttons still work, the screen still works great, sound works great. After all it has been through, those are the only two problems I have. As far as the service itself, I have had very few problems with it. When I did, customer service was very helpful. I think a lot of the complaints I hear are more about the user and not the service. If you don't understand your service options I can see how things would get confusing and cause problems.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bec4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews