Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 71 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

71 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

71 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
42
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 65 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 65 total reviews
1-20 of 65 reviews
Nicely Surprised
8/16/2010

Customer review by 50Fabulous

4.0 stars 8/16/2010 by 50Fabulous
by 50Fabulous

I finally had it with my current company after they convieniently did a temp disconnect on the same day that I was to be eligible for an upgrade, a new phone, and a different plan.All due from being told by them to wait for credit due on my bill.When I called and told them my phone was accidently turned off, they said I had to pay the full amount of the bill even though it was the wrong amount and in the area of over $300, then I would receive credit in 6-8 weeks!!So I wenrt to Walmart after that and talked to several customers I picked this phone with this plan and so far I have had no problems. Easy to navigate and set up, plenty of minutes and text and a decent amount of MB for web browsing. Who cares if it doesn't have a camera. Besides most cell phones with cameras are hooked to the company photosite and if you disconnect you are not allowed access anymore so you lose all your pictures anyway.This is an LG phone good quality fast texting and fairly fast web connects.No doubt in my mind I will continue with this phone and the company.And I pay the same amount every month and no longer have to worry about overages and access fees and exise fees and whatnot fees.Its great. Get it.Just remember when you go online to activate to let the person on the phone know that this is a phone package with minutes already attached and that you dont have to purchase a minutes card seperately even though they might argue with you re-process your activation and it will go through without the need of entering a pin from a minutes card as you wont need a pin with this package then after that you can autopay setup and they will tell you exactly how much they will charge and you can even set up the day you want to pay. That's nice. It made me a prepaid believer now after all these years of overpaying all those other cell phone companies.!!

Was this review helpful? (155) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
50Fabulous
Billings, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Customer Service iffy-keep trying-Its Worth it!!!
9/17/2010

Customer review by LuvtheDeal

5.0 stars 9/17/2010 by LuvtheDeal
by LuvtheDeal

I bought this phone(Aug 09)to try out Straight Talk wireless. Previous phone plan was $83 & change every month. Straight Talk's plan offered similar plan to what I had. This phone worked GREAT right out of the box. I worried about customer service-I had read other peoples struggles. Not only was my number transfered properly, it was done within minutes-literally. The call quality was much better than I expected, plus I had service where friends with iExpensivetoy phones didn't. Phone came w/a lot of ringtones(30+) pre-loaded, not too bad. Tones weren't too generic, some got old after 8-10 months,but you can customize specific tones to numbers, text, alert, alarm, etc. The phones web browser was ok- it wasn't super fast, but you could google, use ebay, get directions, etc. Web browser quit working after phone was thrown out window. **BUT the PLUS side about the customer service-and this company- was when I called about non-working browser & they couldn't fix it, they offered to send me a NEW PHONE(same model)at NO COST(replacing it OVER a YEAR AFTER purchase)- only catch - I would be with out a phone for the time to send current phone to them & time to wait to get new phone. I was told this could take 3 days for it to reach them, then up to 2-3 days for new phone to get to me.But, I had decided I wanted to upgrade(before I called) so I declined their offer- BUT had to let people know this company may have shot in the dark customer service, but hang in there and call back if you have to, they will do their best to work with you and make you happy. (Offering a replacement phone on a $30 pre-paid is quite remarkable. Previous carrier I was w/didn't do this & I had insurance on phone) Customer Service is hit or miss but make sure you have time to call(more than 10 minutes- offer to replace phone took almost 35 min) Even if you have issues with customer service- its hard to beat what you get for the money. Plus, no contract gives you the freedom to opt for whatever plan you need from month to month.

Was this review helpful? (110) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LuvtheDeal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Great Value
9/14/2010

Customer review by Nana1206

5.0 stars 9/14/2010 by Nana1206
by Nana1206

I just have to say that this little phone is a keeper. I got it for my husband when his Verizon contract ended. It's similar to his old phone, but has more to offer. I was really shocked when it took me all of 15 minutes to activate and port his same phone number. I was expecting problems because of the reviews I have read here. Not a single problem!! I followed the directions included and he now has twice as many minutes for less cost. I activated online early in the morning. Read the literature, charge the phone first, and follow the directions. You won't be sorry. It's not a fancy phone, but it's not a fancy price either. No complaints here.

Was this review helpful? (63) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nana1206
Evansville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very happy
9/3/2010

Customer review by jacksmommy123

5.0 stars 9/3/2010 by jacksmommy123
by jacksmommy123

My husband and i choose straight talk because we were told they use verizon towers. we live in a little tiny town in middle of no where. I had at&t prepaid for 60 a month for unlimited talk and text. the reception was so horrible we had to do something because i am due to have a baby in about a month. so we got one of the cheapest straight talk phone and activated it I have full bars in the apartment that had the horrble reception so i am very happy about that

Was this review helpful? (53) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jacksmommy123
millersburg, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Living in the wild
11/17/2010

Customer review by Bushytailed

4.0 stars 11/17/2010 by Bushytailed
by Bushytailed

There are many reasons my wife, and I chose to live in what most city dwellers would consider to be the wild. As with most decisions, one will way up all the pros, and cons, and make a (or at least attempt) calculated decision. Before the battle of the weigh up, we never even included cell phone coverage into this contest. This came quite naturally, seeing that we certainly wouldn't be moving to a remote area to be more 'connected'. But the issue of not being connected at all, did raise concern. When this reality settled, and I finally shed all the denial, that can crop up when you have to put your iphone to one side, we decided to get a tracfone. I learnt (by the demise of my iphone's GSM coverage) that CDMA was the only way to go here, and that pretty much covered the phone's criteria. Needless to say the phone itself had to perform miracles, by setting signal in the most improbable of places. And sound legible. We first chose one of the cheapest tracfones we could find. Thinking that a cheap phone would be very good at doing the very basic. Only then to realize that getting signal wasn't only about the network you are on. We went back, and got this lg220 on the recommendation of the salesperson at walmart. And it's performed quite brilliantly. In short, this phone has performed small miracles n improbable places.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bushytailed
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Decent basic cell, but can't get bluetooth to work
8/10/2010

Customer review by jeffreno

4.0 stars 8/10/2010 by jeffreno
by jeffreno

This is an economical phone that is pretty basic, and does NOT have a camera. The battery life is excellent so far; I've kept it turned on for 3 days now, and it shows a full charge. Some people have complained about this on other sites/forums, but, you have to charge the battery first, like the instructions say! The only real problem I've come across is that I can't get the bluetooth to work with my car stereo. I had a Samsung phone previously, where all I had to do was turn the bluetooth on in it, and my car recognized it in like 5 seconds. Not this LG so far. I'm still looking into the matter... But, with the big cell phone companies (Verizon, ATT, etc) charging ridiculous rates, this is a good way to go to save on bills. To anyone who is interested in buying a tracfone/straighttalk plan, The only downfall with the 1000 minute and 1000 text plan from is that there are no free nights and weekends minutes.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jeffreno
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WOW!
5/1/2011

Customer review by OCD67

5.0 stars 5/1/2011 by OCD67
by OCD67

Very rarely do I write reviews. But after having many past cell phones with AT&T, T-Mobile, Verizon, Metro PCS, Boost Mobile. This is one tough cell phone. Very basic and doesnt look like much. But after having this over a year, dropping it on concrete floors numerous times. I'm clumsey, has fell into water. And after drying it out for 2 days worked like it should. But then,it got washed in a washer with a full load from start to finish by accident being small and left in a pair of jeans. I dried it out for 3 days and it worked. Unfortunately the screen was ruined and had to purchase a new one only because the phone was on when it got washed. But it would still make and receive calls after all that. Cell coverage is good and the plan is excellent. A basic simple phone at a good price.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OCD67
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
If it's for business
11/3/2010

Customer review by Intomodernage

4.0 stars 11/3/2010 by Intomodernage
by Intomodernage

If it's a small business you're running, and if what you need is reliable coverage, strong phone, controllable expenses, and a battery life that lasts at least seven days - then you should definitely consider this tracfone. I used to furnish all my motors with contract phones. And because they were all contract phones, I used to get into a bit of a state come the end of the month - hey it's too easy to add those minutes. But mostly the roaming charges hurt me. And by a bit of a state, I'm being entirely kind. I crossed to tracfone many years ago, and have had numerous different entry level phones. Entry level, cause all I need the drivers to do is text the office, of phone if need be. This phone (and I've gotten another four since the first one), I consider to be a bit of an upgrade from the previous phones I bought. Not only because it cost a step up from the previous phones, but most importantly for the comms I get out of the city, and also very importantly, the battery life gives me easily more than a weeks worth of activity. The battery life being at least seven days strong, is very important for one reason - they can all go into one office, be charged, and be checked for the minutes status. You can charge them on every other occasion, but for the purposes of routine, and accountability, it suits my business perfectly. As far as coverage is concerned, I made sure that the phones are all on the CDMA network. It took me a years worth of consternation to figure out that which network you can roam of best was vitally important to saving money. Regarding this phone however, I have never had a problem connecting. And that's keeping account of the fact that I've had other cheaper, CDMA phones, that did occasionally drop calls, and not get signal in the rurals. I have two gripes, one of which is easily solvable. The browser button is far too easy to activate, and needlessly deduct minutes of the phone. This is fixed by locking the button - something one of my drivers caught on to. Secondly, I've had two phones giving me trouble, and in the ensuing fight with patience speaking with their customer services, I've adopted a policy of, rather just buy another phone. It's cheap enough, and it saves me a little bit of sanity.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Intomodernage
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good value
8/8/2010

Customer review by riverwoman1

5.0 stars 8/8/2010 by riverwoman1
by riverwoman1

Love the phone and the plan But I live in an odd place and cant get a signal.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
riverwoman1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Money Saver
12/28/2010

Customer review by shotoshine

4.0 stars 12/28/2010 by shotoshine
by shotoshine

After using at&t for years and paying 150-160/month for 2 phones, I decided enough was enough. I purchased two phones, this one for me, and a more expensive one for my daughter. My phone don't have all the bells and whistles the expensive phones do, but what it lacks in style, it makes up for in reception. I don't know if it's just my area (north central AR) but this phone blows at&t away on reception. Saving 60-70$ a month, I can overlook not having a camera.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shotoshine
Russellville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/26/2011

Customer review by AlanUSL

4.0 stars 5/26/2011 by AlanUSL
by AlanUSL

These phones have worked very well for our company! They have good clarity and great battery life.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlanUSL
Barstow, Calif.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No bells and whistles
4/24/2011

Customer review by EnjoyTheJourney

5.0 stars 4/24/2011 by EnjoyTheJourney
by EnjoyTheJourney

I've had this LG phone for a year now. It was a few minutes to port over to the existing number. It doesn't have the bells and whistles; no camera, basic internet browsing and limited viewing space, but reception is outstanding. With AT&T, I had to keep my land line as a backup because I couldn't be sure I would get all my calls. No worries now. And the piece of mind of unlimited minutes for calls is priceless. For the money, it's a winner.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EnjoyTheJourney
Branson, mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not long lasting.
5/29/2011

Customer review by Tebow1689

3.0 stars 5/29/2011 by Tebow1689
by Tebow1689

I got this phone as my first phone on my 12th birthday. My parents picked it for its low cost, effective plan, and they did not trust me with a camera/picture mail. It worked wonderfully for a year, however, if it was dropped it would turn off and then back on, which can be a bother. The battery life was long and strong at first, but quickly dwindled. The inbox only holds 200 text messages until it rejects messages, and the outbox only holds 50 (but the outbox had a great feature-autodelete! If only the inbox had that...). I never had a problem with the memory for contacts and pictures, but the only way to get pictures was to save them off of the mobile web (I had 176+ contacts, by the way.). The mobile web works great, but to scroll down on the pages took FOREVER. If you're looking for a mobile web-friendly phone that you'll be using to get on the internet frequently, this is not the phone for you. The speed of the internet was average. There is a built-in calculator, calendar, and notepad. ALSO-if you save photos onto your phone via the internet, you cannot send them. You also can't receive pictures, which is kind of a given. Though this phone worked great for roughly a year, after that period, a little black spot developed on my phone, frequently known throughout my house as my phone's "birthmark". It was inside the screen, almost as though the screen was shut off in that section. The birthmark grew and grew, to the point where I was completely blind to over half of the screen, which made texting VERY difficult. If you are looking for a temporary, basic phone, this is perfect. However, if you are looking for a more high-quality, longer-lasting phone, this is not for you.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tebow1689
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great little phone!
9/23/2011

Customer review by RockyTopGirl

5.0 stars 9/23/2011 by RockyTopGirl
by RockyTopGirl

My husband wanted a simple phone with no frills, and the LG220C fits the ticket! He has gotten good service with it, and is very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RockyTopGirl
north Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Didn't like it
12/27/2010

Customer review by QTmom61

3.0 stars 12/27/2010 by QTmom61
by QTmom61

I had this phone for about 2 months and the internet quit working. I called the company and they sent me a package to ship them my phone so they could give me a new one. I would have to go about a week or so without a phone. Needless to say, i didnt send the phone back. Although it has good service overall, very seldomley dropped calls. I didnt know i couldnt receive pic messages until after i bought the phone. I wish i had bought one with a camera on it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QTmom61
Clinton, tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not happy
9/9/2010

Customer review by Blakeney

1.0 stars 9/9/2010 by Blakeney
by Blakeney

My phone worked great at first. Loved the price and the phone. Then it started to try to shut down about everytime I went to use it. I called for help and was told by someone who was very nice but did not speek clear english that it was a bad phone and to take it back to walmart for a new one. I did. The same thing again after I put alll my phone numbers in and went to call. It would go to the LG screen.I lost the $30 of service I had bought.I did get the money back from the phone.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blakeney
Huntsville ,Ark
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT PHONE WITH OUT ALL THE BELLS AND WHISTLES
12/23/2011

Customer review by cquick2271

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by cquick2271
by cquick2271

THIS LITTLE PHONE WAS PURCHAISED FOR FREE ON THEIR WEBSITE AND GOT THE SERVICE CARD, I CAN HONESTLY SAY IVE BEEN WITH THEM FOR A YEAR, AND THE CDMA IS BETTER THAN GSM BELIEVE ME, A GREAT PHONE FOR PEOPLE WHO TALK/TXT/ AND WEB SOME. GREAT PHONE EASY TO USE AND HAS GOOD FEATURES, PROBABLY THEIR BEST PHONE THEY CAME UP WITH A+++++ HIGHLY RECOMMEND WOUNDERFUL :)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cquick2271
BENNETTSVILLE SOUTH CAROLINA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Great Phone with Bluetooth
11/21/2010

Customer review by Goldstein

5.0 stars 11/21/2010 by Goldstein
by Goldstein

The price was right I am older guy at 60 that just need a phone for my Ford F150 truck. All the other fancy stuff is out of the window for me. Just in case something happen while on the road.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Goldstein
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
EUREKA! I can hear my son from Lexington nebraska
2/23/2012

Customer review by truckersmom

5.0 stars 2/23/2012 by truckersmom
by truckersmom

My son is an otr truck driver and with the old rip off company he used he could not get in touch with me in certain areas (like the whole state of Wyoming). He stopped at the Walmart in Lexington Nebraska and purchased this phone and the unlimited talk card for a total of $85. It would have cost him $60 just to put another months service on his old phone.. With his old service provider he could not make or receive calls in huge areas of the country. The associates in this Walmart set up the service for him. I know that this store, and a few others in Nebraska, are favorites with truckers because Walmart allows them to park there and shop. I am going to buy one of these phones as soon as my monthly service is up. Thanks Walmart, and thanks for providing my son a safe place to park.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
truckersmom
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Simple!
12/30/2011

Customer review by Dowantreviewornot

5.0 stars 12/30/2011 by Dowantreviewornot
by Dowantreviewornot

This little phone will work great for the person who just wants to talk. The handset has good sound quality. The speaker phone is loud. But, for those wanting more from a phone, there is no camera; it will not MMS; and Bluetooth connectivity is very limited.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dowantreviewornot
AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 65 total reviews
1-20 of 65 reviews