Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 66 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

66 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

66 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
46
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 64 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews
Nice Addition to My 14' Aluminum Row Boat
9/8/2013

Customer review by naplesbill

5.0 stars 9/8/2013 by naplesbill
by naplesbill

I bought this motor online to supplement rowing our 14' Starcraft aluminum boat on a very nice, but very shallow local lake. The motor performed well today on our first outing with it although the 42" shaft is a bit long for our boat (I managed to compensate). I also bought the EverStart 27DC-6 Marine Battery (quite heavy), the Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center (very nice), and the Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger from Walmart online to complete the trolling motor package. As always, it's hard to beat the value and convenience of Walmart. A few days after I picked up the trolling motor from Walmart I noticed that the price had dropped about $20. I notified Walmart customer service and the refunded the difference. Treating customers like this is what keeps me coming back to Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
naplesbill
Roscommon, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great motor, terrible packaging
6/24/2012

Customer review by Cognomen

5.0 stars 6/24/2012 by Cognomen
by Cognomen

The Watersnake Tracer FWTCS54TH-42 Trolling Motor works perfectly and exceeds my expectations. After several long runs at full speed, it appears to run efficiently, and battery life is excellent. My only reservation about it is that the packaging was completely inadequate--a flimsy cardboard box that had broken open during shipment. I'm sure it was not FedEx's fault; the motor weighs about 20 lbs and was not secured inside the light-duty box. No parts were missing, but plastic parts inside the top portion had been broken, and the speed switch was rattling around inside the housing. I was able to repair the broken parts and make the motor work. But I had to use glue and several long, self-tapping screws, and the repair is obvious from the outside. Because of the damage caused by the cheap packaging, I recommend picking the motor up at a Walmart store--and making sure it works properly before accepting it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cognomen
Hopewell, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
So far nothing serious
3/27/2013

Customer review by StriperKiller

4.0 stars 3/27/2013 by StriperKiller
by StriperKiller

In the last fishing season I have used this trolling motor as the sole propulsion for my 12' aluminum boat. I have gone through 2 batteries with this trolling motor. Added up the times week before last from my fishing logs and had a whopping 348.3 hours so far on this thing. The reason though I was adding up the hours was it stopped working out on the lake while I was trying to get out of a storm. Fifth gear went out first, then all forward gears, then reverse went out about 200 yards from the dock. Paddled in and took it home. Called Watersnake and they set me up with an authorized maintenance shop local that did the work for free. Its been beat on banged up and has found the bottom on more than one occasion. So I figure I have gotten my monies worth out of it. Its lasted a long time and the only issue is that the light on the top burns more juice when its in gear. The bushings on the shaft could be a little more stout, but then again running into rocky bottom doesnt help them either. All in all I have to say I am pleased with it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StriperKiller
Johnson City, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
well worth the money
7/30/2011

Customer review by whatnicknameisnttaken

5.0 stars 7/30/2011 by whatnicknameisnttaken
by whatnicknameisnttaken

was not sure about a watersnake when i bought it online but its been the best money i could have spent not only is it very powerful but its easy on the battery. It is very well constructed its all metal in the clamp and the T Bar minn kota has a plastic T Bar i had problems with that in my last motor. Its alot of bang for the buck and i would not hesitate to recomend it to anyone

Was this review helpful? (60) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
whatnicknameisnttaken
virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Price
8/9/2011

Customer review by dilespla

5.0 stars 8/9/2011 by dilespla
by dilespla

I've had this trolling motor out on the water 5 times now and it has been flawless. It is very powerful and pushes my 14ft. flat bottom across the water pretty quick, even with my wife and son with me. It's easy on the battery as well. I still have not had to recharge it even after the 5 trips. One trip was 4 hours trolling around the lake and then back out the same night for 3 more hours.

Was this review helpful? (69) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dilespla
Camden, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
The right tool for the right job!
12/16/2013

Customer review by MPIMallard

5.0 stars 12/16/2013 by MPIMallard
by MPIMallard

I bought this tracer for my 20' pontoon boat and I'm thrilled with it, the first run was around three NM at high speed and used about a third of my battery, not bad. I mounted it on the bow on a simple hand made 2x6"PT bracket bolted through the for deck, reversing the power-head was very simple, I just opened up the casing and removed the brackets holding the tiller-tube and under was a 7/16" lock-nut and carriage bolt, simply undo and spin the head and re-bolt everything back up and your good to go. I feel it's a well built trolling motor and the longer shaft really works for a pontoon boat application but keep in mind that the reverse is a bit weak [my only criticism], I leave the battery hooked up and when I'm done I simply loosen the mount bolts and walk both motor and battery into the shed ready for tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MPIMallard
McGregor Ont./St.Cloud FL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Water snake tracer troll motor
8/17/2015

Customer review by Jerry

5.0 stars 8/17/2015 by Jerry
by Jerry

Have not used to date - looks good - Wal-Mart advertised this merchandise included the deep cell marine battery--did not ship with unit--I spoke with customer service out of Florida--they issued me a 20% off selling price/for my inconvenience -- plus told me to see my local Store for a battery -- Store stood behind misrepresentation of offering a battery with troll motor -- after I showed them on their web site where it clearly stated includes battery! My local Wal- Mart gave me an $80.00 Marine Battery (No Hassle)! I checked their web site again 2 days later -- Wal-Mart had still not up dated their misprint? They must like to loose money??? When I saw this offering -- I could not pass it--being a fisherman!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jerry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5/21/2011

Customer review by hunter5567

5.0 stars 5/21/2011 by hunter5567
by hunter5567

Lots of power, very heavy duty constructed and the price was $60-80 less than the competition. It works great and I am pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (30) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hunter5567
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Outstanding Trolling Motor
8/16/2013

Customer review by Catfishn4me

5.0 stars 8/16/2013 by Catfishn4me
by Catfishn4me
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you are looking for a replacement or first transom mount trolling motor for your Jon boat, then I would highly recommend the Watersnake brand. I purchased the 54lbs. thrust Tracer. I fish for catfish regularly. Those of us who catfish know current can be a big plus when locating them. This motor will push my 12' boat just fine against the main river channel current. I'm sure it will really move on in the smaller waters, but I wanted to really put it to test on the big water. I'm also impressed with how little battery drainage there is. It passes with flying colors! If this company decides to really push its brand in the larger stores and outdoor stores, I would be shaking in my boots if I was associated with any other brand. This is one of those rare occasions when I believe you get Better quality at a Lower price. If I am ever in need of another trolling motor, it WILL BE a Watersnake.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Catfishn4me
Portland, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very good price for bigger motor...poor packaging
8/9/2011

Customer review by ljsilver1

4.0 stars 8/9/2011 by ljsilver1
by ljsilver1

the unit seems to be very good value but I was disappointed that the special prop nut and prop shaft shear pin were missing. Also, the package contained no instructions and no user manual. I found a manual online and also saw that the pictures show the motor electric cables with clips for battery connection...these clips were not included. I went to a hardware store and bought a nylon-insert locking nut for the prop and bought a couple of tensioner pins to use as shear pins; also, picked up a pair of battery cable clips to I could get on with fishing instead of waiting on parts to be sent. The motor is strong and I hope to receive missing parts in the next week or so

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ljsilver1
Troy,MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
7/19/2011

Customer review by 43yrolddad

5.0 stars 7/19/2011 by 43yrolddad
by 43yrolddad

Got this 54 lb thrust in mid-July. I really am pleased. Put it on a 14' Scanoe and it really moves it. Pushes up river even in swift water. Went fishing yesterday and trolled all day. Had to go about two miles back up river. No problem! I do wish the shaft was 10 to 12 inches shorter. It's pretty tall on my Scanoe. Other reviews are correct. The box was distroyed at pick up. There is a picture of the trolling motor on the box. You would think they would be more careful with it. I would buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (16) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
43yrolddad
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
54 lbs thrust is over rated
5/21/2012

Customer review by Terry954

4.0 stars 5/21/2012 by Terry954
by Terry954
Walmart associate

This is a pretty good value - It runs a long time on the battery without much power drain, but I was expecting a 54 lb thrust motor to move my boat twice as fast as the 24 lb thrust minn kota it was replacing - the power and speed produced is nearly the same as the lower rated motor - I can't help but wonder how the 40 lb minn kato that sells for the same price would compare?? I thought the higher thrust rating would offset the lack of a lifetime warranty on the shaft that you have with a minn kato

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Terry954
Clayton, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
4/9/2012

Customer review by 1stMountainMan

4.0 stars 4/9/2012 by 1stMountainMan
by 1stMountainMan

The clamps for the depth in the water are not secure enough, BUT...If you want to water ski behind a canoe, (oh yeah!) then go for the 54 lb thrust! With two people and gear in the 15 ft canoe I can see a wake, which made me wonder if I was going to get a ticket near the docks! It is light enough to handle at the docks and easy to control....but could use a longer adjustable handle making it easier to reach from my seat. I can put a piece of PVC pipe over the end of the handle to make it easier without twisting too much. With only me in the stern, in light chop on Navajo Reservoir I can get enough speed to lift the front of the canoe and take on water at the stern (oops), so I had to trottle it back a bit. Without being scientific though, I could probably get 5 knots of spped. In still waters the reverse thrust ws awsome and impressive.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1stMountainMan
Durango, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
7/5/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/5/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Packaging was unbelievably horrible. I can’t believe it made it to me but other than that everything has been fine to this point.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
4/3/2012

Customer review by Mark22323

5.0 stars 4/3/2012 by Mark22323
by Mark22323

I have the FWT54TH and have used it for just over two years. It works great, has plenty of power, pushes my G31544 boat with no problem; However I will no longer reconmmend it because parts are impossible to get. I need the replacement 3 blade propeller kit (55130), walmart has it listed on their website for about $19.00 but it is always out of stock. Since the manufacture is based overseas, trying to order this part has become such a headache. I dont't understand why walmart is sell a trolling motor with three blades, but never have the three blade kit instock. It is not uncommon to have to replace a propeller, this is a dumb problem to have.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mark22323
Atlanta, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great for the price
6/10/2012

Customer review by yjyjdyjjukyukik

5.0 stars 6/10/2012 by yjyjdyjjukyukik
by yjyjdyjjukyukik

I have a 12" wooden boat weighs about 800 pounds loaded with all the stuff and two people it gets me wear I need to go top speed is about 5 to6 mph on full speed not bad at all have used about 15 times so far pretty easy on the battery can make it about 5 hours on high speed pretty good overall

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yjyjdyjjukyukik
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
6/14/2010

Customer review by carpman

5.0 stars 6/14/2010 by carpman
by carpman

I am very well pleased with the trollong motor that I just purchased. It arived at the store before the expected date, which was good. And the store clerk was very nice and helpful. I plan to check the internet for more deals. The savings was terrific.

Was this review helpful? (36) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
carpman
Ste. Genevieve MO.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
5/21/2011

Customer review by justafishing

4.0 stars 5/21/2011 by justafishing
by justafishing

The product lacks the proper packaging to prevent items loosely packed from making it to the intended destination. I'm still lacking the owners manual and warranty information. Overall, for the price, if you get everything that your supposed to, it is a great product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
justafishing
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great motor
6/25/2013

Customer review by Waterdaddy

5.0 stars 6/25/2013 by Waterdaddy
by Waterdaddy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I put the motor on a 12' John boat. The motor is awesome. If you are looking for a trolling motor, I highly recommend the watersnake. I have own other top brand names, and the Watersnake will be my only choice from here on.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Waterdaddy
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I am impressed by the power.
8/19/2013

Customer review by NonameLIFIG

5.0 stars 8/19/2013 by NonameLIFIG
by NonameLIFIG
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

With four adults on the boat, this motor moved it with ease and at a good speed. Worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NonameLIFIG
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews